DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 37-39 and 41-56 are pending. Claims 1-36 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
2. In light of the amendments to the claims, claim objections of claims 39, 43-47 and 52-56 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 37, 39, 42-46 and 48-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prasad et al, US 2019/0174337 hereafter Prasad (as cited in the IDS dated 05/09/2024).
As for claims 37 and 52, Prasad discloses:
selecting a first beam, wherein the first beam provides a first coverage area (Prasad, [0017], The UE may select a receive beam from multiple available beams for a given communication situation.); using the first beam to communicate with a device (Prasad, [0101], fig. 3, 304, The 5G-RAP 110 acquires from the UE 100 reporting the strongest or best signal quality received primary beams 1 and the strongest or best signal quality received secondary beams 2 having a substantially different angle-of-arrival due to reflection at reflective surface 115 in the transmission path of the secondary beam 2."), and ([0147], fig. 5A, "5G-RAP 110 tries to reach the UE 100 at location "n" through other beams which were reported as the next best beams, potential beams 2 and 3 that can reach the UE 100 through reflections. Based on the received signal strength measurements of reflections 2 and 3"). It can be seen from the images cited above that the beams effectively provide coverage for the area of location of the UE.);
determining a second coverage area that is provided by a second beam, wherein the second beam is associated with a first radio reflector arranged to enable the second beam to provide the second coverage area (Prasad, [0101], fig. 3, 304, The 5G-RAP 110 acquires from the UE 100 reporting the strongest or best signal quality received primary beams 1 and the strongest or best signal quality received secondary beams 2 having a substantially different angle-of-arrival due to reflection at reflective surface 115 in the transmission path of the secondary beam 2."), and (Prasad, [0147], fig. 5A, "5G-RAP 110 tries to reach the UE 100 at location "n" through other beams which were reported as the next best beams, potential beams 2 and 3 that can reach the UE 100 through reflections. Based on the received signal strength measurements of reflections 2 and 3"). It can be seen from the images cited above that the beams effectively provide coverage for the area of location of the UE.);
based on the first coverage area provided by the first beam and the second coverage area provided by the second beam, determining whether the second coverage area provided by the second beam satisfies a beam coverage criterion; as a result of determining that the second coverage area provided by the second beam satisfies the beam coverage criterion, acquiring a channel quality metric for the second beam (Prasad, [0101], fig. 3, 304, The 5G-RAP 110 acquires from the UE 100 reporting the strongest or best signal quality received primary beams 1 and the strongest or best signal quality received secondary beams 2 having a substantially different angle-of-arrival due to reflection at reflective surface 115 in the transmission path of the secondary beam 2."), and (Prasad, [0147], fig. 5A, "5G-RAP 110 tries to reach the UE 100 at location "n" through other beams which were reported as the next best beams, potential beams 2 and 3 that can reach the UE 100 through reflections. Based on the received signal strength measurements of reflections 2 and 3"). It can be seen from the images cited above that the beams effectively provide coverage for the area of location of the UE.);
acquiring a channel quality metric for the first beam Prasad, [0101], fig. 3, 304, The 5G-RAP 110 acquires from the UE 100 reporting the strongest or best signal quality received primary beams 1; based on the channel quality metric for the first beam and the channel quality metric for the second beam, determining whether a beam switch condition for the device is satisfied ([0124], The secondary or reflected beams may be selected based on the criteria that 1) they are directed into a substantially different direction than the primary beam, and 2) they are still strong enough to support communication between the UE 100 and the 5G-RAP 110. [0125], This should provide better protection against sudden connection drop due to something blocking the primary link 1 than would an alternative selection of the three strongest or best signal quality primary beams 1, since as those are likely to be all have the same line-of-sight path that is blocked. [0126]); and
switching from using the first beam to communicate with the device to using the second beam to communicate with the device as a result of determining that the beam switch condition for the device is satisfied.(Prasad, [0105], the primary beam 1 has been blocked by an obstruction 105 in the line-of-sight (LOS) of the primary beam 1, causing the UE 100 and 5G-RAP 110 to select the secondary beam 2 for wireless communication, in accordance with an example embodiment of the invention. [0126])
As for claim 39, Prasad discloses:
wherein the two or more available beams are enabled by the respective radio reflectors to provide redundancy coverage for the area of location of the device, (As shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 6B, the plurality of beams partially overlap each other. [0176] beams 2a and 2b provide redundancy)
and/or wherein respective areas of the coverage provided by the two or more available beams via the respective radio reflector are at least partially overlapping. (As shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 6B, the plurality of beams partially overlap each other. [0176] beams 2a and 2b provide redundancy)
As for claim 42, Prasad discloses determining whether a beam switch condition for the device is satisfied is comprised in a beam tracking procedure. ([0101] UE 100 is capable of reporting to the 5G-RAP 110 the strongest or best signal quality received primary beams 1 and the strongest or best signal quality received secondary beams 2 having a substantially different angle-of-arrival due to reflection at reflective surface 115 in the transmission path of the secondary beam 2. [0173] For the high frequency millimeter wave (mmWave) band, the antennas in the user device UE and the 5G-RAP are arranged as an array and connected through different phase shifters in the beam steering logic 140 to the mmWave radio 136 transceiver.)
