DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment / Arguments
Most of the amendments are respectfully broadening and/or stylistic amendments, or amend to add features to the independent claims that were already in dependent claims. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The claims stand rejected under 103.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “buttons” should be amended to “button”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota (U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2017/0277257 A1) in view of Bradski (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2019/0094981 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Ota teaches: a method (claim 14, a method) comprising:
localizing, by a computing device (Ota, para. 20, a HMD 100 or head mounted device) a sound source (Ota, para. 20, the HMD “includes multiple directional microphones 106 to discriminate from a variety of sound sources that may be coming from a variety of directions.”. See also another example teaching in claim 17 (alternative mapping: Bradski, para. 203, acoustic localization is known);
displaying a highlight for the sound source on a display (Bradski, para. 947, 971, highlighting to draw attention or basically as graphical enhancement is known);
detecting a first gaze of a user directed to the highlighted sound source (Ota, para. 20: “Based on the direction of gaze of the user, one or more directional microphones 106 are used to discriminate a source of sound from the corresponding direction of gaze”. See also another teaching: claim 17) (see Bradski, para. 974, 971 for highlighting);
determining that a distance between a focus point of the first gaze and the sound source is less than a threshold distance for greater than a threshold time (Ota, see paras. 32-34, which describes gaze detection. A “threshold distance” can be a that corresponding to the range of the microphone array within the span of a user’s forward gaze toward the sound source. In the above cited paragraphs, Ota’s non-limiting example selects one, two or more microphones from the array, corresponding to the sound source. A threshold time is that required for the gaze detection circuit (e.g. Fig. 7: 702) to register a user’s gaze for tracking. See also claim 16);
displaying, in response to the determining, an interactive feature anchored to the sound source on the display (Ota, claim 14, this step is taught by “presenting output data to the user”, whereby the output data can be, for example claim 23: “a readable transcription of the audio data to the user.”. This is one example of Applicant’s claimed “interactive feature”, here being a readable transcription); and
detecting a second gaze directed at the interactive feature combined with a gesture performed by the user to interact with the interactive feature (Bradski, para. 1061, the “system may be responsive to various user interactions or gestures, including looking at some item of virtual content, moving hands, touching hands to themselves or to the environment, other gestures, opening and/or closing eyes, etc.” See also Fig. 134, which illustrates “many ways of interacting with the virtual content presented to the user’ (para. 1171), and the section “Gestures” beginning at para. 1177-1204. Gaze tracking, as with Ota, is also taught by Bradski. See Section “Gaze Tracking” beginning at para. 1005) (the interactive feature is mapped above with respect to Ota).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the applied reference(-s), in view of same, to have obtained the above, and the results of the modification would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A). That is, to modify Ota to include graphical embellishments such as highlighting, per Bradski, in relation to the sound localization, taught by both references, and to include multi-gesture interaction, or basically a system capable of recognition of multiple gestures, as per Bradski, and mapped above, with additional motivation to increase ease of interactivity for a user with a system.
The prior art included each element recited in claim 1, although not necessarily in a single embodiment, with the only difference being between the claimed element and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of certain elements in a single prior art embodiment, as described above.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3:
Ota teaches: the method according to claim 1, wherein the sound source is a non-smart device (para. 30, sound source can be “one of the talking people” (i.e. another person speaking)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to provide users with audio/sound interactive capabilities and facilitate communication.
Regarding claim 4:
Ota teaches: the method according to claim 1, wherein localizing the sound source includes mapping a location of the sound source in the environment using at least one of audio-based localization, gaze-based localization, or communication-based localization (see e.g. paras. 15-16 and Fig. 8, this teaches a combination of audio and gaze based localization; and Fig. 3, which adds and illustrates communication-based localization); and
generating the threshold distance based on the location of the sound source (see discussion below).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the applied reference(-s), in view of same, to have obtained the above, and the results of the modification would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A). That is, Ota teaches all of audio-based (using microphone array), gaze-based (gaze detection circuit), and communication based localization (talking people), as mapped above. Modifying Ota, in view of same, such that the threshold distance is based on the above-mapped location, including user gesture, per Ota, to select sound source, is all of taught and suggested by Ota, and would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill. Additional motivation can be found in using several means to ascertain a sound source that a user is most interested, and to most accurately single out said source.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5
Ota teaches: the method according to claim 4, wherein the audio-based localization includes: obtaining signals from an array of microphones of the computing device, the signals resulting from a sound from the sound source (claim 17, or para. 30, “In operation, while the user is wearing the AR subsystem 500, the user may be interacting with several people, each of whom are talking. When the user looks at one of the talking people, the microphone array 512 is configured to capture audible data emanating from the direction corresponding with the user's gaze.” ; and
comparing the signals from the array of microphones and/or times of arrival of the signals from the array of microphones to map the location of the sound source (paras. 32-34).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to provide users with audio/sound interactive capabilities and facilitate communication.
