DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 112 second rejections of claims 8-11 are persuasive. The 112 second rejection of claims 8-11 are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejections of claims 1-4 are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument is that one of ordinary skill in the art would not modify the gearbox of Ralph with the clutch of Yesilcimen to arrive at the invention in claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is noted that Ralph already teaches a first clutch 19 connecting the first barrel to the transmission shaft and a gearbox which connects the second barrel to the transmission shaft. Yesilcimen, a teaching reference teaches that clutch and gearbox are variable mechanical transmission means. Because Ralph discloses a first clutch and based on the teaching of Yesilcimen and contrary to applicant’s arguments a modifying Ralph by using a second clutch instead of a gearbox as suggested by Yesilcimen would not alter the design of Ralph or how it operates.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ralph (DE 102012218517 A1) in view of Yesilcimen (US 2021/0317800 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Ralph teaches a reversible hydraulic pump for setting the pitch of a propeller of a turboprop (Fig. 3) comprising two barrels (2 and 4) (Figs. 3-4) connected by a transmission shaft (15) (Fig. 3), wherein the tow barrels are connected to the transmission shaft via a first clutch means (19) and a gearbox (17) (Figs. 3-4, see “embodiment of the invention” paras. 2-6) so that when so that, when the transmission shaft rotates in a first direction, only the first barrel is driven in rotation by the transmission shaft, and so that, when the transmission shaft rotates in a second direction opposite to the first direction, only the second barrel is driven in rotation by the transmission shaft (Fig. 3, see “embodiment of the invention” paras. 2-6).
Ralph does not teach a second clutch means
However, Yesilcimen discloses a variable mechanical transmission device for coupling shafts in a gas turbine engine wherein the “the variable mechanical transmission may comprise any one of the following elements: a clutch, a gearbox, a variator, etc.” para. 0018. Here is the teaching that a clutch and a gearbox are used for as mechanical transmission and are interchangeable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ralph by substituting the gearbox with a second clutch means as taught by Yesilcimen as a means to connect/disconnect the either of the barrels from the transmission shaft.
Regarding claim 2, Ralph as modified by Yesilcimen teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Ralph as modified by Yesilcimen further teaches the first clutch means (19) comprises a first flywheel connecting a first barrel (4) of the two barrels to the transmission shaft when the transmission shaft rotates in the first direction and uncouples the first barrel from the transmission shaft when the transmission shaft rotates in the second direction (Ralph, Fig. 3; “embodiment of the invention” paras. 2-6); the second clutch means connects a second a second barrel (2) (Ralph, Fig. 3) of the two barrels to the transmission shaft when the transmission shaft rotates in the second direction and uncouples the second barrel from the transmission shaft when the transmission shaft rotates in the first direction (Ralph, Fig. 3; “embodiment of the invention” paras. 2-6). Although Ralph as modified does not specifically sates that the second clutch means comprises a second flywheel, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known to provide a second flywheel on the second clutch since in Ralph, the first clutch means comprises a flywheel.
Regarding claim 3, Ralph as modified by Yesilcimen teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Ralph as modified by Yesilcimen further teaches further comprising two symmetrical and opposite angled plates (5), and two casings (se Figs. 3-4), a first casing accommodating a first plate (5) and a first cylinder (113), and a second casing accommodating a second plate (5) and a second cylinder (113), the first and second plates and the first and second casings being fixed with respect to the transmission shaft, central axes of the plates and of the barrels being coaxial (Ralph, Figs. 3-4 “embodiment of invention” paras. 1-6).
Regarding claim 4, Ralph as modified by Yesilcimen teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Ralph as modified by Yesilcimen further teaches the second casing further comprises an electric motor for driving the transmission shaft, the motor including a rotor formed on the transmission shaft and a stator secured to the second casing (Ralph, Figs. 3-4 “embodiment of invention” paras. 1-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAXIME M ADJAGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745