DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on March 27, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakano [US 20020124993 A1].
As per Claims 1 and 15, Nakano teaches a microlithographic system (an exposure apparatus 13, See fig. 1), comprising:
a climate chamber (the environment chamber 1) enclosing an atmosphere to establish an enclosed atmosphere;
a printing device (an exposure apparatus 13) for projection of an optical beam onto a photo-sensitive resist, the printing device being arranged in the climate chamber (Para 28 and 43);
a fluid reservoir (a reservoir 18) arranged to accommodate a thermally conductive fluid and arranged to be in thermal connection with the enclosed atmosphere to transfer heat between the enclosed atmosphere and the thermally conductive fluid (See fig. 1, Para 33);
a first heat exchanging means (cooling heat exchanger 3') arranged outside the climate chamber (Para 33);
a means (not labeled) for transporting the thermally conductive fluid (a coolant d) between the fluid reservoir 18 and the first heat exchanging means; and
a means (the air blower 5) for supplying a gas from outside the climate chamber to the enclosed atmosphere (Para 25);
wherein the first heat exchanging means is configured to transfer heat between the thermally conductive fluid and the gas before the gas is supplied to the enclosed atmosphere (See fig. 1, Para 35).
As per Claim 2, Nakano teaches the microlithographic system according to claim 1, further comprising a thermal reservoir in thermal connection with the fluid reservoir (the refrigerator 6), wherein the thermal reservoir is in thermal connection with the climate chamber (Para 34-35).
As per Claim 3, Nakano teaches the microlithographic system according to claim 2, wherein the thermal reservoir is part of the printing device or the climate chamber (See fig. 3, wherein through a returning port 15).
As per Claim 6, Nakano teaches the microlithographic system according to claim 1, further comprising a second heat exchanging means (a condenser 8) arranged in thermal contact with the fluid reservoir and configured to transfer heat between the enclosed atmosphere and the fluid reservoir (See fig. 3, Para 25).
As per Claim 7, Nakano teaches the microlithographic system according to claim 1, wherein the fluid reservoir is arranged inside the climate chamber (See fig. 1).
As per Claim 8, Nakano teaches the microlithographic system according to claim 1, wherein the gas supplied to the first heat exchanging means comprises pressurized air (Para 28, wherein the space 14 is kept at a pressurized state slightly higher than the atmospheric pressure of the external environment).
As per Claim 9, Nakano teaches the microlithographic system according to claim 1, wherein the thermally conductive fluid is a liquid (Para 34).
As per Claim 10, Nakano teaches the microlithographic system according to claim 1, wherein the microlithographic system further comprises a temperature-control device (a temperature adjusting device 10), configured to perform at least one of increasing and lowering temperature of the gas which is being supplied to the climate chamber (Para 27).
As per Claim 11, Nakano teaches the microlithographic system according to claim 1, wherein the microlithographic system further comprises an inlet (an outside air introducing port 16), configured to direct gas from outside the climate chamber to the first heat exchanging means, and an outlet (air blower 5), configured to direct gas from the first heat exchanging means to the climate chamber (Para 27-28).
As per Claim 12, Nakano teaches the microlithographic system according to claim 11, wherein the microlithographic system further comprises means for pressure reduction of the gas entering the inlet, before the gas reaches the first heat exchanging means (Para 33).
As per Claim 13, Nakano teaches the microlithographic system according to claim 11, wherein the first heat exchanging means is arranged at the outlet (See fig. 3).
As per Claim 14, Nakano teaches the microlithographic system according to claim 1, wherein the printing device comprises a display mask writer (Para 41, wherein an exposure apparatus 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano in view of Hirasawa et al. [US 20190390918 A1, hereafter Hirasawa].
As per Claim 4, Nakano teaches the microlithographic system according to claim 2.
Nakano does not explicitly teach wherein the thermal reservoir comprises a body of at least one of aluminum and stainless steel.
Hirasawa teaches the evaporator 2 is a cylindrical member made of metal having good thermal conductivity, such as copper, copper alloy, or stainless steel. The evaporator 2 includes a heat receiver 7 containing a wick 6, and a reservoir 8 storing a liquid phase working fluid. One end of a steam tube 4 is connected to the heat receiver 7, and one end of a liquid tube 5 is connected to the reservoir 8. The other end of each of the steam tube 4 and the liquid tube 5 is connected to the condenser 3. The condenser 3 is composed of flat pipes each having numerous aluminum sheet-like fins on its outer circumference surface. The condenser 3 is configured to allow a working fluid to pass through inside the flat pipes to discharge heat of the working fluid through walls and fins of the flat pipes (See fig. 6 and 7, Emphasis added by the Examiner).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate the thermal reservoir as disclosed by Hirasawa in the temperature controlling system of Nakano in order to effectively control the temperature of the exposure chamber.
As per Claim 5, Nakano teaches the microlithographic system according to claim 2.
Nakano does not explicitly teach wherein the thermal reservoir is arranged inside the climate chamber.
Hirasawa teaches the thermal reservoir is arranged inside the enclosure (See fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate the thermal reservoir as claimed in order to effectively use the space.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on March 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remark section, with respect to claims 1-3 and 6-15, Applicant argued that the prior art to Nakano does not expressly or inherently discloses at least "a fluid reservoir arranged to accommodate a thermally conductive fluid and arranged to be in thermal connection with the enclosed atmosphere to transfer heat between the enclosed atmosphere and the thermally conductive fluid, a first heat exchanging means arranged outside the climate chamber; wherein the first heat exchanging means is configured to transfer heat between the thermally conductive fluid and [a] gas before the gas is supplied to the enclosed atmosphere," as recited in relevant part in claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Nakano, for example [0028] and figure 1, disclosed that “The air a" supplied to the space 14 is discharged through a returning port 15 provided in the air-conditioning system 2, such that it is circulated between the air-conditioning system 2 and the environment chamber 1”. As such, the air a” flowing between the environment chamber 1 and the air-conditioning system 2 constitutes there is a thermal connection between the two chambers and the fluid reservoir 18 is arranged to reserve the coolant (thermally conductive fluid) that is used to exchange heat in the heat exchanger 17 (which is the heat exchanging means that is arranged outside the climate chamber and transfer heat between the thermally conductive fluid (which is the coolant), and gas (which is air a”) before the gas is supplied to the enclosed atmosphere 1). Therefore, Applicant’s argument on the above points is not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MESFIN T ASFAW/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882