CTNF 18/708,281 CTNF 82206 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Preliminary Amendment Acknowledgment The Preliminary Amendment filed on 05/08/2024 has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-5, 10 and 18-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chaponniere et al (Pub. No. US 2022/0141758) . Regarding claim 1. Chaponniere teaches a method by a user equipment, UE, for preventing disaster roaming in a first cell reserved for operator use (Chaponniere, the Abstract), the method comprising: obtaining information indicating that the first cell associated with a first network is reserved for operator use (Chaponniere, pp [45], [49]: a network is reserved prevented from disaster roamers access) ; and based on the information indicating that the first cell is reserved for operator use and based on the UE being assigned an access identity that is associated with disaster roaming, determining to treat the first cell as barred (Chaponniere, pp [43], [45]: a UE is allocated with an access identity number 3 for disaster roaming; Fig. 4, pp [48]-[49]: a network is barred from disaster roamer UE) . Regarding claim 10. Chaponniere teaches a method by a network node for preventing disaster roaming by a User Equipment, UE, in a first cell reserved for operator use (Chaponniere, the Abstract), the method comprising: transmitting, to the UE, at least one of information indicating that the first cell associated with a first network is reserved for operator use (Chaponniere, pp [45], [49]: a network is reserved prevented from disaster roamers access) , and information indicating that the UE is assigned an access identity that is associated with disaster roaming (Chaponniere, pp [43], [45]: a UE is allocated with an access identity number 3 for disaster roaming; Fig. 4, pp [48]-[49]: a network is barred from disaster roamer UE) . Regarding claim 18. Chaponniere teaches a user equipment, UE, for preventing disaster roaming in a first cell reserved for operator use (Chaponniere, the Abstract) , the UE configured to: obtain information indicating that the first cell associated with a first network is reserved for operator use (Chaponniere, pp [45], [49]: a network is reserved prevented from disaster roamers access) ; and based on the information indicating that the first cell is reserved for operator use and based on the UE being assigned an access identity that is associated with disaster roaming, determine to treat the first cell as barred (Chaponniere, pp [43], [45]: a UE is allocated with an access identity number 3 for disaster roaming; Fig. 4, pp [48]-[49]: a network is barred from disaster roamer UE) . Regarding claim 27. Chaponniere teaches a network node for preventing disaster roaming by a User Equipment, UE, in a cell reserved for operator use (Chaponniere, the Abstract), the network node configured to: transmit, to the UE, at least one of information indicating that the first cell associated with a first network is reserved for operator use (Chaponniere, pp [45], [49]: a network is reserved prevented from disaster roamers access) , and information indicating that the UE is assigned an access identity that is associated with disaster roaming (Chaponniere, pp [43], [45]: a UE is allocated with an access identity number 3 for disaster roaming; Fig. 4, pp [48]-[49]: a network is barred from disaster roamer UE) . Regarding claim 2. Chaponniere teaches the method of claim 1, comprising determining that the UE is assigned the access identity that is associated with disaster roaming (Chaponniere, pp [43]) . Regarding claim 3. Chaponniere teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the access identity indicates that the UE is assigned to an Access Identity (Chaponniere, pp [43]) . Regarding claim 4. Chaponniere teaches the method of claim 2, wherein prior to determining that the UE is assigned the access identity that is associated with disaster roaming, the method comprises: identifying that the UE cannot access a second cell associated with a second network (Chaponniere, pp [42]-[45]) ; and determining that the UE is configured for disaster roaming (Chaponniere, pp [42]-[45]) . Regarding claim 5. Chaponniere teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the UE was previously served in a second cell of the second network and/or the second network comprises a home network (Chaponniere, pp [44]-[48]) . Regarding claim 19. Chaponniere teaches the UE of claim 18, configured to determine that the UE is assigned the access identity that is associated with disaster roaming (Chaponniere, pp [43]) . Regarding claim 20. Chaponniere teaches the UE of claim 18, wherein the access identity indicates that the UE is assigned to an Access Identity 3 (Chaponniere, pp [43]) . Regarding claim 21. Chaponniere teaches the UE of claim 19, wherein prior to determining that the UE is assigned the access identity that is associated with disaster roaming, the UE is configured to: identify that the UE cannot access a second cell associated with a second network (Chaponniere, pp [42]-[45]) ; and determine that the UE is configured for disaster roaming (Chaponniere, pp [42]-[45]) . Regarding claim 22. Chaponniere teaches the UE of claim 21, wherein the UE was previously served in the second cell of the second network and/or the second network comprises a home network (Chaponniere, pp [44]-[48]) . Regarding claim 23. Chaponniere teaches the UE of claim 18, wherein: when determining to treat the first cell as barred, the UE is configured to determine not to take at least one action, and when determining not to take the at least one action, the UE is configured to perform at least one of: determining not to camp on the first cell (Chaponniere, pp [45], [49], [55], [61]) ; determining not to access the first cell (Chaponniere, pp [45], [49], [55], [61]) ; determining not to select the first cell (Chaponniere, pp [45], [49], [55], [61]) ; and determining not to reselect the first cell (Chaponniere, pp [45], [49], [55], [61]) . Regarding claim 24. Chaponniere teaches the UE of claim 18, wherein when determining to treat the first cell as barred, the UE is configured to perform at least