Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 13, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krishnaswamy (US PG PUB 20110299454 ), hereinafter "Krishnaswamy".
Regarding Claim 1, Krishnaswamy discloses:
A method, performed by a first network node (i.e. proxy 302) (302 – Fig. 3 and ¶ 0048),
for transmitting a data object to a second network node via a network (i.e. proxy 302 may deliver/transmit application data [i.e. a data object] to a mobile device 304 [i.e. a second network node] via network) (304 – Fig. 3 and ¶ 0063),
wherein the second network node has a set of available delay tolerant (DT) configurations (i.e. the mobile device 304 [i.e. the second network node] has classification component 320 which includes a set of QOS classes [i.e. a set of available delay tolerant (DT) configurations] wherein each QOS class indicates delay tolerant information [i.e. delay tolerant (DT)] for corresponding class of application data; For example, Class 4 indicates a configuration [i.e. a delay tolerant (DT) configuration] which specifies that data can be held ninety seconds before being delivered [i.e. ninety seconds delay tolerant] to the mobile device 304) (¶ 0061 - 0062),
the method comprising:
obtaining: i) information indicating the size of the data object, ii) network state information for the network, and/or iii) state information for the second network node (i.e. the proxy 302 may monitor/obtain the state information, e.g. availability of a state, of the mobile device 304 [i.e. state information for the second network node]) (¶ 0101 - 0103);
based on i) the obtained information and ii) the set of DT configurations available at the second network node (i.e. based on the state information, e.g. availability of a particular state [i.e. the obtained information], and the set of QOS classes [i.e. the set of DT configurations] defined at the mobile device 304 [i.e. the second network node]; Note QOS classes specify [i.e. the set of DT configurations] delay tolerance information) (¶ 0061, ¶ 0063, ¶ 0101 and ¶ 0103),
determining:
i) a DT configuration for the transmission of the data object, wherein the determined DT configuration comprises a set of parameter values, and/or
ii) a schedule for the transmission of the data object (i.e. the method/system may aware that a class 4 application data is arriving and corresponds that application data to configuration class 4 [i.e. based on the set of DT configuration]; Then based on the availability of the state, e.g. state S2 [i.e. the obtained information], and the class of the application data [i.e. based on the set of DT configuration], the method/system may determine the application data [i.e. the data object] can be delivered, to mobile device 304, in ninety seconds [i.e. a schedule] over a low data rate link (S2 State) or a high data rate link (S1 State) [i.e. schedule for the transmission of the data object]; Then the application data is buffered and delivered in ninety seconds) (¶ 0063, ¶ 0071 and ¶ 0101); and
transmitting the data object to the second network node based on a) the determined DT configuration and/or b) the determined schedule (i.e. the application data [i.e. the data object] is buffered and delivered/transmitted over either one of a low data rate link (S2 State) or a high data rate link (S1 State) in ninety seconds [i.e. the determined schedule]).
Regarding Claim 4, Krishnaswamy discloses:
wherein the method comprises determining a DT configuration for the transmission of the data object (i.e. the method/system may determine the class of the application data [i.e. a DT configuration for the transmission of the data object] for the transmission of the application data [i.e. the data object]) (¶ 0061 and ¶ 0063), and
determining the DT configuration for the transmission of the data object comprises choosing a DT configuration from a set of predefined DT configurations (i.e. the method/system may select a particular class [i.e. a DT configuration] from a plurality of QOS classes [i.e. a set of predefined DT configurations]) (¶ 0061 and ¶ 0063),
wherein each DT configuration included in the set of predefined DT configurations comprise a set of parameter values (i.e. each class [i.e. each DT configuration included in the set of predefined DT configurations] may specify delay tolerant information, performance, etc. [i.e. a set of parameter values]) (¶ 0061 and ¶ 0063).
Regarding Claim 13, Krishnaswamy discloses:
wherein the set of parameter values comprises: an inactivity timer value, and/or an acknowledgement, ACK, mode indicator specifying an ACK mode (i.e. classification [i.e. the set of parameter values] can also include information related to a length of time mobile device should be in a sleep mode [i.e. an inactivity timer value]) (¶ 0009).
Regarding Claim 14, Krishnaswamy discloses:
Wherein the network is a radio access network (i.e. the network is a wireless network [i.e. a radio access network]) (¶ 0010).
