Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 02, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-17 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-17 mention part numbers in parentheses throughout the limitations, the part numbers and parentheses need to be removed from the claim language limitations.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 & 13 recite the limitation "wherein the total internal volume of fluid" in lines 16 (claim 1) and 17 (claim 13) without prior disclosure. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets this claim limitation as “wherein a total internal volume of fluid”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans et al. (US 2021/0359329 A1, Fil. Date May 5, 2021, hereinafter Evans), in view of Duduta et al. (US 2011/0274948 A1, Pub. Date Nov. 10, 2011, hereinafter Duduta).
Regarding independent claim 1, Evans, teaches:
One or more flow capsules, comprising ([Abstract], [0033], [0048], & [0066]-[0067]: the cell stack or individual battery cells correspond to the flow capsules):
a semi-permeable separator having a first exterior side and a second exterior side (Figs. 1 & 19; [0046], [0103], & [0116]);
a first flow channel plate having an interior wall, positioned in a stacked configuration along the first exterior side of the separator plate (Figs. 14 & 17; [0103]-[0104] & [0113]-[0114]: frame plates define the flow channels and are stacked against the membrane);
a second flow channel plate having an interior wall, positioned in a stacked configuration along the exterior side of the separator plate ([0067] & [0103]-[0104]); and
a first electrode plate and second electrode plate positioned correspondingly in a stacked configuration along the interior wall of each of the first and second flow channel plates, respectively (Figs. 14, & 17-19; [0067], [0101], [0103], & [0113]-[0114]),
wherein the first and second electrode plates inject or extract electric charge (Fig. 1; [0035]-[0038], [0040]-[0041], & [0050]-[0051]), and
Evans, is silent in regard to:
wherein the total internal volume of fluid contained or stored in the flow capsule is from about 0.1 mL to about 10 mL.
However, Duduta, further teaches:
wherein the total internal volume of fluid contained or stored in the flow capsule is from about 0.1 mL to about 10 mL (Fig. 4A, Table 2, & Table 3; [0012], [0014], & [0054]: Table 2 discloses the cell characteristics having a total volume of a cell being 0.76 mL, Table 3 discloses a total volume of 0.79 mL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the redox flow battery cell of Evans to have the specific internal volume disclosed by Duduta in order to create a small-scale testing platform or a high-energy-density micro-flow cell, as taught by Duduta, to verify electrochemical performance of semi-solid fluids, arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Evans, teaches:
The one or more flow capsules of claim 1 ([Abstract] & [0066]-[0067]), further comprising an outer casing to provide structure ([0064], [0070]-[0071]: pressure plates 202/204 form the outer structural boundary (casing) of the capsule/stack).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Evans, teaches:
The one or more flow capsules of claim 2 ([Abstract] & [0066]-[0067]), wherein the casing seals against an external environment (Fig. 1; [0005]-[0006], [0053], [0070]-[0071], [0110], [0115], [0121]-[0124], & [0126]).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Evans, teaches:
The one or more flow capsules of claim 1 ([Abstract] & [0066]-[0067]), further comprising at least one reservoir and a pump (Fig. 1; [0046], [0049], [0052], & [0056]).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Evans, teaches:
The one or more flow capsules of claim 1 ([Abstract] & [0066]-[0067]),
Evans, is silent in regard to:
wherein the total volume of fluid is from about 0.1 mL to about 1 mL.
However, Duduta, further teaches:
wherein the total volume of fluid is from about 0.1 mL to about 1 mL (Fig. 4A, Table 2, Table 3, & Table 7; [0012], [0014], [0054] & [0172]: Table 2 discloses the cell characteristics having a total volume of a cell being 0.76 mL, Table 3 discloses a total volume of 0.79, & Table 7 discloses tubing + channel = 0.99 mL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the redox flow battery, scaling the flow capsules (cell stacks) of Evans to the specific volume range taught by Duduta (0.1 mL to 1 mL) to reduce pumping energy costs (as taught by Duduta) or to adapt the robust stack architecture of Evans for smaller, portable, or high-density applications, as demonstrated by Duduta, arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Evans, teaches:
The one or more flow capsules of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0033], [0048], [0058]-[0060], [0066]-[0067], & [0091]), wherein the one or more flow capsules are structured to execute multiple analytical functions ([0058]-[0060]: discloses configuring the capsule (at electrode compartment) to execute multiple analytical functions such as monitoring pH, optical properties, pressure, voltage).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Evans, teaches:
The one or more flow capsules of claim 6 ([Abstract], [0058]-[0060], [0066]-[0067], & [0091]),
Evans, is silent in regard to:
wherein the total volume of fluid is about 1 mL.