Regarding claim 6:
Ota teaches: the method according to claim 4, wherein the gaze-based localization includes: mapping the location of the sound source based on the focus point of the first gaze (this is mapped in claim 1; see also Ota, paras. 28-32 and/or claim 17).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to provide users with audio/sound interactive capabilities and facilitate communication.
Regarding claim 7:
Bradski teaches: the method according to claim 4, wherein the communication-based localization includes: communicating, by the computing device, with the sound source using wireless communication (Bradski, Fig. 1: 12 and paras. 172-73, 206, multiple users can communicate, any one or all of them can be a sound source, wirelessly. One non-limiting further example is Fig. 71 of Bradski, showing five users. Ota also teaches users in the same space interacting (Ota, Fig. 3)); and
obtaining location information from the wireless communication to map the location of the sound source (para. 624, a non-limiting example of using wireless communication for localization, here using ultra wide bandwidth (UWB). Another teaching, para. 1517: “the AR system 9501 may detect a location of the user based on visual information and/or additional information (e.g., GPS location information, compass information, wireless network information).”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined and modified the applied reference(-s), in view of same, to have obtained the above, and the results of the modification would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A). That is, to include multiple users with wireless connectivity per Bradski, in communication with each other, per both references, and using wireless communication for location information, per Bradski, as location of sounds (per either reference), as mapped above.
The prior art included each element recited in claim 7, although not necessarily in a single embodiment, with the only difference being between the claimed element and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of certain elements in a single prior art embodiment, as described above.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 8:
Bradski teaches: the method according to claim 7, wherein the wireless communication is ultra-wideband (UWB) (para. 624, 886, UWB connectivity is known).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to make use of known connectivity protocols.
Regarding claim 9:
Bradski teaches: the method according to claim 7, wherein the wireless communication is Bluetooth (para. 528, Bluetooth is known).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to make use of known connectivity protocols.
Regarding claim 10:
Bradski teaches: the method according to claim 7, wherein the wireless communication is WiFi (para. 528, WiFi is known).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to make use of known connectivity protocols.
Regarding claim 11:
Ota teaches: the method according to claim 1, wherein the interactive feature is an augmented reality control, and the method further including triggering a function of the computing device based on an interaction with the augmented reality control (para. 35, select an operation from a pop-up, the operation can be translation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the applied reference(-s), in view of same, to have obtained the above, and the results of the modification would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A). That is, to modify Ota, such that a pop-up dialog box can be incorporated, per Ota, as a selectable interactive feature, per Ota, to trigger a function, such as translation, per Ota, od a transcription, also per Ota.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12:
Bradski teaches: the method according to claim 11, wherein the gesture performed by the user includes pointing a finger at the augmented reality control (Bradski, “Finger Gestures” beginning at para. 1040).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to make use of known interactive input protocols.
Regarding claim 13:
Ota teaches: the method according to claim 11, wherein the gesture performed by the user includes speaking a command (see para. 35, voice command and gaze (mapped in claim 1), can be used to trigger commands).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the applied reference(-s), in view of same, to have obtained the above, and the results of the modification would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A). That is, to combine the gaze selection and voice command features of Ota, to use in interactivity with the device of Ota. Ota teaches all of these features.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 14:
Ota teaches: the method according to claim 11, wherein the augmented reality control is a transcript (para. 45, readable transcription)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to make use of known interactive graphics to facilitate communication.
Regarding claim 15:
Ota or Bradski teach: the method according to claim 11, wherein the augmented reality control is graphic including at least one virtual buttons (Ota: Fig. 4, one example of a graphic message and, para. 35, popup dialog box to select operations) (Bradski, para. 1068).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to make use of known connectivity protocols.
Regarding claim 16: see also claim 1; many features are recited also in claim 1
Ota teaches: a computing device (para. 24, head-mounted display), comprising:
a microphone array configured to capture sounds from a sound source (Fig. 5: 512, microphone array);
a heads-up display configured to display messages corresponding to the sounds from the sound source in an environment (Fig. 5: 502, visual display unit of the head-mounted display, in combination with e.g. Fig. 3 or claims 11 or 12);
a gaze sensor configured to monitor one or both eyes of a user (Fig. 5: 508, gaze detection unit; see description of same in para. 28)…
a camera configured to capture images of the environment (para. 17-18, camera array); and
a processor in communication with the microphone array, the heads-up display, the gaze sensor, the wireless module, and the camera, (paras. 53-54, processors can be part of the devices/embodiments of Ota) the processor configured to: detect a location of the sound source (para. 20, the HMD “includes multiple directional microphones 106 to discriminate from a variety of sound sources that may be coming from a variety of directions.”. See also another example teaching in claim 17);
determine that the location corresponds to the sound source (para. 20)…
detect a first gaze of the user directed to the highlighted sound source for a period of time (para. 20, in combination with paras. 32-34, the period of time being that necessary for the gaze detection Fig. 7: 702 of Ota to register and process a gaze);
display, in response to the first gaze, an interactive feature anchored to the sound source in the environment (see mapping to claim 1); and
detect a second gaze (mapped above re: Ota, and in claim 1) directed to the interactive feature combined with a gesture performed by the user to interact with the interactive feature (see mapping to claim 1).
