BATTERY PACK WITH INCREASED FIXATION FORCE OF BATTERY MODULE RECEIVED THEREIN AND DEVICE INCLUDING THE SAME
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5/3/2024 and 5/13/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first recess” (Claim 3), “second recess” (Claim 2), “vertical extension line” (Claim 5), “second extension portion disposed on an inner surface of the upper pack case” (Claim 14), and “upper pack case includes a second receiving portion” (Claim 15) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 discloses “wherein a plurality of first extension portions and a plurality of second extension portions are provided”. The limitation appears to be incomplete. On what are these extension portions provided?
Claim 14 discloses wherein the second extension portion is disposed on an inner surface of the upper pack case. However, the claim already states the second extension portion is disposed on the lower pack case. As disclosed above, the drawings do not show the second extension portion on the upper pack case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (CN 215989048 U using US 2023/0327269 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yu et al. teach a battery pack (Abstract; Fig. 1, element 10) comprising:
a battery module (Fig. 3, element 120 discloses a battery cell module.) having a first extension portion (Fig. 3, element 121 discloses a convex rib.) and accommodating a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 3, element 120 discloses a cell module which would inherently comprise a plurality of battery cells.) therein;
a lower pack case (Fig. 2, element 110 discloses a box.) having a second extension portion (Fig. 2, element 112 discloses convex strips.) and a receiving space configured to receive the battery module therein (Paragraph 0058; Fig. 2, element 1102 discloses a cavity which accommodates the cell module, element 120 (See Fig. 1).); and
an upper pack case configured to be coupled with the lower pack case (Paragraph 0098 discloses an upper cover is disposed at the opening, Fig. 2, element 1101.),
wherein the first extension portion is disposed on an outer surface of the battery module and extends parallel to the outer surface of the battery module by a predetermined length (Fig. 3 shows element(s) 121 can extend perpendicular with respect to the F2 direction and parallel with respect to the F1 direction.), wherein the first extension portion is spaced apart from the outer surface of the battery module by a set distance (Fig. 3 shows that the tip of element 121 is technically spaced apart from the outer surface, element 123.), and
wherein the second extension portion is disposed on an inner surface of the lower pack case and extends toward the first extension portion in a first extension direction (Fig. 7 shows element 112 is disposed on an inner surface of element 1120 and extends toward element 121 in the same direction (vertically) as element 121.).
Regarding claim 2, Yu et al. teach the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the lower pack (Fig. 2, element 110) includes a second receiving portion extending parallel to the second extension portion (See annotated Fig. 2), wherein the second receiving portion includes a second recess having a second predetermined depth (Fig. 2, element 111).
Fig. 2 of Yu
Regarding claim 8, Yu et al. teach the battery pack according to claim 2, wherein a plurality of first extension portions and a plurality of second extension portions are provided (Figs. 2 and 3 disclose multiple convex ribs, element 121, and strips, element 112.).
Regarding claim 13, Yu et al. teach a device having the battery pack according to claim 1 disposed therein (Paragraph 0003 discloses an electric vehicle.).
Claims 1-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shikano et al. (JP 2015-228385 A).
Regarding claim 1, Shikano et al. teach a battery pack (Abstract; Fig. 1, element 1) comprising:
a battery module (Fig. 1, element 17 discloses a battery cell group.) having a first extension portion (Fig. 4, element 40 discloses a rib, which comprises a protrusion portion, elements 40a.) and accommodating a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 1, element 17 discloses a cell group which comprises a plurality of battery cells, elements 16a/16b.) therein;
a lower pack case (Fig. 1, element 10b discloses a lower case.) having a second extension portion (Figs. 7 and 8 disclose the bottom plate, element 13a, of the lower case, element 10 b, comprising a protrusion, element 140a.) and a receiving space configured to receive the battery module therein (Paragraph 0043; Fig. 1 discloses the battery block shown in Fig. 2 is placed on the lower case, element 10b, and surrounded by plates, elements 13a-e.) and
an upper pack case configured to be coupled with the lower pack case (Fig. 1, element 10a discloses an upper case.),
wherein the first extension portion is disposed on an outer surface of the battery module and extends parallel to the outer surface of the battery module by a predetermined length (Fig. 5 shows the protrusion, element 40a, extending parallel to the outer surface of the battery module. See annotation below.), wherein the first extension portion is spaced apart from the outer surface of the battery module by a set distance (Fig. 5 shows element 40a spaced apart from the outer surface of the battery module. See annotated Fig. 5 below.), and
PNG
image3.png
100
100
image3.png
Greyscale
Fig 5 of Shikano
wherein the second extension portion is disposed on an inner surface of the lower pack case and extends toward the first extension portion in a first extension direction (Fig. 7 shows element 140a is disposed on an inner surface of the bottom plate, element 13a, and extends toward element 40a in the same direction (vertically) as element 40a.).
