DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Office acknowledges receipt on 8 May 2024 of Applicant’s amendments in which the drawings and specification are amended, claims 1-15 are cancelled, and claims 16-29 are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 17, 19-23, and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schwarz et al. (US20200287111A1).
Regarding claim 16, Schwarz teaches a method for producing a package (100, less 170) for a semiconductor chip (170) {Fig. 18; [0093, 0104]}, the method comprising:
providing a carrier layer (110) comprising an electrically conductive material (e.g., copper) {Fig. 14; [0093]};
forming at least one first recess (e.g., leftmost 132) at a first side (112) of the carrier layer (110) {Fig. 5/14; [0111]};
filling the first recess (e.g., leftmost 132) with a first molding compound (150 in leftmost 132) {Fig. 15; [0124]};
depositing a cover layer (142) comprising an electrically conductive material (metal) on the first molding compound (150) {Fig. 15; [0095]} {the frame of reference determines which object is deposited on the other; here the frame of reference is from the perspective of the molding compound};
forming at least one second recess (130) at a second side (111) of the carrier layer (110) {Fig. 2/14; [0097]}, wherein the second recess (130) extends up to (e.g., the same vertical height as) the first molding compound (150 in leftmost 132) arranged in the first recess (132) {Fig. 15}, the second side (111) of the carrier layer (110) facing away from the first side (112) {Fig. 15};
filling the second recess (130) with a second molding compound (150 in 130) {Fig. 3/15; [0100]};
forming at least one third recess (e.g., rightmost 132) in the cover layer (142), wherein the third recess (e.g., rightmost 132) extends up to (e.g., the same vertical height as) the first molding compound (150 in leftmost 132) arranged in the first recess (e.g., leftmost 132) {Figs. 5/14, 15; [0111]} {rightmost recess 132 has same vertical height as (extends up to) as first molding compound 150 in leftmost recess 132}; and
filling the third recess (e.g., rightmost 132) with a third molding compound (150 in rightmost 132) {Fig. 15; [0124]},
wherein the first recess (e.g., leftmost 132) has a larger extent along a lateral direction (horizontal) that extends parallel to a main plane of extension of the carrier layer (110) than the second recess (130) and the third recess (e.g., rightmost 132) {Fig. 15; each “extent” may be selected to achieve this limitation because claim does not require selecting maximum width (e.g., extent) of each}.
Regarding claim 17, Schwarz teaches the method according to claim 16, and Schwarz further teaches wherein the carrier layer (110) with the cover layer (142), the first molding compound (150 in leftmost 132), the second molding compound (150 in 130) and the third molding compound (150 in rightmost 132) forms a carrier (110, 142, 150) of the package (100, less 170) {Fig. 18}.
Regarding claim 19, Schwarz teaches the method according to claim 16, and Schwarz further teaches wherein the first molding compound (150 in leftmost 132), the second molding compound (150 in 130) and the third molding compound (150 in rightmost 132) comprise the same material {[0100]}.
Regarding claim 20, Schwarz teaches the method according to claim 16, and Schwarz further teaches wherein the second recess (leftmost 130) extends up to (e.g., the same vertical height as) a center (e.g., uppermost point of leftmost 132 on line 290) of the first recess (e.g., leftmost 132), and wherein the center (e.g., uppermost point of leftmost 132 on line 290) of the first recess (e.g., leftmost 132) is in a plane (e.g., plane containing uppermost point of leftmost 132 on line 290) that extends parallel to the main plane of extension of the carrier layer (110) {Fig. 15}.
Regarding claim 21, Schwarz teaches the method according to claim 16, and Schwarz further teaches, wherein the third recess (e.g., rightmost 132) extends up to (e.g., the same vertical height as) a center (a point within leftmost 132 on leftmost line 290) of the first recess (e.g., leftmost 132) {rightmost 132 extends up to (e.g., to a same vertical height) as a point within leftmost 132 on leftmost line 290}, where the center (a point within leftmost 132 on leftmost line 290) of the first recess (e.g., leftmost 132) is given in a plane (e.g., a plane containing center point) that extends parallel to the main plane of extension of the carrier layer (110) {fig. 17}.
Regarding claim 22, Schwarz teaches the method according to claim 16, and Schwarz further teaches wherein the second recess (130) is filled with the second molding compound (150 in 130) from the second side (111) of the carrier layer (110), and wherein the second molding compound (150 in 130) is deposited on the carrier layer (110) at the second side (111) at least in places {Fig. 13; [0100]}.
Regarding claim 23, Schwarz teaches the method according to claim 16, and Schwarz further teaches further comprising removing in places the second molding compound (150 in 130) arranged on the carrier layer (110) after forming and filling the third recess (e.g., rightmost 132) {Fig. 18; [0120], severing the plastic body 150 along the separating lines 290 between carrier sections 121, 122}.
Regarding claim 26, Schwarz teaches the method according to claim 22, and Schwarz further teaches further comprising forming a fourth recess (recess along 290) in the second molding compound (150 in 130) deposited on the carrier layer (110), wherein the fourth recess (recess along 290) has a larger extent along the lateral direction (horizontal) than the first recess (e.g., leftmost 132) {Fig. 15; each “extent” may be selected to achieve this limitation because claim does not require selecting maximum width (e.g., extent) of each}.
