DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the projection (claim 17), adjustment means (claim 17), the pressure mechanism (claim 17), and a trim (claim 25) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: pressure mechanism in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The disclosure does not contain sufficient information regarding the “pressure mechanism” so as to enable one skilled in the art to make and use the toilet brush and toilet brush holder assembly of claim 17. See MPEP 2181.
Claims 17-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Each of claims 18-31 are dependent on a cancelled claim. It appears that the claims that written to depend from claim 1 are instead meant to depend from independent claim 17. It is believed that claim 23 is meant to depend from claim 22 instead of claim 6, that claim 24 is meant to depend from claim 23 instead of claim 7, and that claim 29 is meant to depend from claim 28 instead of claim 12.
Claim 26 line 2 recites that “the toilet brush comprises a brush and a handle”. Is this brush and handle in addition to the brush and handle required in claim 17 or did the applicant intend to recite “the brush and the handle”? In addition, Claim 26 recites the limitation "the outside" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 27, it is unclear what is meant by “the toilet brush holder comprises sanitisers, preferably solid sanitisers.” Does claim 27 require solid sanitisers? Also, note that the American English spelling of “sanitiser” is “sanitizer”.
Claim limitation “pressure mechanism” (claim 17) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that provides adjustment means or is a pressure mechanism. The disclosure describes the adjustment means as adjusting the length or position of the handle (see specification page 4 line 35 to page 5 line 1; page 5 lines 22-37) however does not disclose any specific structure for the pressure mechanism or how pressure is applied. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-18, 21, 25, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groendahl, US 2009/0106922 in view of Gibbons, US 750,357.
Regarding claim 17, Groendahl discloses a toilet brush (11) and toilet brush holder assembly (2, Figure 1 or 25, Figure 18) wherein: the toilet brush comprises a brush (11’, Figure 11), a handle (7, Figure 11) and a reinforced ring located between the brush and the handle (8, see Figures), the reinforced ring being configured to join the brush and the handle to each other (Figure 11), wherein the reinforced ring further comprises a cover that corresponds to a projection that starts from the handle (cover 8 of the reinforced ring projects from handle, Figure 11; projection is unmarked edge of the upper portion of 7 in Figure 11); and the toilet brush holder comprises a chamber in which the brush of the toilet brush is housed (helical spring 3 is holder comprising an open chamber in the embodiment of Figures 1-2; or 25, Figure 18) and at least one lead-through hole intended to allow the brush and part of the handle to pass through (opening of spring in Figure 1; alternatively 41, see Figures 19 and 24); and wherein the cover of the reinforced ring is configured to cover the lead-through hole when the toilet brush is introduced into the toilet brush holder (Figure 1; Figure 18, paragraph [0049]) and wherein the chamber of the toilet brush holder is configured to connect to a tank of a toilet tank (Figure 1; 2’, Figure 18) so that the chamber houses clean water and said water is renewed in each flush cycle of the toilet tank (paragraph [0050]; Figures 1, 18-19), and the brush is always submerged in water when the toilet brush is housed in the chamber of the toilet brush holder (capable of being always submerged when toilet is plumbed to a water source, see Figures 1, 18-19 and paragraphs [0048]-[0050]; 10’ denotes the water level). Regarding claim 18, there is a support configured to couple the toilet brush holder to the tank of the toilet (support formed by lower end of housing 27 and screw attachments 49 to cistern/tank wall 23, see Figure 19). Regarding claim 21, the toilet brush holder is configured to be installed in the tank of a toilet tank (in the embodiment of Figure 1) and the chamber comprises walls with openings that allow water to pass from the tank to the chamber so that the brush is always submerged in water (openings within helical spring 3, Figures 1-2; in addition to openings 4.1, 4.2 in Figures 3 and 5, or 4.3, 4.4 in Figures 7-8). Regarding claim 25, there is a trim in the lead-through hole of the chamber of the toilet brush holder (the stepped opening of hole 41, best shown in Figure 19). Regarding claim 28, the toilet brush holder comprises a cylinder (Figures 18-19, ends 27 and 37) which in turn comprises a lower cover (27), the lower cover being located on a side opposite the through hole (through hole is at end 37, Figures 18-19). Regarding claim 29, the lower cover comprises at least one through hole (unlabeled, where hollow bolt 30 connects within 27 in Figure 19), which allows the inlet and outlet of water into the chamber of the toilet brush holder (paragraph [0050]). Regarding claim 30, the handle and the brush of the toilet brush are removable (when in use, the handle of the brush and toilet brush are removable from the toilet brush holder, paragraph [0005]).