However, Duduta, further teaches:
wherein the total volume of fluid is about 1 mL (Fig. 4A, Table 2, Table 3, & Table 7; [0012], [0014], [0054] & [0172]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the redox flow battery, scaling the flow capsules (cell stacks) of Evans to the specific volume range taught by Duduta (0.1 mL to 1 mL) to reduce pumping energy costs (as taught by Duduta) or to adapt the robust stack architecture of Evans for smaller, portable, or high-density applications, as demonstrated by Duduta, arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans, in view of Duduta, in view of Spaziante et al. (US 2015/0325874 A1, Pub. Date Nov. 12, 2015, hereinafter Spaziante).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Evans, teaches:
The one or more flow capsules of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0066]-[0067], [0075], & [0091]), wherein the total volume of fluid is from about 0.1 mL to about 1 mL.
Evans, is silent in regard to:
to replace one or more of the fluid,
However, Duduta, further teaches:
to replace one or more of the fluid ([0027] & [0035]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the redox flow battery cell stacks (flow capsules) of Evans to have the utility of replacing the electrochemically active fluid (redox active material) of Duduta, to rapidly recharge or refuel the system, to enhance the recharging efficiency, arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Evans, and Duduta, are silent in regard to:
wherein the one or more flow capsules is structured to be disassembled and reassembled
the first and second electrode plates, and the semi-permeable separator.
However, Spaziante, further teaches:
wherein the one or more flow capsules is structured to be disassembled and reassembled ([0038]-[0039])
the first and second electrode plates ([0038]-[0039]), and the semi-permeable separator ([0038]-[0039]: aged permionic membrane constitutes the semi-permeable separator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the redox flow battery cell with stacks (flow capsules) of Evans, and the utility of replacing the electrochemically active fluid (redox active material) of Duduta, to rapidly recharge or refuel the system, to enhance the recharging efficiency, and configuring the cells stacks of Evans with the disassembly features of Spaziante, to allow maintenance and cost-effective repair, replace individual worn components such as electrodes and separators (membranes), rather than replacing an entire stack, arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans, in view of Duduta, and further in view of Speidel (US 2021/0328232 A1, Pub. Date Oct. 21, 2021, hereinafter Speidel).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Evans, teaches:
The one or more flow capsules of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0066]-[0067], & [0091]), to provide multiple measurements simultaneously ([0058]-[0060]).
Evans, and Duduta, are silent in regard to:
wherein the one or more flow capsules are structured to correspondingly plug into multiple measurement units
However, Speidel, further teaches:
wherein the one or more flow capsules are structured to correspondingly plug into multiple measurement units (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0006]-[0007], [0012]-[0014], [0027], [0031]-[0033], [0063], [0070]-[0071], & [0093]-[0095]: teaches the mechanical structure of a flexible electrical cable, plugged into an interface that allows the cell (capsule) to plug into the voltage measurement device/unit)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the redox flow battery cell stacks (flow capsules) of Evans, which already uses multiple sensors, specific connection interfaces, Duduta, who specifically teaches a structured testing cell designed to interface with testing equipment to analyze fluid performance, and flexible cables/plugs, taught by Speidel, to allow for reliable, non-destructive, and simultaneous voltage tapping of individual cells within a stack for monitoring purposes, where a POSITA would combine with Duduta’s testing context, confirming the utility of a plug-in architecture for analytical measurements, arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans, in view of Duduta, in view of Amendola et al. (US 2015/0010833 A1, Pub. Date Jan. 8, 2015, hereinafter Amendola).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Evans, teaches:
The one or more flow capsules of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0058]-[0060], [0066]-[0067], & [0091]),
Evans, and Duduta, are silent in regard to:
wherein the dimensions are 3 inch by 2 inch by 1 inch.
