DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-19 and 23-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0072318 (YAMAGUCHI).
As to claims 11-13, YAMAGUCHI teaches treating a plant-protein-containing compositions such as soybean and wheat proteins with a protein deamidase [0101], [0102], and [0103]. The treatment would naturally enhance digestibility, release essential amino acids and branched amino acids.
As to claims 14-16, the protein deamidase is obtained from Chryseobacterium, Flavobacterium, Empedobacter, Sphingobacterium, Aureobacterium or Myroides [0020].
As to claims 17-19, the plant protein-containing composition can be wheat (i.e., a cereal crop) or soy (i.e., a seed) [0098].
As to claims 23-25, the reaction may be generally carried out using the enzyme in an amount of from 0.1 to 100U units [0086]. Thus, the claimed amount falls within disclosed range. If the prior art discloses a composition or process point that falls within the claimed range, the claim is anticipated (See MPEP §2131).
As to claims 26-28, the plant protein-containing composition is protein extracted from flour or flakes [0098]-[0099]. The material can be suspended and dissolved in water [0185] providing an untextured form.
As to claims 29-31, YAMAGUCHI teaches using the enzyme in amounts of 0.25 or more [0086]. In Example 11 at [0152], 5 units of the protein-deamidating enzyme is used to treat the wheat protein gluten. In order to anticipate the claims, the claimed subject matter must be disclosed in the reference with “sufficient specificity to constitute an anticipation under the statute.” (See MPEP §2131). Given the disclosed ranges and specific example of using 5 units of the protein-deamidating enzyme [0152], YAMGUCHI anticipates claims 29-31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20, 21 , and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0072318 (YAMAGUCHI).
As to claims 20-22, YAMAGUCHI is cited for the reasons noted above. YAMAGUCHI does not exemplify or teach an active step of directly adding deamidase to a textured protein. However, in [0092], YAMAGUCHI does teach that treating the protein in a hydrolyzed vegetable protein (i.e. a textured form) with deamidase results in a reduction of bitterness, an improvement of the protein hydrolyzing ratio by protease and an increase of the glutamic acid content [0092].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to treat a hydrolyzed vegetable protein with a deamidase, as YAMAGUCHI teaches effects such as a reduction of bitterness, an improvement of the protein hydrolyzing ratio by protease and an increase of the glutamic acid content can be obtained [0092].
Double Patenting
Claims 11-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 19-20, 22 of copending Application No. 18/708,803 (803 Application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention is direction to a method for enhancing digestibility or enhancing the release of essential amino acids and branched amino acids of a plant protein-containing composition (see claims 11-13), claim 1 of the 803 application also reacts protein deamidase with plant protein material.
Claims 14-16 are obvious in view of claims 19-20 of the 803 application which recites the same strains.
Claims 17-19 recite the type of plant protein and obvious in view of claim 22 of the 803 application which recites that the plant protein can be from pulse crops such as chickpeas, cereal crops such as wheat and seeds such as almond.
Claims 20-22 recite the plant protein is in textured form. Claim 1 of the 803 application recites a textured protein is treated.
Claims 26-28 recite that the protein is untextured. While claim 1 of the 803 application recites a textured protein, it would have been obvious to start with an untextured protein and the claim is open-ended and does not preclude additional steps to arrive at a texture protein.
Claims 23-25 and 29-31 are obvious in view of claim 1. Claim 1 of the 803 application recites the amount of the protein deamidase per 1 g (dry weight) of the textured plant protein material is in a range of 0.01 to 1000U. This overlaps or encompasses the amounts of claims 23-25 and 29-31 of the present application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Relevant Art Not Relied Upon
US 5,082,672 – teaches a deamidated food product.
US 6,251,651 – teaches a protein deamidating enzyme.
JP2000050887and English translation of description from Espacenet.com – discloses a novel protein deamidase that acts on a side chain amide group in a protein to release a side chain carboxyl group and ammonia.
Conclusion
/PHILIP A DUBOIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791