DETAILED ACTION
Cross-Reference to Related Applications
2. This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2023/088913 04/18/2023.
Preliminary amendment
3. Preliminary amendment filed on 05/09/2024 has been acknowledged and considered.
In the Preliminary amendment, the applicants have been amended the abstract, the specification and claims 3-4, 7, 10, 12-13, 15, 17-18 and 20 and canceled claims 8, 11 and 16 and added remained claims 1-2, 5-6, 9, 14, 19 and 21-23.
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-15 and 17-23 are currently pending in the application.
Oath/Declaration
4. The oath/declaration filed on 05/09/2024 is acceptable.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 11/04/2024 and 11/05/2024.
Specification
6. The specification is objected to for the following reason: The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (see MPEP 606.01).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BANG K (KR-20210105478-A).
Regarding claim 1, BANG K discloses a display substrate, comprising:
a base substrate (100);
an insulating layer (120), located on the base substrate (100);
a conductive layer (data conductor), located on a side of the insulating layer (120), the conductive layer (data conductor) comprising
a plurality of first transmission portions (80) arranged in a first direction (X-direction);
a plurality of second transmission portions (70), located on a side of the insulating layer (120) away from the conductive layer (data conductor),
wherein at least one first transmission portion (80) extends in a second direction (Y-direction), a plurality of connection via holes (P1/P2, Fig. 4) are provided in the insulating layer (120), and the at least one first transmission portion (80) is electrically connected with at least one second transmission portion (70) through at least one connection via hole (P1/P2);
an orthographic projection of at least a portion of at least one edge of the at least one first transmission portion (80) extending in the second direction (Y-direction) on the base substrate (100) falls into an orthographic projection of the connection via hole (P1/P2) on the base substrate (100), the second direction (Y-direction) intersects with the first direction (X-direction) (Figs. 3-4 and 6 and English Text).
Regarding claim 20, BANG MK discloses a display device, comprising the display substrate (100) according to claim 1 (Fig. 1 and English Text).
Regarding a process claim 22, prior art device either anticipates or render obvious a claimed process, in its normal and usual operation, and it would necessary perform the method claim, MPEP2112.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over BANG K in view of Lai et al., hereafter “Lai” (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0165317 A1).
Regarding claim 2, BANG discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein a material of the first transmission portion is different from a material of the second transmission portion.
Lai, however, discloses a material of the first transmission portion is different from a material of the second transmission portion (para [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of BANG K to provide wherein a material of the first transmission portion is different from a material of the second transmission portion as taught by Lai for a purpose of providing the first transmission portion and the second transmission portion having different transmission characteristics.
9. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over BANG K in view of Lai et al., hereafter “Lai” (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0165317 A1).
Regarding claim 3, BANG discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein an area of an orthographic projection of an overlapping portion of the first transmission portion and the second transmission portion in the connection via hole on the base substrate is 0.3 to 0.8 of an area of the orthographic projection of the connection via hole on the base substrate.
However, the selection of the claimed device parameters would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date was made to provide wherein an area of an orthographic projection of an overlapping portion of the first transmission portion and the second transmission portion in the connection via hole on the base substrate is 0.3 to 0.8 of an area of the orthographic projection of the connection via hole on the base substrate, since it is well settles that when the general conditions of a claim are discloses in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
10. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over BANG K in view of WANG et al., hereafter “WANG” (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0066009 A1).
Regarding claim 4, BANG discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose further comprising a plurality of sub-pixels located on the base substrate, wherein each of at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element and a pixel circuit, and the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting functional layer and a first electrode and a second electrode located on both sides of the light-emitting functional layer in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first electrode is located between the light-emitting functional layer and the base substrate, the pixel circuit comprises a plurality of transistors, and the first electrode of the light-emitting element is electrically connected with the plurality of transistors.
WANG, however, discloses further comprising a plurality of sub-pixels (P) located on the base substrate (111), wherein each of at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels (P) comprises a light-emitting element (60) and a pixel circuit (50), and the light-emitting element (60) comprises a light-emitting functional layer (62) and a first electrode (61) and a second electrode (63) located on both sides of the light-emitting functional layer (62) in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate (111), the first electrode (61) is located between the light-emitting functional layer (62) and the base substrate (111), the pixel circuit (50) comprises a plurality of transistors (130), and the first electrode (61) of the light-emitting element (60) is electrically connected with the plurality of transistors (130) (Figs. 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of BANG K to provide further comprising a plurality of sub-pixels located on the base substrate, wherein each of at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element and a pixel circuit, and the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting functional layer and a first electrode and a second electrode located on both sides of the light-emitting functional layer in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first electrode is located between the light-emitting functional layer and the base substrate, the pixel circuit comprises a plurality of transistors, and the first electrode of the light-emitting element is electrically connected with the plurality of transistors as taught by WANG for a purpose of improving the performance of the display substrate.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. The following is a statement of reason for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 5-7, 9-10, 12-15, 17-19. 21 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Cited Prior Arts
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Lin et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0196564 A1) discloses a display substrate a base substrate (102);
an insulating layer (112), located on the base substrate (102);
a conductive layer (124), located on a side of the insulating layer (112), the conductive layer (124) comprising
a plurality of first transmission portions (126);
a plurality of second transmission portions (128), located on a side of the insulating layer (112) away from the conductive layer (124) (Fig. 1B and para [0034]).
Conclusion
/PHUC T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897