However, Amendola, further teaches:
wherein the dimensions are 3 inch by 2 inch by 1 inch ([0345] & [0364]-[0365]: discloses a list of dimensions for the cell structure (centrode/frame) that includes 1 inch, 2 inches, and 3 inches).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the redox flow battery cell stacks (flow capsules) of Evans, in view of the small-scale testing applications taught by Duduta, by selecting the specific dimensions (3” x 2” x 1”) from the list of predictable dimensional options disclosed by Amendola, this modification would allow the flow capsules to be modular, easily manufactured, and sized to fit specific housing requirements or testing apparatuses, arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata (US 2021/0151782 A1, Pub. Date May 20, 2021, hereinafter Shibata), in view of Horne et al. (US 2011/0223450 A1, Pub. Date Sep. 15, 2011, hereinafter Horne).
Regarding independent claim 11, Shibata, teaches:
A method of obtaining multiple measurements simultaneously, comprising ([Abstract], [0037]-[0040], [0045], & [0062]):
employing an integrated multi-channel battery analyzer, comprising one or more measurement units (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0034], [0037]-[0045], [0060]-[0062], [0072]-[0073], [0082]-[0086], [0106], [0109]-[0111], [0113]-[0115], & [0117]); and
connecting physically and electrically to the one or more measurement units (Fig. 1; [0004], [0034]-[0045], [0062]-[0065], [0072]-[0077], [0080]-[0086], [0093], [0115], & [0117]),
Shibata, is silent in regard to:
one or more pluggable flow capsules being in a stacked configuration comprising:
a separator having an upper surface and a lower surface;
a positive flow channel plate having an upper surface and a lower surface, the lower surface of the positive flow channel connected to the upper surface of the separator plate;
a negative flow channel plate having an upper surface and a lower surface, the upper surface of the negative flow channel connected to the lower surface of the separator plate; and
a positive electrode plate having an upper surface and a lower surface, the lower surface of the positive electrode connected to the upper surface of the positive flow channel plate; and
a negative electrode plate having an upper surface and a lower surface, the upper surface of the negative electrode connected to the lower surface of the negative flow channel plate.
However, Horne, further teaches:
one or more pluggable flow capsules being in a stacked configuration comprising (Figs. 22-23 & 25; [0065], [0173]-[0175], & [0212]):
a separator having an upper surface and a lower surface ([0019], [0053], [0163], [0169]-[0171], [0175], [0185], [0188], [0191]-[0192]);
a positive flow channel plate having an upper surface and a lower surface, the lower surface of the positive flow channel connected to the upper surface of the separator plate (Fig. 22; [0163], [0174]-[0175], [0190]-[0193], [0207], [0255], & [0268]);
a negative flow channel plate having an upper surface and a lower surface, the upper surface of the negative flow channel connected to the lower surface of the separator plate ([0174]-[0175], [0190]-[0193]); and
a positive electrode plate having an upper surface and a lower surface, the lower surface of the positive electrode connected to the upper surface of the positive flow channel plate (Fig. 22; [0174]-[0175] & [0183]-[0185]: discloses these elements, mapping the positive electrode plate to the bipolar plate, which constitutes the electrode backing/current collect); and
a negative electrode plate having an upper surface and a lower surface, the upper surface of the negative electrode connected to the lower surface of the negative flow channel plate ([Fig. 22; [0163], [0174]-[0175] & [0192]-[0193]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to employ the modular cell block stacking configuration of Horne within the measurement and analysis system of Shibata, doing so would allow the system of Shibata to benefit from the replaceable and recyclable nature of Horne’s cells and the scalability of arranging multiple cell blocks, while utilizing Shibata’s advanced monitoring logic, and arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata, in view of Horne, and further in view of Niroumand et al. (US 2023/0411655 A1, Pub. Date Dec. 21, 2023, hereinafter Niroumand).
