DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made the instant application is a 371 of PCT/KR2021/017025 filed on 11/18/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1-6, 10-12, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner et al. (US 20070102746 A1 - hereinafter Gardner) in view of Kang et al. (KR20200002733A - hereinafter Kang).
Regarding Claim 1, Gardner teaches a method of manufacturing a display device (see the entire document; Figs. 33A-33G; specifically, [0184]-[0194], and as cited below), comprising:
preparing a growth substrate (301B – Fig. 33A – [0194]) on which light emitting devices (Plurality of 10B – [0186]) are formed;
preparing a wiring substrate (400 – Fig. 33A – [0184]) including wiring electrodes (plurality of {421, 422} – [0184]);
forming a first pattern (431 – Fig. 33B – [0185]) on at least one of a first wiring electrode (421) among the wiring electrodes and a first light emitting device (left 10B) among the light emitting devices;
transferring the first light emitting device (left 10B) onto the first wiring electrode (421) such that the first light emitting device (left 10B) among the light emitting devices is adhered to the first wiring electrode (421) by the first pattern (431 – see Fig. 33F);
forming a second adhesive pattern (422) on at least one of a second wiring electrode (422) adjacent to the first wiring electrode (421) among the wiring electrodes and a second light emitting device (middle 10B) adjacent to the first light emitting device (left 10B) among the light emitting devices, wherein a height of the first pattern (431) is different from a height of the second pattern (432) (Fig. 33A shows 431 and 432 having different heights); and
transferring the second light emitting device (middle 10B) onto the second wiring electrode (432) such that the second light emitting device (10B) among the light emitting devices is adhered to the second wiring electrode (422) by the second pattern (432 – Fig. 33I).
But Gardner as applied above does not expressly the first pattern and the second patterns are adhesive.
However, it is well known in the art to use adhesive patterns to attach two substrates as is also taught by Kang (with respect to Fig. 22, Kang teaches in [0208] that the adhesive pattern covers the entire light emitting devices 351).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the forming wherein the first pattern and the second patterns are adhesive as taught by Kang into Gardner.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to integrate Kang structure into Kang structure in the manner set forth above for, at least, for the obvious benefit of having a highly reliable bonding.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Gardner and Kang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second adhesive patterns has adhesive properties for adhering the wiring electrodes to the light emitting devices and transfer properties required for transferring the light emitting devices onto the wiring electrodes (Kang – [0212]).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Gardner and Kang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the height of the second adhesive pattern is greater than the height of the first adhesive pattern (Gardner Fig. 33I).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Gardner and Kang teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: forming a third adhesive pattern (Gardner - 433) on at least one of a third wiring electrode (423) adjacent to the second wiring electrode among the wiring electrodes and a third light emitting device (right 10G) adjacent to the second light emitting device among the light emitting devices, wherein a height of the second adhesive pattern is different from a height of the third adhesive pattern (see Fig. 33I); and transferring the third light emitting device onto the third wiring electrode such that the third light emitting device among the light emitting devices is adhered to the third wiring electrode by the third adhesive pattern (see Gardner Fig. 33L).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Gardner and Kang teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the height of the third adhesive pattern (433) is greater than the height of the second adhesive pattern (432) – see Fig. 33L).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Gardner and Kang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein forming the first and second adhesive patterns comprises performing dispensing, pattern printing, or inkjet printing of adhesive materials onto the wiring substrate (Kang – [0207]-[0208]).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Gardner and Kang teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising performing thermal compression bonding on the first and second light emitting devices simultaneously (Kang – lase lift-off method in [0218]).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Gardner and Kang teaches the method of claim 10, wherein performing the thermal compression bonding comprises applying pressure such that the first and second adhesive patterns with different heights have a same height (Gardner – see Figs. 33j-33k).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Gardner and Kang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second adhesive patterns is made of a non-conductive paste (NCP) capable of a state transition to a semi-solid state (Kang – [0182]).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Gardner and Kang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a curvature of an adhesive pattern corresponding to bonding pairs constituting one pixel among bonding pairs is constant (Kang – [0207]-[0208]).