Regarding claim 2, Shikano et al. teach the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the lower pack (Fig. 7, element 13a) includes a second receiving portion extending parallel to the second extension portion (Fig. 7, element 141b), wherein the second receiving portion includes a second recess having a second predetermined depth (Fig. 7, element 52).
Regarding claim 3, Shikano et al. teach the battery pack according to claim 2, wherein the battery module includes a first receiving portion disposed on the outer surface of the battery module (Fig. 7, element 40b) and is adjacent to the first extension portion (Fig. 7, element 40a is adjacent to element 40b.), wherein the first receiving portion includes a first recess having a predetermined depth (Fig. 7, element 50d.).
Regarding claim 4, Shikano et al. teach the battery pack according to claim 3, wherein each of the second extension portion and the second receiving portion extends from an edge of an inner bottom surface of the lower pack case (Fig. 7 shows elements 140a and 140b extending from an inner surface of the bottom plate, element 13a.).
Regarding claim 5, Shikano et al. teach the battery pack according to claim 4, wherein each of the first extension portion, the first receiving portion, the second extension portion, and the second receiving portion include a vertical extension line extending along the first extension direction and second extension direction, respectively, so as not to overlap each other (See annotated Fig. 7 below.).
PNG
image5.png
100
100
image5.png
Greyscale
Fig. 7 of Shikano
Regarding claim 6, Shikano et al. teach the battery pack according to claim 2, wherein the first extension portion has a first protrusion protruding from an end of a surface of the first extension portion facing the battery module (Fig. 5, element 50a.).
Regarding claim 7, Shikano et al. teach the battery pack according to claim 2, wherein a plurality of second extension portions is provided (Fig. 4 shows a plurality of extension portions, elements 40-42a.) and includes an incision portion disposed between adjacent ones of the plurality of second extension portions (Fig. 4, elements 19d and 19f.).
Regarding claim 8, Shikano et al. teach the battery pack according to claim 2, wherein a plurality of first extension portions and a plurality of second extension portions are provided (Paragraph 0114(7); Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Shikano et al. teach the battery pack according to claim 2, wherein each of the first extension portion and the second extension portion include an elastic material (Paragraph 0077).
Regarding claim 10, Shikano et al. teach the battery pack according to claim 4, wherein a sum of a thickness of the first extension portion (Fig. 7, element 40a), a thickness of the second extension portion (Fig. 7, element 140a), and a thickness of the second receiving portion (Fig. 7, element 140b) is greater than a distance between the outer surface of the battery module and the inner surface of the lower pack case (Fig. 7 clearly shows thickness of elements 40a, 140b, and 140b would be greater than a distance between the outer surface of any point of the battery and inner surface of the lower pack case.).
Regarding claim 13, Shikano et al. teach a device having the battery pack according to claim 1 disposed therein (Paragraph 0001 discloses electronic devices, electric vehicles, power tools, etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (CN 215989048 U using US 2023/0327269 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Yu et al. teach a battery pack (Abstract; Fig. 1, element 10) comprising:
a battery module (Fig. 3, element 120 discloses a battery cell module.) having a first extension portion (Fig. 3, element 121 discloses a convex rib.) and accommodating a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 3, element 120 discloses a cell module which would inherently comprise a plurality of battery cells.) therein;
a lower pack case (Fig. 2, element 110 discloses a box.) having a second extension portion (Fig. 2, element 112 discloses convex strips.) and a receiving space configured to receive the battery module therein (Paragraph 0058; Fig. 2, element 1102 discloses a cavity which accommodates the cell module, element 120 (See Fig. 1).); and
an upper pack case configured to be coupled with the lower pack case (Paragraph 0098 discloses an upper cover is disposed at the opening, Fig. 2, element 1101.),
wherein the first extension portion is disposed on an outer surface of the battery module and extends parallel to the outer surface of the battery module by a predetermined length (Fig. 3 shows element(s) 121 can extend perpendicular with respect to the F2 direction and parallel with respect to the F1 direction.), wherein the first extension portion is spaced apart from the outer surface of the battery module by a set distance (Fig. 3 shows that the tip of element 121 is technically spaced apart from the outer surface, element 123.), and
However, while Yu et al. teach wherein the second extension portion is disposed on an inner surface of the lower pack case and extends toward the first extension portion in a first extension direction (Fig. 7 shows element 112 is disposed on an inner surface of element 1120 and extends toward element 121 in the same direction (vertically) as element 121.), they do not teach wherein the second extension portion is disposed on an inner surface of the upper pack case and extends toward the first extension portion in a first extension direction.
