DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05/09/2024 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19 recites a phrase “… to minimize the lever length and/or with respect to a measurement resolution of the stroke …” in lines 3-5. Examiner suggests amending the phrase to recite “… to minimize the lever length and/or a measurement resolution of the stroke …” to restore clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WAGNER et al. (DE 102020113437; hereinafter WAGNER).
Regarding claim 1, WAGNER discloses in figure(s) 1-11 a sensor device for a control valve (100; fig. 1) of a process plant, the sensor device comprising:
a position sensor (150; fig. 1); and,
a lever arm (155,165,170) rotatable about a fixed pivot point (125/130/165) of the sensor device and configured to convert a linear stroke movement of a control rod (135) of the control valve (100) into a corresponding, transmission movement mapped on the position sensor (150), wherein the lever arm comprises:
a coupling configured to connect the lever arm (155,165,170) to a reference point (position of 170) of the control rod in a position-true, rotationally movable manner (pg. 12, para.3 - mechanical coupling of the rotary lever 155 with the valve rod 135 that over the backdrop170 and the roller 165 is conveyed, linear movements of the valve rod 135 or the valve member 125 on the lever 155 transfer. Lifting or lowering movements of the valve member 125 thus change the angular position of the lever 155); and
at least one first lever section (155) and at least one second lever section (170) movable relative to the first lever section (pg. 12, para. 2 - a rotation angle sensor 150 with a grinding potentiometer, a rotary lever 155 , which is rotatably mounted on the rotation angle sensor, and a torsion spring 160 built up).
Regarding claim 2, WAGNER discloses in figure(s) 1-11 the sensor device according to claim 1, wherein the first lever section (155) is translationally movable relative to the second lever section (170) in a direction of translation defined by the pivot point and the reference point.
Regarding claim 4, WAGNER discloses in figure(s) 1-11 the sensor device according to claim 1, wherein:
the first lever section (155) is rigidly connected to a pivot joint (150) and adapted to rotate about the pivot point; and/or
the second lever section (170) is rigidly connected to the coupling.
Regarding claim 5, WAGNER discloses in figure(s) 1-11 the sensor device according to claim 1, wherein the lever arm comprises at least one indicator representing a relative position of the first lever section with respect to the second lever section (pg. 4 para. 5 - changes in position indicate a relative movement between the sensor and the valve member).
Regarding claim 6, WAGNER discloses in figure(s) 1-11 the sensor device according to claim 1, wherein the lever arm is surrounded by a casing (housing 105); extending, at least sectionally, in a direction of translation along the lever arm and/or being deformable corresponding to the relative position of the first lever section (155) with respect to the second lever section (170).
Regarding claim 7, WAGNER discloses in figure(s) 1-11 the sensor device according to claim 1, wherein the lever arm comprises at least three lever sections (155,165,170) movable relative to one another.
Regarding claim 8, WAGNER discloses in figure(s) 1-11 the sensor device according to claim 1, wherein the coupling comprises a ball and socket joint or a pivot joint (pg. 9 para. 5 - coupling can, for example, be carried out using joints, springs, levers or gears…rotary lever).
Regarding claim 9, WAGNER discloses in figure(s) 1-11 the sensor device according to claim 1, further comprising sensor electronics (145) connected to the position sensor and adapted to:
a) determine a linearized output value based on the transmission movement detected by the position sensor (pg. 12 para. 2 - linear movements of the valve rod 135 or the valve member 125 on the lever 155 transfer. Lifting or lowering movements of the valve member 125 thus change the angular position of the lever 155); and/or
(b) determine an angular output signal as a function of the transmission movement, detected by the position sensor realized as a rotary angle sensor, in the form of a rotary movement, wherein the sensor electronics are adapted to consider an angular offset and/or radial offset between a position transmitter axis of rotation and a position receiver axis of rotation of the position sensor.
Regarding claim 10, WAGNER discloses in figure(s) 1-11 the sensor device according to claim 9, wherein the sensor electronics are further adapted to detect a stroke amplitude, a distance (pg. 6 para. 6 - a measure of the distance or stroke that the valve member), and/or at least one lever length to determine the linearized output value.
Regarding claim 11, WAGNER discloses in figure(s) 1-11 a measuring arrangement for a control valve (100; fig. 1) of a process plant, the measuring arrangement comprising:
a linearly movable control rod (135; fig. 1) adapted to transmit a stroke movement from a control actuator (140) of the control valve (100) to an actuator (130) of the control valve, wherein a reference point (position of 170) is defined on the control rod, the reference point being displaceable with the control rod by a stroke amplitude between a first reversal point, which corresponds to a closed position of the actuator, and a second reversal point, which corresponds to a maximum open position of the actuator (pg. 5 para. 5 - The position of the valve member can be any position of the valve member between the closed position and the position of the valve which corresponds to a fully open valve. This can be a relative position of the valve member to a reference point, such as. B.), a support structure (fig. 1) adapted to fasten the control actuator to a valve housing of the control valve which receives the actuator, a sensor device (150) arranged in a stationary manner on the support structure and including a position sensor (150) and a lever arm (155,165,170) rotatable about a fixed pivot point of the sensor device and adapted to convert the linear stroke movement into a corresponding transmission movement mapped on the position sensor, wherein the pivot point is arranged offset in relation to a center point of a stroke amplitude in the direction of the first reversal point (pg. 4 para. 3, 6 - If the vibrations and / or impacts transmitted to the valve member and / or the position sensor exceed a certain intensity or amplitude (e.g. 0.01%, 0.1% or 0.3%of a full stroke), they can be changed by means of the position sensor in the form of position changes of the valve member measured or recorded….valve member is located in the center of the process medium flow in every valve member position).
