DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/15/2025 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 16-17 have been cancelled, claims 1 and 14 have been amended. Currently claims 1-15 and 18-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the through lamp extends along a width direction of a vehicle and spans from a left side of the vehicle to a right side of the vehicle, of claims 1 and 14, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite “wherein the through lamp extends along a width direction of a vehicle and spans from a left side of the vehicle to a right side of the vehicle” however, the limitation is disclosed in the background of the disclosure, that is the limitations are not part of the claimed invention.
Additionally, it is unclear how a wiper cover panel, claimed to cover a portion of the wiper, would span from a left side of the vehicle to a right side of the vehicle. Specifically, as no wiper spans from a left side of the vehicle to a right side of the vehicle.
For purpose of examination, the phrase above has been broadly interpreted to mean -- wherein the through lamp extends along a width direction of a vehicle from a left side of the vehicle to a right side of the vehicle --.
Claims 2-15 and 18-20 are rejected as they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ohyama Yoshisuke (US 7246403 B2, hereinafter, “Ohyama”, previoulsy cited by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, Ohyama teaches a through lamp (light emitting part 15, see figures 1-7) for a vehicle (vehicle, col 2, lines 1-5), comprising:
an exterior trim panel (wiper arm 11, see fig 1) provided with a light-transmitting area (see opening of 11, better seen in fig 1);
a mounting bracket (attaching part 13 and fasteners 23, see fig 3) arranged on an inner surface (inner surface of 11) of the exterior trim panel (11),
a lamp chamber (see space within 11 in fig 2) being defined between the mounting bracket (13, 23) and the inner surface (inner surface of 11) of the exterior trim panel (11); and
a light-emitting assembly (spot-like light source 14, light conducting member 16, see fig 3) arranged in the lamp chamber (space inside 11), wherein light emitted by the light-emitting assembly (14, 16) is emitted outwards through the light-transmitting area (opening of 11),
wherein the exterior trim panel (11) is a wiper cover panel (as seen in fig 1), the wiper cover panel (11) covers at least a portion of a wiper (wiper 10), and the wiper cover panel (11) is mounted on an end of the engine hood (hod of the vehicle, as expected from a windshield wiper) panel near a windshield (windshield of the vehicle, col 2, lines 1-5), and
wherein the through lamp (15) extends along a width direction of a vehicle (from left to right) and spans from a left side of the vehicle to a right side of the vehicle (as 15 spans at least partly from left to right of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 2, Ohyama teaches wherein the light- emitting assembly (14, 16) comprises a light source (14) and a light guiding member (16), and the light guiding member (16) is configured to guide the light emitted by the light source (14) to the light-transmitting area (opening of 11).
Regarding claim 3, Ohyama teaches wherein the light guiding member (16) is a reflecting mirror (surfaces of 16, at least via TIR, as the light guide member surfaces are reflective enough to direct light out of the device), and the reflecting mirror (surfaces of 16) is adapted to reflect the light of the light source (14) to the light-transmitting area (opening of 11).
Regarding claim 11, Ohyama teaches wherein the light-emitting assembly (14, 16) comprises a plurality of light sources (since it is disclosed light sources may be used at end parts 19 and 19’ of 16, see col 3, lines 41-44), and the plurality of light sources (at 19 and 19’) are spaced apart from each other in the lamp chamber (space within 11).
Regarding claim 14, Ohyama teaches a vehicle (vehicle, col 2, lines 1-5 and figures 1-7), comprising:
a through lamp (15) comprising:
an exterior trim panel (11) provided with a light-transmitting area (see opening of 11);
a mounting bracket (13, 23) arranged on an inner surface (inner surface of 11) of the exterior trim panel (11), a lamp chamber (space within 11) being defined between the mounting bracket (13, 23) and the inner surface (inner surface of 11) of the exterior trim panel (11); and
a light-emitting assembly (14, 16) arranged in the lamp chamber (space within 11), wherein light emitted by the light-emitting assembly (14, 16) is emitted outwards through the light- transmitting area (see opening of 11),
wherein the exterior trim panel (11) is a wiper cover panel (as seen in fig 1), the wiper cover panel (11) covers at least a portion of a wiper (10), and the wiper cover panel (11) is mounted on an end of the engine hood (engine hood, as expected from a windshield wiper) panel near a windshield (windshield, as expected from a windshield wiper, col 2, lines 1-5), and
wherein the through lamp (15) extends along a width direction of a vehicle (from left to right) and spans from a left side of the vehicle to a right side of the vehicle (as 15 spans at least partly from left to right of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 15, Ohyama teaches wherein the mounting bracket (13, 23) is mounted at an inner side (inner side of 11) of the exterior trim panel (11), the mounting bracket (13, 23) defines a groove (see groove formed by 13, better seen in fig 3), and the exterior trim panel (11) closes the groove (groove of 13) and forms the lamp chamber (space within 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohyama in view of Nakashima et al. (US 20170241616 A1, hereinafter “Nakashima”, previously cited by the Examiner.
