D)ETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hara et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0249796).
Regarding claim 1, Hara teaches a touch structure, comprising:
a first insulating layer (Fig. 1, insulating layer 7B);
a first touch layer (6B) located on the first insulating layer (Fig. 1);
a second insulating layer (5) located on a side of the first touch layer facing away from the first insulating layer (Fig. 1); and
a second touch layer (6A) located on a side of the second insulating layer facing away from the first touch layer (Fig. 1),
wherein the first touch layer comprises a plurality of first touch electrodes (see Fig. 1 and 2, electrodes SE2) and a plurality of first touch lines (Fig. 2, lines 22);
the second touch layer comprises a plurality of second touch electrodes (Fig. 1 and 2, electrodes SE1) and a plurality of second touch lines (lines 12);
the plurality of first touch electrodes and the plurality of second touch electrodes are intersected with each other and are insulated from each other (Fig. 1-2, insulated by layer 5);
each of the plurality of first touch electrodes is of a mesh structure (Fig. 2), and each of the plurality of second touch electrodes is of the mesh structure (Fig. 2);
mesh lines of two adjacent first touch electrodes are disconnected (Fig. 2) and mesh lines of two adjacent second touch electrodes are disconnected (Fig. 2); and
no via hole is arranged in a region of the second insulating layer that corresponds to the plurality of first touch electrodes and the plurality of second touch electrodes (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Hara teaches the touch structure according to claim 1, wherein the first touch layer further comprises a plurality of first dummy electrodes (paragraph [0059]), each of the plurality of first dummy electrodes and the first touch electrode are insulated from each other (see paragraph [0059]), the second touch layer further comprises a plurality of second dummy electrodes (paragraph [0059]), each of the plurality of second dummy electrodes and the second touch electrode are insulated from each other (paragraph [0059]),
the first dummy electrode comprises a plurality of first dummy sub-electrodes and the second dummy electrode comprises a plurality of second dummy sub-electrodes (paragraph [0059]-[0060]), the plurality of first dummy sub-electrodes are spaced apart from each other (paragraph [0059]-[0060]), and the plurality of second dummy sub-electrodes are spaced apart from each other (paragraph [0059]-[0060]),
the first dummy electrode is of the mesh structure, and a mesh line of the first touch electrode is disconnected from a mesh line of the first dummy electrode (paragraph [0059]-[0060]), and the second dummy electrode is of the mesh structure, and a mesh line of the second touch electrode is disconnected from a mesh line of the second dummy electrode (paragraph [0059]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 5, Hara teaches the touch structure according to claim 1, wherein the first touch electrode comprises a plurality of first touch portions that are connected to each other (see Fig. 3, portions MW1 connected), and the second touch electrode comprises a plurality of second touch portions that are connected to each other (Fig. 4, second portions MW2 that are connected).
Regarding claim 6, Hara teaches the touch structure according to claim 5, wherein the first touch layer further comprises a plurality of third dummy electrodes (paragraph [0059]-[0060]) and the second touch layer further comprises a plurality of fourth dummy electrodes (paragraph [0059]-[0060]), each of the plurality of third dummy electrodes is located between two adjacent first touch portions of the first touch electrode (paragraph [0057]) and each of the plurality of fourth dummy electrodes is located between two adjacent second touch portions of the second touch electrode (paragraph [0057]),
the third dummy electrode comprises a plurality of third dummy sub-electrodes and the fourth dummy electrode comprises a plurality of fourth dummy sub-electrodes (paragraph [0057]), the plurality of third dummy sub-electrodes are spaced apart from each other, and the plurality of fourth dummy sub-electrodes are spaced apart from each other (paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 7, Hara teaches the touch structure according to claim 1 comprising a third insulating layer (Fig. 1, layer 7A), wherein the third insulating layer is located on a side of the second touch layer facing away from the second insulating layer (Fig. 1), and
at least two of the first insulating layer (paragraph [0072]), the second insulating layer (paragraph [0068]), and the third insulating layer (paragraph [0072]) comprise an organic layer.
