DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2021-0149488, filed on 11/03/2021.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Examiner notes the present abstract is written similar to claim formatting. Abstract should be corrected to read as a written in narrative form, see MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 14-15, and 19 are in poor quality and contain gray and black shading in Figures 14-15 rendering them ineligible and insufficient quality so that all details in the drawings are reproducible in the printed patent. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show element 141 (first boundary) and element 143 (second boundary) as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim is written as an independent claim. However, the preamble use the words “the glenoid base”, suggesting dependence to another claim. For the sake of compact prosecution and examination, Examiner is interpreting the claim to read “a glenoid base” and the claim to be independent. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein one end of the stem and an edge of fixing holes vertically penetrating the base are exposed without being covered by the porous layer”. For the sake of compact prosecution and examination, Examiner is interpreting the claim to read “wherein one end of the stem and an edge of the peripheral fixing holes, which vertically penetrate the base, are exposed without being covered by the porous layer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(a) as being anticipated by Kovacs et al US 9844440 B2, herein referred to as Kovacs.
Regarding claim 1, Kovacs discloses a glenoid baseplate (Fig 11, 10e) comprising: a base (20e) configured to be settled on a scapular glenoid (Col 6, lines 9-23) and having a first surface (Annotated Fig 11 below); an augment (134/136) disposed on the first surface (Annotated Fig 11 below); and a stem (14) extending from the first surface with a central axis (Fig 11, 14; central axis is parallel to the center), wherein the first surface (Fig 12A, bone engaging surface 140) and one surface of the augment make a contact surface (Col 10, lines 25-30; Kovacs teaches combing components to form contact surfaces), while at least a part of the contact surface makes a predetermined angle predetermined angle used to form insert, see Col 11, 22-35), which is not perpendicular to the central axis of the stem (Fig 12A; angle not perpendicular).
Regarding claim 2, Kovacs discloses wherein the augment is formed to be spaced apart from the central axis (Fig 2B), and one surface of the augment is formed to be inclined while having a first angle (Fig 11, alpha) with the first surface in one direction (Fig 2B), from a point spaced apart from the central axis by a first length (Fig 12A).
Regarding claim 3, Kovacs discloses wherein a first boundary (Fig 11, 150) between the augment and the first surface is formed as a straight line spaced a first length apart by from a straight line passing through the central axis on the first surface (Fig 11).
Regarding claim 4, Kovacs discloses wherein the augment comprises a first wedge (134) having a second surface extending from the first boundary (Fig 11, 134 inclined surface sloping down) and a second wedge (Fig 11, 134) having a third surface bending and extending from the second surface (Top surface of 134).
Regarding claim 6, Kovacs discloses wherein a second boundary formed by the second surface (Fig 11, 150 divides the wedges and serves as a boundary for both) and the third surface is formed as a straight line that is spaced a second length apart by the first boundary (Fig 11, 134).
Regarding claim 7, Kovacs discloses wherein the first length is less than the distance between the central axis and an outer surface of the stem (Fig 11).
Regarding claim 8, Kovacs discloses wherein a distance between the central axis and the second boundary is less than the distance between the central axis and the outer surface of the stem (Fig 11, specifically in refence to the outer surface of the bottom thicker portion of stem 14).
Regarding claim 12, Kovacs discloses the glenoid baseplate (Fig 11, 10e) comprising: a base (20e) configured to be settled on a scapular glenoid (Col 6, lines 9-23) and having a first surface (134); an augment (Fig 11, the combination of 136 and 134) disposed on the first surface (Annotated Fig 11 above) and a stem (14) extending from the first surface with a central axis (Fig 11) , wherein the augment comprises: a first wedge (134) having a second surface extending to one side from a point spaced a first length apart from the central axis and forming a first boundary with the first surface (Fig 11); a second wedge having a third surface extending from the first wedge (Fig 11, 134), and at least one of the second surface and the third surface has an arc with predetermined curvature extending in a direction in which the first boundary is extended (Fig 11, angle also applies to 136; Col 11, 22-35)
Regarding claim 13, Kovacs discloses wherein the stem comprises a reinforcement member extending along the outer surface (Annotated Figure 12b below, labeled as flange); and the reinforcement member comprises a rib protruding and extending from one end of the stem to the other end of the stem with a predetermined width.
