DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Hashimoto et al. (US 5841011).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 5-8, Hashimoto discloses a process for converting waste plastic, such as polyethylene, into hydrocarbon oil by steam pyrolysis in the presence of iron oxide at temperatures up to 550 C and ordinary pressure. The iron oxide (filler) can be reduced- regenerated and recycled [claim 1; col.2, 1.50-66; col.3, I.11-20 and 49-65; col.4, I.18-26; col.7, 1.40-43].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto et al. (US 5841011) alone.
Regarding claims 9-11 and 16, although the steps are not explicitly detailed, it would have been obvious to conduct the additional processing and reducing steps, as Hashimoto discloses regeneration in their process.
Regarding claims 12-15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at that varying the temperature and pressure could be done to optimize the chemical reaction. Subsequently, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto et al. (US 5841011) in view of Sakata et al. (JP H11140460).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Hashimoto fails to disclose the process using specifically ferrous oxide and alumina.
Sakata teaches a process for produce a hydrocarbon from plastic waste comprising utilizing a ferrous oxide and alumina [Claims 1-3].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Hashimoto by utilizing the ferrous oxide and alumina as described by Sakata to reduce the harmful chlorine compounds such as dioxin from the recovered hydrocarbon [Summary of the Invention].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or suggest – either alone or in combination – the Al203 particles coated with iron(Ill) oxide are coated in an amount corresponding to 2 wt% atomic iron ("2 Fe/Al203") as explicitly recited in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art documents are related to methods of producing hyrdrocarbon products from plastic waste similar to that of the claimed invention.
KYLE ARMSTRONG, P.E.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3678
/KYLE ARMSTRONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619