This is merely an example of reversal of parts. MPEP 2144.04 VI A. Reversal of Parts: In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 15, Yu et al. teach the battery pack according to claim 1. However, they only teach wherein the lower pack (Fig. 2, element 110) includes a second receiving portion extending parallel to the second extension portion (See annotated Fig. 2), wherein the second receiving portion includes a second recess having a second predetermined depth (Fig. 2, element 111). They do not teach wherein the upper pack includes a second receiving portion extending parallel to the second extension portion, wherein the second receiving portion includes a second recess having a second predetermined depth.
This is merely an example of reversal of parts. MPEP 2144.04 VI A. Reversal of Parts: In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955)
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shikano et al. (JP 2015-228385 A).
Regarding claim 14, Shikano et al. teach a battery pack (Abstract; Fig. 1, element 1) comprising:
a battery module (Fig. 1, element 17 discloses a battery cell group.) having a first extension portion (Fig. 4, element 40 discloses a rib, which comprises a protrusion portion, elements 40a.) and accommodating a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 1, element 17 discloses a cell group which comprises a plurality of battery cells, elements 16a/16b.) therein;
a lower pack case (Fig. 1, element 10b discloses a lower case.) having a second extension portion (Figs. 7 and 8 disclose the bottom plate, element 13a, of the lower case, element 10 b, comprising a protrusion, element 140a.) and a receiving space configured to receive the battery module therein (Paragraph 0043; Fig. 1 discloses the battery block shown in Fig. 2 is placed on the lower case, element 10b, and surrounded by plates, elements 13a-e.) and
an upper pack case configured to be coupled with the lower pack case (Fig. 1, element 10a discloses an upper case.),
wherein the first extension portion is disposed on an outer surface of the battery module and extends parallel to the outer surface of the battery module by a predetermined length (Fig. 5 shows the protrusion, element 40a, extending parallel to the outer surface of the battery module. See annotation below.), wherein the first extension portion is spaced apart from the outer surface of the battery module by a set distance (Fig. 5 shows element 40a spaced apart from the outer surface of the battery module. See annotated Fig. 5 below.), and
PNG
image3.png
100
100
image3.png
Greyscale
Fig 5 of Shikano
However, while Shikano et al. teach wherein the second extension portion is disposed on an inner surface of the lower pack case and extends toward the first extension portion in a first extension direction (Fig. 7 shows element 140a is disposed on an inner surface of the bottom plate, element 13a, and extends toward element 40a in the same direction (vertically) as element 40a.), they do not teach wherein the second extension portion is disposed on an inner surface of the upper pack case and extends toward the first extension portion in a first extension direction.
This is merely an example of reversal of parts. MPEP 2144.04 VI A. Reversal of Parts: In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 15, Shikano et al. teach the battery pack according to claim 1. However, they only teach wherein the lower pack (Fig. 7, element 13a) includes a second receiving portion extending parallel to the second extension portion (Fig. 7, element 141b), wherein the second receiving portion includes a second recess having a second predetermined depth (Fig. 7, element 52). They do not teach wherein the upper pack includes a second receiving portion extending parallel to the second extension portion, wherein the second receiving portion includes a second recess having a second predetermined depth.
This is merely an example of reversal of parts. MPEP 2144.04 VI A. Reversal of Parts: In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the subject matter of claims 11 and 12 are not disclosed in Yu or Shikano. Specifically, they do not disclose the second receiving portion is configured to be inserted between the first extension portion and the first receiving portion. Modifying this limitation to Yu and/or especially Shikano, would teach away from the invention(s) and not present a prima facie case of obviousness.
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 October 7th, 2026