Regarding claim 14, Kovacs discloses wherein the reinforcement member further comprises a rim protruding in a ring shape with a predetermined width from at least one end of the stem (Fig 12b).
Regarding claim 15, Kovacs discloses wherein the base comprises a central fixing hole formed vertically through the base (Fig 9-A, 48), a peripheral fixing hole formed around the central fixing hole (Fig 9A, 36), and a recessed part recessed and formed by a predetermined depth in at least one surface of the base (Fig 13, 90f), while the recessed part is recessed on a surface of the base at least a predetermined distance from the edge of at least one of the central fixing hole, the peripheral fixing hole, and the edge of the base (Fig 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kovacs in view of Arnett et al. WO 2013086440 A1, herein referred to as Arnett.
Regarding claim 5, Kovacs discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a second angle formed by the third surface and the first surface is greater than the first angle formed by the second surface and the first surface.
But Arnett teaches an augment (Fig 15c, 420) wherein a second angle (Angles appear different between elements 434 and 424) formed by the third surface (Flat bottom not in contact with 430) and the first surface (Surface of 424 in contact with 434) is greater than the first angle formed by the second surface and the first surface (Fig 15c, Angles appear different between elements 434 and 424).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kovacs to incorporate wherein a second angle formed by the third surface and the first surface is greater than the first angle formed by the second surface and the first surface, as taught and suggested by Arnett in order to allow articulation in the join (Kovacs [00201-00203]).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kovacs in view of Winslow et al. US 20140257499 A1, herein referred to as Winslow.
Regarding claim 9, Kovacs discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising a porous layer having a predetermined thickness on one side of the base and the stem, and having plural pores therein, wherein the porous layer has a complementary shape to the base and the stem.
But Winslow teaches further comprising a porous layer (Fig 21, 320) having a predetermined thickness on one side of the base and the stem (Fig 21), and having plural pores therein ([0082]), wherein the porous layer has a complementary shape to the base and the stem (Figs 21, 26, and 27; 356 is complimentary to 370).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kovacs to incorporate further comprising a porous layer having a predetermined thickness on one side of the base and the stem, and having plural pores therein, wherein the porous layer has a complementary shape to the base and the stem, as taught and suggested by Winslow, in order to promote bone growth in a positioned area (Winslow [0076]).
Regarding Claim10, Kovacs/Winslow discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and additionally teaches wherein the base comprises: a central fixing hole formed (Kovacs Fig 9-A, 48) to vertically pass through the base and the stem (Kovacs Fig 9A); a peripheral fixing hole (Kovacs Fig 9A, 36) formed around the central fixing hole (Fig 9A); and a flange (Annotated Kovacs Fig 12B below) protruding from a surface of the base along the edge of the peripheral fixing hole (Annotated Fig 12B below). But Kovacs/Winslow does not explicitly disclose wherein one end of the stem and an edge of fixing hole vertically penetrating the base are exposed without being covered by the porous layer.
However, in another embodiment Winslow also teaches wherein one end of the stem (Winslow Fig 26) and an edge of fixing hole (Winslow Fig 15, cavity for 210) vertically penetrating the base are exposed without being covered by the porous layer (Winslow Fig 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kovacs/Winslow to incorporate wherein one end of the stem and an edge of fixing hole vertically penetrating the base are exposed without being covered by the porous layer, as taught and suggested by Winslow, in order to restrict rotation (Winslow [0074]).
Regarding claim 11, Kovacs/Winslow discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 9, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the augment is formed as a porous structure having plural pores therein.
However, in another embodiment Winslow also teaches wherein the augment is formed as a porous structure having plural pores therein (Winslow Fig 21, 324).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kovacs/Winslow to incorporate wherein the augment is formed as a porous structure having plural pores therein, as taught and suggested by Winslow, in order to allow the augment to be created through additive manufacturing (Winslow [0084]).
Conclusion
/A.F./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799