Regarding claims 5-8, Ohyama teaches wherein the light guiding member (16) is a light guide (as seen in fig 3), the light source (14) is arranged at at least one end of the light guide (see end of 16), but
Ohyama does not explicitly teach the light guide is provided with a light guiding tooth configured to emit the light in the light guide towards an outside of the light guide; and
wherein a plurality of light guides are provided, the plurality of light guides are spaced apart, and the light source is arranged at at least one end of any one of the plurality of light guides; and
wherein the light source is arranged at a junction of any two light guides of the plurality of light guides; and
wherein the light guide comprises a first light guide and a second light guide spaced apart along a left and right direction, and the first light guide and the second light guide extend substantially along the left and right direction; a second end of the first light guide is coupled to a first end of the second light guide, the second end of the first light guide has a first bending portion bent inwards, and the first end of the second light guide has a second bending portion bent inwards; and the light source is arranged at an inner side of the first bending portion and the second bending portion, a part of the light emitted by the light source propagates towards a left and right extended part of the first light guide via the first bending portion, and emits towards an outside of the first light guide at the light guiding tooth, and another part of the light emitted by the light source propagates towards a left and right extended part of the second light guide via the second bending portion, and emits towards an outside of the second light guide at the light guiding tooth.
Nakashima teaches a through lamp (vehicle lighting fixture 1, see figures 2-9) for a vehicle (vehicle, see col 3, lines 42-46), including an exterior trim panel (transparent outer lens 3, see fig 2) provided with a light-transmitting area (center portion of 3, see fig 2); a mounting bracket (housing 2, see fig 2) arranged on an inner surface (rear surface of 3, see fig 2) of the exterior trim panel (3), a lamp chamber (space enclosed between 2 and 3) being defined between the mounting bracket (2) and the inner surface (rear surface of 3) of the exterior trim panel (3); and a light-emitting assembly (LED 5 and light guiding lens 6, see fig 3) arranged in the lamp chamber (space between 2-3), wherein light emitted by the light-emitting assembly (5-6) is emitted outwards through the light-transmitting area (center portion of 3); wherein the light guiding member (6) is a light guide (as seen in fig 2), the light source (5) is arranged at at least one end of the light guide (see left and right portions of 6, better seen in fig 3);
wherein the light guide (left and right 6s) is provided with a light guiding tooth (plurality of prism cuts 6d and 6e, see fig 4) configured to emit the light in the light guide (left and right 6s) towards an outside of the light guide (6, as seen in fig 5); and
wherein a plurality of light guides (left and right 6s, annotated as L and R in figure below) are provided, the plurality of light guides (L, R) are spaced apart (as seen in fig 3), and the light source (5) is arranged at at least one end (ends of L and R closest to 5) of any one of the plurality of light guides (L and R); and
wherein the light source (5) is arranged at a junction (projected light incident portion 6A, see fig 3) of any two light guides of the plurality of light guides (L and R); and
wherein the light guide (6) comprises a first light guide (L) and a second light guide (R) spaced apart (as seen in fig 2) along a left and right direction (as seen in fig 3), and the first light guide (L) and the second light guide (R) extend substantially along the left and right direction (as seen in fig 3);
a second end of the first light guide (end of L closest to 5) is coupled to a first end of the second light guide (end of R closest to 5), the second end of the first light guide (end of L closest to 5) has a first bending portion bent inwards (see curved portion of L towards 2, as seen in fig 3), and the first end of the second light guide (end of R closest to 5) has a second bending portion bent inwards (see curved portion of R towards 2, as seen in fig 3); and
the light source (5) is arranged at an inner side (inner side of 6) of the first bending portion ((see curved portion of L towards 2) and the second bending portion ((see curved portion of R towards 2), a part of the light emitted (see fig 5) by the light source (5) propagates towards a left and right extended part (extended parts of L) of the first light guide (L) via the first bending portion ((see curved portion of L towards 2), and emits towards an outside (due to 6d and 6e) of the first light guide (L) at the light guiding tooth (6d, 6e, see fig 5), and another part of the light emitted (see fig 5) by the light source (5) propagates towards a left and right extended part (extended part of R) of the second light guide (R) via the second bending portion ((see curved portion of R towards 2), and emits towards an outside of the second light guide (R) at the light guiding tooth (6d, 6e, see fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the light guide tooth, plurality of light guides as taught by Nakashima into the teachings of Ohyama, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because plural light guides extending in different directions emit light more evenly than a single light guide, and thus enhance light emission.