Regarding claim 12, WAGNER discloses in figure(s) 1-11 the measuring arrangement according to the measuring arrangement according to wherein the pivot point is arranged offset by at least 5% (pg. 6 para. 4 - position sensor that deviate from the nominal position by more than 0.01%, 0.1% or 0.3% of afull stroke and less than or equal to 1%, 2% or 5% of a full stroke), and/or not more than 30%, of the stroke amplitude relative to the center point.
Regarding claim 13, WAGNER discloses in figure(s) 1-11 the measuring arrangement according to claim 11, wherein the pivot point is arranged at a distance from the control rod orthogonal to the stroke direction by no more than 75% of the stroke amplitude (pg. 1 para. 5 - message can also be output if the amplitude of a single oscillation and / or a single beat would not exceed the specified threshold).
Regarding claim 20, WAGNER discloses in figure(s) 1-11 the sensor device according to claim 9, wherein the sensor electronics are further adapted to perform an angular determination in relation to a rotational transmission movement and subsequently perform a systematic linearity adjustment (pg. 21 para. 4 - a position controller (145; 245; 345; 445) for regulating the position of the valve member (125; 225); pg. 12 para. 3 - Through the mechanical coupling of the rotary lever 155 with the valve rod 135 that over the backdrop170 and the roller 165 is conveyed, linear movements of the valve rod 135 or the valve member 125on the lever 155 transfer. Lifting or lowering movements of the valve member 125 thus change the angular position of the lever 155) or an angular determination using a linearity-adjusted angular table.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al. (US 20170082467) in view of Snowbarger et al. (US 20150378365).
Regarding claim 16, Nelson teaches in figure(s) 1-13 a method for mounting a sensor device (78; fig. 12), the method comprising:
detecting control valve-related data (para. 35 - a position sensor mount for a diagnostic system for fluid control valves includes a base, a toggle clamp, and an engagement assembly; figs. 1,4,12) including a stroke amplitude of a control rod of a control valve (para. 40 - position sensor mounts may be mounted to an actuator for a fluid valve) between a first reversal point, which corresponds to a closed position of an actuator of the control valve, and a second reversal point, which corresponds to a maximum open position of the actuator (para. 45 - diagnostic controller 68 provides a 0-30 mA signal output on channel 1 in a pre-programmed change form to stroke or operate the valve plug 34 over a predetermined range and thereby provide respective sensor output signals on channels 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 to diagnostic controller 68; fig. 1), a position of the of a reference point on the control rod geometric data of a support structure (410) to fasten the actuator to a valve housing of the control valve receiving the actuator (para. 12 - a position sensor mount for a diagnostic system for fluid control valves includes grip pliers that clamp onto bolt flanges of a valve casing, an articulating arm having a first end coupled to the grip pliers and a second end releasably coupled to a sensor bracket for carrying a position sensor, wherein the articulating arm adjusts the sensor bracket in six degrees of freedom);
detecting data relating to the sensor device including a distance between the sensor device and the control rod (para. 47 - position and travel distance of the valve plug 34 is sensed and the corresponding electric signal is supplied on channel 6), at least one lever length, at least one deflection of a lever arm;
determining a mounting specification based on the control valve-related data and the data related to the sensor device (para. 48 - mount for the position sensor 78 be able to adjust to stably mount the position sensor 78 on many different shapes and sizes of valve bodies and/or actuator bodies. Various position sensor mounts for mounting the position sensor 78 to a valve assembly, such as to the actuator 12; para. 86 - position sensor mount 400 provides a versatile and easily installed mount assembly that provides improved stability and flexibility for mounting the position sensor 78 to piston actuators or any actuator that has an elongate cylindrical surface to which the channel bracket 410 can be clamped); and
outputting signals for attaching the sensor device to the control valve (para. 4 - output signals of air pressure at the actuator and of valve plug or valve stem position are then processed to derive data that may then be used in a variety of ways to diagnose the operational characteristics of the valve and provide operators with an indication of possible repair needs).
Nelson does not teach explicitly outputting, to a display, the mounting specification.
