DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Preliminary amendment submitted on 04/30/2024. By this amendment, original claims 1-13 are amended and therefore, amended claims 1-13 are pending in this action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/11/2025 and 04/20/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6, 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In analyzing under step 1, is the claim to a process, machine manufacture or composition of matter? Yes.
In analyzing under step 2A Prong One, Does the claim recite an abstract idea law of nature or natural phenomenon? Yes.
The claim(s) 1, 10, 12 and 13 recite(s) the abstract limitations such as “acquire first evaluation information for at least a first element among a plurality of elements constituting an information system in a first stage of any one of stages from a development stage of the first element to an operation stage of the information system, and register first configuration information corresponding to the first element and the first evaluation information in a database in association; acquire first state information indicating a state of the first element in a second stage other than the first stage among the stages from the development stage to the operation stage, and register the first configuration information and the first state information in the database in association; and in response to a display request, display a plurality of pieces of configuration information respectively corresponding to the plurality of elements in a connection form based on a relationship between the elements, and display the first configuration information, the first state information, and the first evaluation information in a connection form based on an association in the database” is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mental process but for the recitation of generic computer processor such as “an information management apparatus comprising: at least one storage device configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to” (see claim 1) and “an information management system comprising: a database in which first configuration information corresponding to at least a first element among a plurality of elements constituting an information system is registered; and an information management apparatus connected to the database, wherein the information management apparatus” (see claim 10) and “A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute:” (see claim 13)
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components and software module, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
The human mind can “acquire first evaluation information … register first configuration information… in a database in association; acquire first state information … register the first configuration information and the first state information in the database in association; … display a plurality of pieces of configuration information … and display the first configuration information, the first state information, and the first evaluation information …”
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract limitation.
In analyzing under step 2A Prong Two, Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? NO.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims recite a generic processor such as “an information management apparatus comprising: at least one storage device configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to” (see claim 1) and “an information management system comprising: a database in which first configuration information corresponding to at least a first element among a plurality of elements constituting an information system is registered; and an information management apparatus connected to the database, wherein the information management apparatus” (see claim 10) and “A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute:” (see claim 13) for acquiring input, storing input and output the stored input in response to request.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because a generic processor and software module which are high level acquiring input, storing input and output the stored input in response to request.
.
Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
In analyzing under step 2B, does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? NO
Claims 1-13 do not recite any additional elements except a generic processor such as “an information management apparatus comprising: at least one storage device configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to” (see claim 1) and “an information management system comprising: a database in which first configuration information corresponding to at least a first element among a plurality of elements constituting an information system is registered; and an information management apparatus connected to the database, wherein the information management apparatus” (see claim 10) and “A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute:” (see claim 13) for acquiring input, storing input and output the stored input in response to request.
Accordingly, the additional generic elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because a generic processor and software module which are high level for acquiring input, storing input and output the stored input in response to request.
The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10, 12 and 13 recite a limitation such as “indicating a state of the first element in a second stage other than the first stage among the stages from the development stage to the operation stage…”
The recited limitation such as “state…in a second stage other than the first stage” renders this limitation indefinite because it is unclear the differences between “state” and “stage”.
Claims 1, 10, 12 and 13 recite a limitation such as “state information”, “configuration information” and “evaluation information”
The recited limitation such as “state information”, “configuration information” and “evaluation information” renders this limitation indefinite because Application fails to define “state information”, “configuration information” and “evaluation information” in the claims. As such, it is unclear the differences between those information above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103) as being unpatentable over Harrington (US 2020/0,177,397), in view of Harata et al. (US 2022/0,179,641)
As per claim 1:
Harrington discloses:
An information management apparatus comprising: at least one storage device configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to:
(Harrington, Figs 1-6)
(Harrington, Fig. 1, Certification Application 104 (1) to (4))
(Harrington, [0038] …computing device 304 may include a communication interface 306, a user interface 308, one or more processors 310, and memory 312…user interface 308 may enable a user to provide inputs and receive outputs from the computing device 304. The user interface 308 may include a data output device (e.g., visual display, audio speakers)
(Harrington, [0039] The memory 312 … using computer-readable media, such as computer storage media. Computer-readable media includes, …)
acquire first evaluation information for at least a first element among a plurality of elements constituting an information system in a first stage of any one of stages from a development stage of the first element to an operation stage of the information system, and register first configuration information corresponding to the first element and the first evaluation information in a database in association;
(Harrington, [0017] ''the build identifier may include a major release number, a minor release number, a revision number, a patch number, and/or so forth.")
