DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to application filed on 05/06/2024.
Currently claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/03/2024, 01/21/2025 and 09/08/2026 were filed before the mailing date of the office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claims 7 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly pointing out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regard as their invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “a spacing between the first part and the opening.” Claim 1, from which claim 7 depends, requires that the first part be “at least partially located in the opening.” It is unclear how a part located in the opening can be spaced from that same opening. The specification describes the spacing 1911 as preventing direct contact between the first part 191 and the bonding member 180 ([0126]). For examination purposes, the limitation is interpreted as a spacing between the first part and an edge of the bonding member that defines the opening. Applicant is advised to amend the claim accordingly.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites “one end of the first absorption portion” in alternatives d)–f), and then again recites “one end of the first absorption portion is connected to the second absorption portion.” It is unclear whether the second recitation refers to the same end or to a different end of the first absorption portion. For examination purposes, the second recitation is interpreted as another end of the first absorption portion. Claim 13 is rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 113596206 A (Sun) and further in view of CN 108322584 A (Zhang1).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches, “An electronic device, comprising,” which is Sun’s electronic device (100; electronic device; Sun Figs. 7–14; page 5);
“a display screen,” which is Sun’s display screen including screen cover plate 21 and display module 22 (20; display screen; Sun Figs. 7–14; page 5);
“a housing, comprising,” which is Sun’s housing (10; housing; Sun Fig. 9; page 5);
“a first region,” which is Sun’s frame, including the top frame (11, 111; frame, top frame; Sun Fig. 9; pages 5-6);
“a second region connected to the first region,” which is Sun’s support plate, surrounded by and connected to the frame 11 (12; support plate; Sun Fig. 9; pages 5-6);
“a bonding member disposed between the second region and a surface of the display screen that faces the second region,” which are Sun’s partitions of foam, mylar, or cured partition glue, located at the intersection of the inner wall of the frame 11 and the support plate 12 and bonded to the display screen 20 (50; partitions; Sun Fig. 10; pages 5-6);
“wherein there is at least one opening on the bonding member,” which is the isolated chamber between the partitions on both sides of the sound outlet gap (44; isolated chamber; Sun Fig. 10; pages 5-6);
“the opening is in communication with a gap formed between at least one end of the display screen and the first region,” which is Sun’s sound outlet gap formed between the head end of the display screen 20 and the top frame 111; liquid or vapor entering through the sound outlet gap is confined to the isolated chamber connected to that location (30; sound outlet gap; Sun Fig. 9; pages 5-6);
But Sun does not explicitly teach, “an absorption member comprising a first part that is at least partially located in the opening.” Sun confines liquid entering through the sound outlet gap within the isolated chamber, but it does not absorb the liquid.
However, in analogous art, Zhang1 teaches, a display screen assembly in which a water-absorbing material is placed at the location where moisture intrudes between the display structure and the frame, and absorbs the intruding moisture to protect the display components from damp. Zhang1’s water-absorbing material (hydrogel powder) (water-absorbing material; Zhang1 Fig. 7; pages 6-7) fills a groove at the free end of the side wall (821; groove; Zhang1 Fig. 7; pages 6-7) of the frame (80; frame; Zhang1 Fig. 7; pages 6-7), adjacent to the joint between the side wall 82 and the display screen (20; display screen; Zhang1 Fig. 7; pages 6-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Sun and Zhang1 before him/her, to place Zhang1’s water-absorbing material at least partially within Sun’s isolated chamber that communicates with the sound outlet gap, because absorbing liquid at its point of entry removes the liquid that Sun otherwise leaves standing in the chamber against the display module, further reducing the corrosion and display defects that Sun seeks to prevent; (2) since the modification amounts to the addition of a known moisture-protection element of Zhang1 to the known moisture-confinement structure of Sun, each performing the same function it performs separately (MPEP 2143(I)(A)); and (3) with a reasonable expectation of success, yielding the predictable result of a display assembly in which liquid entering the sound outlet gap is both confined and absorbed. Absent this teaching in Sun, a person with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reach out to Zhang1 while forming the electronic device of Sun.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Sun and Zhang1 teaches, “wherein the first part of the absorption member is configured to absorb contaminants.” Zhang1 teaches that the water-absorbing material absorbs intruding water vapor (water-absorbing material; Zhang1 Fig. 7; pages 6-7), and Sun identifies liquid or vapor entering through the sound outlet gap as the contaminant to be stopped (30; sound outlet gap; Sun Figs. 7–14; pages 5-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3–6, 8–11, and 14–16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 6 must also overcome the objection set forth above.
Claims 7, 12, and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the closest prior art of record, Sun in view of Zhang1, fails to disclose, “wherein the contaminants comprise grease and water.” Zhang1’s hydrogel water-absorbing material absorbs water vapor only, and neither reference teaches an absorber for grease entering the sound outlet gap.
