DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is a 371 of PCT/EP2021/082523 11/22/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 07/24/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/15/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending
in the application. Claims 21 is amended. Claims were 1-20 and 22-40 were cancelled. New Claims 41-50 added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim [41, 42, 49 and 50] are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Spec [0078, 0140] disclosures of Claim 41 and 42. And, spec [0113, 0147] for the Claim 49 and 50. And, clarity required to these claims are provided here.
Claim 41 newly presented, ‘The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the downlink control information schedules both the first physical uplink control channel repetition and the second physical uplink control channel repetition, and wherein the physical uplink control channel resource indicator identifies the physical uplink control channel resource from among a physical uplink control channel resource set configured for the apparatus.’
Claim 42 newly presented, ‘The apparatus of claim 41 wherein the frequency gap value is not included in the downlink control information and is instead obtained from a radio-resource-control- configured association between the frequency gap value and the physical uplink control channel resource identified by the physical uplink control channel resource indicator.’
Regarding the Claim 41, DCI-schedules both the PUCCH-repetition wherein the PUCCH identified by the control-channel-resource-indicator. Spec [0078] “DCI, scheduling the at least two parallel uplink transmissions, the frequency-domain multiplexing information indicative of the frequency gap or the frequency offset between the first frequency-domain resource allocation and the second frequency-domain resource allocation (be it explicitly or implicitly as described above)”. And, in spec[0114, 0140]. Regarding the claim 42, includes RRC spec [0075, 0111, 0139 and 142]. Therefore, disclosure support both DCI/RRC cannot be explicitly required to include “not included in DCI.”
Regarding the Claim 49 newly presented, ‘The apparatus of claim 48, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: transmit, at a time different from the first physical uplink control channel repetition and the second physical uplink control channel repetition, a third physical uplink control channel repetition and a fourth physical uplink control channel repetition carrying the same set of uplink control information;
transmit the third physical uplink control channel repetition and the fourth physical uplink control channel repetition using respective third and fourth frequency-domain resource allocations that are frequency-division multiplexed from one another and perform frequency hopping between: a first pair comprising the first physical uplink control channel repetition and the second physical uplink control channel repetition; and a second pair comprising the third physical uplink control channel repetition and the fourth physical uplink control channel repetition.’
Regarding Claim 50 newly presented, ‘The apparatus of claim 49, wherein: the first pair is transmitted in a first slot or sub-slot; the second pair is transmitted in a second slot or sub-slot different from the first slot or sub-slot;
the frequency gap value is applied both between the first frequency-domain resource allocation and the second frequency-domain resource allocation and between the third frequency-domain resource allocation and the fourth frequency-domain resource allocation; and the third and fourth frequency-domain resource allocations differ, as a result of the frequency hopping, from the first and second frequency-domain resource allocations, respectively.’
Regarding the Claim 49 and Claim 50 includes claim limitation, the first pair (first-PUCCH and second-PUCCH) and the second pair (third-PUCCH and fourth-PUCCH) and further limited by first slot/second slot and frequency-gap/offset applied uses different frequency-domain-resource-allocation and the frequency hopping. And relevant disclosures spec [0113, 0147]. These were newly presented claims required to specify the disclosures.
Examiner respectfully request to provide clarity regarding these newly presented claims, 37 CFR 1.121.
Since the Claim 41 depends on the Claim 21 therefore Claim 21 presented,
Claim 21 previously presented, ‘ An apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
transmit at least two parallel uplink transmissions associated with a common uplink information payload and including a first uplink transmission and a second uplink transmission;
receive information indicative of a common frequency-domain resource allocation for the at least two parallel uplink transmissions;
determine, a first frequency-domain resource allocation for the first uplink transmission and a second frequency-domain resource allocation for the second uplink transmission at least based on the common frequency-domain resource allocation and on frequency-domain multiplexing information indicative of a frequency gap or a frequency offset between the first frequency-domain resource allocation and the second frequency-domain resource allocation; and
transmit the first uplink transmission using the first frequency-domain resource allocation, and transmit the second uplink transmission using the second frequency-domain resource allocation.’
