DETAILED ACTION
All rejections and objections not listed below have been withdrawn.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. PCTCN2021128243, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. A claim by claim analysis indicated a lack of support for the compounds: from the second row of compounds on instant claim page 24 through page 27. These compounds lacked support in the priority document PCTCN2021128243. Thus claim 49 received a priority date of 09/05/2022. The rest of the claims received a priority date of 11/02/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103- Updated due to Amendment
Claim(s) 1, 10, 13, 15, 19, 21, 26-27, 30-31, 36, 38, 40, 42, 45, 49-51, 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZAVORONKOVS (ZAVORONKOVS et al., WO 2021219089 A1, publication date 2021-11-04, effective filing date 2020-04-30, IDS).
The reference ZAVORONKOVS teaches the following general formula [006] for the purpose of treating coronavirus infection(title).
The reference ZAVORONKOVS teaches that in some embodiments R5 is methyl[0078].
ZAVORONKOVS teaches this lead compound (above)(page 78). This is nearly the same as the instant compound on page 25(below) of the instant claims expect for the methyl group at R5 and the rotation of the 5-membered ring. The reference teaches R11 of the general formula as being thiazole without a specific orientation[0098].
This helps to teach claims 1, 5, 6, 10, 13, 15, 19, 21, 26-27, 30-31, 36, 38, 40, 42, 45, 49, 51, 63.
The reference ZAVORONKOVS teaches(reference claim 67):
This helps to teach claim 50.
The reference ZAVORONKOVS does not teach a specific compound of instant claim 49 but instant requires picking and choosing several variables, the same is true for claims all claims.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified ZAVORONKOVS to achieve a compound of the instant invention because all necessary changes are suggested by embodiments under the general formula of the reference. For instance, the instant compound shown above only requires two changes to be made from the lead compound on reference page 78; an addition of a methyl which is suggested by paragraph [0078] and the rotation of the 5-membered ring suggested by page [0098]. One would be motivated to do so since the compound of the general formula of the reference are suggested for treating coronavirus infection and such slight modifications may keep the same overall activity but improve performance. A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). One would have a reasonable expectation of success because these changes are suggested by the reference.
The specific combination of features claimed is disclosed within the broad generic ranges taught by the reference but such “picking and choosing” within several variables does not necessarily give rise to anticipation. Corning Glass Works v. Sumitomo Elec., 868 F.2d 1251, 1262 (Fed. Circ. 1989).
However, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”. KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S,Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious”, the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Double Patenting- Updated due to Amendment
Claims 1, 10, 13, 15, 19, 21, 26-27, 30-31, 36, 38, 40, 42, 45, 49-51, 63 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 11731944 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The patent ‘944 claims:
This anticipates claims 1, 10, 13, 15, 19, 21, 26-27, 30-31, 36, 38, 40, 42, 45, 49-51, 63.
Claims 1, 10, 13, 15, 19, 21, 26-27, 30-31, 36, 38, 40, 42, 45, 49-51, 63 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-54 of copending Application No. 19/522,024 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The application ‘024 claims:
This anticipates claims 1, 10, 13, 15, 19, 21, 26-27, 30-31, 36, 38, 40, 42, 45, 49-51, 63.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. U.S.C. 103 Rejection
The applicant argues that the reference ZAVORONKOVS does not qualify as prior art under 102(a)(1) because the publication of ZAVORONKOVS was after the priority date of the instant invention. However, this is not persuasive for claim 49 because a claim by claim analysis indicated a lack of support for the compounds: from the second row of compounds on instant claim page 24 through page 27. These compounds lacked support in the priority document PCTCN2021128243. Thus claim 49 received a priority date of 09/05/2022 which is after the publication date of the reference.
The rest of the claims received a priority date of 11/02/2021 and do fall under 102(a)(2). However, the applicants argument for commonly owned disclosure is not persuasive because it requires a signed statement claiming common ownership must be shown to exist not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention. “A clear and conspicuous statement by the applicant (or the applicant's representative) that the claimed invention of the application under examination and the subject matter disclosed in the U.S. patent document applied as prior art were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention will be sufficient to establish that the AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) exception applies” MPEP 2154.02(c). In re Onda was pre-AIA .
Double Patenting
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
The applicant argues that the reference ZAVORONKOVS does not qualify as prior art under 102(a)(1) because the publication of ZAVORONKOVS was after the priority date of the instant invention. However, this is not persuasive for claim 49 because a claim by claim analysis indicated a lack of support for the compounds: from the second row of compounds on instant claim page 24 through page 27. These compounds lacked support in the priority document PCTCN2021128243. Thus claim 49 received a priority date of 09/05/2022 which is after the publication date of the reference.
The rest of the claims received a priority date of 11/02/2021 and do fall under 102(a)(2). However, the applicants argument for commonly owned disclosure is not persuasive because it requires a signed statement claiming common ownership must be shown to exist not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention. “A clear and conspicuous statement by the applicant (or the applicant's representative) that the claimed invention of the application under examination and the subject matter disclosed in the U.S. patent document applied as prior art were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention will be sufficient to establish that the AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) exception applies” MPEP 2154.02(c). In re Onda was pre-AIA .
Furthermore, since there are still remaining rejections besides the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection it has not been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 10, 13, 15, 19, 21, 26-27, 30-31, 36, 38, 40, 42, 45, 49-51, 63 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627