Regarding claim 4, the closest prior art of record, Sun in view of Zhang1, fails to disclose, “at least one camera assembly, wherein the absorption member further comprises a second part that is located on a periphery of the camera assembly,” in combination with the absorption member first part located in the bonding-member opening, which is material to the inventive concept of the application. Neither reference places an absorber about a camera assembly, and Hurrell (US 2023/0221782 A1) and Zhang2 (US 2019/0394316 A1), which show front cameras adjacent the display edge, disclose no absorber.
Claims 5–11 and 13–15 depend from claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, the closest prior art of record, Sun in view of Zhang1, fails to disclose, “wherein the display screen comprises a touch panel and a liquid crystal display screen that are stacked, and a surface of the liquid crystal display screen that is away from the touch panel is connected to the second region by the bonding member,” in combination with the opening and absorption member of claim 1.
Claims 17–20 are allowed.
The following is the examiner’s statement of reasons of allowance.
Independent claim 17 is allowable because the closest prior art CN 113596206 A to Sun teaches, “An electronic device, comprising,” which is Sun’s electronic device (100; electronic device; Sun Figs. 7–14; page 5);
“a display screen,” which is Sun’s display screen including screen cover plate 21 and display module 22 (20; display screen; Sun Figs. 7–14; page 5);
“a housing, comprising,” which is Sun’s housing (10; housing; Sun Fig. 9; page 5);
“a first region,” which is Sun’s frame, including the top frame (11, 111; frame, top frame; Sun Fig. 9; pages 5-6);
“a second region connected to the first region,” which is Sun’s support plate, surrounded by and connected to the frame 11 (12; support plate; Sun Fig. 9; pages 5-6);
“a bonding member disposed between the second region and a surface of the display screen that faces the second region,” which are Sun’s partitions of foam, mylar, or cured partition glue, located at the intersection of the inner wall of the frame 11 and the support plate 12 and bonded to the display screen 20 (50; partitions; Sun Fig. 10; pages 5-6);
“wherein there is at least one opening on the bonding member,” which is the isolated chamber between the partitions on both sides of the sound outlet gap (44; isolated chamber; Sun Fig. 10; pages 5-6);
“the opening is in communication with a gap formed between at least one end of the display screen and the first region,” which is Sun’s sound outlet gap formed between the head end of the display screen 20 and the top frame 111; liquid or vapor entering through the sound outlet gap is confined to the isolated chamber connected to that location (30; sound outlet gap; Sun Fig. 9; pages 5-6);
Furthermore, CN 108322584 A to Zhang1 teaches, a display screen assembly in which a water-absorbing material is placed at the location where moisture intrudes between the display structure and the frame, and absorbs the intruding moisture to protect the display components from damp. Zhang1’s water-absorbing material (hydrogel powder) (water-absorbing material; Zhang1 Fig. 7; pages 6-7) fills a groove at the free end of the side wall (821; groove; Zhang1 Fig. 7; pages 6-7) of the frame (80; frame; Zhang1 Fig. 7; pages 6-7), adjacent to the joint between the side wall 82 and the display screen (20; display screen; Zhang1 Fig. 7; pages 6-7).
However, neither Sun nor any cited prior art, appear to explicitly disclose, in combination with the other claimed features, at least one camera assembly, wherein the absorption member further comprises a second part that is located on a periphery of the camera assembly.
Examiner’s Note: The prior art of record to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious the instant invention, particularly characterized by “at least one camera assembly, wherein the absorption member further comprises a second part that is located on a periphery of the camera assembly”. Because no reference alone teaches all the limitations, nor is there any motivation to combine the prior arts to construct all the limitations of this independent claim, the claim is deemed patentable over the prior arts.
Specifically, the aforementioned ‘at least one camera assembly, wherein the absorption member further comprises a second part that is located on a periphery of the camera assembly,’ is material to the inventive concept of the application at hand to place an absorption member in communication with the gap so contaminants entering the gap are absorbed before they can reach or damage the display screen.
Dependent claims 18-20 depend, directly or indirectly, on allowable independent claim 17. Therefore, claims 18-20 are also allowable.
Examiner’s Note (Additional Prior Arts)
The examiner included a few prior arts which were not used in the rejection but are relevant to the disclosure.
The examiner included a few prior arts which were not used in the rejection but are relevant to the disclosure.
Choi (US 2018/0033571 A1) — Gap between window and housing; divided seal member with step regions filled with a waterproofing sealant; absorbing polymer layer laminated behind the display module.
Moon (US 2017/0063421 A1) — Step compensation member and waterproof member that absorb or block moisture at the rear side of the display.
Hurrell (US 2023/0221782 A1) — Speaker port defined between a notch of the front cover and the housing, with a recessed protective grate in the audio path.
Kallman (US 2021/0168229 A1) — Cover and frame member bonded by adhesive, with acoustic ports.
Conclusion
/S M SOHEL IMTIAZ/Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2812
10/01/2026