Claim 21 amended, ‘An apparatus comprising; at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive downlink control information comprising a physical uplink control channel resource indicator and indicating an uplink control information payload;
determine, based on the physical uplink control channel resource indicator and the uplink control information payload, to use a physical uplink control channel resource that is associated, by radio resource control signaling, with: first spatial relation information and second spatial relation information; and frequency-domain multiplexing information defining a frequency gap value and indicating that a multi-transmission-and-reception-point frequency-division- multiplexing physical uplink control channel repetition scheme is to be used; receive information indicative of a common frequency-domain resource allocation for the a first physical uplink control channel repetition and a second physical uplink control channel repetition, wherein the first physical uplink control channel repetition and the second physical uplink control channel repetition each carry a same set of uplink control information corresponding to the uplink control information payload, are fully overlapping in time, and are transmitted using the first spatial relation information and the second spatial relation information, respectively, toward different transmission and reception points; determine[[,]] a first frequency-domain resource allocation for the first physical uplink control channel repetition and a second frequency-domain resource allocation for the second physical uplink control channel repetition at least based on the common frequency-domain resource allocation and the frequency gap value, wherein: the first physical uplink control channel repetition is a reference uplink repetition corresponding to the first spatial relation information; the first frequency-domain resource allocation is the frequency-domain resource allocation of the physical uplink control channel resource; the second frequency-domain resource allocation has a same number of physical resource blocks as the first frequency-domain resource allocation; the frequency gap value comprises an absolute number of physical resource blocks defining a frequency gap between an upper bound of the first frequency- domain resource allocation and a lower bound of the second frequency-domain resource allocation; and a starting physical resource block of the second frequency-domain resource allocation is determined from the first frequency-domain resource allocation and the frequency gap value such that the first frequency-domain resource allocation and the second frequency-domain resource allocation are nonoverlapping in frequency; and transmit the first physical uplink control channel repetition using the first frequency-domain resource allocation, and transmit the second physical uplink control channel repetition using the second frequency-domain resource allocation in accordance with the multi-transmission-and-reception-point frequency-division- multiplexing physical uplink control channel repetition scheme’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
Claims 21, and 41-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al (US-20230180242-A1), hereinafter “Cirik” in view of
Rastegardoost et al. (US-20240032103-A1 and prov. 63127201 identical drawing and spec) hereinafter “Rastegardoost”.
Regarding Claim 21,
Cirik discloses, ‘An apparatus comprising; at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive downlink control information comprising a physical uplink control channel resource indicator and indicating an uplink control information payload’ (A wireless device in Fig. 15 includes processors. The device receive DCI comprises PUSCH, PUCCH, TB [0318]. The BS transmit the DCIs includes DCI-format (e.g., DCI) [0191]. The PUCCH resource indicator in the DCI [0200]. In Fig. 10B illustrates UCI relates to DL-component carriers and to the PUCCH [0131]. The UE determine the PUCCH based on a size-of-UCI (e.g., no-of-UL-symbols, UCI-bits) in the PUCCH -resource [0198-0199].);
And Cirik discloses, ‘determine, based on the physical uplink control channel resource indicator and the uplink control information payload, to use a physical uplink control channel resource that is associated, by radio resource control signaling, with:
first spatial relation information and second spatial relation information’ (the wireless device determine the PUCCH resource based on a PUCCH resource indicator in a DCI (e.g., with a DCI format 1_0 or DCI for 1_1) received on a PDCCH [0200]. the base station may transmit configuration parameters to the UE for a plurality of PUCCH resource sets using, for example, an RRC message [0199]. the wireless device may determine the plurality of spatial domain transmission filters for transmission of the uplink signal (e.g., PUCCH, SR, CSI report, UCI, HARQ-ACK) via the uplink resource of the plurality of uplink resources [0345]. And, also determine a first spatial domain transmission filter of the plurality of spatial domain transmission filters based on a first TCI state (e.g., TCI state 8) of the at least two TCI states in Fig. 19 and [0346].);
Cirik discloses, ‘and frequency-domain multiplexing information and indicating that a multi-transmission-and-reception-point frequency-division- multiplexing physical uplink control channel repetition scheme is to be used’
receive one/more configuration parameters indicate repetition scheme includes FDM [0222]. The wireless device is served by plurality of TRPs [0221]. The BS provides to the wireless device one/more SRS resource configuration parameters includes offset for a periodic and/or an aperiodic SRS resource; a number of OFDM symbols in an SRS resource; a starting OFDM symbol of an SRS resource; an SRS bandwidth; a frequency hopping bandwidth; a cyclic shift; and/or an SRS sequence-identifier [0155].