Regarding claim 9, Hara teaches a touch display panel, comprising a display structure and a touch structure (Abstract),
wherein the display structure comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (Fig. 7, sub-pixels R, G and B) that comprise a plurality of light emitting elements (paragraph [0017]);
the touch structure comprises:
a first insulating layer (Fig. 1, 7B);
a first touch layer (6B) located on the first insulating layer;
a second insulating layer (5) located on a side of the first touch layer facing away from the first insulating layer (Fig. 1); and
a second touch layer (6A) located on a side of the second insulating layer facing away from the first touch layer (Fig. 1),
wherein the first touch layer comprises a plurality of first touch electrodes and a plurality of first touch lines (Fig. 2, SE2 and 22);
the second touch layer comprises a plurality of second touch electrodes and a plurality of second touch lines (Fig. 2, SE1 and 12);
the plurality of first touch electrodes and the plurality of second touch electrodes are intersected with each other and are insulated from each other (Fig. 1-2);
each of the plurality of first touch electrodes is of a mesh structure (Fig. 2), and each of the plurality of second touch electrodes is of the mesh structure (Fig. 2);
mesh lines of two adjacent first touch electrodes are disconnected and mesh lines of two adjacent second touch electrodes are disconnected (Fig. 2), and no via hole is arranged in a region of the second insulating layer that corresponds to the plurality of first touch electrodes and the plurality of second touch electrodes (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Hara teaches a display apparatus, comprising the touch display panel according to claim 9 (Hara Title).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara in view of Wen et al. (WO 2022/052715).
Regarding claim 2, Hara teaches the touch structure according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein the second touch layer further comprises a third touch line and the first touch layer further includes a fourth touch line, the third touch line and the first touch line are connected through a first via hole passing through the second insulating layer to form a first lead, and the fourth touch line and the second touch line are connected through a second via hole passing through the second insulating layer to form a second lead.
However, Wen teaches a similar touch structure wherein the second touch layer further comprises a third touch line (see Fig. 3, first and third touch lines both labeled 221) and the first touch layer further includes a fourth touch line (see Fig. 3 and translation page 12, both sets of lines 221 and 222 have overlapping layers), the third touch line and the first touch line are connected through a first via hole passing through the second insulating layer to form a first lead (see Fig. 3, via V1 connects first and third lines, and second and fourth lines, through equivalent second insulating layer 240), and the fourth touch line and the second touch line are connected through a second via hole passing through the second insulating layer to form a second lead (see Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date that the lines could have been bi-layered as taught by Wen because Wen teaches that this reduces attenuation in the lines (see translation page 12).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara in view of Wen, further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0308701).
Regarding claim 3, Hara in view of Wen teaches the touch structure according to claim 2, wherein the first via hole and the second via hole are located in a periphery of an effective region in which the plurality of first touch electrodes and the plurality of second touch electrodes are disposed (see Wen Fig. 2A and 3, via holes are in the periphery area P),
but does not teach the touch structure further comprises a ground line, wherein the ground line is grounded, and the ground line is located between the first lead and the second lead at a position close to a bonding region. However, Lee teaches a similar touch structure where a ground line is positioned between the first and second lead close to a bonding region (Lee Fig. 7A, ground line GNL1 between first lead SL1 and second lead SL1 at bonding region I-PD). It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date that a ground line could have been included in the structure of Hara in view of Wen because this allows for shielding between the two lines, reducing the chances of noise/interference between the lines.
Claims 8, and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara in view of Bae et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0357810).
Regarding claim 8, Hara teaches the touch structure according to claim 1, wherein one of the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode extends in a first direction (Fig. 2, direction D1), the other one of the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode extends in a second direction (D2), and the first direction intersects the second direction (Fig. 2),
the first touch electrode is connected to at least one of the plurality of first touch lines (Fig. 2), and, the second touch electrode is connected to at least one of the plurality of second touch lines (Fig. 2).
Hara does not teach the first touch electrode and the first touch line connected thereto are of an integrated structure, and the second touch electrode and the second touch line connected thereto are of an integrated structure. However, Bae teaches that touch electrodes and lines in a touch structure can be formed as an integrated body (see Bae paragraph [0184]). It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date that the electrodes and lines could have been an integrated structure rather than coupled by a connection structure because Bae teaches that these two options are direct alternatives and can be substituted with predictable results (Bae paragraph [0184]).
Regarding claim 10, Hara teaches the touch display panel according to claim 9, further comprising:
a base substrate ; and
an encapsulation layer,
wherein the encapsulation layer is located on a side of the plurality of light emitting elements facing away from the base substrate, and configured to encapsulate the plurality of light emitting elements; and the touch structure is located on a side of the encapsulation layer facing away from the plurality of light emitting elements.
