DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 20 April 2026 has been entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: linear translation system (Claims 1-3, 9-11, and 18-25) and corresponding vertical drive mechanism (Claim 3; “The vertical drive mechanism, for example, may be a linear drive assembly using a lead screw driven by a rotational motor.”; “In the example shown, the vertical drive mechanism 586 includes a z-axis drive motor 588 and a z-drive lead screw 587.”). The terms system and mechanism are construed to be generic placeholders.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-11, 18-22, and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gould et al. (US 2020/0083071) (“Gould”; “D1”) in view of Daikyu (KR 20050092278 A) (“D2”). Gould discloses:
Claim 1: a first wafer handling robot arm (FIG. 3C-3D, 328);
a second wafer handling robot arm (328); and
a linear translation system configured to interface with the first and the second wafer handling robot arms (308/etc.), wherein:
the first wafer handling robot arm and the second wafer handling robot arm each have a corresponding base and a corresponding first end effector;
the apparatus is configured to cause the bases to independently traverse along a horizontal translation axis between at least a nested configuration and a non-nested configuration (para. [0035], “For example, the vertical rails 308 may move independently of one another.”; FIG. 3C-3D for nested config. and non-nested config.);
the linear translation system, the first wafer handling robot arm, and the second wafer handling robot arm are configured such that:
the base of the first wafer handling robot arm is movable by the linear translation system, along the translation axis, and through a first zone and a second zone but not a third zone, and such that the base of the second wafer handling robot arm is moveable by the linear translation system, through the second zone and the third zone but not the first zone (para. [0026]-[0035]; FIG. 2A-3C); and
the second zone is between the first zone and the third zone (para. [0026]-[0035]; FIG. 2A-3C);
Claim 3: wherein the corresponding bases of the first wafer handling robot arm and the second wafer handling robot arm each have a corresponding vertical drive mechanism configured to cause the corresponding first end effector to move along an axis parallel to the corresponding first axis (308 along Z);
Claim 4: wherein the linear translation system includes a first set of linear guides and both the first wafer handling robot arm and the second wafer handling robot arm are movably connected with the first set of linear guides (at least 308);
Claim 5: wherein the linear translation system has a first set of linear guides and a second set of linear guides, the first wafer handling robot arm is movably connected with the first set of linear guides, and the second wafer handling robot arm is movably connected with the second set of linear guides (at least 308);
Claim 9: wherein each wafer handling robot arm has a corresponding second end effector (para/ [0029], “In some examples, the robot 232 may include two end effectors 234 on each of the arms as shown in FIGS. 2C and 2D.”);
Claim 10: a controller having one or more memory devices communicatively connected with one or more processors (para. [0055]-[0056]);
Claim 11: wherein the controller is configured to cause the first and second wafer handling robot arms to move between at least a first configuration and a second configuration, wherein: in the first configuration, the first and second wafer handling robot arms are positioned such that the first end effector of the second wafer handling robot arm is directly above the firs tend effector of the first wafer handling robot arm and the first axis of the second wafer handling robot arm is spaced a first distance apart from the first axis of the first wafer handling robot arm,
in the second configuration, the first and second wafer handling robot arms are positioned such that the first end effector of the second wafer handling robot arm is a horizontal distance apart from the first end effector of the first wafer handling robot arm and the first axis of the second wafer handling robot arm is spaced a second distance apart from the first axis of the first wafer handling robot arm, and
the second distance is greater than the first distance (“the controller is configured to cause” limitation language is similar to “controller for doing X” language such that the controller does not have to do X as disclosed, only that a controller is disclosed; at least via “user interface” in para. [0057]);
Claim 18: wherein the controller is configured to cause the first wafer handling robot arm to pick a first substrate from a first wafer placement location and to cause the second wafer handling robot arm to concurrently pick a second substrate from a second wafer placement location, the first wafer placement location positioned above or below the second wafer placement location (“the controller is configured to cause” limitation language is similar to “controller for doing X” language such that the controller does not have to do X as disclosed, only that a controller is disclosed; at least via “user interface” in para. [0057]);
Claim 19: wherein the controller is configured to cause the first wafer handling robot arm to pick a first substrate from a first wafer placement location and to cause the second wafer handling robot arm to concurrently pick a second substrate from a second wafer placement location, the second wafer placement location spaced a horizontal distance apart from the first wafer placement location (“the controller is configured to cause” limitation language is similar to “controller for doing X” language such that the controller does not have to do X as disclosed, only that a controller is disclosed; at least via “user interface” in para. [0057]);
Claim 20: wherein the controller is further configured to cause the first wafer handling robot arm to place the first substrate at a third wafer placement location and to cause the second wafer handling robot arm to concurrently place the second substrate at a fourth wafer placement location, the third wafer placement location positioned above or below the fourth wafer placement location (“the controller is configured to cause” limitation language is similar to “controller for doing X” language such that the controller does not have to do X as disclosed, only that a controller is disclosed; at least via “user interface” in para. [0057]);
Claim 21: wherein the controller is further configured to cause the first wafer handling robot arm to place the first substrate at a third wafer placement location and to cause the second wafer handling robot arm to concurrently place the second substrate at a fourth wafer placement location, the third wafer placement location spaced a horizontal distance apart from the fourth wafer placement wafer location (“the controller is configured to cause” limitation language is similar to “controller for doing X” language such that the controller does not have to do X as disclosed, only that a controller is disclosed; at least via “user interface” in para. [0057]);
Claim 22: three or more load ports (220) and two or more load locks (208), wherein the three or more load ports are located on a first side of the linear translation system, the two or more load locks are on a second side of the linear translation system opposite the first side, and each of the three or more load ports are configured to receive a corresponding [FOUP] front opening universal pod (FIG. 2A-3A; para. [0026] for FOUP, last sentence);
Claim 24: wherein the controller is further configured to cause the first wafer handling robot arm to pick a first substrate from a first front opening universal pod and to cause the second wafer handling robot arm to concurrently pick a second substrate from the first front opening universal pod (“the controller is configured to cause” limitation language is similar to “controller for doing X” language such that the controller does not have to do X as disclosed, only that a controller is disclosed; at least via “user interface” in para. [0057]);
Claim 25: wherein the controller is further configured to cause the first wafer handling robot arm to pick a first substrate from a first front opening universal pod and to cause the second wafer handling robot arm to concurrently pick a second substrate from a second front opening universal pod (“the controller is configured to cause” limitation language is similar to “controller for doing X” language such that the controller does not have to do X as disclosed, only that a controller is disclosed; at least via “user interface” in para. [0057]).
