CTNF 18/705,266 CTNF 79515 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Claims 28-47 are presented for examination. Information Disclosure Statement The IDS filed on 12/27/2024 are considered. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 28-31, 34-35, 39-40 and 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Zhu et al (Zhu), WO2020/224618A1 . Zhu is cited by the applicant in the IDS. As per claim 28, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed including an apparatus comprising: At least one processor (pp. 0110-0111); and At least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform operations (pp. 0110-0111, 0114-0115), the operations comprising at least: Receiving a request from a user equipment, wherein the request comprises a registration request for registering the user equipment with a network or a request for a service provided by the network (pp. 0226, 0256); Creating an association between the apparatus and a network function of the network, wherein the association is specific to the user equipment (pp. 0143-0146, 0148, 0227, 0231, 0246-0248, 0257, 0260-0262); Forwarding the request to the network function (pp. 0102, 0105); and Using the association to receive form the network function or send to the network function at least one of the following: Non Access Stratum control message for the user equipment; or Access Network control message for the user equipment (pp. 0105-0107, 0246-0248). As per claim 29, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 28. Zhu further teaches wherein the creating the association comprises: Establishing an interface for communication between the apparatus and the network function for the at least one of the following: the Non Access Stratum control message for the user equipment; or the Access Network control message for the user equipment (pp. 0105-0107, 0246-0248). As per claim 30, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 28. Zhu further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: Generating association information corresponding to the association (pp. 0143-0145); and Forwarding the association information to the network function (pp. 0143-0145, 0147). As per claim 31, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 28. Zhu further teaches wherein the apparatus is deployed in a radio access network node of the network (pp. 0092-0093, 0144). As per claim 34, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 28. Zhu further teaches wherein the request comprises: a Globally Unique Temporary Identifier; or a Subscription Concealed Identifier (pp. 0256-0258), and wherein the operations further comprise: Receiving a registration acceptance message and in response (pp. 0128, 0226-0227): Assigning a Globally Unique Temporary Identifier to the user equipment (pp. 0227, 0250-0251, 0286-0287). As per claim 35, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 28. Zhu further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: Forwarding at least one of N1 signaling or N2 signaling received from the user equipment to the network function (pp. 0100, 0144); Receiving the at least one N1 signaling or N2 signaling from the network function (pp. 0239, 0245-0248); and Forwarding the at least one of N1 signaling or N2 signaling to the user equipment (pp. 0241, 0246-0248). As per claim 39, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed including an apparatus comprising: At least one processor (pp. 0110-0111); and At least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform operations (pp. 0110-0111, 0114-0115), the operations comprising at least: Receiving association information for an association between the apparatus and a network function of a network, wherein the association is specific to a user equipment (pp. 0143-0146, 0148, 0227, 0231, 0246-0248, 0257, 0260-0262); Receiving, from the network function, a request for the user equipment, wherein the request comprises a registration request for registering the user equipment with the network or request for a service provided by the network (pp. 0226, 0256); Using the association to receive form the network function or send to the network function at least one of the following: Non Access Stratum control message for the user equipment; or Access Network control message for the user equipment (pp. 0105-0107, 0246-0248). As per claim 40, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 39. Zhu further teaches wherein the association created by the network function establishing an interface for communication between the apparatus and the network function for the at least one of the following: the Non Access Stratum control message for the user equipment; or the Access Network control message for the user equipment (pp. 0105-0107, 0246-0248). As per claim 42, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 39. Zhu further teaches wherein the operation further comprise: Prior to using the association information to receive from the network function or send the network function the at least one of the following: the Non Access Stratum control message for the user equipment; or the Access Network control message for the user equipment: ensuring the apparatus has a proper security context for the user equipment (pp. 0096, 0100, 0103, 0237, 0246-0248). As per claim 43, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 39. Zhu further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: Receiving at least one of N1 signaling or N2 signaling from the network function (pp. 0100, 0144); Sending the at least one N1 signaling or N2 signaling to the user equipment via the network function (pp. 0239, 0241, 0245-0248) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 32-33 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (Zhu), WO2020/224618A1, in view of Yang et al (Yang), US 2019/0182211 . As per claim 32, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 28. Zhu does not teach wherein the apparatus implement at least one of the following: an intermediate SMF; or a gNB-Central Unit Control plane. Yang teaches the apparatus RAN implements at least a gNB-Centrol Unit Control Plane (pp. 0173, figure 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Zhu and Yang and implement the RAN as a NG-RAN for the 5G core network that includes a gNB CU-CP to support the next generation radio access network. As per claim 33, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 28. Zhu does not teach wherein the operations further comprise: Releasing the association between the apparatus and the network function that is specific to the user equipment upon sending a release request or upon receiving a release request from the network function. However, the use of release request to release established association between the RAN and the network function is well known and expected in the art. Yang teaches to releasing the association between the apparatus and the network function that is specific to the user equipment upon sending a release request or upon receiving a release request from the network function (pp. 0071, 0148). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Zhu and Yang and further utilize release request to terminate the signaling connections that are no longer needed. As per claim 41, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 39. Zhu does not teach wherein the operations further comprise: Releasing the association information for the association that is specific to the user equipment between the apparatus and the network function upon triggering a release request form the apparatus or upon receiving a release request from the network function. However, the use of release request to release established association between the RAN and the network function is well known and expected in the art. Yang teaches to release the association information for the association that is specific to the user equipment between the apparatus and the network function upon triggering a release request form the apparatus or upon receiving a release request from the network function (pp. 0071, 0148). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Zhu and Yang and further utilize release request to terminate the signaling connections that are no longer needed . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 36 and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (Zhu), WO2020/224618A1, in view of Niemi et al (Niemi), US 2020/0323017 . As per claim 36, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 28. Zhu does not teach wherein the operations further comprise: Subscribing to the network function for information of changes to security material for the user equipment; Receiving, from the network function, the security material for the user equipment; Using the security material to terminate Non Access Stratum signaling at the apparatus. Niemi teaches to: Subscribe to the network function for information of changes to security material for the user equipment (pp. 0029-0030, 0035-0036; receives updated/new NAS security context); Receive, from the network function, the security material for the user equipment (pp. 0030-0032, 0035-0036); Using the security material to terminate Non Access Stratum signaling at the apparatus (pp. 0021, 0032, 0037; releasing NAS signaling connection). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Zhu and Niemi and utilize new/updated security context to ensure the NAS signaling connection is authenticated and protected and release the connection that is using the old security context. As per claim 44, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 39. Zhu does not teach wherein the operations further comprise: Receiving, from the network function, a subscription request for subscribing to receive information regarding changes to security material for the user equipment; Sending, to the network function, the security material for the user equipment. Niemi teaches to: Receiving, from the network function, a subscription request for subscribing to receive information regarding changes to security material for the user equipment (pp. 0029-0030, 0035-0036; receives updated/new NAS security context); Sending, to the network function, the security material for the user equipment (pp. 0021, 0030-0032, 0035-0037). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Zhu and Niemi and utilize new/updated security context to ensure the NAS signaling connection is authenticated and protected and release the connection that is using the old security context . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 37-38 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (Zhu), WO2020/224618A1, in view of Starsinic et al (Starsinic), US 2022/0264503 . As per claim 37, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 28. Zhu further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: Receiving, from the network function, a request to handle a Protocol Data Unit, PDU, session for the user equipment (pp. 0154), the request comprising at least identification of a Session Management Function selected for the PDU session by the network function (pp. 0230-0231); In response to the request to handle the PDU session for the user equipment, managing the PDU session for the user equipment (pp. 0154, 0231). Zhu does not teach the request comprises at least one of a PDU session identifier, a network slice identifier, a network slice group identifier, a Non Access Stratum Request from the user equipment. Starsinic teaches a request to handle a PDU session for the UE to comprise at least one of a PDU session identifier (pp. 0142, 0267, 0289), a network slice identifier (pp. 0135-0136), a network slice group identifier (pp. 0137), a Non Access Stratum Request from the user equipment (pp. 0290, 0292, 0310, 0329). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Zhu and Starsinic and utilize different identifiers in the PDU session request to establish a PDU session specific for the requesting UE. As per claim 38, Zhu and Starsinic teach the invention as claimed in claim 37. Starsinic further teaches wherein the managing the PDU session for the user equipment includes at least one of: handling of NAS exchange with the user equipment about the PDU Session, handling the User plane activation and deactivation for the PDU Session; or handling mobility aspects of the PDU session (pp. 0290, 0292, 0310, 0329, 0323). As per claim 45, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 39. Zhu further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: Sending, to a Session Management Function, a request to handle a PDU session for the user equipment (pp. 0154); Sending, to the network function, a request for the network function to interface the Session Management Function for the PDU Session (pp. 0154, 0231). Zhu does not teach the request comprises at least one of a PDU session identifier, a network slice identifier, a network slice group identifier, a Non Access Stratum Request from the user equipment. Starsinic teaches a request to handle a PDU session for the UE to comprise at least one of a PDU session identifier (pp. 0142, 0267, 0289), a network slice identifier (pp. 0135-0136), a network slice group identifier (pp. 0137), a Non Access Stratum Request from the user equipment (pp. 0290, 0292, 0310, 0329). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Zhu and Starsinic and utilize different identifiers in the PDU session request to establish a PDU session specific for the requesting UE . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (Zhu), WO2020/224618A1, in view of Starsinic et al (Starsinic), US 2022/0264503, and further in view of obviousness . As per claim 46, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 39. Zhu further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: Sending, to the network function, a request to manage a PDU session for the user equipment (pp. 0154), the request to manage the PDU session for the user equipment comprising identification of a Session Management Function selected for the PDU session by the network function (pp. 0230-0231). Zhu does not teach the request comprises a PDU session identifier, a network slice identifier, a network slice group identifier, a Non Access Stratum Request from the user equipment and an implicit indication for the network function to select an intermediate Session Management Function for handling the PDU session, wherein the apparatus implements the intermediate Session Management function. Starsinic teaches a request to handle a PDU session for the UE to comprise a PDU session identifier (pp. 0142, 0267, 0289), a network slice identifier (pp. 0135-0136), a network slice group identifier (pp. 0137), a Non Access Stratum Request from the user equipment (pp. 0290, 0292, 0310, 0329). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Zhu and Starsinic and utilize different identifiers in the PDU session request to establish a PDU session specific for the requesting UE. Zhu and Starsinic does not teach the request to comprise an implicit indication for the network function to select an intermediate Session Management Function for handling the PDU session, wherein the apparatus implements the intermediate Session Management function. However, Zhu suggests to select and utilize an intermediate SMF that is closer to the apparatus (0103). It would have been obvious to been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Zhu, Starsinic and further include an indication in the request to utilize a SMF that is closer to the apparatus to hand the PDU session management as suggested by Zhu . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (Zhu), WO2020/224618A1, in view of Talebi Fard et al (Talebi Fard), US 2021/0410059 . As per claim 47, Zhu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 39. Zhu does not further teach wherein the operations further comprise: Receiving a further request related to mobility of the user equipment; Selecting a new network function for a target radio access node for the user equipment; Creating an association between the apparatus and the new network function for the user equipment; Forwarding the mobility request to the new network function; Using the association to receive from the new network function or send to the new network function the at least one of the following: the Non Access Stratum control message for the user equipment; or the Access Network control message for the user equipment. Talebi Fard teaches to Receiving a further request related to mobility of the user equipment (pp. 0260); Selecting a new network function for a target radio access node for the user equipment (pp. 0265-0269); Creating an association between the apparatus and the new network function for the user equipment (pp. 0267-0270); Forwarding the mobility request to the new network function (pp. 0267-0270); Using the association to receive from the new network function or send to the new network function the at least one of the following: the Non Access Stratum control message for the user equipment; or the Access Network control message for the user equipment (pp. 0259, 0294). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Zhu and Talebi Fard in order to determine if the UE has moved out of the service area and perform new establishment with a new network function to is out of the range and continuously provide service . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shan et al, US 11,722,982 Park et al, US 2021/0153286 Dao et al, US 2021/0105196 Alnas et al, US 2021/0058773 Lei et al, US 2020/0153871 Wifvesson et al, US 2020/0128398 Suthar et al, US 2019/0379530 Qiao et al, US 2019/0335392 A shortened statutory period for reply to this Office action is set to expire Three MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KENNY S LIN whose telephone number is (571) 272-3968. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached on 571-270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). KENNY S. LIN Examiner Art Unit 2416 /Kenny S Lin/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416 April 14, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/705,266 Page 2 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/705,266 Page 5 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/705,266 Page 6 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/705,266 Page 7 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/705,266 Page 9 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/705,266 Page 10 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/705,266 Page 12 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/705,266 Page 13 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/705,266 Page 14 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/705,266 Page 15 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/705,266 Page 16 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/705,266 Page 17 Art Unit: 2416