Regarding claim 27, Schwarz teaches a package for a semiconductor chip, the package comprising:
a carrier layer (110) comprising an electrically conductive material (e.g., copper), wherein the carrier layer (110) has a first side (112) and a second side (111) facing away from the first side (112) {Fig. 14; [0093]};
a first recess (e.g., leftmost 132) in the carrier layer (110) at the first side (112) of the carrier layer (110) {Fig. 5/14; [0111]};
a second recess (130) in the carrier layer (110) that extends from the second side (111) up to (e.g., the same vertical height as) the first recess (e.g., leftmost 132) {Fig. 2/14; [0097]};
a cover layer (142) arranged at the first side (112) on the first recess (e.g., leftmost 132), wherein the cover layer (142) comprises an electrically conductive material (metal) {Fig. 15; [0094]};
a third recess (e.g., rightmost 132) in the cover layer (142) {Figs. 5/14, 15; [0111]},
wherein the third recess (e.g., rightmost 132) extends up to (e.g., the same vertical height as) the first recess (e.g., leftmost 132) {Fig. 14, 15; rightmost recess 132 has same vertical height as (extends up to) as leftmost recess 132},
wherein the first recess (e.g., leftmost 132) is filled with a first molding compound (150 in leftmost 132) {Fig. 15; [0124]},
wherein the second recess (130) is filled with a second molding compound (150 in 130) {Fig. 3/15; [0100]},
wherein the third recess (e.g., rightmost 132) is filled with a third molding compound (150 in rightmost 132) {Fig. 15; [0124]},
wherein the first recess (e.g., leftmost 132) has a larger extent along a lateral direction (horizontal) that extends parallel to the main plane of extension of the carrier layer (110) than the second recess (130) and the third recess (e.g., rightmost 132) {Fig. 15; each “extent” may be selected to achieve this limitation because claim does not require selecting maximum width (e.g., extent) of each}; and
an elevation layer (141) arranged on the carrier layer (110) at the second side (111) on an area adjacent to the second recess (130) {Figs. 13-15; [0095]}.
Regarding claim 28, Schwarz teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
the package (100, less 170) according to claim 27; and
the semiconductor chip (170) arranged within the package (100, less 170) {Fig. 18; [0093, 0104]}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Appelt et al. (US20120261689A1) and Narayanasamy et al. (US20210013135A1).
Regarding claim 18, Schwarz teaches the method according to claim 16, but Schwarz does not teach wherein the carrier layer and the cover layer comprise the same material.
However, Schwarz teaches in paragraphs [0093, 0095] the carrier layer (110) is metal and the cover layer (142) is nickel and gold.
In an analogous art, Appelt teaches in Fig. 1G and paragraphs [0019, 0020] a carrier (110) is a metal having good electrical and thermal conductivity and a cover layer (118) is nickel and gold. An another analogous art, Narayanasamy teaches in paragraph [0036] that nickel and gold alloys or combinations have good electrical and thermal conductivity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schwarz’s method based on the teachings of Appelt and Narayanasamy – such that Schwarz’s carrier is nickel and/or gold – so as to achieve good electrical and thermal conductivity. Moreover, using the same materials for each of the carrier layer and the cover layer reduces resources (e.g., different materials) for manufacturing Schwarz’s package. Furthermore, all the claimed elements (e.g., carrier layer, cover layer, same material) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Appelt and Narayanasamy) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Still further, [t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Appelt.
Regarding claim 29, Schwarz teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 28, but Schwarz does not teach wherein the semiconductor chip comprises a first electrical contact and a second electrical contact at its side facing the carrier layer and the first electrical contact is electrically connected with the carrier layer at the second side and at a side of the second recess that is arranged opposite to a side of the second recess at which the second electrical contact is electrically connected with the carrier layer at the second side.
Appelt teaches in Fig. 1G a semiconductor chip (130) comprises a first electrical contact (136a) and a second electrical contact (136b) at its side facing a carrier layer (110) and the first electrical contact (136a) is electrically connected with the carrier layer (110) at a second side (110a) and at a side (left side) of a second recess (leftmost S3) that is arranged opposite to a side (right side) of the second recess (leftmost S3) at which the second electrical contact (136b) is electrically connected with the carrier layer (110) at the second side (110a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schwarz’s semiconductor device based on the teachings of Appelt, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, so each of the first and second electrical contacts are electrically isolated from one another and may be electrically connected with a different component. Appelt [0032, 0033]. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., electrical contacts, carrier layer, recess) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Appelt) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding independent claim 24, the prior art does not teach, suggest or motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to have the recited subject matter of “depositing an elevation layer on the carrier layer at the second side on an area adjacent to the second recess after removing the second molding compound in the places from the carrier layer” in combination with the other limitations of the claim. Claims 25 is allowable due to its dependence from intermediate claim 24.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Moosburger (US20160056358A1) teaches a method for producing an optoelectronic device comprises steps for providing a package with a first surface and a second surface, wherein an electrically conductive chip carrier is embedded in the package and is accessible at the first surface and at the second surface, and for applying an insulation layer on the second surface of the package by means of aerosol deposition.
Conclusion
/D.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891