See zoomed portion of figure 2 with Examiner’s annotations and reproduced below:
Regarding claims 12 and 20, Ohyama does not explicitly teach further comprising a lamp body and an external lens, wherein the lamp body and the external lens are arranged in the lamp chamber and coupled to each other to form a closed cavity, the light-emitting assembly is arranged in the closed cavity, and the light of the light- emitting assembly is emitted towards the light-transmitting area via the external lens; and
wherein the lamp body is coupled to the mounting bracket, the lamp body defines a lamp groove with an opening outwards, and the external lens is arranged at an outer side of the lamp body and fitted with the lamp body to seal the lamp groove to form the closed cavity.
Nakashima teaches a through lamp (vehicle lighting fixture 1, see figures 2-9) for a vehicle (vehicle, see col 3, lines 42-46), having an exterior trim panel (transparent outer lens 3, see fig 2) provided with a light-transmitting area (center portion of 3, see fig 2); a mounting bracket (housing 2, see fig 2) arranged on an inner surface (rear surface of 3, see fig 2) of the exterior trim panel (3), a lamp chamber (space enclosed between 2 and 3) being defined between the mounting bracket (2) and the inner surface (rear surface of 3) of the exterior trim panel (3); and a light-emitting assembly (LED 5 and light guiding lens 6, see fig 3) arranged in the lamp chamber (space between 2-3), wherein light emitted by the light-emitting assembly (5-6) is emitted outwards through the light-transmitting area (center portion of 3);
further comprising a lamp body (extension 9) and an external lens (inner lens 7), wherein the lamp body (9) and the external lens (7) are arranged in the lamp chamber (space between 2 and 3) and coupled to each other to form a closed cavity (as seen in fig 2), the light-emitting assembly (5) is arranged in the closed cavity (as seen in fig 2), and the light of the light-emitting assembly (5) is emitted towards the light-transmitting area (central area of 3) via the external lens (7); and
wherein the lamp body (9) is coupled to the mounting bracket (2), the lamp body (9) defines a lamp groove (see groove formed by 9, better seen in fig 2) with an opening outwards (as seen in fig 2), and the external lens (7) is arranged at an outer side (front side of 9) of the lamp body (9) and fitted with the lamp body (9) to seal the lamp groove (groove formed by 9) to form the closed cavity (as seen in fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the lamp body and external lens as taught by Nakashima into the teachings of Ohyama in order to enhance protection to the inner components of the device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to extend the service light of the device.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohyama in view of Nakashima, as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of McFadden et al. (US 20080239743 A1, hereinafter, “McFadden”, previously cited by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 13, Ohyama as modified by Nakashima does not explicitly teach wherein a sealing member is arranged between the external lens and the inner surface of the exterior trim panel, and the sealing member extends along a circumference of the light-transmitting area and is enclosed in one circle to form a sealing cavity together with the external lens and the exterior trim panel.
McFadden teaches a through lamp (assembly 20, see figure 1) for a vehicle (vehicle, see ¶ 22), having an exterior trim panel (cover member 40) and an external lens (base member 36);
wherein a sealing member (sealing at 44, see ¶ 14) is arranged between the external lens (40) and the inner surface of the exterior trim panel (36), and the sealing member extends along a circumference of the light-transmitting area (around central portion of 40) and is enclosed in one circle to form a sealing cavity (cavity formed between 36 and 40) together with the external lens (40) and the exterior trim panel (36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the seal as taught by McFadden into the teachings of Ohyama as modified by Nakashima, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to protect the inner components of the device from rain and dust.
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohyama in view of Mathieu et al. (US 20130141931 A1, hereinafter, “Mathieu”, previously cited by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 10, Ohyama teaches wherein the exterior trim panel (11) is provided with a non-light-transmitting area (areas around opening of 11), but
Ohyama does not teach the non-light- transmitting area comprises at least one of an opaque PP plate, an opaque PC plate, and an opaque PMMA plate, and the light-transmitting area includes at least one of a transparent PP plate, a transparent PC plate, and a transparent PMMA plate.
Mathieu teaches a through lamp (optic assembly 20, see figure 2) for a vehicle (vehicle, see ¶ 22), having a light-emitting assembly (light sources 35) emitting light to an exterior trim panel (mask assembly 25) provided with a light-transmitting area (area of apertures 29) and a non-light-transmitting area (area of mask 36);
the non-light-transmitting area (36) comprises at least one of an opaque PP plate, an opaque PC plate (printed on polycarbonate material, see ¶ 26), and an opaque PMMA plate, and the light-transmitting area (29) includes at least one of a transparent PP plate, a transparent PC plate (made of polycarbonate material, see ¶ 26), and a transparent PMMA plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to make the light-transmitting area and non-light-transmitting area of Hubert from PC as taught by Ohyama, since it has been held by the courts that patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is disclosed, or suggested, by the Prior Art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because polycarbonates are readily available and are cost effective.
