DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments. The previous rejections are withdrawn. The amendments are fully addressed herein and the rejections are made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “leaf spring shaped”. Upon review of the specification, there is no disclosure or drawing showing a leaf spring shaped vertebrae. As such the claim is viewed as new matter. Claims 2-6 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claims 1-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a leaf spring shaped vertebrae”. It is unclear what is meany by a leaf spring shaped vertebrae. As such, the claim is determined to be indefinite. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted as flat shaped vertebrae. Claims 2-6 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Banu (WO2010016000A1).
Regarding claim 1, Banu discloses a wiper blade connected to an arm swung by a driving source and wiping a wiped surface, the wiper blade comprising:
a connecting member (Item 10 and 50), connected to the arm;
a flat-shaped vertebra (Item 70), held by the connecting member and curved with a prescribed curvature; and
a blade rubber (Item 60), held by the vertebra and in contact with the wiped surface,
the connecting member comprising: a first holding part (Item 12a) and a second holding part (Item 12b), holding the vertebra with an interval in a lengthwise direction of the vertebra; and a protruding part (Item 55), provided between the first holding part and the second holding part and protruding toward the vertebra, and
the vertebra comprising an engagement hole (Figure 3e Item 72) to which the protruding part is engaged, the engagement hole extending through the vertebra in a thickness direction of the vertebra.
Regarding claim 2, Banu discloses the wiper blade according to claim 1, wherein when the wiper blade is viewed from a direction perpendicular to the wiped surface, the blade rubber and the protruding part are provided in non-overlapping positions, respectively (Item 12 holds the outer most edges while Item 56 holds and inner width of the vertebrae).
Regarding claim 3, Banu discloses the wiper blade according to claim 1, wherein the connecting member has an arm part that is elastically deformable in a direction perpendicular to the wiped surface, and the protruding part is provided on a tip end side of the arm part (Figure 8a shows an arm 16’ being deformed toward the glass. Figure 12c shows an arm piece being deformable towards a different direction than vertical. “has an arm part that is elastically deformable in a direction perpendicular to the wiped surface” is viewed broadly the first interpretation can be vertical since the wiping surface is along an x – y axis. The second interpretation is applicant trying to claim a lateral direction since towards the wiping surface would be perpendicular).
Regarding claim 5 Banu discloses the wiper blade according to claim 1, wherein a connecting pin (Item 91) to which the arm (Item 93)is rotatably connected is provided between the first holding part and the second holding part of the connecting member, and the protruding part and the connecting pin are provided offset in a lengthwise direction of the vertebra (Figure 11 shows 4 projecting parts).
Regarding claim 6 Banu discloses the wiper blade according to claim 1, wherein in a lateral direction of the vertebra, a first distance between a vertebra end part and a connecting member opposing part is shorter than a second distance between a protruding end part and an engagement hole opposing part, wherein the vertebra end part is provided on an end of the vertebra, the connecting member opposing part is provided on the connecting member and opposing the vertebra end part, the protruding end part is provided on the protruding part on a side opposite to a side on which the connecting member opposing part is disposed, and the engagement hole opposing part is provided in the engagement hole and opposing the protruding end part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banu (WO2010016000A1) in view of Walworth (US 2007/0113366).
Regarding claim 4, Banu discloses the wiper blade according to claim 1. Banu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the engagement hole is an elongated hole extending in a lateral direction of the vertebra, and the protruding part is movable inside the elongated hole only in a lateral direction of the vertebra (Figure 8b shows a lateral gap in the elongated hole).
Walworth teaches a wiper blade wherein the engagement hole can be any configuration (Paragraph 83). This is possible because Item 32 restricts lateral movement but would allow the protruding part to move since plastic is relatively elastic. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of Banu to include the elongated hoes as taught by Walworth. Such a modification is viewed as a change in shape, which has been held to be of routine by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). Modifying the hole to fit the protruding part is a matter of design tolerances. As long as the connecting member and the vertebrae are properly held together, the exact relationship between the hole and the protruding part wouldn’t matter much since a hole is designed to be oversized for the peg placed inside of it. For instance, one might design an elongated protrusion to fit inside and elongated hole which would meet the limitations of the claims.
Regarding claim 7 Banu discloses a wiper blade connected to an arm swung by a driving source and wiping a wiped surface, the wiper blade comprising:
a connecting member (Items 10 and 50) , connected to the arm;
a vertebra (Item 70), held by the connecting member and curved with a prescribed curvature; and
a blade rubber (Item 60), held by the vertebra and in contact with the wiped surface,
the connecting member comprising: a first holding part (Item 12a) and a second holding part (Item 12b), holding the vertebra with an interval in a lengthwise direction of the vertebra; and a protruding part (Item 55), provided between the first holding part and the second holding part and protruding toward the vertebra, and
the vertebra comprising an engagement hole (Figure 3e Item 72) to which the protruding part is engaged, the engagement hole extending through the vertebra in a thickness direction of the vertebra.
Banu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the engagement hole is an elongated hole extending in a lateral direction of the vertebra ((Figure 8b shows a lateral gap in the elongated hole).
Walworth teaches a wiper blade wherein the engagement hole can be any configuration (Paragraph 83). This is possible because Item 32 restricts lateral movement but would allow the protruding part to move since plastic is relatively elastic. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of Banu to include the elongated hoes as taught by Walworth. Such a modification is viewed as a change in shape, which has been held to be of routine by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). Modifying the hole to fit the protruding part is a matter of design tolerances. As long as the connecting member and the vertebrae are properly held together, the exact relationship between the hole and the protruding part wouldn’t matter much since a hole is designed to be oversized for the peg placed inside of it. For instance, one might design an elongated protrusion to fit inside and elongated hole which would meet the limitations of the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723