DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 06/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 6, “up-date” should be “update”. Appropriate correction is required
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 4-5, “re-source” should be “resource”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. (US 2023/0147423) in view of Go et al. (US 2022/0166587).
Regarding Claim 1, Bai teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform ([0008] The mobile station may include a memory and one or more processors coupled to the memory. The one or more processors may be configured to, based at least in part on information stored in the memory):
causing a terminal device to transmit, a first message comprising a capability value set index and at least one of a synchronization signal block resource index, SSBRI or a channel state information reference signal resource index, CRI, wherein the capability value set index is associated with a sounding reference signal, SRS, resource set configured to the terminal device ([0085] in connection with one or more beam management procedures (e.g., a beam selection procedure, a transmit beam refinement procedure, and/or a receive beam refinement procedure, among other examples), the UE 120 may report, to the network node 110, a list of UE capability value sets in cases where multiple codebook-based sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets with different SRS port numbers are configured. In some aspects, each UE capability value set in the list of capability value sets reported to the network node 110 may include a maximum supported number of SRS ports, a coherence type, and/or a maximum number of SRS resources per SRS resource set. Furthermore, the UE capability value set may be common across all bandwidth parts or component carriers in the same band (e.g., in FR2 or FR4). Furthermore, when multiple codebook-based SRS resource sets with different SRS port numbers are configured, the UE 120 may report, in beam reporting uplink control information (UCI), an index to identify a particular UE capability value set in the list that the UE 120 desires to support in a particular beam reporting occasion along with an SSB resource index (SSBRI) and CSI-RS resource index (CRI) pair and an associated Layer-1 RSRP (L1-RSRP) measurement. Accordingly, the index to the list may indicate to the network node 110 the maximum number of SRS ports, coherence type, and/or number of SRS resources per SRS resource set supported by the UE 120);
causing the terminal device to receive a second message defining a transmission configuration indication, TCI, state comprising a quasi co-location, QCL-TypeD reference signal corresponding to one of the at least one of the SSBRI or the CRI or being quasi co-located in terms of QCL-TypeD with a reference signal corresponding to one of the at least one of the SSBRI or the CRI ([0092] A downlink beam, such as a downlink transmit beam 505 or a downlink receive beam 510, may be associated with a TCI state. A TCI state may indicate a directionality or a characteristic of the downlink beam, such as one or more quasi co-location (QCL) properties of the downlink beam with respect to a source reference signal. ... each downlink transmit beam 505 may be associated with an SSB, and the UE 120 may indicate a preferred downlink transmit beam 505 by transmitting uplink transmissions in resources of the SSB that are associated with the preferred downlink transmit beam 505. A particular SSB may have an associated TCI state (e.g., for an antenna port or for beamforming). The network node 110 may, in some examples, indicate a downlink transmit beam 505 based at least in part on antenna port QCL properties that may be indicated by the TCI state. A TCI state may be associated with one downlink reference signal set (e.g., an SSB and an aperiodic, periodic, or semi-persistent CSI-RS) for different QCL types ... the UE 120 may report to the network node a capability on which type of reference signals (e.g., among periodic, semi-persistent, aperiodic CSI-RS for CSI acquisition) the UE 120 supports to use as the source reference signal to establish a QCL type property of a TCI state. In cases where the QCL type indicates spatial Rx parameters (e.g., QCL-TypeD), the QCL type may correspond to analog receive beamforming parameters of a downlink receive beam 510 at the UE 120. Thus, the UE 120 may select a corresponding downlink receive beam 510 from a set of BPLs based at least in part on the network node 110 indicating a downlink transmit beam 505 via a TCI indication);
causing the terminal device to activate or indicate the TCl state according to the second message ([0093] The network node 110 may maintain a set of activated TCI states for downlink shared channel transmissions and a set of activated TCI states for downlink control channel transmissions. The set of activated TCI states for downlink shared channel transmissions may correspond to beams that the network node 110 uses for downlink transmission on a PDSCH. The set of activated TCI states for downlink control channel communications may correspond to beams that the network node 110 may use for downlink transmission on a PDCCH or in a CORESET. The UE 120 may also maintain a set of activated TCI states for receiving the downlink shared channel transmissions and the CORESET transmissions. If a TCI state is activated for the UE 120, then the UE 120 may have one or more antenna configurations based at least in part on the TCI state, and the UE 120 may not need to reconfigure antennas or antenna weighting configurations. In some examples, the set of activated TCI states (e.g., activated PDSCH TCI states and activated CORESET TCI states) for the UE 120 may be configured by a configuration message, such as an RRC message).
