CTNF 18/708,414 CTNF 94028 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 47-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2022/0330086 A1), hereinafter “Guo” . Regarding claim 47 , Guo teaches, an apparatus (terminal device 900 in Fig.9) comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code (Fig.9; Clm.45); the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive, from a network, an uplink data compression configuration, wherein the uplink data compression configuration configures one or more data radio bearers to support uplink data compression at the apparatus (Guo: [0006] the terminal device receives DRB configuration information sent by the network device, where the DRB configuration information includes at least configuration information of a first DRB) without initial uplink data compression operation activation (implied). Regarding claim element, transmit to the network, an indication to activate at least one data radio bearer of the one or more data radio bearers with uplink data compression configured for uplink data compression operation, though Gup does not expressly teach it, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to come up with the claim based on the following disclosures by Guo: a) Guo: [0159] The UE may send the UDC parameter to the base station after determining the UDC parameter; and b) [0161] After receiving the UDC parameter, the base station may determine a DRB for which UDC is to be activated, and set a corresponding UDC parameter for the DRB for which UDC is activated.”. A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to come up with the claimed invention modifying the disclosures by Guo to directly specify indication to activate a radio bearer based on determined UDC parameters by the UE itself, as disclosed by Guo, “the terminal device determines a UDC parameter of the first DRB based on the configuration information of the first DRB; and the terminal device sends the UDC parameter to the network device.” ([0006]). Guo teaches, perform a packet data convergence protocol entity re-establishment procedure associated with the at least one data radio bearer ([0150] “The DRB configuration information may include at least one of the following: a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration”; [0172] The UE may send a DRB establishment request to the base station when the UE needs to establish a new DRB to carry a new data service; ) based on at least one of: transmission of the indication ([0150] After receiving the UDC capability information sent by the UE, the base station may configure a DRB based on a DRB establishment request sent by the UE.), a determination to activate the at least one data radio bearer for uplink data compression operation ([0023] “the UDC parameter is determined by the terminal device based on a type of a data service carried by the first DRB,”), or receipt of a message configured to request performing of the packet data convergence protocol entity re-establishment procedure . Regarding claim 57 , the claim is for method implemented by apparatus of claim 47. Claim is a change in category with respect to claim 47. elements are discussed above in claim 47. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 47. Regarding claim 58 , the claim is for a network device performing method complimentary to method of claim 47. Claim elements are discussed above in claim 47. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 47. Claims 48 and 59: Regarding claim 48 , Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 47 (discussed above), wherein the uplink data compression configuration comprises at least one of: a predefined dictionary for uplink data compression, or a buffer size for uplink data compression (Guo: [0012] “the UDC parameter includes one or any combination of the following: a dictionary type, a dictionary length, a buffer size, a compression algorithm, and a UDC priority.”). Claim 59 is for apparatus performing method complimentary to method performed by apparatus of claim 48. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 48. Claims 49 and 60: Regarding claim 49 , Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 47 (discussed above), wherein the transmitted indication is configured to request the network to activate the at least one data radio bearer for uplink data compression operation, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: perform the packet data convergence protocol entity re-establishment procedure for the at least one data radio bearer based on the received message, wherein the message configured to request performing of the packet data convergence protocol entity re-establishment procedure comprises an information element indicating uplink data compression operation activation for the at least one data radio beare r (discussed above in claim 47), wherein the message comprises at least one of: a radio resource control reconfiguration message ([0022] “the DRB configuration information is sent through RRC information.”; [0031] “the DRB configuration information is received through RRC signaling.”), a medium access control element ([0024] “The network device receives a control PDU or a MAC CE that carries an identifier, where the identifier is used to indicate that the control PDU or the MAC CE includes the UDC parameter; and the network device obtains the UDC parameter from the control PDU or the MAC CE.”), or downlink control information. Claim 60 is for apparatus performing method complimentary to method performed by apparatus of claim 49. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 49. Claims 50 and 61: Regarding claim 50 , Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 49 (discussed above), wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the network, a data protocol data unit using uplink data compression via one or more of the at least one data radio bearers with activated uplink data compression operation ([0093] After compressing the data packet 211 based on the content stored in the buffer 201, the UE obtains the compressed data packet 212 and the triplet 213. The UE may then transmit the compressed data packet 212 and the triplet 213 to the base station). Claim 61 is for apparatus performing method complimentary to method performed by apparatus of claim 50. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 50. Claims 51 and 62: Regarding claim 51 , Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 49 (discussed above), wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: deactivate a data radio bearer for uplink data compression operation (Guo: “[0168] In some other embodiments, if the base station determines, in step S705, that there is a DRB for which UDC needs to be deactivated, the base station may indicate, to the UE through the UDC activation information or separate RRC signaling, specific DRBs for which UDC needs to be deactivated.”), wherein a total number of data radio bearers with activated uplink data compression operation is less than or equal to a specified maximum number of data radio bearers configured to support uplink data compression for the apparatus (implied by the disclosure [0182] In some embodiments, if a quantity of DRBs for which UDC is activated is less than a maximum quantity that can be simultaneously supported by the base station and the UE, the base station may determine that UDC is to be activated for the first DRB.”). Claim 62 is for apparatus performing method complimentary to method performed by apparatus of claim 51. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 51. Claims 52 and 63: Regarding claim 52 , Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 49 (discussed above). The claim, wherein the radio resource control reconfiguration message comprises a flag configured to indicate that the packet data convergence protocol entity re-establishment procedure is for uplink data compression operation activation only, though not expressly taught by Guo, is implied based on whole disclosure by Guo is for uplink data compression only (see abstract, the title, and disclosure in [Summary], [0005] Embodiments of this application provide a method for reporting UDC information by UE, and a device, to improve data transmission efficiency ”). Claim 63 is for apparatus performing method complimentary to method performed by apparatus of claim 52. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 52. Claims 53 and 64: Regarding claim 53 , Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 47 (discussed above), wherein the transmitted indication is configured to request the network to perform a packet data convergence protocol entity re-establishment procedure associated with the at least one data radio bearer, wherein the packet data convergence protocol entity re-establishment procedure is performed based on the transmission of the indication (discussed above in claim 47) and further in response to at least one of : a time of transmission of the indication (implied by the disclosure, “when a user starts to use iQIYI, the UE and the base station establish a DRB 1 to carry iQIYI data. After a period of time, the user starts to use WeChat, and the UE and the base station establish a new DRB 2 to carry WeChat data.”; the period of time as disclosed may be the time of transmission), or expiration of a timer. Claim 64 is for apparatus performing method complimentary to method performed by apparatus of claim 53. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 53. Claims 54 and 66: Regarding claim 54 , Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 47 (discussed above), Different claim elements of the claim, wherein the indication comprises at least one of: an uplink radio resource control message, an indication of a data radio bearer identifier for respective ones of the at least one data radio bearer, an information element of the uplink radio resource control message, wherein the information element comprises a list of data radio bearer identifiers for the at least one data radio bearer, a field of a physical uplink shared channel medium access control control element, wherein the field comprises the list of data radio bearer identifiers for the at least one data radio bearer, a field of a packet data convergence protocol or service data adaptation protocol control frame, wherein the field comprises the list of data radio bearer identifiers for the at least one data radio bearer, a flag of a packet data convergence protocol or service data adaptation protocol head of data physical data unit for the respective ones of the at least one data radio bearer, wherein the flag is configured to indicate whether uplink data compression operation for the respective ones of the at least one data radio bearer are to be activated or deactivated, or a user plane control physical data unit, have been discussed above in claims 47 to 53 . Claim 66 is for apparatus performing method complimentary to method performed by apparatus of claim 54. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 54. Regarding claim 55 , Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 47 (discussed above), wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: transmit uplink data via a data radio bearer of the one or more data radio bearers without uplink data compression (implied by the disclosure [0119] In the conventional technology, the UE can report only a message about whether the UE supports the UDC capability. For example, when the UE capability information is reported, one bit may be used to indicate whether the UE supports the UDC capability.”; If the bit indicates no capability for UDC, the data radio bearer will be transmitted without uplink data compression.). Regarding claim 56 , Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 47 (discussed above), wherein a number of the at least one data radio bearer comprises less than or equal to a specified maximum number of data radio bearers configured to support uplink data compression for the apparatus (discussed above in claim 51). Regarding claim 65 , Guo teaches the apparatus of claim 58 (discussed above), wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: receive, from the user equipment, a data protocol data unit using uplink data compression via one or more of the at least one data radio bearers with activated uplink data compression operation (implied by discussion above in claim 50) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. a) US-20200137820-A1 teaches uplink user data compression; b) CN-113301606-A teaches uplink data compression activation and deactivation. and c) R2-1909915 teaches UDC function in PDCP entities. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to INTEKHAAB AALAM SIDDIQUEE whose telephone number is (571)272-0895. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Friday 9AM-5PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached at 571-272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /INTEKHAAB A SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/708,414 Page 2 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/708,414 Page 3 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/708,414 Page 4 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/708,414 Page 5 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/708,414 Page 6 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/708,414 Page 7 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/708,414 Page 8 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/708,414 Page 9 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/708,414 Page 10 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/708,414 Page 11 Art Unit: 2462