As for claim 43, Prasad discloses determining the second coverage area that is provided by the second beam ; and the determining whether the second coverage area provided by the second beam satisfies the beam coverage criterion (Prasad, [0101], fig. 3, 304, The 5G-RAP 110 acquires from the UE 100 reporting the strongest or best signal quality received primary beams 1 and the strongest or best signal quality received secondary beams 2 having a substantially different angle-of-arrival due to reflection at reflective surface 115 in the transmission path of the secondary beam 2.").
As for claim 44, Prasad discloses acquiring information associated with the second beam, the information indicative of beam coverage and/or radio reflector association. ([0116], a radio reflection environment map (RREM) 400, shown in FIG. 4, is constructed at all the locations where a UE 100 appears in the network. The map constructed based on UE 100 measurements may be maintained locally at the 5G-RAP 110 or forwarded to other network entities which may then use advanced data analytics on the reported measurements to generate the map.)
As for claim 45, Prasad discloses indicates that a third coverage area provided by a third beam at least partially overlaps the second coverage area. (FIG. 5A 105)
As for claim 46, Prasad discloses the information is acquired at installation of the radio reflector and/or of the radio access node. ([0166] Reflective surfaces 115 are provisioned while deploying the 5G-RAPs 110, locating the reflective surfaces 115 at key locations from where the 5G-RAP 110 reaches the UE 100 through the use of beam reflections. The surfaces 115 may be placed based on network planning and optionally the 5G-RAP 110 is made aware of the locations where these surfaces 115 are available. The reflection environment map 400 generation automatically senses the radio environment for possible reflective surfaces. The Examiner interprets deploying and/or provisioning to correspond to installation)
As for claim 48, Prasad discloses the communication with the device uses frequencies above 1 GHz. ([0172], mWave radio 136 transceiver for high-frequency carriers of between 10 and 300 gigahertz (GHz), in the millimeter-wave band.)
As for claim 49, Prasad discloses a radio signaling line of sight between the radio access node and the area of location of the device is obstructed. (Fig. 2, Fig. 5A, [0104]-[0105], [0111], [0123], the primary beam 1 has been blocked by an obstruction 105 in the line-of-sight (LOS) of the primary beam 1, causing the UE 100 and 5G-RAP 110 to select the secondary beam 2)
As for claim 50, Prasad discloses wherein the first radio reflector extends throughout a Fresnel zone for the radio access node and the device. (As shown in FIG. 2, FIG. 5A, FIG. 6A and FIG 6B the beams from the reflective surface extend throughout the Fresnel zone between the 5G-RAP 110 and the UE 100)
As for claim 51, Prasad discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program comprising program instructions, the computer program being loadable into a data processing unit and configured to cause execution of the method of claim 37 when the computer program is run by the data processing unit. ([0191] Any resulting program(s), having computer-readable program code, may be embodied on one or more computer-usable non-transitory media such as resident memory devices, smart cards or other removable memory devices, thereby making a computer program product or article of manufacture according to the embodiments.)
