DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Examiner suggests replacing the word “fall” in line 2 with “falls” for improved readability.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the term “within a range" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “within a range” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. [0056] and [0059] of the instant invention disclose the orthographic projections of the first and second organic layers are “within a range” of the substrate. There is no explanation as to what “within a range” is trying to describe with regards to the substrate. For purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret “within a range of the base substrate” to mean the orthographic projections of the first and second organic layers on the substrate overlap each other.
Claims 3-16 and 18 are also rejected as they are dependent on claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qian et. al. (CN 113972217 A), hereinafter Qian.
Qian teaches a method ([n0131] of translation) for manufacturing a display substrate (Qian: Fig 1 unlabeled array substrate, [n0083] of translation), comprising: providing ([n0132] of translation) a base substrate (Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation), wherein the base substrate (Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation) has a plurality of island regions (Fig 1 island region 020, [n0078] of translation), a plurality of bridge regions (Fig 1 bridge region 030, [n0078] of translation) for connecting adjacent island regions (Fig 1 island region 020, [n0078] of translation) and hole regions (Fig 1 holes 010, [n0078] of translation) arranged between adjacent bridge regions (Fig 1 bridge region 030, [n0078] of translation), wherein the plurality of bridge regions (Fig 1 bridge region 030, [n0078] of translation) arranged at intervals are connected between (Fig 1) two adjacent island regions (Fig 1 island region 020, [n0078] of translation); and forming ([n0147] of translation) at least one sub-pixel (Fig 1 not shown sub-pixel, [n0085] of translation) in each island region (Fig 1 island region 020, [n0078] of translation), and forming ([n0132]-[n0136] of translation) a first metal layer (Fig 2 source-drain metal layer 200, [n0132] of translation), a first organic layer (Fig 2 insulating material layer 300, [n0133] of translation) and a second metal layer (Fig 2 source/drain metal layer 400, [n0134] of translation) stacked in sequence in a direction facing away from the base substrate (Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation) in at least one bridge region (Fig 1 bridge region 030, [n0078] of translation), wherein the first metal layer (Fig 2 source-drain metal layer 200, [n0089] of translation) in each bridge region (Fig 1 bridge region 030, [n0078] of translation) comprises a first signal line (Fig 2 source/drain lead 201, [n0078] of translation) for connecting the sub-pixels (Fig 1 not shown sub-pixel, [n0085] of translation) in the adjacent island regions (Fig 1 island region 020, [n0078] of translation), and the second metal layer (Fig 2 source/drain metal layer 400, [n0078] of translation) in each bridge region (Fig 1 bridge region 030, [n0078] of translation) comprises a second signal line (Fig 2 data lead 042, [n0097] of translation) for connecting the sub- pixels (Fig 1 not shown sub-pixel, [n0085] of translation) in the adjacent island regions (Fig 1 island region 020, [n0078] of translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, 15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian et. al. (CN 113972217 A), hereinafter Qian, in view of Cheng et. al. (US 20220406879 A1), hereinafter Cheng.
Regarding claim 1, Qian teaches a display substrate (Fig 1 unlabeled array substrate, [n0083] of translation), comprising: a base substrate (Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation), a plurality of island regions (Fig 1 island region 020, [n0078] of translation) on a side of the base substrate (Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation), a plurality of bridge regions (Fig 1 bridge region 030, [n0078] of translation) for connecting adjacent island regions (Fig 1 island region 020, [n0078] of translation), and hole regions (Fig 1 holes 010, [n0078] of translation) arranged between adjacent (Fig 1) bridge regions (Fig 1 bridge region 030, [n0078] of translation); wherein, each island region (Fig 1 island region 020, [n0078] of translation) comprises at least one sub-pixel (Fig 1 not shown sub-pixel, [n0085] of translation), wherein the plurality of bridge regions (Fig 1 bridge region 030, [n0078] of translation) arranged at intervals are connected between (Fig 1) two adjacent island regions (Fig 1 island region 020, [n0078] of translation); and at least one bridge region (Fig 1 bridge region 030, [n0078] of translation) comprises: a first metal layer (Fig 2 source-drain metal layer 200, [n0089] of translation), a first layer (Fig 2 passivation layer 301, [n0121] of translation) and a second metal layer (Fig 2 source/drain metal layer 400, [n0078] of translation) arranged in a direction facing away (Fig 2) from the base substrate (Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation), wherein the first metal layer (Fig 2 source-drain metal layer 200, [n0089] of translation) in each bridge region (Fig 1 bridge region 030, [n0078] of translation) comprises a first signal line (Fig 2 source/drain lead 201, [n0078] of translation) for connecting the sub-pixels (Fig 1 not shown sub-pixel, [n0085] of translation) in the adjacent island regions (Fig 1 island region 020, [n0078] of translation), and the second metal layer (Fig 2 source/drain metal layer 400, [n0078] of translation) in each bridge region (Fig 1 bridge region 030, [n0078] of translation) comprises a second signal line (Fig 2 data lead 042, [n0097] of translation) for connecting ([n0097] of translation) the sub-pixels (Fig 1 not shown sub-pixel, [n0085] of translation) in the adjacent island regions (Fig 1 island region 020, [n0078] of translation).