Regarding: a wireless module configured to communicate with a device (Bradski, Fig. 1: 12, communication arrows between device and between devices. Another teaching: para. 546)…and display a highlight for the sound source in the heads-up display (Bradski, para. 891, highlighting areas for attention are known), these claim features are taught by Bradski, as mapped herein above.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined and modified the applied reference(-s), in view of same, to have obtained the above, and the results of the modification would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A). That is, to modify Ota, such to include wireless modules, per Bradski, and highlight display features, per Bradski, for sound source, per Ota (i.e. to draw user attention, as the purpose of Ota is to establish which sound source is of most significance to a user), is all of taught and suggested by the prior art, and would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill. And to have modified Ota, in view of same, such to include use of multiple selection techniques (gaze, and gesture and/or voice command, all per Ota), to interact with the message (both messages and interactivity are taught by Ota).
The prior art included each element recited in claim 16, although not necessarily in a single embodiment, with the only difference being between the claimed element and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of certain elements in a single prior art embodiment, as described above.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 17:
Ota teaches: the computing device according to claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to detect a gaze (claim 14; also mapped in claim 1) and an additional pre-determined user action to select the sound source for registration (para. 18 or 29, Ota teaches that its device can detect gestures made by the user) (alternatively, see Bradski and mapping to claim 1, additional gestures);
mapping a location of the selected sound source in a global space using any combination of audio-based localization, gaze-based localization, and communication-based localization (see e.g. Ota, paras. 15-16 and Fig. 8, this teaches a combination of audio and gaze based localization; and Fig. 3, which adds and illustrates communication-based localization); and
generating the threshold distance based on the location of the sound source (see discussion below).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the applied reference(-s), in view of same, to have obtained the above, and the results of the modification would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A). That is, Ota teaches all of audio-based (using microphone array), gaze-based (gaze detection circuit), and communication based localization (talking people), as mapped above. Modifying Ota, in view of same, such that the threshold distance is based on the above-mapped location, including user gesture, per Ota, to select sound source, is all of taught and suggested by Ota, and would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill. Additional motivation can be found in using several means to ascertain a sound source that a user is most interested, and to most accurately single out said source.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 18:
Ota teaches: the computing device according to claim 16, wherein the interactive feature is an augmented reality control (see mapping to claim 16, Ota, para. 25, message can include popup dialog box; another teaching from Ota: para. 26: “Alternatively, the presentation of the AR content may be on a sidebar, in a margin, in a popup window, in a separate screen, as scrolling text (e.g., in a subtitle format), or the like.”) and the processor is further configured to: trigger a function of the computing device based on an interaction with the augmented reality control (para. 35, can select an operation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to provide users with audio/sound interactive capabilities and facilitate communication amongst users.
Regarding claim 19:
Ota teaches: the computing device according to claim 18, wherein the augmented reality control includes a text transcript or a text translation (paras. 15-16) that is updated in real time with the sounds (para. 15, real-time translation of sounds. See also paras. 20, 22). See also para. 35, “always perform translation”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to provide users with audio/sound interactive capabilities and facilitate communication amongst users, and ones of different native languages.
Regarding claim 20:
Ota teaches: the computing device according to claim 18, wherein the augmented reality control includes a graphical menu or graphical controls (para. 26, “AR content may be on a sidebar, in a margin, in a popup window, in a separate screen, as scrolling text (e.g., in a subtitle format), or the like”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to provide users with audio/sound interactive capabilities and facilitate communication amongst users.
Regarding claim 21:
Bradski teaches: the computing device according to claim 16, wherein the sound source is a smart device (Fig. 1: 12 and related description, smart devices as user devices)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to make use of known hardware to perform tasks.
Regarding claim 22: see claim 3.
These claims are similar; the same rationale for rejection applies.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota in view of Bradski, and further in view of Zhang (U.S. Patent No. 11,681,364).
Regarding claim 2:
The applied reference(-s) to claim 1 do not proactively teach claim 2. Consider the following.
In analogous art, Zhang teaches: the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining that the distance between the focus point of the first gaze and the sound source is less than the threshold distance includes: determining whether the focus point of the first gaze is within a bounding box surrounding the sound source (see e.g. Fig. 5: 505, and related description, which shows bounding boxes around faces of persons of interest, used in gaze determination/prediction. See also C11, first two full paragraphs of this column).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, that is, to include the bounding box gaze detection features of Zhang, to facilitate gaze detection of Ota. Further motivation is to provide users with audio/sound interactive capabilities and facilitate communication amongst users.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
* * * * *
Sarah Lhymn
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2613
/Sarah Lhymn/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613