Regarding independent claim 12, Shibata, teaches:
A method of measuring electro-chemical properties of a flow battery, comprising ([Abstract], [0007]-[00012], & [0027]):
obtaining a flow battery (Fig. 1; [0072]);
Shibata, is silent in regard to:
strategically placing multiple portable flow capsules throughout the flow battery; and
the multiple portable flow capsules being in a stacked configuration, comprising:
a separator having an upper surface and a lower surface;
a positive flow channel having an upper surface and a lower surface, the lower surface of the positive flow channel connected to the upper surface of the separator;
a negative flow channel having an upper surface and a lower surface, the upper surface of the negative flow channel connected to the lower surface of the separator; and
a positive electrode having an upper surface and a lower surface, the lower surface of the positive electrode connected to the upper surface of the positive flow channel; and
a negative electrode having an upper surface and a lower surface, the upper surface of the negative electrode connected to the lower surface of the negative flow channel,
wherein the positive and negative electrodes inject and extract electric charge, respectively, and
However, Horne, further teaches:
strategically placing multiple portable flow capsules throughout the flow battery ([0162], [0173]-[0175], [0262], [0267], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 15]); and
the multiple portable flow capsules being in a stacked configuration, comprising (Figs. 22-23 & 25; [0065], [0173]-[0175], & [0212]):
a separator having an upper surface and a lower surface ([0019], [0053], [0163], [0169]-[0171], [0175], [0185], [0188], [0191]-[0192]);
a positive flow channel having an upper surface and a lower surface, the lower surface of the positive flow channel connected to the upper surface of the separator (Fig. 22; [0163], [0174]-[0175], [0190]-[0193], [0207], [0255], & [0268]);
a negative flow channel having an upper surface and a lower surface, the upper surface of the negative flow channel connected to the lower surface of the separator ([0174]-[0175], [0190]-[0193]); and
a positive electrode having an upper surface and a lower surface, the lower surface of the positive electrode connected to the upper surface of the positive flow channel (Fig. 22; [0174]-[0175] & [0183]-[0185]); and
a negative electrode having an upper surface and a lower surface, the upper surface of the negative electrode connected to the lower surface of the negative flow channel ([Fig. 22; [0163], [0174]-[0175] & [0192]-[0193]),
wherein the positive and negative electrodes inject and extract electric charge, respectively ([0049]-[0051], [0057], [0059]-[0060], [0069], [0111], [0132], [0135], & [0201]), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the redox flow battery system of Shibata, which utilizes monitor cells and computing units, with the specific stacked cell configuration details of Horne within the measurement and analysis system of Shibata, to optimize the mechanical assembly and flow efficiency of the monitoring units (capsules), doing so would allow the system of Shibata to benefit from the replaceable and recyclable nature of Horne’s cells and the scalability of arranging multiple cell blocks, while utilizing Shibata’s advanced monitoring logic, and arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Shibata, and Horne, are silent in regard to:
transmitting data from the flow capsules to a central control hub, comprising:
a computer; and
a multi-channel battery analyzer;
one or more measurement units;
wherein, the computer comprises software to control the one or more measurement units,
provide high-throughput data analytics to pinpoint deficiencies and an analysis of the flow battery performance.
However, Niroumand, further teaches:
transmitting data from the flow capsules to a central control hub, comprising ([0025] & [0032]-[0036], [0112]-[0114]):
a computer ([0112]-[0114]); and
a multi-channel battery analyzer ([0025], [0032]-[0036], & [0108]-[0116]);
one or more measurement units ([0025], [0032]-[0036], & [0108]-[0116]);
wherein, the computer comprises software to control the one or more measurement units ([0025], [0032]-[0036], & [0108]-[0116]),
provide high-throughput data analytics to pinpoint deficiencies and an analysis of the flow battery performance ([Abstract], [0010]-[0011], [0013]-[0018], [0025]-[0026], [0032]-[0033], [0035], & [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the redox flow battery system of Shibata, which utilizes monitor cells and computing units, with the specific stacked cell configuration details of Horne within the measurement and analysis system of Shibata, to optimize the mechanical assembly and flow efficiency of the monitoring units (capsules), and would have been obvious to integrate the control and analytical features of Niroumand into the computing unit of Shibata to enable high-throughput detection of defects (deficiencies) and comprehensive system analysis, ensuring the reliability of the battery system, and arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans, in view of Duduta, in view of Speidel, and further in view of Niroumand.
