DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujio et al. (JPH08151391A and English machine translation thereof).
Fujio et al. teaches an aqueous composition (water as solvent) phosphate ester salts of both Formula 1 and 2 (organic phosphoric acid ester salt) (Pgs. 1-2 of JPH08151391A and [0001], [0009], and [0010] of English machine translation). Fujio et al. teaches that phosphate ester salts of Formula 1 may have an R group of an alkyl group of 8-18 carbon atoms such as hexadecyl (16 carbon atoms) (corresponding to instant (A)) and the phosphate ester salts of Formula 2 may have R groups of an alkyl group of 8-18 carbon atoms such as octyl (8 carbon atoms) (corresponding to instant (B)) ([0006]-[0007], [0011], and [0013] of English machine translation).
Fujio et al. teaches that the monoester is present in 80 wt% or more relative to the total of the monoester and the diester (claimed A and B) ([0014] of English machine translation). Fujio et al. teaches that the total amount of phosphate ester (A+B) in the composition is preferably 12-50 wt% ([0014] of English machine translation). Fujio et al. does not teach the presence of a non-ionic surfactant.
Fujio et al. does not teach a specific embodiment wherein the monoester is a hexadecyl alkyl ester and the diester is a octyl alkyl ester. However, at the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include such compounds in the composition with a reasonable expectation of success and would be motivated to do so because Fujio et al. teaches that each compound is suitable for the invention.
Fujio et al. does not teach with sufficient specificity the claimed range of 35-55 parts by mass of phosphate ester salts. However, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
The Office recognizes that all of the claimed physical properties are not positively taught by the reference, namely the claimed acid value. However, the reference renders obvious all of the claimed ingredients, in the claimed amounts, process steps, and process conditions. Furthermore, there is nothing in Applicant’s original specification to indicate that the claimed property is the result of anything other than the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. Therefore, the claimed physical properties would implicitly be achieved by the composition as claimed and rendered obvious. If it is the Applicant' s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support Applicant' s position; and (2) it would be the Office's position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, in the claimed amounts, process steps, and process conditions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 3, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Fujio does not teach an embodiment comprising long-chain and short-chain phosphoric acid ester salts in a single composition. However, as set forth in the previous Office action, at the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include both a hexadecyl alkyl ester and a diester that is a octyl alkyl ester in the composition with a reasonable expectation of success and would be motivated to do so because Fujio et al. teaches that each compound is suitable for the invention (see MPEP 2144.06).
Furthermore, with regards to the relative amounts of (A) and (B) it is noted that Fujio already teaches that the monoester (A) is present in 80 wt% or more relative to the total of the monoester and diester (claimed (A) and (B)). Therefore, the data cited by Applicant (Comparative examples rI-15) do not compare the claimed invention to that of the prior art.
Applicant discusses supplemental experimental data, however, such data has not been submitted in the form of a declaration or affidavit. A showing of unexpected results must be based on evidence, not argument or speculation (see MPEP 2145).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 December 16, 2025