However, Snowbarger teaches in figure(s) 1-3 outputting, to a display (display step 210; figs. 2-3), the mounting specification (para. 7 - generates alignment information for the magnetic travel sensor based on the determined travel length of the feedback element, the travel range of the actuator stem, the travel motion of the feedback element, and the current position of the process control valve… generates a graphical interface to display the alignment information).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nelson by having outputting, to a display, the mounting specification as taught by Snowbarger in order to provide combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of ease of operatorion as evidenced by "a computer-implemented method for adjusting alignment of a magnetic travel sensor on a process control valve comprises determining a travel length of a feedback element of the magnetic travel sensor… Using the graphical interface, the user or operator can easily determine whether the alignment between the feedback element and the sensing element is proper or correct" (para. 7, abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Nelson teaches in figure(s) 1-13 the method for mounting a sensor device according to claim 16, wherein the sensor device (78) is attached to the control valve in a pre-mounting state before at least some of the control valve-related data and/or at least some of the data related to the sensor device are detected (para. 86 - To mount the position sensor 78 to the actuator 402, the mounting apertures 436 are aligned with any selected set of the mounting apertures 426, and bolts 438 are inserted through aligned mounting apertures 436, 426 to fasten the sensor bracket 414 in a selected, fixed, stable position against the channel bracket 410).
Regarding claim 18, Nelson teaches in figure(s) 1-13 the method according to claim 17, wherein at least some of the data related to the sensor device is detected by the sensor device (para. 47 - position sensor 78 provides a corresponding electric output signal which is supplied to channel 6 of the controller 68).
Regarding claim 19, Nelson teaches in figure(s) 1-13 the method according to claim 16, further comprising optimizing the mounting specification based on the control valve-related data and the data related to the sensor device to minimize the lever length (para. 63 - position sensor 78 is attached to the sensor bracket 214. The articulating arm 212 can be adjusted in at least three, and preferably six degrees of freedom, including X, Y, and Z translational positions and pitch, roll, and yaw orientations) and/or with respect to a measurement resolution of the stroke.
Claim(s) 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WAGNER in view of HELLER et al. (US 20200109660).
Regarding claim 3, WAGNER teaches in figure(s) 1-11 the sensor device according to claim 1,
WAGNER does not teach explicitly wherein the lever arm comprises a telescopic sleeve, and a telescopic rod guided translationally in the telescopic sleeve.
However, HELLER teaches in figure(s) 1-7 wherein the lever arm comprises a telescopic sleeve (sleeve 33, piston-rod sealing unit 30), and a telescopic rod guided (para. 45 - telescopic rod part 18, connecting rod 6.1, piston rod 21; fig. 2) translationally in the telescopic sleeve (para. 11 - piston rod passes through a sealing sleeve).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of WAGNER by having wherein the lever arm comprises a telescopic sleeve, and a telescopic rod guided translationally in the telescopic sleeve as taught by HELLER in order to provide applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as evidenced by "joining a telescopic rod part of a length-adjustable connecting rod… wo return passages are opened or closed by a control valve, precisely one return passage at a time being open and the other one closed. The actuator for switching the two return passages is controlled hydraulically by the supply pressure" (clm. 1, para. 9).
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WAGNER in view of SHIMADA et al. (US 20120001104).
Regarding claim 14, WAGNER teaches in figure(s) 1-11 the measuring arrangement according to claim 11,
WAGNER does not teach explicitly wherein the lever arm comprises a first deflection corresponding to the first reversal point and a second deflection corresponding to the second reversal point in relation to a neutral position in which the lever arm is oriented perpendicular to the stroke direction, wherein the second deflection is greater than the first deflection.
However, SHIMADA teaches in figure(s) 1-19 wherein the lever arm comprises a first deflection corresponding to the first reversal point and a second deflection corresponding to the second reversal point in relation to a neutral position (B; fig. 7) in which the lever arm (3; fig. 7) is oriented perpendicular to the stroke direction, wherein the second deflection is greater than the first deflection.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of WAGNER by having wherein the lever arm comprises a first deflection corresponding to the first reversal point and a second deflection corresponding to the second reversal point in relation to a neutral position in which the lever arm is oriented perpendicular to the stroke direction, wherein the second deflection is greater than the first deflection as taught by SHIMADA in order to provide "valve is adapted to rotate about a rotational axis of the valve. The actuator drives the rod to reciprocate the rod in an axial direction of the rod and thereby to drive the valve" (para. 20).
Regarding claim 15, WAGNER teaches in figure(s) 1-11 the measuring arrangement according to claim 11,
WAGNER does not teach explicitly wherein the lever arm comprises a pivot amplitude of at least 750 corresponding to the stroke amplitude
However, SHIMADA teaches in figure(s) 1-19 wherein the lever arm comprises a pivot amplitude of at least 750 corresponding to the stroke amplitude (para. 105 - a rotational angle of the plate cam 21 are determined for a required amount of stroke of the rod 4, which is required to drive the wastegate valve 1 from the full close position to the full open position; figs. 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of WAGNER by having wherein the lever arm comprises a pivot amplitude of at least 750 corresponding to the stroke amplitude as taught by SHIMADA in order to provide "converts the linear motion of the rod 4 of the electric actuator 200 into the rotational motion of the wastegate valve" (para. 169).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See the List of References cited in the US PT0-892.
Conclusion
/AKM ZAKARIA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858