However, Bai does not teach if the SRS resource set is different from a currently activated SRS resource set of the terminal device or an SRS resource set last used for transmission by the terminal device, applying a pre-defined latency time between beam application and an expected triggering time of the SRS resource set.
In an analogous art, Go teaches if the SRS resource set is different from a currently activated SRS resource set of the terminal device or an SRS resource set last used for transmission by the terminal device, applying a pre-defined latency time between beam application and an expected triggering time of the SRS resource set ([0363] the BS may configure the SRS resource setting by considering a time (e.g., panel switching delay) required for the corresponding UE to switch the panel; [0368] the BS may configure the ‘guard period for panel switching’ by setting a slot level time domain gap considering the panel switching delay for each UE capability between the ‘SRS resource sets for antenna switching’ of each panel; [0432] the panel switching delay may be included in the UE capability information. That is, in a UE (a UE of MPUE-assumption 1 or MPUE-assumption 3) incapable of simultaneous transmission through multi-panels, reporting the panel switching delay may be required).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Go’s method with Bai’s method so that the SRS resource setting can be configured based on a guard period related to the panel switching delay. Accordingly, since the UE transmits the SRS within a range of a capability related to panel switching, reliability of SRS transmission for antenna switching can be secured (Go [0035]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Bai and Go, specifically Bai teaches the second message is a TCl state activation message or the second message is a TCl state indication message ([0092] A downlink beam, such as a downlink transmit beam 505 or a downlink receive beam 510, may be associated with a TCI state. A TCI state may indicate a directionality or a characteristic of the downlink beam, such as one or more quasi co-location (QCL) properties of the downlink beam with respect to a source reference signal. ... each downlink transmit beam 505 may be associated with an SSB, and the UE 120 may indicate a preferred downlink transmit beam 505 by transmitting uplink transmissions in resources of the SSB that are associated with the preferred downlink transmit beam 505. A particular SSB may have an associated TCI state (e.g., for an antenna port or for beamforming). The network node 110 may, in some examples, indicate a downlink transmit beam 505 based at least in part on antenna port QCL properties that may be indicated by the TCI state. A TCI state may be associated with one downlink reference signal set (e.g., an SSB and an aperiodic, periodic, or semi-persistent CSI-RS) for different QCL types ... the UE 120 may report to the network node a capability on which type of reference signals (e.g., among periodic, semi-persistent, aperiodic CSI-RS for CSI acquisition) the UE 120 supports to use as the source reference signal to establish a QCL type property of a TCI state. In cases where the QCL type indicates spatial Rx parameters (e.g., QCL-TypeD), the QCL type may correspond to analog receive beamforming parameters of a downlink receive beam 510 at the UE 120. Thus, the UE 120 may select a corresponding downlink receive beam 510 from a set of BPLs based at least in part on the network node 110 indicating a downlink transmit beam 505 via a TCI indication).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Bai and Go, specifically Bai teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to activate or indicate the TCl state by: if the second message is the TCl state activation message, activating the TCl state being a currently non-activated TCl state configured to the terminal device; and/or if the second message is the TCl state indication message, indicating the TCl state being a currently activated TCl state configured to the terminal device ([0092] A downlink beam, such as a downlink transmit beam 505 or a downlink receive beam 510, may be associated with a TCI state. A TCI state may indicate a directionality or a characteristic of the downlink beam, such as one or more quasi co-location (QCL) properties of the downlink beam with respect to a source reference signal. ... each downlink transmit beam 505 may be associated with an SSB, and the UE 120 may indicate a preferred downlink transmit beam 505 by transmitting uplink transmissions in resources of the SSB that are associated with the preferred downlink transmit beam 505. A particular SSB may have an associated TCI state (e.g., for an antenna port or for beamforming). The network node 110 may, in some examples, indicate a downlink transmit beam 505 based at least in part on antenna port QCL properties that may be indicated by the TCI state. A TCI state may be associated with one downlink reference signal set (e.g., an SSB and an aperiodic, periodic, or semi-persistent CSI-RS) for different QCL types ... the UE 120 may report to the network node a capability on which type of reference signals (e.g., among periodic, semi-persistent, aperiodic CSI-RS for CSI acquisition) the UE 120 supports to use as the source reference signal to establish a QCL type property of a TCI state. In cases where the QCL type indicates spatial Rx parameters (e.g., QCL-TypeD), the QCL type may correspond to analog receive beamforming parameters of a downlink receive beam 510 at the UE 120. Thus, the UE 120 may select a corresponding downlink receive beam 510 from a set of BPLs based at least in part on the network node 110 indicating a downlink transmit beam 505 via a TCI indication).