Regarding claim 19, Ohyama teaches wherein the exterior trim panel (11) is provided with a non-light-transmitting area (see areas around opening of 11), but
Ohyama does not explicitly teach the light- transmitting area and the non-light-transmitting area is defined by a painted area of are achieved through laser carving process after painting on a transparent PP plate.
Mathieu teaches a through lamp (optic assembly 20, see figure 2) for a vehicle (vehicle, see ¶ 22), having a light-emitting assembly (light sources 35) emitting light to an exterior trim panel (mask assembly 25) provided with a light-transmitting area (area of apertures 29) and a non-light-transmitting area (area of mask 36), and the non-light-transmitting area (36) comprises at least one of an opaque PP plate, an opaque PC plate (printed on polycarbonate material, see ¶ 26), and an opaque PMMA plate, and the light-transmitting area (29) includes at least one of a transparent PP plate, a transparent PC plate (made of polycarbonate material, see ¶ 26), and a transparent PMMA plate;
wherein the light-transmitting area (29) and the non-light-transmitting area (36) are achieved through laser carving process after painting on a transparent PP plate (laser ablated, see ¶ 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to make the light-transmitting area and non-light-transmitting area of Hubert from PC as taught by Ohyama, since it has been held by the courts that patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is disclosed, or suggested, by the Prior Art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because polycarbonates are readily available and are cost effective.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, based on the Examiner’s interpretation of claim 1 (see 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above), and although Ohyama teaches the through lamp, as described in claims 1-3 above, the prior art the prior art of the record fails to teach wherein the reflecting mirror is coupled to the mounting bracket, the light source is mounted at an upper side of the reflecting mirror, the light-transmitting area is located at a lower side of the light source meanwhile, and the light emitted by the light source is reflected to the light- transmitting area located at the lower side of the light source by the reflecting mirror.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, based on the Examiner’s interpretation of claim 1 (see 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above), and although Ohyama teaches the through lamp, as described in claim 1 above, the prior art the prior art of the record fails to teach wherein the light-emitting assembly comprises a reflecting rack and a light source, the reflecting rack has a reflecting groove with an opening facing the light-transmitting area, the reflecting groove is configured to reflect the light emitted by the light source in a direction of the opening of the reflecting groove, the light source is arranged away from an end of the opening of the reflecting rack, a groove bottom of the reflecting groove defines a through hole, and the light emitted by the light source emits from the through hole towards the light-transmitting area; and
wherein the reflecting rack is located at an inner side of the light-transmitting area, and the light source is arranged in the through hole; and a part of the light emitted by the light source emits from the through hole to the light-transmitting area located at an outside, and another part of the light emitted by the light source is reflected to the light-transmitting area by a side wall of the reflecting groove.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in page that Ohyama does not teach wherein the through lamp extends along a width direction of a vehicle and spans from a left side of the vehicle to a right side of the vehicle, as amended; stating that the light emitting part 15 of Ohyama is a lighting device located on a wiper arm 11, which neither extends along the width direction of the vehicle nor spans from the left side to the right side of the vehicle.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner agrees with the EPO, in that the amended language is not disclosed as part of the description of the invention but is part of the background, where the disclosure mentions elements that known in the art, and thus it the amended limitations are not part of the claimed invention.
Even though, the Applicant is attempting to claim the through lamp spans the entire width of the vehicle, from a left to a right side. And, one of ordinary skill would probably consider a bumper as a though lamp spanning from left to right of the vehicle. However, the claim specifies the through lamp is on a wiper. Wipers do not span along the width of vehicles from side to side.
The amended phrase was broadly interpreted to mean the invention should extend in a particular direction, from left to right of the vehicle.
Therefore, the prior art of record remains commensurate in scope for teaching the claimed limitations and the Applicants arguments in this regard are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in page that Ohyama does not teach the reflecting mirror of claim 3, stating that the invention’s reflecting mirror is an independent optical element, whereas the surface of the light conducting member 16 of Ohyama is not an independent optical element. And that, the surface of the light conducting member 16 of Ohyama is used for conducting, not actively reflecting, the light from the light source.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claim does not require the reflecting mirror should be an independent element to the light guide. As the surfaces of light guides provide total internal reflection, the surfaces of Ohyama’s light guide continues to teach the claimed invention. If the Applicant wishes to further specify the mirror is an added element to the light guide, then the claim should be amended to specify this feature.
As currently claimed, the prior art of record remains commensurate in scope for teaching the claimed limitations and the Applicants arguments in this regard are not persuasive.
Applicant argues claims 2-15 and 18-20 are allowed as they depend from the independent claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons stated above.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 12/15/2025, with respect to claims 4, 9 and 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR ROJAS CADIMA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875