DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-4 and 7, in the reply filed on 14 April 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 5 and 6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka USPN 5698245.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Tanaka teaches a method of producing a plant based food (bread dough) by causing maltotriose-generating enzyme and glucose oxidase to act on the bread dough. (Col. 3, line 55-Col. 4, line 5)
Regarding claim 7, Tanaka discloses the same method of causing maltotriose generating enzyme to act on plant-based raw material recited in claim 7 and therefore must satisfy the preamble recitation of saccharide reduction.
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishikawa JP 2020039283 (translation provided 5/13/24 relied on herein for translation and reference).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Ishikawa teaches a method of producing oat milk comprising causing maltotriose generating enzyme to act on the oat milk. [0008,0019,0021]
Regarding claim 7, Ishikawa discloses that the maltotriose generating enzyme treatment reduces the saccharide content. [0013]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka USPN 5698245 as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka teaches what has been recited above. Tanaka further teaches that the raw material may be treated with α-amylase with the maltotriose-generating enzyme. (Col. 3, lines 48-53) While Tanaka does not disclose treating the raw material with α-amylase prior to maltotriose-generating enzyme, the selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. (MPEP 2144.04 IV. C.) Therefore, Tanaka renders obvious the limitations of claim 2.
Conclusion
/Michele L Jacobson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793