DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2020/0161514, hereinafter Hwang) in view of Fuji (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2019/0285934, hereinafter Fuji).
Re claim 1 Hwang discloses in Fig 4, 5 a display device comprising: a display panel[0004]; and a composite optical film disposed on the display panel[0004], wherein the composite optical film includes: an adhesive layer(120)[0064] attached to the display panel[0004] and configured to contain a light scattering agent(130)[0093,0094],
Hwang does not discloses wherein the light scattering agent(130)[0093,0094] has a higher refractive index than the adhesive layer(120)[0064].
Fuji discloses wherein the light scattering agent(ZrO)[0065] has a higher refractive index than the adhesive layer(silicon oxide)[0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Fuji to the teachings of Hwang in order to provide a display device with high designability [0012, Fuji].
Re claim 2 Hwang and Fuji disclose the display device according to claim 1, wherein: the light scattering agent(130)[0093,0094] includes at least one of Zr, Si, Ti, Zn, BaS, and oxides thereof.
Re claim 3 Hwang and Fuji disclose the display device according to claim 1, wherein: the light scattering agent(130)[0093,0094] includes Zr oxide.
Re claim 4 Hwang and Fuji disclose the display device according to claim 1, wherein: the refractive index of the light scattering agent(130)[0093,0094] is about 1.3 to 2.8.
Re claim 5 Hwang and Fuji disclose the display device according to claim 1, wherein: a content of the light scattering agent(130)[0093,0094] is about 0.01% to 20% compared to the adhesive layer(120)[0064].
Re claim 6 Hwang and Fuji disclose the display device according to claim 1, wherein the composite optical film includes: a transparent protective layer(140) disposed on the adhesive layer(120)[0064]; a black dye layer(130)[0093,0094] disposed on the transparent protective layer(140); and an optical function layer disposed on the black dye layer(130)[0093,0094] to provide at least one optical function.
Re claim 7 Hwang and Fuji disclose the display device according to claim 6, wherein the optical functional layer includes: at least one of an anti-reflection (AR) or Anti-Glare (AG) film, a low-reflection (LR) film, and an anti-fingerprint (AF) film.
Re claim 8 Hwang and Fuji disclose the display device according to claim 1, wherein the display panel[0004] includes: red, green, and blue light emitting diodes (LEDs) configured to constitute each pixel.
Re claim 9 Hwang and Fuji disclose the display device according to claim 8, wherein: the light scattering agent(130)[0093,0094] compensates for a difference in directivity angle between the light emitting diodes (LEDs).
Re claim 10 Hwang and Fuji disclose the display device according to claim 8, wherein: the light scattering agent(130)[0093,0094] compensates for light distribution that is biased to one side due to a tilt of a crystal plane of each of the LEDs or a tilt caused by soldering or adhesion of the LED.
Re claim 11 Hwang and Fuji disclose the display device according to claim 8, further comprising: a black layer disposed at a side surface of the LED.
Re claim 12 Hwang and Fuji disclose the display device according to claim 8, wherein: the light scattering agent(130)[0093,0094] has a size of about 0.01 to 10 μm.
Re claim 13 Hwang discloses in Fig 4, 5 a composite optical film disposed on a display panel[0004] comprising: an adhesive layer(120)[0064] attached to the display panel[0004] and configured to contain a light scattering agent(130)[0093,0094]; a transparent protective layer(140) disposed on the adhesive layer(120)[0064]; a black dye layer(130)[0093,0094] disposed on the transparent protective layer(140);
Hwang does not discloses an optical function layer disposed on the black dye layer(130)[0093,0094] to provide at least one optical function.
Fuji discloses an optical function layer(silicon oxide)[0065 of Fuji] to provide at least one optical function [0060 of Fuji].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Fuji to the teachings of Hwang in order to provide a display device with high designability [0012, Fuji]. In doing so, an optical function layer(silicon oxide)[0065 of Fuji] disposed on the black dye layer(130)[0093,0094] to provide at least one optical function [0060 of Fuji].
Re claim 14 Hwang and Fuji disclose the composite optical film according to claim 13, wherein: the light scattering agent(130)[0093,0094] includes at least one of Zr, Si, Ti, Zn, BaS, and oxides thereof.
Re claim 15 Hwang and Fuji disclose the composite optical film according to claim 13, wherein: the light scattering agent(130)[0093,0094] includes Zr oxide.
Re claim 16 Hwang and Fuji disclose the composite optical film according to claim 13, wherein: the refractive index of the light scattering agent(130)[0093,0094] is about 1.3 to 2.8.
Re claim 17 Hwang and Fuji disclose the composite optical film according to claim 13, wherein: a content of the light scattering agent(130)[0093,0094] is about 0.01% to 20% compared to the adhesive layer(120)[0064].
Re claim 18 Hwang and Fuji disclose the composite optical film according to claim 13, wherein: the light scattering agent(130)[0093,0094] has a size of about 0.01 to 10 μm.
Conclusion
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812