(Harrington, [0019… The certifier application 104(1) may access and validate the particular version of the software package 108 that is stored at the network storage location. For example, the certifier application 104(1) may perform one or more software unit tests on the particular version. Thus, the particular version of the software package 108 is deemed to have met a validation requirement when the particular version passes the one or more software unit test. Accordingly, the certifier application 104(1) may generate a validation status certificate 114(1) that indicates that the particular version has met the validation requirement…include data regarding the executed validation, such as the identifier of the certifier application 104(1), identification information of the one or more tests performed, the results of such tests, and/or an indication of whether the particular version meets a requirement)
acquire first state information indicating a state of the first element in a second stage other than the first stage among the stages from the development stage to the operation stage, and register the first configuration information and the first state information in the database in association; and
(Harrington, [0017] ''the build identifier may include a major release number, a minor release number, a revision number, a patch number, and/or so forth.")
(Harrington, [0019… The certifier application 104(1) may access and validate the particular version of the software package 108 that is stored at the network storage location. For example, the certifier application 104(1) may perform one or more software unit tests on the particular version. Thus, the particular version of the software package 108 is deemed to have met a validation requirement when the particular version passes the one or more software unit test. Accordingly, the certifier application 104(1) may generate a validation status certificate 114(1) that indicates that the particular version has met the validation requirement…include data regarding the executed validation, such as the identifier of the certifier application 104(1), identification information of the one or more tests performed, the results of such tests, and/or an indication of whether the particular version meets a requirement)
in response to a
(Harrington, [0044] …test module 318 may be initiated by the interface module 316 to prompt a human operator to perform a manual test or certification to determine whether a validation requirement is met. The prompts may include messages that are displayed via a user interface control of the test module 318)
(Harrington, [0038]…The user interface 308 may enable a user to provide inputs and receive outputs from the computing device 304. The user interface 308 may include a data output device (e.g., visual display, audio speakers), and one or more data input devices)
Harrington does not clearly disclose a method of display information
Harata discloses a method of displaying information
(Harata, Fig. 45, Latest Software)
(Harata, Fig. 188, Software version List 511c)
(Harata, Fig. 188, User Info Registration)
(Harata Claim 5… acquire a software version and a configuration setting information version as configuration setting information of the …target ECU; and transmit the collected …information to the center device.[1004]…in-vehicle display 7 displays the display information by using the display control information in response to the instruction …)
(Harata shows different type of acquired software version and configuration to display for user to view)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a well-known method of Harata into the system in order for allowing user to request information and view the requested information.
(Harata, Fig. 45, Latest Software)
(Harata, Fig. 188, Software version List 511c)
(Harata, Fig. 188, User Info Registration)
(Harata Claim 5… acquire a software version and a configuration setting information version as configuration setting information of the …target ECU; and transmit the collected …information to the center device.[1004]…in-vehicle display 7 displays the display information by using the display control information in response to the instruction …)
(Harata shows different type of acquired software version and configuration to display for user to view)
As per claim 2:
Harrington-Harata further discloses:
register, upon receiving first relationship between the first element and a second element among the plurality of elements, the first configuration information and second configuration information corresponding to the second element in the database in association based on the first relationship, and
(Harrington, [0019… The certifier application 104(1) may access and validate the particular version of the software package 108 that is stored at the network storage location. For example, the certifier application 104(1) may perform one or more software unit tests on the particular version. Thus, the particular version of the software package 108 is deemed to have met a validation requirement when the particular version passes the one or more software unit test. Accordingly, the certifier application 104(1) may generate a validation status certificate 114(1) that indicates that the particular version has met the validation requirement…include data regarding the executed validation, such as the identifier of the certifier application 104(1), identification information of the one or more tests performed, the results of such tests, and/or an indication of whether the particular version meets a requirement)
display the first configuration information and the second configuration information in a connection form based on association in the database.
(Harrington, [0044] …test module 318 may be initiated by the interface module 316 to prompt a human operator to perform a manual test or certification to determine whether a validation requirement is met. The prompts may include messages that are displayed via a user interface control of the test module 318)
(Harrington, [0038]…The user interface 308 may enable a user to provide inputs and receive outputs from the computing device 304. The user interface 308 may include a data output device (e.g., visual display, audio speakers), and one or more data input devices)
As per claim 3:
Harrington-Harata further discloses:
wherein the first stage is after the second stage, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: acquire the first evaluation information evaluated based on the first state information associated with the first configuration information in the second stage and the first configuration information.