Gould does not directly show:
Claim 1: the first end effector of the first wafer handling robot arm connects with a link of the first wafer handling robot arm from above;
the first end effector of the second wafer handling robot arm connects with a link of the second wafer handling robot arm from below;
Claim 2: wherein the first wafer handling robot arm and the second wafer handling robot arm each further include: a corresponding end effector, and two or more corresponding robot arm links including at least (a) a corresponding first robot arm link with a corresponding first end and a corresponding second end, with the first end of the corresponding first robot arm link rotatably connected to the corresponding base via a corresponding first rotational joint such that the corresponding first robot arm link is rotatable relative to the corresponding base about a corresponding first axis, and (b) a corresponding second robot arm link with a first end and a second end, with the second end of the corresponding second robot arm link rotatably connected with the corresponding first end effector via a corresponding second rotational joint such that the corresponding first end effector is rotatable relative to the corresponding second robot arm link about a corresponding second axis;
Daikyu shows a similar device having:
Claim 1: the first end effector of the first wafer handling robot arm connects with a link of the first wafer handling robot arm from above (figure 27, 60a);
the first end effector of the second wafer handling robot arm connects with a link of the second wafer handling robot arm from below (60b);
Claim 2: wherein the first wafer handling robot arm and the second wafer handling robot arm each further include: a corresponding end effector, and two or more corresponding robot arm links including at least (a) a corresponding first robot arm link with a corresponding first end and a corresponding second end, with the first end of the corresponding first robot arm link rotatably connected to the corresponding base via a corresponding first rotational joint such that the corresponding first robot arm link is rotatable relative to the corresponding base about a corresponding first axis, and (b) a corresponding second robot arm link with a first end and a second end, with the second end of the corresponding second robot arm link rotatably connected with the corresponding first end effector via a corresponding second rotational joint such that the corresponding first end effector is rotatable relative to the corresponding second robot arm link about a corresponding second axis (60a/60b);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving manufacturing productivity (English translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gould as taught by Daikyu and include Daikyu’s similar device having:
Claim 1: the first end effector of the first wafer handling robot arm connects with a link of the first wafer handling robot arm from above;
the first end effector of the second wafer handling robot arm connects with a link of the second wafer handling robot arm from below;
Claim 2: wherein the first wafer handling robot arm and the second wafer handling robot arm each further include: a corresponding end effector, and two or more corresponding robot arm links including at least (a) a corresponding first robot arm link with a corresponding first end and a corresponding second end, with the first end of the corresponding first robot arm link rotatably connected to the corresponding base via a corresponding first rotational joint such that the corresponding first robot arm link is rotatable relative to the corresponding base about a corresponding first axis, and (b) a corresponding second robot arm link with a first end and a second end, with the second end of the corresponding second robot arm link rotatably connected with the corresponding first end effector via a corresponding second rotational joint such that the corresponding first end effector is rotatable relative to the corresponding second robot arm link about a corresponding second axis;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving manufacturing productivity.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gould in view of Daikyu and Choi et al. (US 11804393; 102(a)(2) date: Sep. 9, 2021) (“Choi”). Gould discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Gould does not directly show:
Claim 23: two or more aligners, with each aligner located above a corresponding load lock.
Choi shows a similar device having:
Claim 23: two or more aligners, with each aligner located above a corresponding load lock (column 17, lines 34-35 suggests aligners above load locks);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving the wafer processing efficiency of a wafer processing apparatus including the EFEM (column 2, lines 40-45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gould and Daikyu as taught by Choi and include Choi’s similar device having:
Claim 23: two or more aligners, with each aligner located above a corresponding load lock;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving the wafer processing efficiency of a wafer processing apparatus including the EFEM.
