DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Amendment filed on 12/26/2025. Claims 1-32 are previously canceled. Claims 33-54 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (pg. 11), filed on 12/26/2025, with respect to Double Patenting rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the Terminal Disclaimers filed. The Double Patenting rejections of claims 33-54 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments (pg. 12-14), filed on 12/26/2025, with respect to the 103 rejections of claims 33 and 41 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest “authenticating the server via the first connection based on a server certificate” as Applicant’s claim 33 (and similarly claim 41) recites. However, Houston et al. (US 2014/0259109 A1) discloses authenticating and selecting edge server by exchanging authentication credentials (Houston: [0029]-[0035]). Under broadest reasonable interpretation, exchanged authentical credentials teaches the server certificate, and selecting edge server based on exchanged authentication credentials teaches authenticating the server.
Applicant’s arguments (pg. 14-15), filed on 12/26/2025, with respect to the 103 rejections of claims 33 and 41 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest “the initial access credential includes or is based on one or more of an indication that the client is a legitimate client, a client type associated with the client and an identifier of the client” as Applicant’s claim 33 (and similarly claim 41) recites. However, Lee et al. (US 2020/0359218 A1) discloses credential based on EEC identifier derived from identifier of subscriber (Lee: [0201], [0219]), which teaches the initial access credential based on identifier of the client under broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant’s arguments (pg. 15-16), filed on 12/26/2025, with respect to the 103 rejections of claims 33 and 41 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest “the initial access credential and the updated access credential include or are based on one or more of the following: an indication that the client is a legitimate client; and a client type associated with the client” as Applicant’s claim 50 (and similarly claim 54) recites. However, Houston et al. (US 2014/0259109 A1) discloses exchanging authentication credentials (Houston: [0029]-[0035]) and Lee et al. (US 2020/0359218 A1) discloses credential based on EEC identifier derived from identifier of manufacturer (Lee: [0201], [0219]), which teach the access credentials based on client type associated with the client in combination under broadest reasonable interpretation.
Therefore, the prior art of record teaches the amended claim limitations in combination. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Examiner suggests Applicant to consider further clarifying the server certificate and exactly what authenticating the server entails in order to clearly overcome the current rejections.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 12/26/2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33, 38-41, and 50-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houston et al. (US 2014/0259109 A1, hereinafter “Houston”) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0359218 A1, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 33 (and similarly claims 41, 50, and 54), Houston discloses:
A method for a client in an edge data network, the method comprising:
obtaining an initial access credential before accessing the edge data network (obtaining authentication credentials before establishing connection with edge server, Houston: [0064]);
establishing a first connection with a server of the edge data network based on transport layer security (TLS) (establishing connection with edge server using TLS, Houston: [0067]);
authenticating the server via the first connection based on a server certificate (authenticating and selecting edge server by exchanging authentication credentials, Houston: [0029]-[0035]); and
providing the initial access credential to the server, via the first connection, for authentication of the client (exchanging authentication credentials for authentication of client device, Houston: [0029]-[0035]).
Houston does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the initial access credential includes or is based on one or more of an indication that the client is a legitimate client, a client type associated with the client and an identifier of the client.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches:
wherein the initial access credential includes or is based on one or more of an indication that the client is a legitimate client, a client type associated with the client and an identifier of the client (provisioning request message including credential based on EEC identifier, Lee: [0201], [0219]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Houston in view of Lee in order to further modify the method of establishing connection with edge server using TLS based on exchanged authentication credentials from the teachings of Houston with the method of provisioning request message including credential based on EEC identifier from the teachings of Lee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved efficiency of authentication procedure (Lee: [0017]).
Regarding claim 38-40 and 51-53, they do not teach or further define over the teachings of claim 33. Therefore, claims 38-40 and 51-53 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 33 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/GIL H. LEE/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446