Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Paragraph [0061] of the instant specification recites first aperture 31a and second aperture 31b, however, these reference signs are not found in the figures. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites “elongated first and second elongate chambers”. It is suggested to remove one of “elongated” or “elongate”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the first and second connection elements" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the “first and second connection elements” are interpreted as the first and second connectors recited in claim 4.
Claim 5 states “wherein the holding and receiving apparatus includes elongated first and second elongate chambers, each of the first and second connection elements positionable into the chambers with an associated compensator of the at least one compensator”. The phrase “an associated compensator of the at least one compensator” is confusing. It is not clear how a compensator can be associated with the at least one compensator. Is the “associated compensator” a different compensator from the “at least one compensator”?
The phrase “positionable respectively in the first and second chamber” is unclear. The phrase positionable indicates that the connection element (i.e. connector) only be capable of positioning in one of the chambers but does not positively require such a location. It is not clear how a connector can be positionable such that it can be inside a chamber but not be required to be in the chamber.
The phrase “is movable reversibly in a direction relative to the respective first or second chamber via the associated compensator” is unclear. No orientation of the chambers is given such that a direction relative to the chambers has any meaning. In other words, any direction of movement is a direction relative to the chambers.
Double Patenting
Claims 4-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-5 of copending Application No. 18/706822 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 3 of the copending application includes all the limitations recited in instant claims 4 and 5. Claim 6 corresponds to claim 4 of the reference application such that the connectors are offset from each other which is taken to include the connecting ends and selection of at least two of the first, second, and third connectors obviates selection of the third from the first and second. Claim 7 corresponds to claim 5 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0094329 (Meixner) (cited on IDS filed 06/27/2024) in view of WO 2013/186047 (Burger).
Regarding claims 4 and 7, Meixner discloses a power tool having a removable battery pack (6). The battery pack comprises a power supply unit (7) comprising power storage cells, and a connection apparatus (12) which comprises first, second and third connectors (23, 25, 27) as well as a fourth connector (29). A holding and receiving device (13) holds the connectors. The connectors each have a spring which functions as a compensator. Regarding the limitation that the connectors are connected to the holding and receiving apparatus via the compensator, Meixner states that the springs are positioned such that they press the connectors against a direction Z and compensates relative movement in direction A-B when the power tool is in use. The springs are connectors and springs are provided inside contact chambers in such a way that the spring force of the springs (50) presses connectors against the Z direction and compensate movement in the A-B directions [0040-0041, 0043]. Thus, the springs compensate the relative movement between the connectors and the holding device in the direction A-B (pressing against Z direction) which indicates a relative movement between the connectors and the holding and receiving apparatus such that a connection is present between the springs and connectors. The claims do not require a physical connection per se, only that the connection is one that results in relative movement between the connectors and the holding and receiving apparatus. As Meixner discloses such a compensation movement, the connection is considered met.
Meixner does not disclose wherein the first and second connectors are connected to the third connector in such a way that a relative movement in at least one direction between the third connector and the holding and receiving apparatus can be compensated for. Meixner discloses multiple connectors and further discloses springs to compensate movement of individual connectors. Burger shows another configuration for a battery pack for supplying power to a tool. Burger discloses compensation between a contact holder (36) that holds multiple connectors. The connectors are mounted together such that they are considered connected to one another via a clamping bar (42) via strands (40). Burger then provides springs (52) that move the contact holder (36), thereby moving the connectors together based upon their mutual connection. Note that the claims do not preclude connection between all of the connectors. It would have been obvious to provide the contact holder movement configuration of Burger to move the holding and receiving device (13) of Meixner thereby providing relative movement of the contacts of the power tool and mating contacts are prevented in the millimeter range, thereby providing minimal movement.
Regarding claim 5, Meixner discloses chambers for holding contacts 27, 29, 23 and 25 [0041]. The chambers hold both the spring elements and the contacts (poles or contact blades) and are considered elongate inasmuch as the term is defined for holding both structures. As discussed above, Meixner discloses compensators (springs) for each contact rendering the contacts movable in the Z-direction (Figures 2- 3) or A-B direction (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Meixner discloses an offset arrangement of the connectors for at least 2 of the 3 connectors [0038].
Claim(s) 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2013/186047 (Burger) in view of US 2020/0094329 (Meixner) (cited on IDS filed 06/27/2024).
Alternative to the rejection over Meixner in view of Burger above, it would have been obvious to modify Burger in view of Meixner. Burger discloses the configuration disclosed above where the contact holder provides compensation to the connectors but does not disclose compensators for individual connectors. However, Burger does disclose that the electrical contacts 31 can move in receiving space 37 along the insertion direction 25. The receiving spaces are considered chambers that hold the connectors (contacts). Burger does not disclose a means by which these contacts can move within the receiving spaces in the direction 25. Meixner discloses connectors (23, 25, 27, and 29) that are positioned inside chambers in a manner similar to Burger and further discloses springs (50) positioned in the contact chambers such that the contacts are movable in the Z direction [0041]. It would have been obvious to provide springs in the receiving spaces 37 of Burger to provide the movement in the direction 25 as Meixner discloses means for achieving movement of contacts inside a chamber in the same direction. Thus, one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use the known means of a spring to provide the movement described by Burger with a reasonable expectation of success. Regarding claim 6, Meixner discloses an offset configuration for the connectors and it would have been obvious to provide a similar configuration to Burger as demonstrated by Meixner of a known and useful configuration for a battery connection device.
Conclusion
JENNIFER C. MCNEIL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/Jennifer McNeil/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723