(Harrington, [0019… The certifier application 104(1) may access and validate the particular version of the software package 108 that is stored at the network storage location. For example, the certifier application 104(1) may perform one or more software unit tests on the particular version. Thus, the particular version of the software package 108 is deemed to have met a validation requirement when the particular version passes the one or more software unit test. Accordingly, the certifier application 104(1) may generate a validation status certificate 114(1) that indicates that the particular version has met the validation requirement…include data regarding the executed validation, such as the identifier of the certifier application 104(1), identification information of the one or more tests performed, the results of such tests, and/or an indication of whether the particular version meets a requirement)
As per claim 4:
Harrington-Harata further discloses:
transmit an evaluation request including the first configuration information and the first state information to an evaluation server; acquire second evaluation information for the first element from the evaluation server; and register the second evaluation information in the database in further association with the first configuration information.
(Harrington, [0019… The certifier application 104(1) may access and validate the particular version of the software package 108 that is stored at the network storage location. For example, the certifier application 104(1) may perform one or more software unit tests on the particular version. Thus, the particular version of the software package 108 is deemed to have met a validation requirement when the particular version passes the one or more software unit test. Accordingly, the certifier application 104(1) may generate a validation status certificate 114(1) that indicates that the particular version has met the validation requirement…include data regarding the executed validation, such as the identifier of the certifier application 104(1), identification information of the one or more tests performed, the results of such tests, and/or an indication of whether the particular version meets a requirement)
As per claim 5:
Harrington-Harata further discloses:
notify a user at a publication destination of information registered in the database when the information is registered in the database.
(Harrington, [0044] …test module 318 may be initiated by the interface module 316 to prompt a human operator to perform a manual test or certification to determine whether a validation requirement is met. The prompts may include messages that are displayed via a user interface control of the test module 318)
(Harrington, [0038]…The user interface 308 may enable a user to provide inputs and receive outputs from the computing device 304. The user interface 308 may include a data output device (e.g., visual display, audio speakers), and one or more data input devices)
As per claim 6:
Harrington-Harata further discloses:
acquire third evaluation information for an updated first element when the first element is updated; and register the third evaluation information in the database in further association with the first configuration information.
(Harrington, [0019… The certifier application 104(1) may access and validate the particular version of the software package 108 that is stored at the network storage location. For example, the certifier application 104(1) may perform one or more software unit tests on the particular version. Thus, the particular version of the software package 108 is deemed to have met a validation requirement when the particular version passes the one or more software unit test. Accordingly, the certifier application 104(1) may generate a validation status certificate 114(1) that indicates that the particular version has met the validation requirement…include data regarding the executed validation, such as the identifier of the certifier application 104(1), identification information of the one or more tests performed, the results of such tests, and/or an indication of whether the particular version meets a requirement)
As per claim 9:
Harrington-Harata further discloses:
wherein the plurality of elements includes hardware and software installed in the hardware.
(Harrington, Figs 1-6)
(Harrington, [0038] …computing device 304 may include a communication interface 306, a user interface 308, one or more processors 310, and memory 312…user interface 308 may enable a user to provide inputs and receive outputs from the computing device 304. The user interface 308 may include a data output device (e.g., visual display, audio speakers)
As per claim 10:
Harrington discloses:
An information management system comprising: a database in which first configuration information corresponding to at least a first element among a plurality of elements constituting an information system is registered; and an information management apparatus connected to the database, wherein the information management apparatus
(Harrington, Figs 1-6)
(Harrington, [0038] …computing device 304 may include a communication interface 306, a user interface 308, one or more processors 310, and memory 312…user interface 308 may enable a user to provide inputs and receive outputs from the computing device 304. The user interface 308 may include a data output device (e.g., visual display, audio speakers)
acquires first evaluation information for the first element in a first stage of any one of stages from a development stage of the first element to an operation stage of the information system, and registers the first configuration information and the first evaluation information in the database in association;
(Harrington, [0017] ''the build identifier may include a major release number, a minor release number, a revision number, a patch number, and/or so forth.")