Qian fails to teach the first organic layer.
However, Cheng teaches a filling layer (Fig 6 filling layers 219, 220, 221, [0062]) can be organic or inorganic materials ([0062]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qian to incorporate the teachings of Cheng by using an organic material instead of an inorganic material. This would reduce material costs by having to change the materials for the layers back and forth.
Regarding claim 2, Qian as modified in claim 1 teaches a second organic layer (Qian: Fig 2 planarization layer 501, [n0123] of translation) arranged on a side of the second metal layer (Qian: Fig 2 source/drain metal layer 400, [n0078] of translation) facing away from the base substrate (Qian: Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation), and an orthographic projection of the second organic layer (Qian: Fig 2 planarization layer 501, [n0123] of translation) on the base substrate (Qian: Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation) and an orthographic projection of the first organic layer (Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 301, [n0121] of translation) on the base substrate (Qian: Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation) are both within a range of (Fig 2) the base substrate (Qian: Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation).
Regarding claim 3, Qian as modified in claim 2 teaches the first organic layer (Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 301, [n0121] of translation) at least covers a top surface (Qian: Fig 2) of the first signal line (Qian: Fig 2 source/drain lead 201, [n0078] of translation).
Regarding claim 4, Qian as modified in claim 3 teaches the first organic layer (Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 301, [n0121] of translation) further covers a side surface (Qian: Fig 2) of the first signal line (Qian: Fig 2 source/drain lead 201, [n0078] of translation), and the first organic layer (Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 301, [n0121] of translation) is arranged in contact with (Qian: Fig 2; the organic layer is in electrical contact with the base substrate) the base substrate (Qian: Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation).
Regarding claim 5, Qian as modified in claim 4 teaches an orthographic projection of the second signal line (Qian: Fig 2 data lead 042, [n0097] of translation) on the base substrate (Qian: Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation) fall within (Qian: Fig 2) the orthographic projection the first organic layer (Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 301, [n0121] of translation) on the base substrate (Qian: Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation).
Regarding claim 6, Qian as modified in claim 5 teaches the second organic layer (Qian: Fig 2 planarization layer 501, [n0123] of translation) covers a top surface (Qian: Fig 2) of the second signal line (Qian: Fig 2 data lead 042, [n0097] of translation) and a side surface of the second signal line (Qian: Fig 2 data lead 042, [n0097] of translation), and the second organic layer (Qian: Fig 2 planarization layer 501, [n0123] of translation) is arranged in contact (Qian: Fig 2; the organic layer is in electrical contact with the base substrate) with the first organic layer (Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 301, [n0121] of translation).
Regarding claim 7, Qian as modified in claim 4 teaches the second signal line (Qian: Fig 2 data lead 042, [n0097] of translation) at least covers the top surface (Qian: Fig 2) of the first organic layer (Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 301, [n0121] of translation).
Regarding claim 10, Qian as modified in claim 2 teaches each bridge region (Qian: Fig 1 bridge region 030, [n0078] of translation) further comprises an inorganic layer (Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 502, [n0124] of translation) arranged on a side (Qian: Fig 2 top side) of the second organic layer (Qian: Fig 2 planarization layer 501, [n0123] of translation) facing away from the base substrate (Qian: Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation), the inorganic layer (Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 502, [n0124] of translation) covers the second organic layer (Qian: Fig 2 planarization layer 501, [n0123] of translation) and is arranged in contact (Qian: Fig 2; the organic layer is in thermal contact with the base substrate) with the base substrate (Qian: Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation), and the inorganic layer (Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 502, [n0124] of translation) has a hollow-out structure (Qian: Fig 2 unlabeled openings in layer 502, [n0125] of translation).
