DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to an application that was filed on 05/08/2024. Claims 1-13 are presented for examination consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shi et al. (CN102842863A and Shi hereinafter, cited on the following: in the 05/08/2024 IDS; in the 01/19/2023 International Search Report; and the 05/16/2022 European Search Report).
Regarding claim 1, Shi discloses a junction with contact surface and counter-contact surface of an element of a gas-insulated substation compartment (items 1, 2, 8 of Fig. 1 & Figs. 2-5 and abstract & claims 1_8-9 & ¶[0022_0039_0048-0053] from Espacenet Translation shows and indicates junction of Fig. 1 {Gas Insulated Switchgear flange sealing assembly} with contact surface 1 {left connecting flange 1} and counter-contact surface 2 {right connecting flange 2} of gas-insulated substation compartment 8 {SF6 gas passage/channel 8}), comprising: two mechanical seals clamped between the contact surface and counter-contact surface, arranged to form a closed inter-seal volume delimited by the two mechanical seals and by the contact surface and counter-contact surface (items 3, 5 of Fig. 1 & item 9 of Fig. 5 and abstract & claims 1_8-9 & ¶[0037 & 0039] from Espacenet Translation shows and indicates junction of Fig. 1 is comprised two mechanical seals 3 & 5 {3rd seal fan-shaped cross section 3 & O-ring 5} clamped between contact surface 1 and counter-contact surface 2; where mechanical seals 3 & 5, contact surface 1, and counter-contact surface 2 are arranged so as to form a closed inter-seal volume 9 {flow trajectory of waterproof adhesive mixture 9} delimited by both of mechanical seals 3 & 5 and by contact surface 1 and counter-contact surface 2); a sealing product injected under pressure into the inter-seal volume using a leakage recovery duct arranged into a thickness of the compartment (items 4, 7 of Fig. 1 & item 7 of Figs. 2_5 and abstract & claims 8-9 & ¶[0020_0022_0039_0048-0049 & 0051] from Espacenet Translation shows and indicates junction of Fig. 1 is comprised of injection of sealing product waterproof glue mixture 4 { 2nd seal waterproof sealant glue mixture 4} under pressure {inject the waterproof adhesive mixture 4 at a pressure of 0.3-0.4 MPa, which the range translates to roughly 3–4 bar or 43–58 PSI which is significantly greater than normal atmospheric pressure} into inter-seal volume 9 using leakage recovery duct 7 {glue injection hole 7} arranged in the thickness of compartment 8), the leakage recovery duct opening out into the inter-seal volume (Fig. 5 and ¶[0037 & 0048] from Espacenet Translation shows and indicates leakage recovery duct 7 opening out into inter-seal volume 9), and; a vent duct, different from the leakage recovery duct, drilled from the outside of the compartment to the inter-seal volume and filled with sealing product (item 6 of Figs. 1-2_5 and claim 5 & ¶[0039_0045 & 0048] from Espacenet Translation shows and indicates is comprised of vent duct 6 {vent hole 6} that is in a different location from leakage recovery duct 7; where vent duct 6 is drilled as a set screw {select one set screw hole as the injection hole and select another set screw hole for the vent hole} from the outside of compartment 8 into inter-seal volume 9 and filled with sealing product waterproof glue mixture 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi, and in further view of Seo (KR200214446Y1 and Seo hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Seo discloses a method for sealing a junction with a contact surface and counter-contact surface of an element of a compartment of a gas-insulating substation (items 1, 2, 8 of Fig. 1 & Figs. 2-5 and abstract & claims 1_8-9 & ¶[0022_0039_0048-0053] from Espacenet Translation shows and indicates a method of Figs. 1-5 for sealing junction of Fig. 1 {Gas Insulated Switchgear flange sealing assembly} with contact surface 1 {left connecting flange 1} and counter-contact surface 2 {right connecting flange 2} of the element of compartment 8 {SF6 gas passage/channel 8} of a gas-insulating substation), the junction comprising two mechanical seals clamped between the contact surface and the counter-contact surface, arranged so as to form a closed inter-seal volume delimited by both of the two mechanical seals and by the contact surface and counter-contact surface (items 3, 5 of Fig. 1 & item 9 of Fig. 5 and abstract & claims 1_8-9 & ¶[0037 & 0039] from Espacenet Translation shows and indicates junction of Fig. 1 comprising two mechanical seals 3 & 5 {3rd seal fan-shaped cross section 3 & O-ring 5} clamped between contact surface 1 and counter-contact surface 2; where mechanical seals 3 & 5, contact surface 1, and counter-contact surface 2 are arranged so as to form a closed inter-seal volume 9 {flow trajectory of waterproof adhesive mixture 9} delimited by both of mechanical seals 3 & 5 and by contact surface 1 and counter-contact surface 2), the method for sealing comprising an injection of a sealing product into the inter-seal volume using a leakage recovery duct arranged in a thickness of the compartment (items 4, 7 of Fig. 1 & item 7 of Figs. 2_5 and abstract & claims 8-9 & ¶[0022_0037_0039_0048-0049] from Espacenet Translation shows and indicates method of Figs. 1-5 for sealing junction of Fig. 1 is comprised of injection of sealing product waterproof glue mixture 4 { 2nd seal waterproof sealant glue mixture 4} into inter-seal volume 9 using leakage recovery duct 7 {glue injection hole 7} arranged in the thickness of compartment 8), this duct opening into the inter-seal volume, wherein: prior to said injection, the method for sealing comprises a vent duct different from the leakage recovery duct from an outside of the compartment into the inter-seal volume (item 6 of Figs. 1-2_5 and ¶[0039 & 0048] from Espacenet Translation is understood to show and indicate this leakage recovery duct 7 is opening into inter-seal volume 9 is where prior to injection of the method of Figs. 1-5 for sealing junction of Fig. 1 is comprised of vent duct 6 {vent hole 6} that is in a different location from leakage recovery duct 7 from the outside of compartment 8 into inter-seal volume 9); and during said injection, the sealing product is injected under pressure into the inter-seal volume until the sealing product fills the inter-seal volume, then exits through the vent duct (Figs. 1-2_5 and claims 7-8 & ¶[0020 & 0051] from Espacenet Translation shows and indicates and during injection, sealing product waterproof glue mixture 4 is injected under pressure {inject the waterproof adhesive mixture 4 at a pressure of 0.3-0.4 MPa, which the range translates to roughly 3–4 bar or 43–58 PSI which is significantly greater than normal atmospheric pressure} into inter-seal volume 9 until sealing product waterproof glue mixture 4 fills inter-seal volume 9, then exits through vent duct 6).