And didn’t disclose, and frequency domain multiplexing information ‘defining a frequency gap value’
Rastegardoost in the relevant art discloses, in Fig. 17 radio-resource-allocation uses a frequency offset and UL-radio-resource frequency multiplexed [0246] (prov. [0227].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Cirik and to include with that of Rastegardoost to come up with the claim invention,
Cirik motive to transmit uplink-channel uses FDM [0367] and uses physical channel mapped-to-OFDM symbols [0107] in Fig. 5. And, component-carriers includes bandwidth and/or duplexing schemes configured [0127] and by the DCI [0130] and transmitted on the PUCCH [0130-0132] and in Fig. 10B. The Rastegardoost complements motive of the FDM includes the frequency resource offset. Discloses specific motive to enhance the capability of spatial relation when severed by the plurality of TRPs [0221-0222]. This would enhance channel-coding, rate matching and optimize error Cirik [0192, 0204, 0205], and Rastegardoost [0199, 0211].
Cirik discloses, ‘receive information indicative of a common frequency-domain resource allocation for the a first physical uplink control channel repetition and a second physical uplink control channel repetition,
wherein the first physical uplink control channel repetition and the second physical uplink control channel repetition
each carry a same set of uplink control information corresponding to the uplink control information payload,
are fully overlapping in time,
and are transmitted using the first spatial relation information and the second spatial relation information, respectively, toward different transmission and reception points’ (one/more configuration parameters indicate the repetition-scheme includes repetition-UL-resources (e.g., PUCCH resources, UCI.) [0371]. The repetition of UL-channels may be consecutive, and occur in FDM. In frequency bands of physical RBs. The plurality of UL-channel transmission occasion (TO) occurs includes a first UL-channels and a second UL-channels [0367]. A plurality of PUCCH resource sets is configured with a PUCCH resource index, a plurality of PUCCH resources with a PUCCH resource being identified by a PUCCH resource identifier (e.g., pucch-resource-identifier), and/or a number (e.g. a maximum number) of UCI information bits the UE may transmit using one of the plurality of PUCCH resources in the PUCCH resource set [0199]. the UE may select a first PUCCH resource set having a PUCCH resource set index equal to “0”. If the total bit length of UCI information bits is greater than two and less than or equal to a first configured value, the UE may select a second PUCCH resource set having a PUCCH resource set index equal to “1” [0199-0200].
In Fig. 5 illustrates Logical channels [Wingdings font/0xE0] transport channels [Wingdings font/0xE0] physical channels and physical signal signals. Includes logical channel as dedicated/common common control channels at logical-layers [0075-0078].
In Fig. 14 illustrates CORESET based on the configuration and the UE monitor a set of PDCCH in one/more CORESET [0196]. The UE transmit the UCI the PUCCH [0197] and determine the PUCCH resource based on the PUCCH-resource-indicator [0200]. CORESET[Wingdings font/0xE0] CCE-to-REG-mapping [Wingdings font/0xE0] search space [Wingdings font/0xE0] PDCCH candidate in Fig. 14.
a first uplink signal/channel transmission occasion of the plurality of uplink signal/channel transmission occasions may overlap, in time and frequency, with a second signal/channel transmission occasion of the plurality of uplink signal/channel transmission occasions. The plurality of uplink signal/channel transmission occasions may occur in same time units (e.g., symbols, mini-slots, slots, sub-frames, etc). The wireless device may transmit, via the plurality of uplink signal/channel transmission occasions, the uplink signal with different spatial domain transmission filters. The wireless device may transmit the uplink signal with a first spatial domain transmission filter in the first signal/channel transmission occasion and with a second spatial domain transmission filter in the second signal/channel transmission occasion [0377].