(Harrington, [0019… The certifier application 104(1) may access and validate the particular version of the software package 108 that is stored at the network storage location. For example, the certifier application 104(1) may perform one or more software unit tests on the particular version. Thus, the particular version of the software package 108 is deemed to have met a validation requirement when the particular version passes the one or more software unit test. Accordingly, the certifier application 104(1) may generate a validation status certificate 114(1) that indicates that the particular version has met the validation requirement…include data regarding the executed validation, such as the identifier of the certifier application 104(1), identification information of the one or more tests performed, the results of such tests, and/or an indication of whether the particular version meets a requirement)
acquires first state information indicating a state of the first element in a second stage other than the first stage among the stages from the development stage to the operation stage, and registers the first configuration information and the first state information in the database in association; and
(Harrington, [0017] ''the build identifier may include a major release number, a minor release number, a revision number, a patch number, and/or so forth.")
(Harrington, [0019… The certifier application 104(1) may access and validate the particular version of the software package 108 that is stored at the network storage location. For example, the certifier application 104(1) may perform one or more software unit tests on the particular version. Thus, the particular version of the software package 108 is deemed to have met a validation requirement when the particular version passes the one or more software unit test. Accordingly, the certifier application 104(1) may generate a validation status certificate 114(1) that indicates that the particular version has met the validation requirement…include data regarding the executed validation, such as the identifier of the certifier application 104(1), identification information of the one or more tests performed, the results of such tests, and/or an indication of whether the particular version meets a requirement)
in response to a display request,
(Harrington, [0044] …test module 318 may be initiated by the interface module 316 to prompt a human operator to perform a manual test or certification to determine whether a validation requirement is met. The prompts may include messages that are displayed via a user interface control of the test module 318)
(Harrington, [0038]…The user interface 308 may enable a user to provide inputs and receive outputs from the computing device 304. The user interface 308 may include a data output device (e.g., visual display, audio speakers), and one or more data input devices)
Harrington does not clearly disclose a method of display information
Harata discloses a method of displaying information
(Harata, Fig. 45, Latest Software)
(Harata, Fig. 188, Software version List 511c)
(Harata, Fig. 188, User Info Registration)
(Harata Claim 5… acquire a software version and a configuration setting information version as configuration setting information of the …target ECU; and transmit the collected …information to the center device.[1004]…in-vehicle display 7 displays the display information by using the display control information in response to the instruction …)
(Harata shows different type of acquired software version and configuration to display for user to view)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a well-known method of Harata into the system in order for allowing user to request information and view the requested information.
(Harata, Fig. 45, Latest Software)
(Harata, Fig. 188, Software version List 511c)
(Harata, Fig. 188, User Info Registration)
(Harata Claim 5… acquire a software version and a configuration setting information version as configuration setting information of the …target ECU; and transmit the collected …information to the center device.[1004]…in-vehicle display 7 displays the display information by using the display control information in response to the instruction …)
(Harata shows different type of acquired software version and configuration to display for user to view)
As per claim 11:
Harrington-Harata further discloses:
registers, upon receiving first relationship between the first element and a second element among the plurality of elements, the first configuration information and second configuration information corresponding to the second element in the database in association based on the first relationship; and
(Harrington, [0017] ''the build identifier may include a major release number, a minor release number, a revision number, a patch number, and/or so forth.")
(Harrington, [0019… The certifier application 104(1) may access and validate the particular version of the software package 108 that is stored at the network storage location. For example, the certifier application 104(1) may perform one or more software unit tests on the particular version. Thus, the particular version of the software package 108 is deemed to have met a validation requirement when the particular version passes the one or more software unit test. Accordingly, the certifier application 104(1) may generate a validation status certificate 114(1) that indicates that the particular version has met the validation requirement…include data regarding the executed validation, such as the identifier of the certifier application 104(1), identification information of the one or more tests performed, the results of such tests, and/or an indication of whether the particular version meets a requirement)
displays the first configuration information and the second configuration information in a connection form based on association in the database.
