Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 2-15) in the reply filed on 6/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 1, 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups I and IV, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5/7/2024 and 6/15/2025 have been considered by the examiner. Initialed copies accompany this action.
Drawings
The Drawings filed 5/7/2024 are approved by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Compound (I) of claim 6 and compound (III) of claim 11 fail to further limit the compound (chem. 5) recited in claim 2, which claims 6 and 11 are depended from. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al (JP2020015680) in view of Kobayashi et al (Chem. Sci., 2020, 11, 11699). The machine translation of JP2020015680 is relied upon for the rejection purposes. Both references are cited in the filed IDS by applicant.
Regarding claims 2, 6, 11, and 12, JP680 discloses a thin film containing compound A (para 0058-59), which is a tetrathiafulvalene derivative. Chem Sci. discloses a tetrathiafulvalene derivative, tetrathiafulvalene-extended dicarboxylate (TED) below that meets the claimed Chem 5, which is a single crystal (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the invention to use the tetrathiafulvalene-extended dicarboxylate (TED) disclosed by Chemi Sci. in place of the tetrathiafulvalene derivative of JP680, with a reasonable expectation of success for producing the thin film with high electrical conductivity.
Regarding claims 3, 5, 7, 8, and 13, given that the thin film of JP680 in view of Chem Sci. comprises of all the claimed elements in the claimed thin film, a person having an ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the thin film of JP680 in view of Chem Sci. to have the claimed conductivity and light transmittance.
Regarding claims 4 and 9, JP680 discloses the film thickness is from 1nm to 1000nm (para 0011).
Regarding claim 10, JP680 discloses the thin film comprising a mono to deca-molecular layer (para 0010).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, JP680 discloses a transparent electrode comprises the thin film of claim 2 (para 0039-0040).
Conclusion
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
6/24/2026