Regarding Claim 20, Krishnaswamy discloses:
A first network node for transmitting a data object to a second network node via a network (i.e. proxy 302 [i.e. a first network node] may deliver/transmit application data [i.e. a data object] to a mobile device 304 [i.e. a second network node] via network) (304 – Fig. 3 and ¶ 0063),
wherein the second network node has a set of available delay tolerant (DT) configurations (i.e. the mobile device 304 [i.e. the second network node] has classification component 320 which includes a set of QOS classes [i.e. a set of available delay tolerant (DT) configurations] wherein each QOS class indicates delay tolerant information [i.e. delay tolerant (DT)] for corresponding class of application data; For example, Class 4 indicates a configuration [i.e. a delay tolerant (DT) configuration] which specifies that data can be held ninety seconds before being delivered [i.e. ninety seconds delay tolerant] to the mobile device 304) (¶ 0061 – 0062), the first network node being configured to:
obtain: i) information indicating the size of the data object, ii) network state information for the network, and/or iii) state information for the second network node (i.e. the proxy 302 may monitor/obtain the state information, e.g. availability of a state, of the mobile device 304 [i.e. state information for the second network node]) (¶ 0101 - 0103);
based on i) the obtained information and ii) the set of DT configurations available at the second network node (i.e. based on the state information, e.g. availability of a particular state [i.e. the obtained information], and the set of QOS classes [i.e. the set of DT configurations] defined at the mobile device 304 [i.e. the second network node]; Note QOS classes specify [i.e. the set of DT configurations] delay tolerance information) (¶ 0061, ¶ 0063, ¶ 0101 and ¶ 0103),
determine:
i) a DT configuration for the transmission of the data object, wherein the determined DT configuration comprises a set of parameter values, and/or
ii) a schedule for the transmission of the data object (i.e. the method/system may aware that a class 4 application data is arriving and corresponds that application data to configuration class 4 [i.e. based on the set of DT configuration]; Then based on the availability of the state, e.g. state S2 [i.e. the obtained information], and based on the class of the application data [i.e. based on the set of DT configuration], the method/system may determine the application data [i.e. the data object] can be delivered, to mobile device 304, in ninety seconds [i.e. a schedule] over a low data rate link (S2 State) or a high data rate link (S1 State) [i.e. schedule for the transmission of the data object]; Then the application data is buffered and delivered in ninety seconds) (¶ 0063, ¶ 0071 and ¶ 0101); and
transmit the data object to the second network node based on i) the determined DT configuration and/or ii) the determined schedule (i.e. the application data [i.e. the data object] is buffered and delivered/transmitted over either one of a low data rate link (S2 State) or a high data rate link (S1 State) in ninety seconds [i.e. the determined schedule]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnaswamy as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Tang et al. (US PG PUB 20230275962), hereinafter "Tang".
Regarding Claim 5, Krishnaswamy discloses all the features with respect to Claim 4 as describe.
In addition, Krishnaswamy further discloses:
wherein the set of predefined DT configurations comprises a first DT configuration and a second DT configuration (i.e. QOS classes [i.e. the set of predefined DT configurations] include a plurality of classes [i.e. a first DT configuration and a second DT configuration] which specify respective delay tolerant configurations) (¶ 0061 – 0062).
However, Krishnaswamy does not explicitly disclose:
the first DT configuration is associated with a first data object size threshold value, Tls.
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Tang teaches:
the first DT configuration is associated with a first data object size threshold value, Tls (i.e. the delay time information [i.e. if the load amount is greater than a load threshold [i.e. a first data object size threshold value, Tls], the first DT configuration] may be determined from load amount of the first data) (¶ 0032 - 0033).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of Krishnaswamy to include the features wherein the first DT configuration is associated with a first data object size threshold value, Tls as taught by Tang so that delay time of data transmission may be based on the load amount, for example, when the load amount is greater than the load threshold, sending the first data is delayed, so that a load can be effectively reduced (¶ 0032 - 0033).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnaswamy as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Fall et al. (US PG PUB 20140032730), hereinafter "Fall".
Regarding Claim 25, Krishnaswamy discloses all the features with respect to Claim 20 as described above.
However, Krishnaswamy does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first network node is a user equipment, and the second network node is an access point or a core network node.
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Fall teaches:
wherein the first network node is a user equipment, and the second network node is an access point or a core network node (i.e. source 202 [i.e. the first network node], e.g. mobile web browser [i.e. a user equipment] may transmit message to intermediate node [i.e. the second network node / a core network node] using delay tolerant parameters) (Fig. 2, ¶ 0013 and ¶ 0038).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of Krishnaswamy to include the features wherein the first network node is a user equipment, and the second network node is an access point or a core network node as taught by Fall so that client side data transmission may be performed based on delay tolerant parameters (Fig. 2, ¶ 0013 and ¶ 0038).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Soe Hlaing/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451