Regarding independent claim 13, Evans, teaches:
An integrated flow battery device, comprising (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0009], & [0035]):
one or more pluggable flow capsules, comprising ([Abstract], [0033], [0048], & [0066]-[0067]: the cell stack or individual battery cells correspond to the flow capsules):
a separator plate having a first exterior side and a second exterior side (Figs. 1 & 19; [0046], [0103], & [0116]);
a first flow channel plate having an interior wall, positioned in a stacked configuration along the first exterior side of the separator plate (Figs. 14 & 17; [0103]-[0104] & [0113]-[0114]: frame plates define the flow channels and are stacked against the membrane);
a second flow channel plate having an interior wall, positioned in a stacked configuration along the second exterior side of the separator plate ([0067] & [0103]-[0104]); and
a first electrode plate and second electrode plate positioned correspondingly in a stacked configuration along the interior wall of each of the first and second flow channel plates, respectively (Figs. 14, & 17-19; [0067], [0101], [0103], & [0113]-[0114]),
wherein the first and second electrode plates inject or extract electric charge (Fig. 1; [0035]-[0038], [0040]-[0041], & [0050]-[0051]), and
a fluid accommodated by the first and second flow channels in the one or more pluggable flow capsules to accept and deliver the electric charge to an external circuit ([0050]-[0064] & [0066]-[0067]).
Evans, is silent in regard to:
wherein the internal volume of fluid contained or stored in the pluggable flow capsule is from about 0.1 mL to about 10 mL;
electrical components to measure electrochemical properties; and
However, Duduta, further teaches:
wherein the internal volume of fluid contained or stored in the pluggable flow capsule is from about 0.1 mL to about 10 mL (Fig. 4A, Table 2, & Table 3; [0012], [0014], & [0054]: Table 2 discloses the cell characteristics having a total volume of a cell being 0.76 mL, Table 3 discloses a total volume of 0.79 mL);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the redox flow battery structure of Evans, which describes a standard stack assembly, scaling it down to a pluggable flow capsule having the specific internal volume disclosed by Duduta in order to create a rapid, low-volume testing or characterization, to verify electrochemical performance of semi-solid fluids, arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
electrical components to measure electrochemical properties ([0133]); and
Evans, and Duduta, are silent in regard to:
a multi-channel battery analyzer, comprising:
one or more measurement units into which the one or more pluggable flow capsules correspondingly connects physically and electrically;
However, Speidel, further teaches:
a multi-channel battery analyzer, comprising:
one or more measurement units into which the one or more pluggable flow capsules correspondingly connects physically and electrically ([0006]-[0007], [0012]-[0014], [0027], [0031]-[0033], [0063], [0070]-[0071], & [0093]-[0095]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the redox flow battery cell structure (flow capsules) of Evans, which describes a standard stack assembly, scaling it down to a pluggable flow capsule volume, as taught by Duduta, for the purpose of rapid, low-volume testing or characterization, utilizing the physical/electrical connection cables/plugs, taught by Speidel, to allow for reliable connection of these pluggable capsules to an external system, allowing voltage tapping of individual cells within a stack for monitoring purposes, arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Evans, Duduta, and Speidel, are silent in regard to:
software to control the one or more measurement units; and
However, Niroumand, further teaches:
software to control the one or more measurement units ([0025]-[0026], [0028], [0032]-[0036], & [0112]-[0114]); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the redox flow battery structure of Evans, which describes a standard stack assembly, scaling it down to a pluggable flow capsule volume as taught by Duduta, for the purpose of rapid, low-volume testing or characterization, utilizing the physical/electrical connection cables taught by Speidel to facilitate reliable connection to the pluggable capsules to an external system, and integrating this capsule with a multi-channel battery analyzer with software, as taught by Niroumand, which discloses a test station designed for end-of-line testing to measure electrochemical properties and detect defects via software control, to help improve the monitoring of cells and computing units, providing a comprehensive system analysis, ensuring the reliability of the battery system, and arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Evans, teaches:
The integrated flow battery device of claim 13 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0001], [0009], [0035], [0048], & [0052]), electric potential difference ([0051]) and electric current flow ([0040]) between electrodes ([0037] & [0051]) in the one or more pluggable flow capsules ([0033]).