Groendahl, with regards to claim 17, fails to disclose that the handle of the toilet brush comprises adjustment means configured to adapt the position of the handle, wherein adjustment means comprises a pressure mechanism.
Gibbons teaches a toilet brush having a handle (A) and brush head (C), the handle comprises an adjustment means (elastic section B) that adapts the position of the handle (in length, Figures 13-16, or in orientation Figures 10-12), the adjustment means comprises a pressure mechanism (in that when a user applies pressure or force, the handle adjusts in length or orientation via the elastic nature of section B, see Figures 10-16 and page 2 lines 9-45).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handle of the toilet brush of Groendahl so that is has an adjustment means configured to adapt the position of the handle, the adjustment means being a pressure mechanism, as Gibbon teaches, so that a user is able to manipulate the brush head in order to clean rounded surfaces and bends within a toilet.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groendahl, US 2009/0106922 and Gibbons, US 750,357 in view of Mirambeau, FR 3047754 (see also English translation).
Groendahl and Gibbons disclose all elements previously discussed above. Groendahl does not disclose that the toilet brush holder comprises both a water inlet pipe and a water outlet pipe.
Mirambeau discloses a toilet brush (20) and toilet brush holder assembly (2), the toilet brush comprises a brush (21) and a handle (unlabeled handle, Figures 4 and 8), the toilet brush holder assembly comprises a chamber (2), at least one lead-through hole intended to allow the brush and part of the handle to pass through (unlabeled opening of 2, Figures 4 and 8), wherein the chamber of the toilet brush holder is configured to connect to a tank of a toilet so that the chamber houses clean water and said water is renewed in each flush cycle of the toilet tank (Figures 5-8, see English translation discussion of flow and flush), the brush being always submerged in water when the toilet brush is housed in the chamber of the toilet brush holder (see “h” in Figures 4 and 8, the English translation states that h defines the height of water reserves 10 and 17 and describes that the reserve 10 ensures “permanent immersion of the brush portion of the toilet brush”). Regarding claim 19, the chamber of the toilet brush holder comprises a water inlet pipe (5) and a water outlet pipe (6; Figure 4) configured to be connected to a tank of a toilet (Figures 5-8; cistern/tank 7, connected via 1), the water outlet pipe is arranged at a higher level than that of the brush of the toilet brush so that a minimum water level is always maintained in the chamber that guarantees that the brush is submerged in water (Figures 4 and 8, see English translation that states that h defines the height of water reserves 10 and 17 and describes that the reserve 10 ensures “permanent immersion of the brush portion of the toilet brush”). Mirambeau states that a feature of their invention is for the height of the water to be greater than that of the toilet brush for cleaning and storage (see English translation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the pipe connection the chamber and toilet tank of Groendahl and Gibbons so that there is a water inlet pipe and a water outlet pipe, where the water outlet pipe is arranged at a level higher than that of the brush of the toilet brush, as Mirambeau teaches, to ensure that the brush head is permanently immersed in the water for ideal cleaning and storage of the toilet brush.
Claim(s) 17-18, 22, 25, 27, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allard, US 2,495,498 in view of Davydov, DE 202004013416 U1 (see English translation).
Regarding claim 17, Allard discloses a toilet brush (6, 7) and toilet brush holder assembly (2, see Figures) wherein: the toilet brush comprises a brush (6), a handle (7) and a reinforced ring located between the brush and the handle (low portion of 8, see Figures 2-5), the reinforced ring being configured to join the brush and the handle to each other (Figures 2-5), wherein the reinforced ring further comprises a cover that corresponds to a projection that starts from the handle (cover 8); and the toilet brush holder comprises a chamber in which the brush of the toilet brush is housed (2, see Figures) and at least one lead-through hole intended to allow the brush and part of the handle to pass through (unlabeled upper opening where brush and handle pass through, see Figures); and wherein the cover of the reinforced ring is configured to cover the lead-through hole when the toilet brush is introduced into the toilet brush holder (Figures 1-5) and wherein the chamber of the toilet brush holder is configured to be installed in a tank or a bowl of a toilet (Figures 1-5), so that the chamber houses clean water and said water is renewed in each flush cycle of the toilet tank (column 1 line 34 to column 2 line 40 describes each embodiment and how it operates during a flush cycle), and the brush is always submerged in water when the toilet brush is housed in the chamber of the toilet brush holder (capable of being always submerged when toilet is plumbed to a water source, see Figures 1-5). Regarding claim 18, there is a support configured to couple the toilet brush holder to the tank of the toilet (support includes shared walls of toilet bowl or pipe 14 in Figure 5, see all Figures). Regarding claim 20, teaches that the chamber of the toilet brush holder is configured to be installed in a toilet bowl (see Figures) and comprises a water inlet pipe connectable to an outlet of a tank of a toilet tank (4, Figure 1) and a water outlet pipe with a free end is configured to allow water to pass from the chamber of the toilet brush holder to a bowl receptacle of a toilet (at 5, Figure 1) and where the water outlet pipe is arranged at a level higher than that of the toilet brush so that a minimum water level is always maintained in the chamber that guarantees that the brush is submerged in water (in particular see Figures 1-2, portions of the brush bristles remain submerged as the water level is maintained in the chamber below the outlet pipe at 5). Regarding claim 25, there is a trim in the lead-through hole of the chamber of the toilet brush holder (the rimmed opening of hole where 8 is received, see Figures). Regarding claim 27, the chamber of the toilet brush holder comprise sanitisers (disinfecting liquids, column 2 lines 4-9, 25-28). Regarding claim 30, the handle and the brush of the toilet brush are removable (when in use, the handle of the brush and toilet brush are removable from the toilet brush holder, alternatively the brush and handle can be removable to be easily changed when worn, column 2 lines 41-43).