Regarding claim 15, Qian as modified in claim 10 teaches the island region (Qian: Fig 1 island region 020, [n0078] of translation) comprises a first source-drain metal layer (Qian: Fig 25 unlabeled source/drain metal layer, [n0152] of translation), a first planarization layer (Qian: not shown insulating material layer, [n0147] of translation), a second source-drain metal layer (Qian: Fig 26 unlabeled source/drain metal layer, [n0156] of translation) and a second planarization layer (Qian: not shown insulating material layer, [n0147] of translation) stacked in sequence (Qian: [n0147] of translation) in a direction facing away from the base substrate (Qian: Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation); the first signal line (Qian: Fig 2 source/drain lead 201, [n0078] of translation) is arranged on the same layer (Qian: [n0154] of translation) as the first source-drain metal layer (Qian: Fig 25 unlabeled source/drain metal layer, [n0152] of translation), the first organic layer (Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 301, [n0121] of translation) is arranged on the same layer (the layers are implied to be the same since the source/drain metal layer and signal line are on the same layer, [n0154] of translation; and the layers were disclosed, [n0147] of translation; MPEP 2144.01) as the first planarization layer (Qian: not shown insulating material layer, [n0147] of translation), the second signal line (Qian: Fig 2 data lead 042, [n0097] of translation) is arranged on the same layer (Qian: [n0158] of translation) as the second source-drain metal layer (Qian: Fig 26 unlabeled source/drain metal layer, [n0156] of translation), and the second organic layer (Qian: Fig 2 planarization layer 501, [n0123] of translation) is arranged on the same layer (the layers are implied to be the same since the source/drain metal layer and signal line are on the same layer, [n0156] of translation; and the layers were disclosed, [n0147] of translation; MPEP 2144.01) as the second planarization layer (Qian: not shown insulating material layer, [n0147] of translation).
Regarding claim 18, Qian as modified in claim 2teaches a distance between an edge of the orthographic projection of the first organic layer (Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 301, [n0121] of translation) on the base substrate (Qian: Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation) and an edge of an orthographic projection of the first signal line (Qian: Fig 2 source/drain lead 201, [n0078] of translation) on the base substrate (Qian: Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation) is greater than or equal to 1 µm (See note below); and a distance between an edge of the orthographic projection of the second organic layer (Qian: Fig 2 planarization layer 501, [n0123] of translation) on the base substrate (Qian: Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation) and an edge of an orthographic projection of the second signal line (Qian: Fig 2 data lead 042, [n0097] of translation) on the base substrate (Qian: Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation) is greater than or equal to 1 µm (See note below).
Regarding the distance between an edge of the orthographic projection of the first organic layer on the base substrate and an edge of an orthographic projection of the first signal line on the base substrate being greater than or equal to 1 µm. Qian teaches the minimum distance between the orthographic projection of the first source-drain lead 201 on insulating material layer 500 and the groove 503 is 1.5 to 2.7 micrometers ([n0110] of translation). The groove is spaced closer to the edge of the organic layer than the signal lines, thus the distance is greater than the 1.5 to 2.7 micrometers taught by Qian.
Regarding the distance between an edge of the orthographic projection of the second organic layer on the base substrate and an edge of an orthographic projection of the second signal line on the base substrate is greater than or equal to 1 µm. Similar to the first signal line, Qian teaches the minimum distance between the orthographic projection of the second source-drain lead 401 on the second insulating material layer 500 and the isolation groove 503 is 4.5 to 6.0 micrometers ([n0110] of translation). The groove is spaced closer to the edge of the organic layer than the signal lines, thus the distance is greater than the 1.5 to 2.7 micrometers taught by Qian.
Regarding claim 19, Qian as modified in claim 1 teaches a display apparatus (Qian: not shown quad-curved mobile phone, [n0161] of translation), comprising the display substrate (Qian: Fig 1 unlabeled array substrate, [n0083] of translation) according to claim 1.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian et. al. (CN 113972217 A), hereinafter Qian, in view of Cheng et. al. (US 20220406879 A1), hereinafter Cheng , in further view of Qin et. al. (CN 112038389 A), hereinafter Qin.