Regarding Claim 18, Gardner teaches a display device based on a light emitting device (see the entire document; Figs. 33A-33G; specifically, [0184]-[0194], and as cited below), comprising:
a wiring substrate (400 – Fig. 33A – [0184]);
wiring electrodes (421, 422, 423 – [0184]) positioned on the wiring substrate (400) and comprising a first wiring electrode (421), a second wiring electrode (422), and a third wiring electrode (423) that form a unit pixel;
light emitting devices (10B, 10G, 10R – [0186]) comprising a first light emitting device (10B), a second light emitting device (10G), and a third light emitting device (10R) respectively and electrically connected to the first wiring electrode (421), the second wiring electrode (422), and the third wiring electrode (423) that form the unit pixel; and
adhesive patterns (431, 432, 433 – [0185]) comprising a first adhesive pattern (431), a second adhesive pattern (432), and a third adhesive pattern (433) formed independently of each other for respectively adhering the first wiring electrode (421) to the first light emitting device (10B), the second wiring electrode (422) to the second light emitting device (10G), and the third wiring electrode (423) to the third light emitting device (10R) and transfer properties required for transferring the light emitting devices to the wiring electrodes (Fig. 33L shows light emitting devices (10B, 10G, 10R transferred to {421, 422, and 423).
But Gardner as applied above does not expressly disclose adhesive patterns having adhesive properties.
In a related art, Kang teaches a second adhesive layer 356 which coats the entire light emitting device 351 to form a light emitting device assembly and 356 is bonded to a second substrate 310 (with respect to Fig. 22, Kang teaches in [0208] that the adhesive pattern covers the entire light emitting devices 351).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the forming adhesive patterns having adhesive properties as taught by Kang into Gardner.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to integrate Kang structure into Kang structure in the manner set forth above for, at least, for the obvious benefit of having a highly reliable bonding.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Gardner and Kang teaches the display device of claim 18, wherein after thermal compression bonding, the first adhesive pattern, the second adhesive pattern, and the third adhesive pattern with different heights have a same height (Gardner – see Fig. 33I).
Claims 7-9, 13-15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner in view of Kang and in further view of Mo et al. (KR 101038717 B1 – hereinafter Mo).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Gardner and Kang teaches claim 1 from which claim 7 depends. But the combination does not expressly disclose transitioning states of the first and second adhesive patterns to a semi-solid state.
However, in a related art, Mo teaches B-Staging the die bonding paste applied to print substrate which changes from liquid to solid state (Mo – under summary of invention).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate wherein transitioning states of the first and second adhesive patterns to a semi-solid state as taught by Mo into the combination of Gardner and Kang for the obvious benefit to bonding a die with a well-known method for reliable bonding.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Gardner, Kang and Mo teaches the method of claim 7, wherein transitioning the states of the first and second adhesive patterns to the semi-solid state comprises an ultraviolet (UV) semi-curing (UV B- stage) process (Mo – under Summary of invention).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Gardner, Kang and Mo teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising performing Laser Lift-Off (LLO) on the growth substrate after transitioning the states of the adhesive patterns to the semi-solid state (Kang – [0017]-[0218]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Gardner, Kang and Mo teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the NCP includes an ultraviolet (UV) B-Stage composition and a thermosetting composition (Mo – Summary of Invention).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Gardner, Kang and Mo teaches the method of claim 13, wherein a content of the UV B-Stage composition in the NCP ranges from 20% to 50% (Mo – Summary of Invention).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Gardner, Kang and Mo teaches the method of claim 12, wherein a viscosity of the NCP ranges from 10,000 to 100,000 centipoise (cps) (Mo – Summary of Invention).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Gardner, Kang teaches claim 18 from which claim 20 depends. Kang further teaches the nonconductive second adhesive layer (356) ([0182]).
But the combination as applied above does not expressly disclose wherein the NCP includes an ultraviolet (UV) B-Stage composition and a thermosetting composition.
In a related art, Mo teaches and the paste for attaching a die, which changes from a liquid state to a solid state through a UV B-staging process (see paragraphs (summary of invention).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate wherein wherein the NCP includes an ultraviolet (UV) B-Stage composition and a thermosetting composition as taught by Mo into the combination of Gardner and Kang for the obvious benefit to bonding a die with a well-known method for reliable bonding.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner in view of Kang and in further view of Choi et al. (US 20160319165 A1 – hereinafter Choi).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Gardner and Kang teaches claim 12 from which claim 16 depends. But the combination does not expressly disclose wherein the NCP includes at least one of an acrylate and an epoxy acrylate.
In a related art, Choi teaches wherein acrylate is used as an adhesive material (Choi – [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the forming wherein acrylate is used as an adhesive material as taught by Choi into the combination of Gardner and Kang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to integrate Choi structure into the combination of Gardner and Kang structure in the manner set forth above for, at least, for the obvious benefit of having a strong, durable, and versatile bonding properties.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD A RAHMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898