Hara does not teach the details of the display panel portion, but teaches that the touch structure is on top (Hara Fig. 6, display 32). However, Bae teaches a base substrate (Fig. 10, substrate SUB); and an encapsulation layer (ENCAP), wherein the encapsulation layer is located on a side of the plurality of light emitting elements facing away from the base substrate (LEDs ED), and configured to encapsulate the plurality of light emitting elements (Fig. 10); and the touch structure is located on a side of the encapsulation layer facing away from the plurality of light emitting elements (Fig. 10, touch structure made up of TE, T-ILD Is on top of encapsulating layer). It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date that the display of Hara could have had a similar structure to that of Bae because this is a standard OLED structure and would have been a simple substitution of the OLED of Hara with predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, Hara in view of Bae teaches the touch display panel according to claim 10, further comprising an anti- reflection layer (Bae Fig. 10, antireflective layer BM), wherein the anti-reflection layer is located on a side of the touch structure facing away from the base substrate (Bae Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 12, Hara in view of Bae teaches the touch display panel according to claim 11, wherein the anti-reflection layer comprises a black matrix (black matrix BM), orthographic projections of the plurality of first touch electrodes and the plurality of second touch electrodes on the base substrate overlap an orthographic projection of the black matrix on the base substrate (see Bae Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 13, Hara in view of Bae teaches the touch display panel according to claim 12, wherein the anti-reflection layer comprises a color filter layer that comprises a plurality of color filter units (Bae Fig. 10, color filter CF), and an orthographic projection of the plurality of color filter units on the base substrate does not overlap the orthographic projections of the plurality of first touch electrodes and the plurality of second touch electrodes on the base substrate (Bae Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 14, Hara in view of Bae teaches the touch display panel according to claim 10, further comprising a pixel definition layer (Bae Fig. 10, BANK), wherein the pixel definition layer comprises a plurality of openings and a pixel definition portion located between two adjacent openings (Bae Fig. 10), and the orthographic projections of the plurality of first touch electrodes and the plurality of second touch electrodes on the base substrate overlap an orthographic projection of the pixel definition portion on the base substrate (Bae Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 15, Hara in view of Bae teaches the touch display panel according to claim 14, wherein distances of an orthographic projection of at least a portion of mesh lines in the plurality of first touch electrodes and the plurality of second touch electrodes on the base substrate from orthographic projections of two opposite edges of the pixel definition portion on the base substrate are equal or substantially equal (Bae Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 16, Hara in view of Bae teaches the touch display panel according to claim 12, wherein distances of the orthographic projection of at least a portion of the mesh lines in the plurality of first touch electrodes and the plurality of second touch electrodes on the base substrate from orthographic projections of two opposite edges of the black matrix on the base substrate are equal or substantially equal (Bae Fig. 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 17-18, the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the two second sub-pixels are arranged in a first direction, the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel are arranged in a second direction, the first direction intersects the second direction, and the mesh lines comprise a portion located among the first sub-pixel, the two second sub-pixels, and the third sub-pixel and extending in the first direction.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels has a virtual pixel center, an extension direction of a width and an extension direction of a length of the sub-pixel are taken as a width extension direction and a length extension direction of a defining quadrangle, respectively, and the width and the length of the sub-pixel are taken as a width and a length of the defining quadrangle, respectively, and an intersection point of diagonals of the defining quadrangle is taken as the virtual pixel center, the plurality of sub-pixels comprise a first sub-pixel, second sub-pixels, and a third sub-pixel, the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel are arranged alternately in the first direction to form a first pixel group, the second sub-pixels are disposed side by side in the first direction to form a second pixel group, the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel are arranged alternately in the second direction to form a third pixel group, the second sub-pixels are disposed side by side in the second direction to form a fourth pixel group, the first pixel group and the second pixel group are arranged alternately in the second direction, and the third pixel group and the fourth pixel group are arranged alternately in the first direction,
wherein sequential connecting lines of virtual centers of two first sub-pixels and two third sub-pixels between two adjacent first pixel groups and two adjacent third pixel groups form a second virtual quadrangle, four second virtual quadrangles arranged in an array form a first virtual polygon in such a manner that adjacent edges are shared, and the first sub-pixels and the third sub-pixels are located at vertex angles or edges of the first virtual polygon and alternately distributed clockwise at the vertex angles or the edges of the first virtual polygon , the first virtual polygon has a first virtual point therein, and connecting lines of the first virtual point and the virtual centers of four third sub-pixels on the first virtual polygon divide the first virtual polygon into four virtual isosceles trapezoids.
Conclusion
/EVAN G CLINTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899