one of: camping on a second cell (Chaponniere, Fig. 4, pp [48]-[51]: the UE registers with a first PLMN once it determines the second PLMN is barred) ; accessing the second cell (Chaponniere, Fig. 4, pp [48]-[51]: the UE registers with a first PLMN once it determines the second PLMN is barred) ; selecting the second cell (Chaponniere, Fig. 4, pp [48]-[51]: the UE registers with a first PLMN once it determines the second PLMN is barred) ; and reselecting the second cell (Chaponniere, Fig. 4, pp [48]-[51]: the UE registers with a first PLMN once it determines the second PLMN is barred) . Regarding claim 25. Chaponniere teaches the UE of claim 18, wherein the first network and/or the second network comprises a Public Land Mobile Network, PLMN (Chaponniere, pp [42]-[45]) . Regarding claim 26. Chaponniere teaches the UE of claim 18, wherein, when obtaining the information indicating that the first cell reserved for operator use, the UE is configured to receive the information from a network node associated with the first cell (Chaponniere, pp [44]-[48]) . Regarding claim 28. Chaponniere teaches the network node of claim 27, wherein the access identity indicates that the UE is assigned to an Access Identity 3 (Chaponniere, pp [43]) . Regarding claim 29. Chaponniere teaches the network node of claim 27, wherein the UE is or was previously served in a second cell associated with a second network (Chaponniere, pp [42]-[45]) . Regarding claim 30. Chaponniere teaches the network node of claim 29, wherein the second network comprises a home network (Chaponniere, pp [44]-[48]) . Regarding claim 31. Chaponniere teaches the network node of claim 27, wherein the first network and/or the second network comprises a Public Land Mobile Network, PLMN (Chaponniere, pp [42]-[45]) . Regarding claim 32. Chaponniere teaches the network node of claim 27, wherein the information triggers the UE to treat the first cell as barred (Chaponniere, pp [48]-[49]) . Regarding claim 33. Chaponniere teaches the network node of claim 32, wherein treating the first cell as barred comprises at least one of: not camping on the first cell (Chaponniere, pp [45], [49], [55], [61]) ; not accessing the first cell (Chaponniere, pp [45], [49], [55], [61]) ; not selecting the first cell (Chaponniere, pp [45], [49], [55], [61]) ; and not reselecting the first cell (Chaponniere, pp [45], [49], [55], [61]) ; Regarding claim 34. Chaponniere teaches the network node of claim 27, wherein the network node comprises a gNodeB, gNB (Chaponniere, pp [106]) . Relevant references found but not used in the rejection above Park (Pub. No. US 2023/0269689) teaches a method for timer T adjustment due to disaster roaming occurrence, and an apparatus for supporting same. A user equipment (UE) determines that a disaster condition applies to a home public land mobile network (HPLMN). Upon selecting a disaster roaming PLMN, the UE performs a first registration procedure for disaster roaming services on the disaster roaming PLMN, and periodically attempts to obtain service on the HPLMN based on a timer T with a first value. Upon selecting a Visited PLMN (VPLMN), the UE performs a second registration procedure on the VPLMN, and periodically attempts to obtain service on the HPLMN based on a timer T with a second value. In some details, the method provides the most efficient way to prevent interruption of communication services in the event of a disaster is to use roaming. That is, if communication service cannot be received from the communication operator to which the user subscribed due to a disaster, interruption of communication service can be prevented by roaming to another nearby communication operator's network to receive communication service. More specifically, each communication operator may actively install a wireless network and a core network in an area (e.g., one country) for which it is licensed. Different communication operators may construct networks in different ways and/or install core network nodes in different buildings, so even if a disaster occurs, it may not affect all communication operators equally. That is, a problem that occurs in one communication operator may not be equally likely to occur in another communication operator. Starsinic (Pub. No. US 2024/0007878) teaches user equipment (UE) may detect a disaster condition, based on broadcast information, RRC messaging, NAS messaging, the ability to connect to an allowable PLMN, and indications from forbidden PLMNs. In a disaster condition, a UE may perform an enhanced PLMN selection procedure wherein, for example, the UE will not consider PLMNs that are in a disaster situation if the disaster situation applies to a current location of the UE, prioritize forbidden PLMNs for disaster roaming connection. For disaster roaming connection, the UE may be configured by an otherwise forbidden PLMN with information about what services the UE can access and what type of authentication procedure the network is able to perform with UE. Upon detecting that the disaster condition is over, the UE move back to an allowable PLMN. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HUY C HO whose telephone number is (571)270-1108. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8AM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, KATHY WANG-HURST can be reached at (571)270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/708,281 Page 2 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/708,281 Page 3 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/708,281 Page 4 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/708,281 Page 5 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/708,281 Page 6 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/708,281 Page 7 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/708,281 Page 8 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/708,281 Page 9 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/708,281 Page 10 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/708,281 Page 11 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/708,281 Page 12 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/708,281 Page 13 Art Unit: 2644