Allard, with regards to claim 17, fails to disclose that the handle of the toilet brush comprises adjustment means configured to adapt the position of the handle, wherein adjustment means comprises a pressure mechanism.
Davydov teaches a toilet brush having a handle (at 1, 2, 7) and brush head (6), the handle comprises an adjustment means (includes stopper 4, return spring 5) that adapts the position of the handle (in that the ratchet part of drive 1 slides along interior projects 3, see Figure 1), the adjustment means comprises a pressure mechanism (the ratchet part of drive 1 relies on pressure from a user, see discussion in English translation in the paragraph that begins “When the pressing brush head from above against the surface to be cleaned the hand-held holder goes down and rotates the roller…”). Regarding claim 22, the adjustment means comprise a drive body (ratchet drive body 1) and a receiving body (2) wherein the receiving body forms the outside of the handle and the drive body is able to move inside the receiving body (Figure 1, see English translation), and comprises a spring element (5) housed inside the receiving body (Figure 1), configured to control movement of the drive body along the receiving body (Figure 1 and English translation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handle of the toilet brush of Allard so that is has an adjustment means configured to adapt the position of the handle, the adjustment means being a pressure mechanism and includes a drive body and receiving body, as Davydov teaches, so that a user is able to provide driven brushing and rotation to the brush head to better facilitate cleaning toilet surfaces.
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allard, US 2,495,498 and Davydov, DE 202004013416 U1 (see English translation) as applied to claim 22.
Allard and Davydov disclose all elements previously discussed above, the handle of Allard was modified so that it includes the adjustment means taught by Davydov. Regarding claim 23, Allard teaches that its outer handle and cover of the reinforced ring of the toilet brush (at 8, the ring is just below 8, see Figures) are joined together (best shown in Figures 2-5) and that the cover acts as a lid to the chamber (column 1 lines 41-46). Regarding claim 24, the handle and cover of Allard are of a single body (see Figures 2-5) and in Davydov the receiving body is of a single body with the entire brush when assembled (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that in the modification of the handle of Allard to include the adjustment means taught by Davydov to retain the reinforced ring and cover of Allard so that the receiving body and the cover can rest on the opening of chamber and serve as a lid to the chamber.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groendahl, US 2009/0106922 and Gibbons, US 750,357 as applied to claim 17, in view of Gijzen, NL 1007035 (see English translation).
Groendahl and Gibbons disclose all elements previously mentioned above, however fail to disclose a toilet brush handle that comprises a pipe or reservoir inside the handle and the handle comprising at least one opening that connects the pipe or reservoir inside the handle with an outside.
Gijzen teaches a toilet brush with a handle (5) and brush head (8), the handle comprises a pipe or reservoir (reservoir 3 and pipe 6), the handle comprising at least one opening to connect the pipe with an exterior of the handle (at perforations 9) so that cleaning liquid can be dispensed to the sides of the WC or toilet bowl surfaces to be cleaned (see English translation description of Figure 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brush handle of the brush of Groendahl and Gibbons so that includes a pipe or reservoir and at least one opening, as Gijzen teaches, so that cleaning liquid can be dispensed outwardly to the brush head and surfaces being cleaned to assist in the removal of debris.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9,464,424 to Wiltshire is considered relevant, and generally includes a chamber for tools (brush or plunger, 10) that is rinsed or cleaned by water and disinfectant (column 1 lines 56-67) and fluidly connected to a toilet (Figures 1-3). DE 202014007431 U1 to Martin teaches a system where a toilet brush and chamber assembly are mounted to a toilet bowl (see Figures).
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
lcg