(Harrington, [0044] …test module 318 may be initiated by the interface module 316 to prompt a human operator to perform a manual test or certification to determine whether a validation requirement is met. The prompts may include messages that are displayed via a user interface control of the test module 318)
(Harrington, [0038]…The user interface 308 may enable a user to provide inputs and receive outputs from the computing device 304. The user interface 308 may include a data output device (e.g., visual display, audio speakers), and one or more data input devices)
As per claim 12:
Harrington discloses:
An information management method for causing a computer to execute:
(Harrington, Figs 1-6)
(Harrington, [0038] …computing device 304 may include a communication interface 306, a user interface 308, one or more processors 310, and memory 312…user interface 308 may enable a user to provide inputs and receive outputs from the computing device 304. The user interface 308 may include a data output device (e.g., visual display, audio speakers)
(Harrington, [0039] The memory 312 … using computer-readable media, such as computer storage media. Computer-readable media includes, …)
acquiring first evaluation information for at least a first element among a plurality of elements constituting an information system in a first stage of any one of stages from a development stage of the first element to an operation stage of the information system; registering first configuration information corresponding to the first element and the first evaluation information in a database in association;
(Harrington, [0017] ''the build identifier may include a major release number, a minor release number, a revision number, a patch number, and/or so forth.")
(Harrington, [0019… The certifier application 104(1) may access and validate the particular version of the software package 108 that is stored at the network storage location. For example, the certifier application 104(1) may perform one or more software unit tests on the particular version. Thus, the particular version of the software package 108 is deemed to have met a validation requirement when the particular version passes the one or more software unit test. Accordingly, the certifier application 104(1) may generate a validation status certificate 114(1) that indicates that the particular version has met the validation requirement…include data regarding the executed validation, such as the identifier of the certifier application 104(1), identification information of the one or more tests performed, the results of such tests, and/or an indication of whether the particular version meets a requirement)
acquiring first state information indicating a state of the first element in a second stage other than the first stage among the stages from the development stage to the operation stage; registering the first configuration information and the first state information in the database in association; and
(Harrington, [0017] ''the build identifier may include a major release number, a minor release number, a revision number, a patch number, and/or so forth.")
(Harrington, [0019… The certifier application 104(1) may access and validate the particular version of the software package 108 that is stored at the network storage location. For example, the certifier application 104(1) may perform one or more software unit tests on the particular version. Thus, the particular version of the software package 108 is deemed to have met a validation requirement when the particular version passes the one or more software unit test. Accordingly, the certifier application 104(1) may generate a validation status certificate 114(1) that indicates that the particular version has met the validation requirement…include data regarding the executed validation, such as the identifier of the certifier application 104(1), identification information of the one or more tests performed, the results of such tests, and/or an indication of whether the particular version meets a requirement)
in response to a
(Harrington, [0044] …test module 318 may be initiated by the interface module 316 to prompt a human operator to perform a manual test or certification to determine whether a validation requirement is met. The prompts may include messages that are displayed via a user interface control of the test module 318)
(Harrington, [0038]…The user interface 308 may enable a user to provide inputs and receive outputs from the computing device 304. The user interface 308 may include a data output device (e.g., visual display, audio speakers), and one or more data input devices)
Harrington does not clearly disclose a method of display information
Harata discloses a method of displaying information
(Harata, Fig. 45, Latest Software)
(Harata, Fig. 188, Software version List 511c)
(Harata, Fig. 188, User Info Registration)
(Harata Claim 5… acquire a software version and a configuration setting information version as configuration setting information of the …target ECU; and transmit the collected …information to the center device.[1004]…in-vehicle display 7 displays the display information by using the display control information in response to the instruction …)
(Harata shows different type of acquired software version and configuration to display for user to view)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a well-known method of Harata into the system in order for allowing user to request information and view the requested information.
(Harata, Fig. 45, Latest Software)
(Harata, Fig. 188, Software version List 511c)
(Harata, Fig. 188, User Info Registration)
(Harata Claim 5… acquire a software version and a configuration setting information version as configuration setting information of the …target ECU; and transmit the collected …information to the center device.[1004]…in-vehicle display 7 displays the display information by using the display control information in response to the instruction …)
(Harata shows different type of acquired software version and configuration to display for user to view)
As per claim 13:
Harrington discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute:
(Harrington, Figs 1-6)
(Harrington, [0038] …computing device 304 may include a communication interface 306, a user interface 308, one or more processors 310, and memory 312…user interface 308 may enable a user to provide inputs and receive outputs from the computing device 304. The user interface 308 may include a data output device (e.g., visual display, audio speakers)
(Harrington, [0039] The memory 312 … using computer-readable media, such as computer storage media. Computer-readable media includes, …)
a first registration process of acquiring first evaluation information for at least a first element among a plurality of elements constituting an information system in a first stage of any one of stages from a development stage of the first element to an operation stage of the information system, and registering first configuration information corresponding to the first element and the first evaluation information in a database in association;
(Harrington, [0017] ''the build identifier may include a major release number, a minor release number, a revision number, a patch number, and/or so forth.")
