DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant's amendment filed on May 6, 2026 was received. Claims 6, 8, 14 and 16 were amended. Claims 9-10 were canceled. Claims 11-13 were withdrawn. Claims 14-16 were added.
The text of those sections of Title 35. U.S.C. code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office Action Issued on March 27, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, on claims 8 and 16 are withdrawn, because the claims have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeon (KR102138149).
Regarding claim 6, Yeon teaches a method of forming a thin film (paragraph 0001) using a metal thin film precursor, wherein the metal is molybdenum (paragraph 0051). Thus, Yeon teaches the thin film comprises molybdenum (molybdenum based thin film). Yeon teaches to inject an inhibitor to the deposition chamber to be adsorbed on the surface of the substate (paragraphs 0017, 0046 and 0090), wherein the inhibitor facilitates to improve step coverage and thickness uniformity of the thin film being formed on a substate having complex structure (paragraph 0001), which reads on the limitation of film quality improver (injecting a film quality improver into a chamber and injecting the film quality improver onto a surface of a loaded substrate). Yeon teaches the inhibitor comprises the structure of AnBmXo, wherein A is carbon or silicon, X is halogen (F, Cl, Br or I), B is hydrogen or alkyl having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, n is an integer of 1, o is an integer 1, and m is 2n+1 (paragraphs 0015-0016), which reads on the claimed limitation tert-butyl iodide (A is carbon, B is alkyl having 3 carbon:CH3, C is iodine, n is 1, o is 1 and m is 3). Yeon teaches to vaporize the inhibitor to form a protected area (shield area) on the surface of the substrate in the chamber (paragraphs 0083, 0046, 0103, figure 2) (step i-a). Yeon teaches to performing first purge of an inside of the chamber using a purge gas (paragraphs 0046, figure 2) (step ii-a), vaporizing thin film precursor (molybdenum precursor) and adsorbing the precursor to an area outside the shielding area (figure 2, paragraphs 0083 and 0046) (step iii-a), preforming second purging of the inside of the chamber using the purge gas (paragraph 0046, figure 2) (step iv-2), supplying a reaction gas into the chamber (step v-a) and preforming third purging of the inside of the chamber using the purge gas (step vi-a) to form the thin film on the surface of the substate (step vii-a) (molybdenum based thin film) (paragraphs 0103, 0046, 0051, see figure 2). Some of the recitations in Yeon uses Ti as example but would be clear to one of the ordinary skill in the art that the steps and method are applicable to all other thin film precursor as recited in paragraph 0051, including molybdenum, as Yeon’s general teaching is directed to other metal based films, including molybdenum.
Regarding claim 7, Yeon teaches the thin film is a metal oxide, metal nitride film (paragraphs 0004, 0051-0053).
Regarding claim 8, Yeon teaches the inhibitor is transferred into the atomic layer deposition (ALD) chamber by vapor flow control (VFC) or LDS (liquid delivery system) method (paragraphs 0048 and 0093).
Regarding claim 14, Yeon teaches a method of forming a thin film (paragraph 0001) using a metal thin film precursor, wherein the metal is molybdenum (paragraph 0051). Thus, Yeon teaches the thin film comprises molybdenum (molybdenum based thin film). Yeon teaches to inject an inhibitor to the deposition chamber to be adsorbed on the surface of the substate (paragraphs 0017, 0046 and 0090), wherein the inhibitor facilitates to improve step coverage and thickness uniformity of the thin film being formed on a substate having complex structure (paragraph 0001), which reads on the limitation of film quality improver (injecting a film quality improver into a chamber and injecting the film quality improver onto a surface of a loaded substrate). Yeon teaches the inhibitor comprises the structure of AnBmXo, wherein A is carbon or silicon, X is halogen (F, Cl, Br or I), B is hydrogen or alkyl having 1 to 3carbon atoms, n is an integer of 1, o is an integer 1, and m is 2n+1 (paragraphs 0015-0016), which reads on the claimed limitation tert-butyl iodide (A is carbon, B is alkyl having 3 carbon:CH3, C is iodine, n is 1, o is 1 and m is 3). Yeon teaches to inject and vaporize a thin film precursor and adsorbing the precursor on the surface of the substrate in the chamber (molybdenum precursor) (paragraphs 0103, 0046, 0051, figure 2) (step i-b), Yeon teaches to perform first purge of an inside of the chamber using a purge gas (paragraph 0046, figure 2) (step ii-b). Yeon teaches to vaporize and injecting the inhibitor onto the surface of the substrate in the chamber (paragraphs 0103 and 0046, figure 2) (step iii b), preforming second purging of the inside of the chamber using the purge gas (paragraph 0046, figure 2) (iv-b). Yeon teaches to supply a reaction gas into the chamber (paragraph 0046, figure 2) (step v-b). Yeon teaches to preform third purging of the inside of the chamber using the purge gas (step vi-b) and forming the thin film (molybdenum based thin film) on the surface of the substate (step vii) (paragraphs 0103, 0046, 0051, see figure 2). Some of the recitations in Yeon uses Ti as example but would be clear to one of the ordinary skill in the art that the steps and method are applicable to all other thin film precursor as recited in paragraph 0051, including molybdenum, as Yeon’s general teaching is directed to other metal based films, including molybdenum.