Claim(s) 29-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gould in view of Daikyu and Hiroki (JP 2004-265947 A). Gould discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Gould does not directly show:
Claim 29: wherein the linear translation system is a linkage-based translation system that has a first set of linkages connected with, and supporting, the base of the first wafer handling robot arm and a second set of linkages connected with, and supporting, the base of the second wafer handling robot arm;
Claim 30: wherein the linkage-based translation system has a base and each set of linkages has at least (a) a corresponding first link with a corresponding first end and a corresponding second end, with the first end thereof rotatably connected to the base of the linkage- based translation system via a corresponding first rotational joint such that the corresponding first link is rotatable relative to the base of the linkage-based translation system about a corresponding a first axis, and (b) a corresponding second link with a first end and a second end, with the first end thereof rotatably connected with the second end of the corresponding first link and the second end thereof rotatably connected with the base of a corresponding one of the wafer handling robot arms via a corresponding rotational joint such that the corresponding wafer handling robot arm is rotatable relative to the corresponding second link about a corresponding second axis;
Claim 31: wherein the linkage-based translation system is configured such that the second end of each second link is constrained to move along the translation axis;
Claim 32: wherein the linkage-based translation system is configured such that the second end of each second link is constrained to move along a translation plane that is perpendicular to the first axes.
Hiroki shows a similar device having:
Claim 29: wherein the linear translation system is a linkage-based translation system that has a first set of linkages connected with, and supporting, the base of the first wafer handling robot arm and a second set of linkages connected with, and supporting, the base of the second wafer handling robot arm;
Claim 30: wherein the linkage-based translation system has a base and each set of linkages has at least (a) a corresponding first link with a corresponding first end and a corresponding second end, with the first end thereof rotatably connected to the base of the linkage- based translation system via a corresponding first rotational joint such that the corresponding first link is rotatable relative to the base of the linkage-based translation system about a corresponding a first axis, and (b) a corresponding second link with a first end and a second end, with the first end thereof rotatably connected with the second end of the corresponding first link and the second end thereof rotatably connected with the base of a corresponding one of the wafer handling robot arms via a corresponding rotational joint such that the corresponding wafer handling robot arm is rotatable relative to the corresponding second link about a corresponding second axis;
Claim 31: wherein the linkage-based translation system is configured such that the second end of each second link is constrained to move along the translation axis;
Claim 32: wherein the linkage-based translation system is configured such that the second end of each second link is constrained to move along a translation plane that is perpendicular to the first axes;
(the system, linkages, et al are found in figure 11; Gould discloses translation thereto);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving transfer throughput (English translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gould and Daikyu as taught by Hiroki and include Hiroki’s similar device having:
Claim 29: wherein the linear translation system is a linkage-based translation system that has a first set of linkages connected with, and supporting, the base of the first wafer handling robot arm and a second set of linkages connected with, and supporting, the base of the second wafer handling robot arm;
Claim 30: wherein the linkage-based translation system has a base and each set of linkages has at least (a) a corresponding first link with a corresponding first end and a corresponding second end, with the first end thereof rotatably connected to the base of the linkage- based translation system via a corresponding first rotational joint such that the corresponding first link is rotatable relative to the base of the linkage-based translation system about a corresponding a first axis, and (b) a corresponding second link with a first end and a second end, with the first end thereof rotatably connected with the second end of the corresponding first link and the second end thereof rotatably connected with the base of a corresponding one of the wafer handling robot arms via a corresponding rotational joint such that the corresponding wafer handling robot arm is rotatable relative to the corresponding second link about a corresponding second axis;
Claim 31: wherein the linkage-based translation system is configured such that the second end of each second link is constrained to move along the translation axis;
Claim 32: wherein the linkage-based translation system is configured such that the second end of each second link is constrained to move along a translation plane that is perpendicular to the first axes;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving transfer throughput.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Re. the claim interpretation that the terms system and mechanism are construed to be generic placeholders, there is no specific evidence that these are not generic placeholders. A motor/screw arrangement is a structural limitation; however, a motor/screw arrangement is not claimed for the system and mechanism.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Re. the rationale to combine Gould and Daikyu, Daikyu discloses in part, “According to the present invention as described above, the substrate processing system can be configured by integrally arranged at least two vacuum chambers to process at least two substrates in parallel at the same time to increase the productivity per unit area. In addition, at least two vacuum chambers can be configured to share a variety of utility lines, enabling the production of relatively low cost and high efficiency production facilities.” The “at least two substrates in parallel at the same time” that are processed (at least conveying is a process) are shown in at least figure 27 of Daikyu that are destined for “at least two vacuum chambers.” The at least two substrates on end effectors shown in figure 27 are destined for the at least two vacuum chambers for the enablement of the production to be of relatively low cost and high efficiency production facilities, or for the purpose of improving manufacturing productivity.
Re. the “the controller is configured to cause” limitation, none of the case law cited was specifically and substantially similar to the limitation. The discussed “adapted for”, “configured to”, “controls”, “controller for controlling” language in the case law is not specifically and substantially similar to “the controller is configured to cause” limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Gerald McClain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652