DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/07/2024 is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a distance calculation unit, a communication unit, and a sensor state determination unit in claims 1, 18, and 19: and a calibration execution unit in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 11, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2021062766 (Kudo et al.).
With respect to claims 1, 18, and 19
Kudo discloses: A sensor verification device (see at least Fig 1; #10; Abstract; and pg.2) wherein the external device is either an external vehicle or an infrastructure (see at least Fig 1, 2, 5; #20 and #50; and pg.4 and pg. 7), and the own vehicle includes/comprising:
a distance calculation unit (#101) that calculates a device- to-device distance between an own device (#10) and an external device (#20) as own device calculated distance data D1 on a basis of a detection value of a sensor (see at least Fig 1; #101, #301, and D101; and pg. 2-3; “The train 10 is a train equipped with a sensor having a function of estimating the position of an object in front of the train. Further, the train 10 may be further equipped with a sensor having a function of estimating the position of an object behind the train. The first sensor 101 is an obstacle detection sensor mounted on the train 10, and when the first sensor 101 is close to the ground equipment 20 equipped with the second sensor 201, the first of the ground equipment 20 and the train 10 The distance 301 is calculated and output to the failure determination unit 102. Examples of the first sensor 101 include a laser sensor such as LiDAR, a millimeter wave radar, a camera, an infrared sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, and the like, but the first sensor 101 is not limited to these, and the first sensor 101 is not limited thereto. It suffices if the distance 301 can be calculated.”);
a communication unit that (#105) receives the device-to-device distance calculated by the external device from the external device as external device calculated distance data D2 (see at least Fig 1; #105 and D201; and pg. 3; “The first communication device 105 receives the second distance information D201 transmitted from the second communication device 203 installed on the train 10 and installed on the ground equipment 20, and sends the second distance information D201 to the failure determination unit 102. The second distance information D201 is output. The first communication device 105 may be capable of wireless communication with the second communication device 203 in some band.”); and
a sensor state determination unit (#102) that compares the own device calculated distance data D1 (#D101) with the external device calculated distance data D2 (#D201) and determines whether or not the sensor is in a state capable of measuring a correct distance value on a basis of a comparison result (see at least Fig 1; #102, #D101, and #D201; and pg.3; “The failure determination unit 102 holds a preset threshold value, and inputs the second distance information D201, the first distance information D101, and the correction term information D102. If the value obtained by correcting the difference between the second distance information D201 and the first distance information D101 using the correction term information D102 is larger than the threshold value, the first sensor 101 or the second sensor 101 or the second sensor 101 or the second. It is determined that the sensor 201 of the above is out of order.”).
With respect to claim 2
Kudo discloses:
wherein the sensor state determination unit (#102) is configured to calculate a difference between the own device calculated distance data D1 and the external device calculated distance data D2 calculated at a same timing (see at least Fig 1 and 2; #102, ##D101, and #D201; and pg.3-5; “The train 10 traveling at speed V ((403) approaches the ground equipment 20, and at time t (401),…”).
With respect to claim 4
Kudo discloses: wherein the sensor state determination unit is configured to:
determine whether or not a difference between the own device calculated distance data D1 and the external device calculated distance data D2 is less than a defined threshold (see at least Fig 4; S207-209; and pg. 6; “The sensor soundness is confirmed…”); and
determine that the sensor is in a state capable of measuring a correct distance value in a case where the difference is less than the defined threshold (see at least Fig 4; S207-209; and pg. 6; “The sensor soundness is confirmed…”).
With respect to claim 5
Kudo discloses: wherein the sensor state determination unit is configured to:
determine whether or not a difference between the own device calculated distance data D1 and the external device calculated distance data D2 is less than a defined threshold (see at least Fig 4; S207-209; and pg. 6; “The sensor soundness is confirmed…”); and
determine that there is a possibility that the sensor is not in a state capable of measuring a correct distance value in a case where the difference is not less than the defined threshold (see at least Fig 4; S207-212; and pg.6 “if the absolute value is larger than the threshold value…”).
With respect to claim 6
Kudo discloses: wherein the sensor state determination unit is configured to:
determine whether or not a difference between the own device calculated distance data D1 and the external device calculated distance data D2 is less than a defined threshold (see at least Fig 4; S207-209; and pg. 6; “The sensor soundness is confirmed…”); and
in a case where calculated distance data comparison process with a new external device is executed in a case where the difference is not less than the defined threshold, and in a case where the number of times the difference between calculated distances of the own device and the external device becomes equal to or greater than the threshold continues a predefined number of times, determine that the sensor is not in a state capable of measuring a correct distance value (see at least Fig 8; 80 and 701-801; and pg. 10-11; “a method of determining whether the first sensor or the second sensor has an abnormality…the third ground equipment 80…”).
