Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on March 19. 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7 to 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 19. 2026.
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagashima (wo 2017/164233).
The Nagashima reference teaches a method of creating an aluminum nitride plate or layer, note entire reference. A aluminum nitride layer is grown on a base layer, which can also be aluminum nitride. Then by a cutting means a layer or plate of aluminum nitride is then separated from the base material. The separated aluminum nitride layer or plate is then polished by standard means, note, translation. The resulting aluminum nitride layer is free standing. The sole difference between the instant claim and the prior art is the processing of the face to be parallel to a crystal lattice. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable face preparation in the Nagashima reference in order to remove imperfections from the surface or face allowing for a better cut.
With regards to claim 6, the Nagashima reference teaches cutting in one step, one jig, note translation.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagashima (wo 2017/164233).
The Nagashima reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the grinding step for radius of curvature. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable grinding of the face in the Nagashima reference in order to have a set curvature prior to cutting. Noting, the reference does teach grinding is known in the art.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagashima (wo 2017/164233).
The Nagashima reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the polishing of the face. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable polishing of the face in the Nagashima reference in order to a uniform surface. Noting, the reference does teach polishing is known in the art.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagashima (wo 2017/164233).
The Nagashima reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the radius of curvature. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable grinding, polishing steps in the Nagashima reference in order to have a set radius of curvature in the cut layer or plate.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagashima (wo 2017/164233).
The Nagashima reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the face being aluminum polar face. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable face that is polished in the Nagashima reference in order to create the desired parallel orientation, as the reference does teach the face can be aluminum nitride.
Examiner’s Remarks
The remain references are merely cited of interest as showing the state of the art in aluminum nitride formation and cutting.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714