As for claim 53, Prasad discloses A radio access node comprising the apparatus of claim 52. ([0111], 5G radio access point (5G-RAP))
As for claim 54, Prasad discloses the first radio reflector. ([0166] Reflective surfaces 115 are provisioned while deploying the 5G-RAPs 110, locating the reflective surfaces 115 at key locations from where the 5G-RAP 110 reaches the UE 100 through the use of beam reflections. Fig. 5B, 115, [0122], reflective surfaces 115 may be deployed at locations where they can provide coverage enhancements to indoor environments.)
As for claim 55, Prasad discloses a second radio reflector, wherein the second radio reflector is associated with a third beam providing coverage to a third coverage area, the third coverage area satisfying a beam coverage criterion (Prasad, [0147], fig. 5A, "5G-RAP 110 tries to reach the UE 100 at location "n" through other beams which were reported as the next best beams, potential beams 2 and 3 that can reach the UE 100 through reflections. Based on the received signal strength measurements of reflections 2 and 3"). It can be seen from the images cited above that the beams effectively provide coverage for the area of location of the UE.);.
As for claim 56, Prasad discloses for deployment in a geographically bounded communication environment. (Fig. 5B, 115, [0122], reflective surfaces 115 may be deployed at locations where they can provide coverage enhancements to indoor environments. The Examiner interprets indoors to correspond to a geographically bounded communication environment)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad et al, US 2019/0174337 in view of EP 2854305 A2 (as recited in IDS 05/09/2024).
As for claim 41, Prasad does not explicitly disclose at least one radio reflector has imperfections causing partial impairment of the coverage provided by the associated beam for the area of location of the device.
However, EP 2854305 discloses at least one radio reflector has imperfections causing partial impairment of the coverage provided by the associated beam for the area of location of the device. ([0006], [0028], fig. 3, The larger surfaces of some reflectors and their deployment often create distortion that results in a non-ideal surface (non-ideally-shaped). Shen the surface deviates from its ideal shape, performance may degrade; and "The reflector 324 may be a single reflector or multiple reflectors, the reflector may be large, which may enable formation of narrower spot beams")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Prasad with at least one radio reflector has imperfections causing partial impairment of the coverage provided by the associated beam for the area of location of the device as taught by EP 2854305 to provide interference suppression and improved performance (EP 2854305, [0006])
5. Claim(s) 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad et al, US 2019/0174337 in view of WO 2021/221183 A1 (LG ELECTRONICS INC [KR]) 4 November 2021 (2021-11-04) (as cited in the IDS dated 05/09/2024, English translation attached by the Examiner) hereafter ‘1183.
As for claim 47, Prasad does not explicitly disclose the information is acquired and/or updated by collecting statistics regarding one or more of: which beam pairs are involved in successful beam switching events; which beam pairs are involved in unsuccessful beam switching events; and which beam pairs are involved in connection re-establishment.
However, ‘1183 discloses the information is acquired and/or updated by collecting statistics regarding one or more of: which beam pairs are involved in successful beam switching events; which beam pairs are involved in unsuccessful beam switching events (page 27, fig. 22, The UE1 performs beam tracking to determine an optimal beam pair. The BS changes and transmits one or more reference signals in the beam tracking window. Specifically, the BS transmits the reflection pattern indexes at which the reflection pattern of LIS#0 switches to Beam#1 to Beam#K in order to determine the optimal beam pair, and each time the reflection pattern is switched, different reference signal(s) ) to UE1 through LIS#0. The BS may determine a beam pair having an optimal signal strength based on the received channel state report).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Prasad with the information is acquired and/or updated by collecting statistics regarding one or more of: which beam pairs are involved in successful beam switching events; which beam pairs are involved in unsuccessful beam switching events; and which beam pairs are involved in connection re-establishment as taught by ‘1183 to improve the reception
channel environment of the terminal. (‘1183, page 4 of English translation)
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claim 38 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2020/0412425 [0065] At step 504, the UE determines a channel quality metric associated with a channel between the UE and the transmitting device. For example, the UE may determine a channel quality metric associated with the first beam that was used to receive the first signal at step 502. The channel quality metric may be determined by accessing the latest quality metric associated with a beam of interest stored in a memory device of the UE.
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469