Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/1/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Sahlmann, Williams, and Rivera were disclosed in the IDS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sahlmann (EP 2317618 A2).
In regards to Claim 1, Sahlmann discloses a housing (Fig.1, #1 which comprises #11 and #4) for housing an electrical heat source (Fig.1, #14), comprising: a housing base of the housing (Fig.1, lower part of lower housing part #4, see figure 4), an extent of the housing base in a first direction determining a height dimension of the housing (Fig.1 & 5, arrow #16 disclose the height dimension in the first direction); a housing head (Fig.5, top of #11) of the housing facing away from the housing base in a second direction (Fig.1 &5, vertical direction, upper side of the upper housing part #11), which housing head comprises a head dimension in the first direction (Fig.5, #11 top side has a head dimension) which is at most 60 percent of the height dimension of the housing (Fig.1 & 5, head dimension is at most 60% of the height dimension #16); and a heat sink (Fig.1 & 3, #8) extending in the housing between the housing base and the housing head in the first direction (Fig.1 & 5, #8 extends in the first direction between base and housing head), which heat sink is longer in the first direction than the head dimension (Fig.1&3, #8 is longer in the first direction compared to the head dimension) and extends in the first direction on one side (Fig.1, #8 extends on one side in the first direction) or on both sides of the housing head to a respective housing opening, through which the heat sink is in fluid connection with an environment of the housing (Fig.1, airflow #16 discloses #8 is in fluid communication with the environment).
In regards to Claim 2, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 1, wherein the heat sink is exposed on one side (Fig.1, #8 is exposed on one side) or in each case on both sides of the housing head through the respective housing opening (Fig.1, #5) of the housing to the outside environment in the first direction (Fig.1, #8 is exposed to the outside via #5 in the first direction) and/or in the second direction.
In regards to Claim 3, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 1, wherein the housing further comprising: two opposite end faces of the housing in a third direction, which each extend; to the first direction and second direction between the housing base and the housing head (Fig.7 & 8, #1 has two opposite end faces in a third direction when extend in the first direction and second direction between #11 and #4).
In regards to Claim 4, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 1, wherein the head dimension is equal to or less than 50 percent of the height dimension (Fig.5, top of #11 is less than 50 percent of the height dimension), and/or wherein the heat sink overlaps with the housing head in the first direction to at least half of the head dimension, and/or wherein the length of the heat sink in the first direction is at least 150 percent of the head dimension, and/or wherein the length of the heat sink in the first direction is at least 90 percent of the height dimension (Fig.1 and 5, #8 is at least 90 percent of the height dimension), and/or wherein the heat sink is adjacent to the housing head or farther extends into the housing head.
In regards to Claim 5, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 1, wherein the heat sink comprises at least one flow channel (Fig.5, #12) via which the housing openings (Fig.1-2, #5 are in communication with #12) of the housing are in fluid communication.
In regards to Claim 6, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 1, wherein the housing base is reversibly or irreversibly attachable to a mounting rail (Fig.1-2, #4 is reversibly attachable to rail #24, see “perspective view of the back of a housing base 4 is shown. In particular, the four relatively large bottom-side openings 5 already mentioned above for "dipping through" the heat sink 8 or its upstanding cooling fins 9 can be seen, which are separated from the enclosed area 6 for mounting the DIN rail (electrically insulating). Furthermore, latching means 13 for connection to the housing upper part and fastening means 7 for fastening to / release from the DIN rail 24 are shown”).
In regards to Claim 7, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 1, herein the heat sink comprises at the at least one housing opening (Fig.1, #5) or at opposite ends in the first direction a respective depth section extending in the second direction.
In regards to Claim 8, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 7, wherein the respective depth section (Fig.2, #9 fins) of the heat sink is flush with the housing or the housing base in the first direction at one or each of the housing openings (Fig.1-2, #9 is flush in the housing base #4 in the first direction at each opening #5), and/or wherein the housing or the housing base protrudes beyond the heat sink in the first direction at one or each of the housing openings (Fig.1-5, #4 protrudes beyond #8 in the first direction at each opening #5).
In regards to Claim 9, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 1, wherein the heat sink comprises a respective height section in the first direction on one side or on both sides of the housing head, which height section extends in the first direction (Fig.1-2, #9 extending parallel to the first direction).
In regards to Claim 10, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 9, wherein the height section or sections of the heat sink extend parallel to the first direction (Fig.2, #9 extend parallel to the first direction), and/or wherein the height section or sections of the heat sink extend in the first direction and in the second direction, and/or wherein the one or more height sections of the heat sink extend in a straight line between the first direction and the second direction with an acute angle to the first direction.
In regards to Claim 11, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 1, wherein the heat sink comprises a side section in the third direction at one end or at opposite ends (Fig.2-3, #9 comprises side section in the third direction at opposite ends), respectively, which side section is exposed to the third direction.
