DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on July 2, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 2, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on November 13, 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Applicant has cited a Korean Notice of Allowance document in the IDS (see under “OTHER DOCUMENTS”). However, a concise explanation of the relevance is not provided for this document.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al (US 20170321087 A1).
As to claim 1, Moon discloses a flexible display device (optical display device) comprising a photoelectric part which can be OLED, LED, or LCD (optical display device panel), a first adhesive film formed on the photoelectric element part, a touch function part formed on the first adhesive film, a second adhesive film formed on the touch function part, and a window film (optical display device panel) formed on the second adhesive film (abstract, 0013).
Further, as to claim 1, Moon discloses the first adhesive film and the second adhesive film has a storage modulus of about 10 Kpa to about 1,000 Kpa at -20°C (0018). The claimed range of storage modulus of 0.5 MPa (500 Kpa) or less overlaps or lies within the storage modulus disclosed by Moon such that a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the storage modulus as claimed and as rendered obvious by Moon, motivated by the desire to form the adhesive film of Moon so that it can be used in the optical display device of Moon.
Further, as to claim 1, Moon discloses the first adhesive film and the second adhesive film has a haze of about 5% or less after 200% stretching at a thickness of 100 µm (0019). The disclosure of haze of about 5% in Moon meets claimed haze of more than 3%.
Further, as to claim 1, Moon is silent as to disclosing polarizing plate.
As to claim 2, Moon is silent as to disclosing anti-reflection film.
As to claims 3-6, Moon is silent as to disclosing properties (storage modulus, adhesive film having a value of 0.5 to 20 as per Equation 1, light transmittance, and peel strength with respect to a glass plate). However, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness is established. See MPEP 2112.01 (I). The examiner submits that at present, no difference is seen between the claimed adhesive film and the adhesive film disclosed by Moon as set forth previously. As such, absent any factual evidence on the record, it is reasonable to presume that the aforementioned properties are inherently present in the adhesive film of Moon.
As to claim 7, Moon discloses that the adhesive film is formed of a pressure sensitive adhesive composition comprising a (meth)acrylate copolymer having a hydroxyl group (matrix for the adhesive film) and organic particles (organic particles embedded in the matrix) (0011).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR20170121037 A discloses flexible display apparatus.
WO 2011105875 discloses a polarizing plate.
Matano et al. (US 20070267133 A1) discloses a PSA for applying optical functional film.
Shin et al. (US 20160289517 A1) discloses a adhesive film and a display member.
Nam et al. (US 20160177145 A1) discloses adhesive composition for polarizing plate.
Cho et al. (US 20170253769 A1) discloses an adhesive film and an optical film. Further, the adhesive film has a haze of about 3.0% or less (0044).
/ANISH P DESAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788
August 4, 2026