Evans, and Duduta, are silent in regard to:
wherein the electrochemical measurements comprise measurement
However, Speidel, further teaches:
wherein the electrochemical measurements comprise measurement ([Abstract] & [0006])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the integrated flow battery device of Evans, which discloses a modular, stackable redox flow battery system, with the flexible voltage tapping mechanism of Speidel to improve the electrochemical measurements of such stacks by using a flexible cable to prevent damage during the plugging or stacking process, arriving at the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Evans, Duduta, and Speidel, are silent in regard to:
and/or modulation of
However, Niroumand, further teaches:
and/or modulation of ([0019], [0025], [0058], [0075], & [Claim 13]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the integrated flow battery device of Evans, which discloses a modular, stackable redox flow battery system, with the flexible voltage tapping mechanism of Speidel, and the testing methodologies of Duduta and Niroumand, which provides the advanced apparatus (test station) for automating measurements, disclosing the Electrochemical Impedance Spectroscopy (EIS), which involves modulating current (drawing current) and measuring the voltage response, combining the analyzer functions of Niroumand with the previous prior art references, would arrive at the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Evans, teaches:
The integrated flow battery device of claim 13 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0001], [0009], [0035], [0048], & [0052]), provide multiple measurements simultaneously ([0058]-[0060]).
Evans, and Duduta, are silent in regard to:
wherein the one or more pluggable flow capsules when correspondingly plugged into the one or more measurement units,
However, Speidel, further teaches:
wherein the one or more pluggable flow capsules when correspondingly plugged into the one or more measurement units (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0006]-[0007], [0012]-[0014], [0027], [0031]-[0033], [0063], [0070]-[0071], & [0093]-[0095]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the redox flow battery cell stacks (flow capsules) of Evans, which already uses multiple sensors, specific connection interfaces, Duduta, who specifically teaches a structured testing cell designed to interface with testing equipment to analyze fluid performance, and flexible cables/plugs, taught by Speidel, to allow for reliable, non-destructive, and simultaneous voltage tapping of individual cells within a stack for monitoring purposes, where a POSITA would combine with Duduta’s testing context, confirming the utility of a plug-in architecture for analytical measurements, arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Evans, teaches:
The integrated flow battery device of claim 13 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0001], [0009], [0035], [0048], [0052], [0058]-[0060], [0066]-[0067], & [0091]),
Evans, is silent in regard to:
wherein the total internal volume of fluid of each of the one or more pluggable flow capsules is about 0.1 mL to about 1mL.
However, Duduta, further teaches:
wherein the total internal volume of fluid of each of the one or more pluggable flow capsules is about 0.1 mL to about 1mL (Fig. 4A, Table 2, Table 3, & Table 7; [0012], [0014], [0054] & [0172]: Table 2 discloses the cell characteristics having a total volume of a cell being 0.76 mL, Table 3 discloses a total volume of 0.79, & Table 7 discloses tubing + channel = 0.99 mL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the redox flow battery, scaling the flow capsules (cell stacks) of Evans to the specific volume range taught by Duduta (0.1 mL to 1 mL) to reduce pumping energy costs (as taught by Duduta) or to adapt the robust stack architecture of Evans for smaller, portable, or high-density applications, as demonstrated by Duduta, arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Evans, teaches:
The integrated flow battery device of claim 13 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0001], [0009], [0035], [0048], [0052], [0058]-[0060], [0066]-[0067], & [0091]),
Evans, is silent in regard to:
wherein the total volume of fluid of each of the one or more pluggable flow capsules is about 1 mL.
However, Duduta, further teaches:
wherein the total volume of fluid of each of the one or more pluggable flow capsules is about 1 mL (Fig. 4A, Table 2, Table 3, & Table 7; [0012], [0014], [0054] & [0172]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the redox flow battery, scaling the flow capsules (cell stacks) of Evans to the specific volume range taught by Duduta (0.1 mL to 1 mL) to reduce pumping energy costs (as taught by Duduta) or to adapt the robust stack architecture of Evans for smaller, portable, or high-density applications, as demonstrated by Duduta, arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang (CN209709095U) discloses a high-power cell stack and energy storage system using the same. Han et al. (US2019/0305344A1) discloses a redox flow battery including an electrolyte concentration measuring instrument. Liu et al. (US2023/0118977A1) discloses a membrane electrode assembly for redox flow battery applications.
/HUGO NAVARRO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858 12/25/2025
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 12/30/2025