Shi discloses the claimed method except to explicitly disclose wherein drilling a vent duct different from the duct from an outside of the compartment into the volume.
Seo discloses wherein drilling a vent duct different from the duct from an outside of the compartment into the volume (items 118, 14, 25 of bottom Figure and abstract & page 6 of the Description from Espacenet Translation shows and indicates where drilling vent duct 118-left {left side drilled vent hole 118} at a different location from duct 118-right {right side drilled vent hole 118} from the outside of compartment 14 {flange surface 114} into the volume 25 {ventilation hole 25}; therefore, Shi will have a method for sealing a junction comprising drilling the vent duct different from the leakage recovery duct from the outside of the compartment into the inter-seal volume by incorporating into the method the structure at the bottom Figure of Seo).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein drilling a vent duct different from the duct from an outside of the compartment into the volume into the method of Shi. One would have been motivated in the method for sealing a junction of Shi and have drilling the vent duct different from the duct from the outside of the compartment into the volume, in order to drill perforations in the flange surface to drill vent duct hole at a different location than an injection duct hole so as to allow air to escape without letting the waterproof glue mixture material to escape, as one skill in the arts would extrapolate from Seo's bottom Figure, in the method for sealing a junction of Shi.
Regarding claim 2, modified Shi discloses a method for sealing, wherein, during said injection and after the sealing product has exited through the vent duct: the vent duct is hermetically sealed; then the injection of sealing product is resumed under pressure in the inter-seal volume (Shi: Fig. 1-2_5 and abstract & claims 8-9 & ¶[0020_0022_0039_0045_0048-0049_0051] from Espacenet Translation is understood to show and indicate the method of Figs. 1-5 for sealing junction of Fig. 1 is comprised of injection of sealing product waterproof glue mixture 4 where after sealing product waterproof glue mixture 4 has exited through vent duct 6, the vent duct 6 is hermetically sealed with set screw, then the injection of sealing product waterproof glue mixture 4 is resumed under pressure in inter-seal volume 9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 and 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the primary reason for allowance is due to a method for sealing, wherein a depth of the vent duct drilling is estimated beforehand by measuring a depth of the leakage recovery duct using a gauge.
Regarding claim 4, the primary reason for allowance is due to the dependency on claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, the primary reason for allowance is due to a method for sealing, wherein the sealing product comprises a polymerizable silicone composed at least of two products which react with one another to form a polymer which sets by polymerization, a diluent to fluidize the polymer and a reticulation accelerator, the mixing of said products and the injection of the resulting polymerizable silicone being carried out in less than an hour, the injection being carried out at a pressure greater than atmospheric pressure but less than or equal to 10 bars.
Regarding claim 6, the primary reason for allowance is due to a method for sealing, wherein the sealing product comprises a silicone grease with silica microbeads, the injection being carried out at a pressure greater than atmospheric pressure but less than or equal to 15 bars.
Regarding claim 7, the primary reason for allowance is due to a method for sealing, wherein: the compartment element of the gas-insulated substation is a pipe or pipe end through which electrical components pass in an insulating gas atmosphere; the junction is a flange and counter-flange junction of said pipe or pipe end and comprises the two mechanical seals clamped between two flat contact surfaces of the flange and counter-flange respectively; one of the two mechanical seals, forming an inner seal, being arranged inside a space delimited by the other of the two mechanical seals, forming an outer seal, so as to form the inter-seal volume, the method for sealing comprises using the leakage recovery duct which is arranged in at least one of the flange and the counter-flange; and the vent duct is drilled from the outside of the flange and counter-flange junction to the inter-seal volume.
Regarding claim 8, the primary reason for allowance is due to the dependency on claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, the primary reason for allowance is due to a method for sealing, wherein: the compartment element of the gas-insulated substation is a disconnecting switch; and the junction is a shaft and bore junction of the disconnecting switch and comprises the two mechanical seals clamped between two respective cylindrical contact surfaces of the shaft and the bore, the two mechanical seals being arranged at a distance from each other around the shaft so as to form the inter-seal volume, the method for sealing comprising using the leakage recovery duct which is arranged in the thickness of the compartment wherein the bore is formed.
Regarding claim 11, the primary reason for allowance is due to the dependency on claim 5.
Regarding claim 12, the primary reason for allowance is due to the dependency on claim 6.
Regarding claim 13, the primary reason for allowance is due to a method for sealing, wherein the insulating gas atmosphere is a sulfur hexafluoride atmosphere.
Conclusion
/GUILLERMO J EGOAVIL/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847