With respect to claim 7
Kudo discloses:
wherein the sensor verification device is a device mounted on a vehicle (see at least Fig 1, 2, and 5; #10; and pg. 4 and pg. 7), and
the external device is either an external vehicle or an infrastructure as a road facility (see at least Fig 1, 2, 5; #20 and #50; and pg.4 and pg. 7).
With respect to claim 8
Kudo discloses:
wherein the distance calculation unit is configured to calculate a distance between an own vehicle and an external vehicle or an infrastructure as own device calculated distance data D1 on a basis of a detection value of the sensor (see at least Fig 1; #101, #301, and D101; and pg. 2-3; “The train 10 is a train equipped with a sensor having a function of estimating the position of an object in front of the train. Further, the train 10 may be further equipped with a sensor having a function of estimating the position of an object behind the train. The first sensor 101 is an obstacle detection sensor mounted on the train 10, and when the first sensor 101 is close to the ground equipment 20 equipped with the second sensor 201, the first of the ground equipment 20 and the train 10 The distance 301 is calculated and output to the failure determination unit 102. Examples of the first sensor 101 include a laser sensor such as LiDAR, a millimeter wave radar, a camera, an infrared sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, and the like, but the first sensor 101 is not limited to these, and the first sensor 101 is not limited thereto. It suffices if the distance 301 can be calculated.”), and
the communication unit is configured to receive external device calculated distance data D2 calculated by the external vehicle or the infrastructure from the external device (see at least Fig 1; #105 and D201; and pg. 3; “The first communication device 105 receives the second distance information D201 transmitted from the second communication device 203 installed on the train 10 and installed on the ground equipment 20, and sends the second distance information D201 to the failure determination unit 102. The second distance information D201 is output. The first communication device 105 may be capable of wireless communication with the second communication device 203 in some band.”).
With respect to claim 11
Kudo discloses:
wherein the sensor state determination unit is configured to notify the external device of a determination result as to whether or not a difference between the own device calculated distance data D1 and the external device calculated distance data D2 is less than a defined threshold via the communication unit (see at least Fig 2; S209; and pg. 6).
With respect to claim 16
Kudo discloses:
wherein the sensor is any one of a stereo camera, a monocular camera, and a distance measuring sensor (see at least Fig 1; #101; and pg. 2-3).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2021062766 (Kudo et al.) in view of JP 2020042013 (Chen et al.).
With respect to claim 3
Kudo teaches:
wherein the sensor state determination unit (#102) is configured to acquire calculated distance data at a same timing with the own device calculated distance data D1 and the external device calculated distance data D2, and calculate a difference (see at least Fig 1 and 2; #102, ##D101, and #D201; and pg.3-5; “The train 10 traveling at speed V ((403) approaches the ground equipment 20, and at time t (401),…”).
Kudo does not discuss the use of time stamps and therefore does not specifically teach:
wherein the sensor state determination unit is configured to acquire calculated distance data at a same timing on a basis of time stamps.
However using timestamps to align data would have been an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention filed with a reasonable expectation of success. Specifically Chen teaches:
wherein the sensor state determination unit is configured to acquire calculated distance data at a same timing on a basis of time stamps (see at least Fig 4; #20; and pg. 4-7; “the distance measurement data further includes a time stamp of the laser radar…”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sensor error detection system disclosed in Kudo with system for using time stamps to align sensor data taught in Chen with a reasonable expectation of success, because doing so would allow the system to align sensor data (see Chen pg. 4-7; “The time stamp is used to indicate when the laser radar can measure a distance. Therefore, in this embodiment, the distance measurement device based on the laser radar system selects the distance acquired at the same measurement time by using the time stamp in the distance measurement data, and converts the three-dimensional coordinate model at that time”). Thus making the system more accurate.
Claim(s) 12-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2021062766 (Kudo et al.) in view of JP 2021099707 (Takahashi et al.).
With respect to claim 12
Kudo does not specifically teach:
wherein the sensor verification device includes a calibration execution unit that executes a calibration process of the sensor, and the calibration execution unit is configured to execute the calibration process of the sensor in a case where the sensor state determination unit determines that the sensor is not in a state capable of measuring a correct distance value.