Regarding claim 11, Qian as modified in claim 10 teaches the inorganic layer (Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 502, [n0124] of translation) comprises a top structure (Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 502, [n0124] of translation) arranged opposite (Qian: Fig 2) to the base substrate (Qian: Fig 2 substrate 100, [n0078] of translation) and the top structure (Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 502, [n0124] of translation) has a first hollow-out structures (Qian: Fig 2 unlabeled openings in layer 502, [n0125] of translation) penetrating through the top structure (Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 502, [n0124] of translation) in a thickness direction (Qian: Fig 2) of the top structure (Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 502, [n0124] of translation).
Qian as modified in claim 10 fails to teach the inorganic layer comprises two side structures arranged in contact with the base substrate.
However, Qin teaches an inorganic layer (Fig 2 encapsulation layer 24, [0098] of translation corresponds to Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 502, [n0124] of translation) comprises two side structures (Fig 2 portion of encapsulation layer 24 on the side of bridge area 200, [0096] of translation) arranged in contact (Fig 2) with the base substrate (Fig 2 substrate layer 101, [0096] of translation corresponds to Qian: Fig 2 substrate, [n0078] of translation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qian and Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Qin by having an inorganic layer comprising two side structures arranged in contact with the base substrate. This would ensure the sides of the device are covered to increase the lifespan of the device ([0140]).
Regarding claim 12, Qian as modified in claim 11 teaches the top structure (Qian: Fig 2 passivation layer 502, [n0124] of translation) has a plurality of the first hollow-out structures (Qian: Fig 2 unlabeled openings in layer 502, [n0125] of translation) evenly arranged at intervals in an extension direction (Qian: Fig 2; since the device is on a flexible substrate all directions x/y/z will experience some amount of extension no matter how small during normal operation) of the second signal line (Qian: Fig 2 data lead 042, [n0097] of translation).
Regarding claim 13, Qian as modified in claim 11 teaches the side structure (Qin: Fig 2 portion of encapsulation layer 24 on the side of bridge area 200, [0096] of translation) has a second hollow-out structure (Qin: fracture zone A in partition groove 106, [0140] of translation) penetrating through (Qin: discontinuous portions, [0140] of translation) the side structure (Qin: Fig 2 portion of encapsulation layer 24 on the side of bridge area 200, [0096] of translation) in a thickness direction of the side structure (Qin: Fig 2 portion of encapsulation layer 24 on the side of bridge area 200, [0096] of translation).
Regarding claim 14, Qian as modified in claim 13 teaches the second hollow-out structure (Qin: fracture zone A in partition groove 106, [0140] of translation) is interconnected (the first and second hollow-out structures are interconnected through the bridge region layers) with the first hollow-out structure (Qian: Fig 2 unlabeled openings in layer 502, [n0125] of translation).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian et. al. (CN 113972217 A), hereinafter Qian, in view of Cheng et. al. (US 20220406879 A1), hereinafter Cheng , in further view of, in further view of Zhai (US 20210013433 A1).
Qian as modified in claim 1 fails to teach a shape of the bridge region is a curve line, and a shape of the first signal line and a shape of the second signal line are the same as the shape of the bridge region.
Regarding the choice of having a curved line for the shape of the bridge region. Zhai teaches the shape of the bridge region can be straight or curved (Figs 1-2, [0030]). One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the island structures would be connected equally, regardless of which shape the bridge region is chosen. That is, "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421.
In choosing the curved shape, the shape of the signal lines would naturally follow the shape of the bridge region, as shown in Fig 2 of Zhai.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, the closest art is Qian et. al. (CN 113972217 A), hereinafter Qian, in view of Cheng et. al. (US 20220406879 A1), hereinafter Cheng.
Qian as modified in claim fails to teach the second signal line further covers a side surface of the first organic layer, and the second signal line is arranged in contact with the base substrate.
Claim 9 would be allowable since it is dependent on claim 8.
Regarding claim 16, the closest art is Qian et. al. (CN 113972217 A), hereinafter Qian, in view of Cheng et. al. (US 20220406879 A1), hereinafter Cheng.
Qian as modified in claim 15 fails to teach the island region further comprises a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer and a second inorganic encapsulation layer stacked in sequence on a side of the second planarization layer facing away from the base substrate; the inorganic layer comprises a first sub-inorganic layer and a second sub-inorganic layer arranged in a stacked mode, the first sub-inorganic layer is arranged on the same layer as the first inorganic encapsulation layer, and the second sub-inorganic layer is arranged on the same layer as the second inorganic encapsulation layer.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813