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Bai and Go, specifically Bai teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform: in response to receiving a third message for triggering the SRS resource set, causing the terminal device to transmit one or more sounding reference signals using the SRS resource set ([0086] the network node 110 may indicate the SRS resource set identifier that corresponds to the selected SRI in DCI that schedules a codebook-based uplink transmission. Accordingly, when the network node 110 transmits DCI to the UE 120 to schedule a codebook-based uplink transmission, the DCI may indicate the selected SRI for the codebook-based uplink transmission based on the SRS resource set identifier indicated in the DCI (e.g., because different SRS resource sets may be associated with different numbers of SRS ports). For example, in some aspects, the DCI may include an SRS resource set identifier field to indicate the SRS resource set identifier corresponding to the selected SRI, or the SRS resource set identifier may be indicated in one or more bits of an SRI field in the DCI scheduling the codebook-based uplink transmission).
Regarding Claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 1.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. in view of Go et al. and Liu et al. (US 2025/0016693).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Bai and Go does not teach the first message comprises N SSBRIs and/or N CRIs, N being 1, 2, 3 or 4.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches the first message comprises N SSBRIs and/or N CRIs, N being 1, 2, 3 or 4 ([0018] N (N>=1, e.g. N=1, 2, 3 or 4) pairs of virtual P-MPR and SSBRI or CRI are reported, where each of the N SSBRIs or CRIs indicates a resource selected by the UE from a candidate resource pool configured via RRC signaling, wherein each resource in the resource pool can be an SSB resource or an NZP CSI-RS resource [0066] When MPE P-MPR reporting is triggered, in addition to the P-MPR to be reported by the Single Entry PHR MAC CE as shown in FIG. 1, N pair(s) of virtual P-MPR and SSBRI or CRI are additionally reported, where N>=1 (e.g. N=1, 2, 3 or 4)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Liu’s method with Bai’s method so that enhancement of MPE power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) reporting can be achieved (Liu [0019]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. in view of Go et al. and Gao et al. (US 2024/0031901).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Bai and Go does not teach the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform: in response to detecting a beam failure recovery or a link re-establishment, setting an SRS resource set with lowest capabilities or lowest identifier as an active SRS resource set of the terminal device.
In an analogous art, Gao teaches the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform: in response to detecting a beam failure recovery or a link re-establishment, setting an SRS resource set with lowest capabilities or lowest identifier as an active SRS resource set of the terminal device ([0170] D) After transmitting link recovery request, detecting gNB response for recovery request, or HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the MAC-CE command of confirming link recovery request, the UL channel (which can be PUSCH, PUCCH or SRS) should be transmitting according to at least one of the following: ... [0174] d) A closed loop power control of the UL channel: [0175] 1) has a specific index; or [0176] 2) is a pump-up value associated with the random access preamble, or a pump-up value associated with the random access preamble plus the value indicated by transmission power command (TPC) in one downlink control information; or [0177] 3) is the value for one SRS; or [0178] Furthermore, the SRS is SRS resource set, the usage of which is beam management. [0179] 4) is reset. [0180] Further, the above behavior is performed if at least one of the following condition is met. [0181] 1) Beam correspondence is supported by the UE. [0182] 2) Partial beam correspondence is support by the UE [0183] Further, the specific index can be 0, a lowest index, or a highest index).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Gao’s method with Bai’s method so that it can recover a lost link between first and second radio terminals (Gao [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Guo (US 2023/0387992) teaches method for beam reporting for multiple TRPs.
Park et al. (US 2022/0039122) teaches method for performing uplink transmission in wireless communication system.
/YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413