CTNF 18/705,758 CTNF 81546 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 12, 26, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al, CN 114628405A . PNG media_image1.png 748 924 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 1, Gop teaches a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate 01 ; a plurality of sub-pixels 10,420 located on the base substrate, wherein each sub- pixel in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting functional layer 130 , and the light-emitting functional layer comprises a plurality of film layers ( as shown in page 10 on translation ); a pixel defining pattern 400 located on the base substrate, wherein the pixel defining pattern comprises a plurality of first openings 410 to define light-emitting regions of the at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels, the pixel defining pattern further comprises a plurality of second openings 420 , a portion of at least one film layer of the light-emitting functional layer located in the first opening is a continuous portion ( as shown in figure 1A ), and a portion of the at least one film layer of the light-emitting functional layer located in at least one second opening is isolated from a portion of the at least one film layer of the light-emitting functional layer located at an outer side of the at least one second opening ( as shown in figure 1A ); a defining structure 200 located between the light-emitting functional layer and the base substrate, wherein a portion of the defining structure exposed by the second opening is configured to isolate the at least one film layer of the light- emitting functional layer, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels comprise a first sub-pixel 420 , the plurality of second openings comprise a first defining opening 210 , and the first defining opening exposes a portion of the defining structure surrounding a light-emitting region of the first sub-pixel, a straight line passing through a center of the light-emitting region of the first sub-pixel and extending along a first direction is a first straight line (“ first line ”), and a length of a portion of the first defining opening located at a first side ( length “A” ) of the first straight line is not less than a length of a portion of the first defining opening located at a second side ( length “B”) of the first straight line ( as shown in figure above ); a center connection line of at least one sub-pixel 10 and at least another sub- pixel 10 adjacent thereto among the plurality of sub-pixels does not pass through any of the plurality of second openings ( as shown in figure 1A. See also figure 10A ). Regarding claim 2, Guo teaches the plurality of sub-pixels are arranged as a plurality of sub-pixel rows 04,2 , sub-pixels in each sub-pixel row are arranged along a row direction, and the plurality of sub- pixel rows are arranged along a column direction 03/05 ; light-emitting regions of adjacent sub-pixels arranged along at least one of the row direction and the column direction are passed through by a same straight line, and the same straight line does not pass through the second opening ( figure 10A ). Regarding claim 3, Guo teaches the plurality of sub-pixels further comprise a second sub-pixel 10 , the plurality of second openings further comprise a second defining opening ( area of 420 that is above 210 ), and the second defining opening exposes a portion of the defining structure surrounding a light-emitting region of the second sub-pixel ( see figure 1 ), a straight line passing through a center of the light-emitting region of the second sub-pixel and extending along the first direction is a second straight line ( “second line”), a length of a portion of the second defining opening located at a first side of the second straight line is not less than a length of a portion of the second defining opening located at a second side of the second straight line, and a relative positional relationship between the first side and the second side of the first straight line is the same as a relative positional relationship between the first side and the second side of the second straight line ( Figure 10A ). Regarding claim 4, Guo teaches a turn-on voltage of the first sub-pixel is higher than a turn-on voltage of the second sub-pixel ( Note: this is taught as 101 is a red pixel and 103 as a blue pixel, see page 25 of translation ). Regarding claim 6, Guo teaches the light-emitting region of the first sub-pixel comprises a first axis of symmetry ( direction “V” ), the light-emitting region of the second sub- pixel comprises a second axis of symmetry, an area of a portion of the first defining opening located at a first side of the first axis of symmetry is not less than an area of a portion of the first defining opening located at a second side of the first axis of symmetry, an area of a portion of the second defining opening located at a first side of the second axis of symmetry is not less than an area of a portion of the second defining opening located at a second side of the second axis of symmetry ( direction “U” ), and an extending direction of the first axis of symmetry intersects with an extending direction of the second axis of symmetry ( figure 10A ). Regarding claim 7, Guo teaches each sub-pixel in the at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels further comprises a pixel circuit 013 (figure 2) , and a first electrode 110 and a second electrode 120 located at both sides of the light-emitting functional layer, the first electrode is located between the light-emitting functional layer and the base substrate, the first electrode comprises a main electrode and a connection electrode ( 110 located in layer 200 ), the connection electrode does not overlap with the light-emitting region in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the connection electrode is electrically connected with the pixel circuit through a connection via hole, and the second opening does not overlap with the connection via hole in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate ( figure 2 ). Regarding claim 8, Guo teaches the defining structure comprises a first annular defining structure surrounding the main electrode of the first sub-pixel, and an area of a portion of the first annular defining structure not exposed by the first defining opening is not less than an area of a portion of the first annular defining structure exposed by the first defining opening ( as cited in claim 12. See also figures 1A and 10A ). Regarding claim 12, Guo teaches any straight line extending along a second direction passes through the second defining opening surrounding a same second sub-pixel at most once, and the second direction intersects with the first direction ( such as the arrowed line that represents 420 in figure above ). Regarding claim 26, Guo teaches a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate 01 ; a plurality of sub-pixels 10,420 located on the base substrate, wherein each sub- pixel in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting functional layer 130 , and the light-emitting functional layer comprises a plurality of film layers ( as shown in page 10 on translation ); a pixel defining pattern 400 located on the base substrate, wherein the pixel defining pattern comprises a plurality of first openings 410 to define light-emitting regions of the at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels, the pixel defining pattern further comprises a plurality of second openings 420 , a portion of at least one film layer of the light-emitting functional layer located in the first opening is a continuous portion, and a portion of the at least one film layer of the light-emitting functional layer located in at least one second opening is isolated from a portion of the at least one film layer of the light-emitting functional layer located at an outer side of the at least one second opening ( as shown in figure 1A ); a defining structure 200 located between the light-emitting functional layer and the base substrate, wherein a portion of the defining structure exposed by the second opening is configured to isolate the at least one film layer of the light- emitting functional layer, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels comprise a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel adjacent to each other a turn-on voltage of the first sub-pixel is higher than a turn-on voltage of the second sub-pixel ( Note: this is taught as 101 is a red pixel and 103 as a blue pixel, see page 25 of translation )., and at least part of an edge of the defining structure exposed by the second opening between the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel is closer to a light-emitting region of the second sub-pixel ( as shown in figure 1A. See also figure 10A ). Regarding claim 38, Guo teaches a display device, comprising the display substrate according to claim 1 ( figures 1A and 10A ) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al, CN 114628405A . Regarding claim 5, while Guo teaches the first defining opening is only located at the first side of the first straight line, Guo fails to teach at least 60% of the second defining opening is located at the first side of the second straight line. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose these particular dimensions because applicant has not disclosed that the dimensions are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension. Indeed, it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 9-11, 18, 20, 21, 28, 32, and 34 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Suzuki et al, US Patent 8,475,937, discloses the turn on voltage of red OLED is 8.7 V and turn on voltage of blue OLED is 5.7V Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to QUOVAUNDA JEFFERSON whose telephone number is (571)272-5051. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7AM-4PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Dale E Page can be reached at 571-270-7877. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. QVJ /DALE E PAGE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/705,758 Page 2 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/705,758 Page 3 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/705,758 Page 4 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/705,758 Page 5 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/705,758 Page 6 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/705,758 Page 7 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/705,758 Page 8 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/705,758 Page 9 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/705,758 Page 10 Art Unit: 2899