(Harrington, [0019… The certifier application 104(1) may access and validate the particular version of the software package 108 that is stored at the network storage location. For example, the certifier application 104(1) may perform one or more software unit tests on the particular version. Thus, the particular version of the software package 108 is deemed to have met a validation requirement when the particular version passes the one or more software unit test. Accordingly, the certifier application 104(1) may generate a validation status certificate 114(1) that indicates that the particular version has met the validation requirement…include data regarding the executed validation, such as the identifier of the certifier application 104(1), identification information of the one or more tests performed, the results of such tests, and/or an indication of whether the particular version meets a requirement)
a second registration process of acquiring first state information indicating a state of the first element in a second stage other than the first stage among the stages from the development stage to the operation stage, and registering the first configuration information and the first state information in the database in association; and
(Harrington, [0017] ''the build identifier may include a major release number, a minor release number, a revision number, a patch number, and/or so forth.")
(Harrington, [0019… The certifier application 104(1) may access and validate the particular version of the software package 108 that is stored at the network storage location. For example, the certifier application 104(1) may perform one or more software unit tests on the particular version. Thus, the particular version of the software package 108 is deemed to have met a validation requirement when the particular version passes the one or more software unit test. Accordingly, the certifier application 104(1) may generate a validation status certificate 114(1) that indicates that the particular version has met the validation requirement…include data regarding the executed validation, such as the identifier of the certifier application 104(1), identification information of the one or more tests performed, the results of such tests, and/or an indication of whether the particular version meets a requirement)
a
(Harrington, [0044] …test module 318 may be initiated by the interface module 316 to prompt a human operator to perform a manual test or certification to determine whether a validation requirement is met. The prompts may include messages that are displayed via a user interface control of the test module 318)
(Harrington, [0038]…The user interface 308 may enable a user to provide inputs and receive outputs from the computing device 304. The user interface 308 may include a data output device (e.g., visual display, audio speakers), and one or more data input devices)
Harrington does not clearly disclose a method of display information
Harata discloses a method of displaying information
(Harata, Fig. 45, Latest Software)
(Harata, Fig. 188, Software version List 511c)
(Harata, Fig. 188, User Info Registration)
(Harata Claim 5… acquire a software version and a configuration setting information version as configuration setting information of the …target ECU; and transmit the collected …information to the center device.[1004]…in-vehicle display 7 displays the display information by using the display control information in response to the instruction …)
(Harata shows different type of acquired software version and configuration to display for user to view)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a well-known method of Harata into the system in order for allowing user to request information and view the requested information.
(Harata, Fig. 45, Latest Software)
(Harata, Fig. 188, Software version List 511c)
(Harata, Fig. 188, User Info Registration)
(Harata Claim 5… acquire a software version and a configuration setting information version as configuration setting information of the …target ECU; and transmit the collected …information to the center device.[1004]…in-vehicle display 7 displays the display information by using the display control information in response to the instruction …)
(Harata shows different type of acquired software version and configuration to display for user to view)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior arts of record do not clearly disclose “…the first configuration information includes a latest hash value area in which a first hash value calculated from the software is stored and a history area of hash values, the first evaluation information includes a first test result of the software and a second hash value calculated from the first test result, and … register the first hash value and the second hash value in the database in association; save the first hash value to a history area of the first configuration information while maintaining association with the second hash value when the software is updated; calculate a third hash value from the updated software; store the third hash value in the latest hash value area; acquire the third evaluation information including a second test result of the updated software and a fourth hash value calculated from the second test result; and further associate the third evaluation information with the first configuration information, and register the third hash value and the fourth hash value in the database in association” as recited in claim 7.
The prior arts of record do not clearly disclose “…third configuration information among the plurality of pieces of configuration information is a first hash value calculated from the software, the first evaluation information is a first test result of the software and is associated with fourth configuration information which is a second hash value calculated from the first test result, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: register the third configuration information and the fourth configuration information in the database in association; calculate a third hash value from the updated software as fifth configuration information when the software is updated; acquire the third evaluation information including a second test result of the updated software and a fourth hash value calculated from the second test result; and register the fifth configuration information and the third evaluation information in the database in further association with the first configuration information while maintaining association between the third configuration information and the fourth configuration information” as recited in claim 8.
Conclusion
/Thien Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111