In regards to Claim 14, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 1, further comprising: a further housing opening in the housing base, through which the heat sink is in fluid communication with the environment of the housing and/or is exposed (Fig.1 and 2, #5 are located on #4 which are in fluid communication with the heatsink #8 and outside environment).
In regards to Claim 15, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 1, wherein the heat sink comprises at least one group of mutually parallel plates (Fig.2, #9 are parallel plates) and/or pins and/or wall sections.
In regards to Claim 16, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 15, wherein the heat sink comprises a heat sink base from which the mutually parallel plates and/or pins and/or wall sections project (Fig.2, #9 are located on base of #8, such that they projected upwards).
In regards to Claim 17, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 1, wherein the housing head comprises a front surface perpendicular to the second direction and a collar completely or partially circumferentially surrounding the front surface, which collar extends in the second direction between the heat sink and the front surface.
In regards to Claim 18, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 1, wherein the heat sink comprises a head portion extending into the housing head in the second direction (Fig.5., top of #11 includes a head portion (side walls of housing head) with extends into the housing head in the second direction (vertical)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahlmann (EP 2317618 A2) in view of Rivera (EP 2385753 A2).
In regards to Claim 12, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 7.
Sahlmann fails to disclose: Further comprising: a protective grid at one or each of the height sections and/or at one or each of the depth sections and/or at one or each of the side sections, wherein the respective housing opening comprises a plurality of grid openings in the respective protective grid , through which the heat sink is in fluid communication with the environment and/or is exposed.
However, Rivera discloses: Further comprising: a protective grid at one or each of the height sections ((Fig.5 and 8-9, #27 includes a protective grid #77) and/or at one or each of the depth sections and/or at one or each of the side sections, wherein the respective housing opening comprises a plurality of grid openings in the respective protective grid, through which the heat sink is in fluid communication with the environment and/or is exposed (Fig.5 and 9, #27 is the cooling body which is in fluid communication with the environment, see “air in” “air out”, as such the office notes that with the combination of Sahlmann in view of Rivera, the height sections of the heat sink (as taught by Sahlmann) would be modified to include a protective grid (as taught by Rivera) to prevent large contaminants to enter).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the height sections of the heat sink (as taught by Sahlmann) would be modified to include a protective grid (as taught by Rivera) to prevent large contaminants to enter. By utilizing a protective grid, would prevent access through the openings to the interior and further protect a user from contacting hot surfaces of said heat sink.
In regards to Claim 13, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 12, wherein the plurality of grid openings of the protective grid correspond to or are congruent with through openings of the heat sink (Fig.5 and 8, #77 is aligned with the openings #73 of heatsink #27, see “Figures 8 and 9 placed face to face, with no wall between them, and vent openings 77 aligned with ducts 73 on the back sides of the heatsink”).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahlmann (EP 2317618 A2) in view of Barna (U.S 2013/0120934 A1).
In regards to Claim 19, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 1.
Sahlmann fails to disclose: Further comprising: a fan arranged in the housing head.
However, Barna discloses: Further comprising: a fan (Fig.2, #42) arranged in the housing head (Fig.2, #42 is arranged in the housing heat, as such the office notes that with the combination of Sahlmann in view of Barna, the housing head (as taught by Sahlmann) would be modified to include a fan (as taught by Barna) to create an airflow within the housing).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the housing head (as taught by Sahlmann) to include a fan (as taught by Barna) to create an airflow within the housing. By including a fan within the head, would ensure cool air flows through the openings to dissipate heat generated by the electrical heat source.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahlmann (EP 2317618 A2) in view of Williams (EP 3090611 B1).
In regards to Claim 20, Sahlmann discloses the housing of claim 1.
Sahlmann fails to disclose: Wherein the heat sink comprises a recess for configured to receive a circuit carrier comprising the electrical heat source.
However, Williams discloses: Wherein the heat sink (Fig.5, #14) comprises a recess (Fig.4, #54) for configured to receive a circuit carrier (Fig.5, #56) comprising the electrical heat source (Fig.5, #56 comprises multiple heat generating components, as such the office notes that with the combination of Sahlmann in view of Williams, the heat sink (as taught by Sahlmann) would be modified to include a recess (as taught by Williams) to receive a circuit board having an electrical component).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the heat sink (as taught by Sahlmann) would be modified to include a recess (as taught by Williams) to receive a circuit board having an electrical component. By including a recess to accept a circuit carrier, would allow for better thermal coupling between the electrical component and heatsink.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ganta (U.S 10,691,184) – Discloses an electrical housing having a heatsink and removable cover, wherein said using comprising a heat source which is thermally coupled to said heatsink for heat dissipation to the outside environment.
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835