However calibrating a sensor would have been an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention filed with a reasonable expectation of success. Specifically Takahashi teaches:
wherein the sensor verification device includes a calibration execution unit that executes a calibration process of the sensor, and the calibration execution unit is configured to execute the calibration process of the sensor in a case where the sensor state determination unit determines that the sensor is not in a state capable of measuring a correct distance value (see at least Fig 9-10; #10 and #21; and pg.10-12).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sensor error detection system disclosed in Kudo with system for calibrating a camera taught in Takahashi with a reasonable expectation of success, because doing so would allow the system to correct for an error in the sensor without waiting for the periodic inspections (see at least Fig 9-10; #10 and #21; and pg.10-12). Thus increasing the accuracy of the system.
With respect to claim 13
Kudo does not specifically teach:
wherein the calibration execution unit is configured to execute processing of correcting at least one of an internal parameter or an external parameter of the sensor to bring the sensor into a state capable of measuring a correct distance value.
However calibrating a sensor would have been an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention filed with a reasonable expectation of success. Specifically Takahashi teaches:
wherein the calibration execution unit is configured to execute processing of correcting at least one of an internal parameter or an external parameter of the sensor to bring the sensor into a state capable of measuring a correct distance value (see at least Fig 9-10; #10 and #21; and pg.10-12).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sensor error detection system disclosed in Kudo with system for calibrating a camera taught in Takahashi with a reasonable expectation of success, because doing so would allow the system to correct for an error in the sensor without waiting for the periodic inspections (see at least Fig 9-10; #10 and #21; and pg.10-12). Thus increasing the accuracy of the system.
With respect to claim 14
Kudo does not specifically teach:
wherein the sensor is a stereo camera, and the calibration execution unit is configured to execute the calibration process using a captured image of a stereo camera and correct distance data stored in a memory.
However calibrating a sensor would have been an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention filed with a reasonable expectation of success. Specifically Takahashi teaches:
wherein the sensor is a stereo camera, and the calibration execution unit is configured to execute the calibration process using a captured image of a stereo camera and correct distance data stored in a memory. (see at least Fig 9-10; #10 and #21; and pg.10-12).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sensor error detection system disclosed in Kudo with system for calibrating a camera taught in Takahashi with a reasonable expectation of success, because doing so would allow the system to correct for an error in the sensor without waiting for the periodic inspections (see at least Fig 9-10; #10 and #21; and pg.10-12). Thus increasing the accuracy of the system.
With respect to claim 15
Kudo does not specifically teach:
wherein the sensor is a stereo camera, and the calibration execution unit is configured to execute a correction process of a lookup table that is correspondence data between a parallax and a distance stored in a memory to bring the sensor into a state capable of measuring a correct distance value.
However calibrating a sensor would have been an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention filed with a reasonable expectation of success. Specifically Takahashi teaches:
wherein the sensor is a stereo camera, and the calibration execution unit is configured to execute a correction process of a lookup table that is correspondence data between a parallax and a distance stored in a memory to bring the sensor into a state capable of measuring a correct distance value (see at least Fig 9-10; #10 and #21; and pg.10-12).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sensor error detection system disclosed in Kudo with system for calibrating a camera taught in Takahashi with a reasonable expectation of success, because doing so would allow the system to correct for an error in the sensor without waiting for the periodic inspections (see at least Fig 9-10; #10 and #21; and pg.10-12). Thus increasing the accuracy of the system.
With respect to claim 17
Kudo does not specifically teach:
wherein the distance calculation unit is configured to calculate a distance between a marker attached to the external device and the own device.
However Takahashi teaches:
wherein the distance calculation unit is configured to calculate a distance between a marker attached to the external device and the own device (see at least Fig 9-10; #10 and #50; and pg.10-12).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sensor error detection system disclosed in Kudo with system for calibrating a camera based on a known distance to a marker taught in Takahashi with a reasonable expectation of success, because doing so would allow the system to correct for an error in the sensor without waiting for the periodic inspections (see at least Fig 9-10; #10 and #21; and pg.10-12). Thus increasing the accuracy of the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2019/0241194 (Fukasawa et al.): Discussing determining distance to the other vehicle from sensor data, receiving an inter vehicle distance from another vehicle, and determining if there is a sensor anomaly and if there is what sensor is having the issue.
MICHAEL F. WHALEN
Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/M.F.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661