Regarding claim 15, Yeon teaches the thin film is a metal oxide, metal nitride film (paragraphs 0004, 0051-0053).
Regarding claim 16, Yeon teaches the inhibitor is transferred into the atomic layer deposition (ALD) chamber by vapor flow control (VFC) or LDS (liquid delivery system) method (paragraphs 0048 and 0093).
Double Patenting
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11746411 in view of Yeon (KR102138149). Claims 6-8 and 14-16 overlaps with claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11746411, except the film is Ti based film and some of the method steps. However, titanium and molybdenum in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor are considered as functionally equivalent as evidenced thin film material by Yeon (paragraph 0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute molybdenum for titanium as the thin film material in the method as disclosed claims 6-8 and 14-16. The other recited method steps are disclosed by Yeon (see rejections above).
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No.12252788 in view of Yeon (KR102138149). Claims 6-8 and 14-16 overlaps with the scope of claims 1-11 U.S. Patent No.12252788, except some method steps. However, those method steps are disclosed by Yeon (see rejections above).
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12421599 in view of Yeon (KR102138149). Claims 6-8 and 14-16 overlaps with claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12421599 (tert-butyl bromide reads on chemical formula 1), except the film is Mo based film and some of the method steps. However, Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the molybdenum based thin film as suggested by Yeon in the method as disclosed by claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12421599 because Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051). The other recited method steps are disclosed by Yeon (see rejections above).
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7, 9 and 11-13 of copending Application No. 17512724 in view of Yeon (KR102138149). Claims 6-8 and 14-16 overlaps with claims 7, 9 and 11-13 of Applicant No. 17512724 (at least tert-butyl chloride reads on chemical formula 1), except the film is Mo based film and some of the method steps. However, Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the molybdenum based thin film as suggested by Yeon in the method as disclosed by claims 7, 9 and 11-13 of Application No. 17512724 because Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051).one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute molybdenum for titanium as the thin film material in the method as disclosed claims 6-8 and 14-16. The other recited method steps are disclosed by Yeon (see rejections above).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-10 of copending Application No. 18012086 in view of Yeon (KR102138149). Claims 6-8 and 14-16 overlaps with claims 7-10 of copending Application No. 18012086 (claim 7 chemical formula 1 with i and j equal to zero, reads on chemical formula 1 of instant claim 6), except the film is Mo based film and some of the method steps. However, Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the molybdenum based thin film as suggested by Yeon in the method as disclosed by claims 7-10 of copending Application No. 18012086 because Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051).one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute molybdenum for titanium as the thin film material in the method as disclosed claims 6-8 and 14-16. The other recited method steps are disclosed by Yeon (see rejections above).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-15 of copending Application No. 18691435 in view of Yeon (KR102138149). Claims 6-8 and 14-16 overlaps with claims 7-15 of copending Application No. 18691435, except the film is Mo based film and some of the method step. However, Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the molybdenum based thin film as suggested by Yeon in the method as disclosed by claims 7-15 of copending Application No. 18691435because Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051).one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute molybdenum for titanium as the thin film material in the method as disclosed claims 6-8 and 14-16. The other recited method steps are disclosed by Yeon (see rejections above).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-13 and 16 of copending Application No. 18910856 in view of Yeon (KR102138149). Claims 6-8 and 14-16 overlaps with claims 7-13 and 16 of copending Application No.18910856, except the film is Mo based film and some of the method steps. However, Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the molybdenum based thin film as suggested by Yeon in the method as disclosed by claims 7-13 and 16 of copending Application No.18910856 because Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051).one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute molybdenum for titanium as the thin film material in the method as disclosed claims 6-8 and 14-16. The other recited method steps are disclosed by Yeon (see rejections above).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-13 and 16-18 of copending Application No. 18950715 in view of Yeon (KR102138149). Claims 6-8 and 14-16 overlaps with claims 7-13 and 16-18 of copending Application No. 18950715, except the film is Mo based film and some of the method steps. However, Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the molybdenum based thin film as suggested by Yeon in the method as disclosed by claims 7-13 and 16-18 of copending Application No. 18950715 because Yeon teaches molybdenum based film is the film material in forming ALD thin film using inhibitor as claimed (paragraph 0051).one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute molybdenum for titanium as the thin film material in the method as disclosed claims 6-8 and 14-16. The other recited method steps are disclosed by Yeon (see rejections above).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal arguments are:
Yeon teaches the film quality improver being 2-chloro-2methylbutane et al on paragraph 0130, table 2.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, please consider the following comments:
Yeon teaches the inhibitor comprises the structure of AnBmXo, wherein A is carbon or silicon, X is halogen (F, Cl, Br or I), B is hydrogen or alkyl having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, n is an integer of 1, o is an integer 1, and m is 2n+1 (paragraphs 0015-0016), which reads on the claimed limitation tert-butyl iodide (A is carbon, B is alkyl having 3 carbon:CH3, C is iodine, n is 1, o is 1 and m is 3). It is well settled that nonpreferred and alternative embodiments constitute prior art and disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123 II).
Conclusion
/NGA LEUNG V LAW/Examiner, Art Unit 1717