The wireless devices is served by the plurality of TRPs. The wireless device may determine/select the at least two TCI states based on being served by the plurality of TRPs [0284]. the wireless device may determine, for transmission of an uplink signal (e.g., PUCCH) via an uplink resource, a spatial domain transmission filter based on a TCI state [0347].);
And Cirik discloses, ‘determine[[,]] a first frequency-domain resource allocation for the first physical uplink control channel repetition and a second frequency-domain resource allocation for the second physical uplink control channel repetition at least based on the common frequency-domain resource allocation and on the frequency gap value, wherein:
the first physical uplink control channel repetition is a reference uplink repetition corresponding to the first spatial relation information’ (the wireless device determine/select one TCI-codepoint indicates/comprises at least two TCI-states [0319] and in Fig. 20, based on receiving the DCI [0318]. The wireless device perform UL-transmission includes PUCCH [0318]. The wireless device determine UL-channel (e.g., PUCCH) via UL-resource of the plurality of UL-resource, and also determine the spatial domain filter based on the TCI [0345, 0347]. determine each spatial domain transmission filter of the plurality of spatial domain transmission filters based on a respective TCI state of the at least two TCI states [0345]. The two TCI-states comprise determining the plurality of spatial domain filters based on at least two RS indicated by the two TCI-states. The wireless device determine the first spatial Tx filter based on the first RS indicated by the first TCI-state and transmit via the UL-resource, the UL with the first spatial domain filter. Disclosure includes similar procedure for the second spatial Tx filter as disclosed for the first spatial domain Tx fiter [0345-0347]. In Fig. 17 to 22 illustrates one/more configuration parameters indicate a number of repetitions (e.g., NPUCCH repeat, by a higher layer parameter nr-of-Slots). The repetition of the UL resources [0360-0365]. The repetition scheme, the UL-transmission-occasion overlap in frequency domain resource [0377]. And the first CORESET and the second CORESET occur at the first symbol in a slot of the frequency domain [0193].);
Cirik discloses, ‘the first frequency-domain resource allocation is the frequency-domain resource allocation of the physical uplink control channel resource’ (The wireless device may transmit the (same) UL-signal with each spatial domain transmission filter, of the plurality of spatial domain transmission filters, via respective UL-signal/channel transmission occasion(s) of the plurality of UL-signal/channel transmission occasions. The respective UL-signal/channel transmission occasion(s) may have overlapping time and frequency domain resource allocations with respect to another UL- signal/channel transmission occasion of the plurality of UL-signal/channel transmission occasions. The plurality of UL-signal/channel transmission occasions may occur in same frequency units (e.g., frequencies, PRBs, frequency bands, bandwidth parts, cells). For example, a first frequency unit of the first signal/channel transmission occasion and a second frequency unit of the second signal/channel transmission occasion may overlap in frequency [0377].);
Cirik discloses, ‘the second frequency-domain resource allocation has a same number of physical resource blocks as the first frequency-domain resource allocation’ ([0377]);
Rastegardoost discloses, ‘the frequency gap value comprises an absolute number of physical resource blocks defining a frequency gap between an upper bound of the first frequency- domain resource allocation and a lower bound of the second frequency-domain resource allocation’;
In Fig. 14 illustrates an example of CORESET. The first CORESET and the second CORESET occur at first symbol in a slot in the frequency domain [0200].
