Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant's election with traverse of Group in the reply filed on 21 July 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examining the unelected Groups II and III. This is not found persuasive because Examiner has determined that examining the unelected Groups would require a serious burden, including but not limited to different classification searches and word searches.
2. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
3. Claims 13-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 21 July 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawaguchi et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2001-027810 A), hereinafter Kawaguchi.
8. Regarding Claims 1-9 and 11-12, Kawaguchi teaches (Paragraphs [0003-0007 and 0045]) composition for forming a resist underlayer film, therein also referred to as an antireflection film, for EB lithography. Kawaguchi teaches (Paragraphs [0052-0054 and 0056], i.e. Polymerization Examples 1 and 3) a polymer. Kawaguchi teaches (Paragraph [0057]) a solvent, therein ethyl lactate. Kawaguchi teaches (Paragraphs [0052-0054 and 0056], i.e. Polymerization Examples 1 and 3) the polymer contains a repeating unit represented by Formula (1) of the present application, wherein R1 is methanol and R2 is hydrogen. Kawaguchi teaches (Paragraphs [0052-0054 and 0056], i.e. Polymerization Examples 1 and 3) wherein R1 the Formula (1) is represented by Formula (1X) of the present application, therein R11 is an alkylene group having 1 carbon atom and R12 is a hydrogen atom. Kawaguchi teaches (Paragraphs [0052-0054 and 0056], i.e. Polymerization Examples 1 and 3) wherein R11 of Formula (1X) of the present application is a methylene group. Kawaguchi teaches (Paragraphs [0052-0054 and 0056], i.e. Polymerization Examples 1 and 3) wherein R12 of Formula (1X) of the present application is a hydrogen atom. Kawaguchi teaches (Paragraphs [0052-0054 and 0056], i.e. Polymerization Examples 1 and 3) wherein the polymer further contains a repeating unit represented by Formula (2) of the present application, therein X represents a -COO-, R3 represents a monovalent organic group having 2 carbon atoms, and R4 represents an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom. Kawaguchi teaches (Paragraphs [0052-0054 and 0056], i.e. Polymerization Examples 1 and 3) wherein X in the Formula (2) of the present application represents -COO-, and R3 is represented Formula (2X) of the present application wherein R21 is an alkylene group having 2 carbon atoms and R22 is a hydrogen atom. Kawaguchi teaches (Paragraphs [0052-0054 and 0056], i.e. Polymerization Examples 1 and 3) wherein R3 is represented Formula (2X) of the present application wherein R21 is a 1,2-ethylene group and R22 is a hydrogen atom. Kawaguchi teaches (Paragraph [0056], i.e. Polymerization Example 3) wherein a molar ratio between the repeating unit represented by the Formula (1) of the present application and the repeating unit represented by the Formula (2) of the present application in the polymer (Formula (1) : Formula (2)) is 50:50. Kawaguchi teaches (Paragraph [0057]) a curing catalyst, therein photoacid generator bis (4-t-butylphenyl) iodonium camphorsulfonate. Kawaguchi teaches (Paragraph [0043]) the composition is used for forming a resist underlayer film for EB lithography having a film thickness of 10 nm, therein 100 angstroms.
9. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Satoh et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2018/0284614 A1), hereinafter Satoh.
10. Regarding Claims 1-11, Satoh teaches (Abstract, Paragraph [0211]) composition for forming a resist underlayer film for EB or EUV lithography. Satoh teaches (Paragraph [0247], i.e. Polymer A2-2) a polymer. Satoh teaches (Paragraph [0247]) a solvent, therein PGMEA. Satoh teaches (Paragraph [0247], i.e. Polymer A2-2) the polymer contains a repeating unit represented by Formula (1) of the present application, wherein R1 is N-(butoxymethyl) and R2 is hydrogen. Satoh teaches (Paragraph [0247], i.e. Polymer A2-2) wherein R1 the Formula (1) is represented by Formula (1X) of the present application, therein R11 is an alkylene group having 1 carbon atom and R12 is an alkyl group having 4 carbon atoms. Satoh teaches (Paragraph [0247], i.e. Polymer A2-2) wherein R11 of Formula (1X) of the present application is a methylene group. Satoh teaches (Paragraph [0247], i.e. Polymer A2-2) wherein R12 of Formula (1X) of the present application is an alkyl group having 4 carbon atoms. Satoh teaches (Paragraph [0247], i.e. Polymer A2-2) wherein the polymer further contains a repeating unit represented by Formula (2) of the present application, therein X represents a -COO-, R3 represents a monovalent organic group having 10 carbon atoms, and R4 represents a hydrogen atom. Satoh teaches (Paragraph [0247], i.e. Polymer A2-2) wherein X in the Formula (2) of the present application represents -COO-, and R3 is a monovalent group having 10 carbon atoms in total and having a cyclic structure. Satoh teaches (Paragraph [0247], i.e. Polymer A2-2) wherein the monovalent group having 10 carbon atoms in total and having a cyclic structure is a monovalent group obtained by removing one hydrogen atom from a polycyclic aliphatic ring having 10 carbon atoms, therein tricyclodecanyl. Satoh teaches (Paragraph [0247], i.e. Polymer A2-2) wherein a molar ratio between the repeating unit represented by the Formula (1) of the present application and the repeating unit represented by the Formula (2) of the present application in the polymer (Formula (1) : Formula (2)) is 67:33. Satoh teaches (Paragraph [0248]) a crosslinking agent, therein crosslinking agent (E1). Satoh teaches (Paragraph [0248]) a curing catalyst, therein acid generator (C1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2001-027810 A), hereinafter Kawaguchi.
14. Regarding Claim 10, Kawaguchi teaches (Paragraph [0044]) a crosslinking agent.
15. However, Kawaguchi fails to explicitly teach a composition comprising a crosslinking agent with a single experimental example. That said, a composition comprising a crosslinking agent is described with sufficient detail by the prior art. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of Kawaguchi would have found it would only require a simple substitution or addition of one known element, i.e. a crosslinking agent, with respect to the combinations of components herein limited with the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
Conclusion
/RICHARD DAVID CHAMPION/Examiner, Art Unit 1737