In Fig. 17 illustrates frequency-resource allocation and delineate the edge between the first frequency resource f1 and the second frequency resource depicts edge/bound of the two frequency resource allocation are distinct includes absolute number [0246], prov. [0227]. The random-access-occasions in frequency domain. Rach-configuration-common [0235-0236, 0250] (prov. [0216-0217, 0231]). And motive would be identical to second claim element disclosed above.
Rastegardoost discloses, ‘and a starting physical resource block of the second frequency-domain resource allocation is determined from the first frequency-domain resource allocation and the frequency gap value such that the first frequency-domain resource allocation and the second frequency-domain resource allocation are nonoverlapping in frequency’ (In Fig. 17 illustrates resource allocation includes f1 and f2. And, f2 depends on the frequency offset and also based on the f1. In Fig. 28 illustrates example of indexing frequency resource includes frequency start e.g., PRB offset applied [0366-0368, 0372, 0380] (prov. [0344-0346], [0349, 0356]). And, a first frequency start and a first number of frequency-domain FDMed ROs (e.g., M) similarly, to indicate a second frequency start and a second number of FDMed. Non-overlap and/or may not have same slot index within a frame and/or same starting symbol index within a slot. [0373-0374] (prov. [0350-0351]). Motive would be Identical, in addition, Cirik motive to use FDM-scheme in a plurality of UL-Tx not-overlap in frequency [0376]. “Each uplink signal/channel transmission occasion of the plurality of uplink signal/channel transmission occasions may have a non-overlapping frequency domain resource allocation with respect to other signal/channel transmission occasion(s) of the plurality of uplink signal/channel transmission occasions. For example, a first uplink signal/channel transmission occasion of the plurality of uplink signal/channel transmission occasions may not overlap, in frequency, with a second signal/channel transmission occasion of the plurality of uplink signal/channel transmission occasions”. “The plurality of uplink signal/channel transmission occasions may occur in different frequency (e.g., frequencies, PRBs” [0376]. Complemented by Rastegardoost. This would reduce the re-transmission and efficient use of resource allocaiton.);
Cirik discloses, ‘and transmit the first physical uplink control channel repetition using the first frequency-domain resource allocation, and transmit the second physical uplink control channel repetition using the second frequency-domain resource allocation in accordance with the multi-transmission-and-reception-point frequency-division- multiplexing physical uplink control channel repetition scheme.’ (The wireless device transmit the UL-resource in the plurality of UL-channel [0434] and in Fig. 24. Transmit UL-resource based on the spatial domain Tx filter in the plurality of UL-channel Tx [0409] at least two TCI-state indicated by the selected TCI [0406-0407] indicated a number of repetitions of an UL-resource/PUCCH [0411]. The wireless device determine/select at least two TCI-states based on one/more configuration parameters indicating a repetition scheme [0398]. Repetition scheme includes FDM, the transmission of UL-resource [0289]. The wireless device determine/select at least two TCI-states based on plurality of TRPs [0284].)
Regarding Claim 41,
‘The apparatus of claim 21’ (disclosed above),
Cirik discloses, ‘wherein the downlink control information schedules both the first physical uplink control channel repetition and the second physical uplink control channel repetition, and wherein the physical uplink control channel resource indicator identifies the physical uplink control channel resource from among a physical uplink control channel resource set configured for the apparatus.’ (The wireless device receive DCI scheduling the UL-Tx/PUCCH [0318]. In Fig. 17-22 illustrates one or more configuration parameters may indicate a number of repetitions (e.g., NPUCCH repeat, by a higher layer parameter nr-of-Slots). The wireless device receive the DCI schedule TB [0360-0365]. In Fig. 24 illustrates the configuration at least two TCI-states schedule UL-resource [0429]. And, NPUCCH repeat, by a higher layer parameter nr-of-Slots [0360-0362]. The BS transmit the configuration parameters the plurality of PUCCH resource sets. A PUCCH resource set may be configured with a PUCCH resource set index, a plurality of PUCCH resources with a PUCCH resource being identified by a PUCCH resource identifier (e.g., pucch-Resourceid), and/or a number (e.g. a maximum number) of UCI. the UE may select a first PUCCH resource set having a PUCCH resource set index equal to “0”. the UE may select a second PUCCH resource set having a PUCCH resource set index equal to “1” [0199]. )
Regarding Claim 42,
‘The apparatus of claim 41’ (disclosed above),
Rastegardoost discloses, ‘wherein the frequency gap value is not included in the downlink control information and is instead obtained from a radio-resource-control- configured association between the frequency gap value and the physical uplink control channel resource identified by the physical uplink control channel resource indicator.’ (In Fig. 17 illustrates radio-resource allocation and the frequency offset includes pre-configured frequency indices [0246, 0250]. The wireless device receive RRC-configuration includes frequency offset parameters [0259]. For a plurality of PUCCH-resource-sets [0206]. Motive would be identical to disclosed above in Claim 1. )
Regarding Claim 43,
‘The apparatus of claim 42’ (disclosed above),
Rastegardoost discloses, ‘wherein the frequency gap value is a positive integer identifying at least one physical resource block that is unused between the upper bound of the first frequency-domain resource allocation and the lower bound of the second frequency- domain resource allocation.’ (The wireless device index/determine indexes of frequency resources in increasing-order, starting from a start frequency. determine/compute the RNTI associated with the first random-occasion (RO) based on a formula comprising: a first index of a first symbol of the first RO; a second index of a first slot of the first RO; the index of the frequency resource of the first RO; and the frequency index offset [0380] (prov. [0356]). The UE determine the indexes based on increasing order of starting PRBs. RO (e.g., 0≤BWP_id<x-1). For example, x may be an integer: 2, 3, . . . . For example, x may be a maximum allowed number of UL BWPs/initial UL BWPs configured in a cell [0357] (prov. [0335].). And, in Fig. 28 illustrates indexing of frequency resource [0372] (prov. [0349]). Motive would be identical. )
Regarding Claim 44,
‘The apparatus of claim 43’ (disclosed above),
Rastegardoost discloses, ‘wherein a lowest-numbered physical resource block of the second frequency-domain resource allocation is separated from a highest-numbered physical resource block of the first frequency-domain resource allocation by the positive integer number of unused physical resource blocks identified by the frequency gap value.’ (In Fig. 17 illustrates the frequency resource allocation the first frequency resource allocation includes the upper bound/edge and the second frequency resource allocation lower bound. And, the separated/dedicated configuration for UL-BWP [0357]. And, Fig. 28 illustrates the frequency start based on PRB-offset and each RO-identifier/frequency-identifier. Includes random-access-RNTI [0357, 0365, 0374] (prov. [0335, 0351-0352].). Motive would identical disclosed above in Claim 1. This would increase in random-access procedure to successfully complete [0251] the transmission-occasion in Fig. 23, Cirik. )
Regarding Claim 45,
‘The apparatus of claim 44’ (disclosed above),
Cirik discloses, ‘wherein the first physical uplink control channel repetition and the second physical uplink control channel repetition occupy a same set of orthogonal-frequency-division-multiplexing symbols within a same slot or sub-slot.’ (the plurality of uplink signal/channel transmission occasions may occur in same time units (e.g., symbols, mini-slots, slots, sub-frames, etc). For example, a first time unit of the first signal/channel transmission occasion and a second time unit of the second signal/channel transmission occasion [0377] and Fig. 23 includes FDM.)
Regarding Claim 46,
‘The apparatus of claim 45’ (disclosed above),
And Cirik discloses, ‘wherein the first spatial relation information identifies a first uplink beam and the second spatial relation information identifies a second uplink beam different from the first uplink beam, and wherein the first physical uplink control channel repetition and the second physical uplink control channel repetition are transmitted using different power-control parameter sets.’ (a first/second SS/PBCH block may be transmitted in a first/second spatial direction using a first/second beam respectively [0141]. Fig.17 to Fig. 21 illustrates spatial domain transmission filter determination for beam management [0023-0027]. FIG. 23 is an example of uplink repetition schemes for beam management [0029, 0229] and uses SRS resource indicator. A beam identifications includes beam index, RS-index [0161]. The UE receives configuration of a transmit Power Control-PUCCH RNTI (TPC-PUCCH-RNTI) [0190]. The UE determines a plurality of transmit power, a first/second RS-index QCL first/second TCI-states [0334, 0352, 0377] )
Regarding Claim 47,
‘The apparatus of claim 46’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein the first spatial relation information is associated with a first sounding-reference-signal resource indicator and the second spatial relation information is associated with a second sounding-reference-signal resource indicator different from the first sounding-reference-signal resource indicator.’ (In Fig. 23 illustrates spatial scheme for each UL-resource to respective SRS resource indicator [0377].)
Regarding Claim 48,
‘The apparatus of claim 47’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein each of the first physical uplink control channel repetition and the second physical uplink control channel repetition carries an identical copy of the same set of uplink control information such that the same set of uplink control information is repeated, rather than partitioned, between the first physical uplink control channel repetition and the second physical uplink control channel repetition.’ (The wireless device transmit same UL-signal with each spatial domain Tx filter, respective uplink signal/channel transmission occasion(s) of the plurality of uplink signal/channel transmission occasions [0377] and Fig. 23. )
Claims 49 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al in view of Rastegardoost et al. and further in view of Jang et al. (US12356212B2), hereinafter “Jnag”.
Regarding Claim 49,
‘The apparatus of claim 48’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein the apparatus is further caused to: transmit, at a time different from the first physical uplink control channel repetition and the second physical uplink control channel repetition, a third physical uplink control channel repetition and a fourth physical uplink control channel repetition carrying the same set of uplink control information; transmit the third physical uplink control channel repetition and the fourth physical uplink control channel repetition using respective third and fourth frequency-domain resource allocations that are frequency-division multiplexed from one another’ (Similar to the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH, the UE may select a third PUCCH resource set having a PUCCH resource set index equal to “2”. If the total bit length of UCI information bits is greater than the second configured value and less than or equal to a third value (e.g., 1406), the UE may select a fourth PUCCH resource set having a PUCCH resource set index equal to “3” [0199]. Example of the repetition scheme may be a time domain repetition scheme (e.g., TDM scheme) Each uplink signal/channel transmission occasion of the plurality of uplink signal/channel transmission occasions may have a non-overlapping time domain resource allocation with respect to other signal/channel transmission occasion(s) of the plurality of uplink signal/channel transmission occasions. In FIG. 23 ), the first signal/channel transmission occasion (1st TX occasion), the second signal/channel transmission occasion (e.g., 2nd TX occasion), the third signal/channel transmission occasion (e.g., 3rd TX occasion), and the fourth signal/channel transmission occasion (e.g., 4th TX occasion) time different [0375].);
And Cirik and Rastegardoost didn’t disclose, ‘and perform frequency hopping between: a first pair comprising the first physical uplink control channel repetition and the second physical uplink control channel repetition; and a second pair comprising the third physical uplink control channel repetition and the fourth physical uplink control channel repetition.’
Jang in the relevant art discloses, a method performed by a terminal in a communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a base station, capability-information on PUCCH-repetitions; receiving, from the base station, PUCCH configuration information, the PUCCH configuration information including a plurality of spatial-relation-info parameters; receiving, from the base station, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) including an identifier of a PUCCH resource and identifiers of two spatial-relation-info parameters for the PUCCH resource; and performing repetitive PUCCH transmissions for transmitting uplink control information on the PUCCH resource by applying the two spatial-relation-info parameters alternately (disclosure Claim 1). In Fig. 23, a PUCCH-spatial-relation-Info configuration (2355) for each PUCCH resource was configured by higher signaling. The UE may be configured to a PUCCH transmission situation # 0, 2360 based on a PUCCH resource #0, a PUCCH transmission situation # 1, 2365 based on a PUCCH resource #1, and a PUCCH transmission situation #2 based on a PUCCH resource # 2, 2370, Col. 67 [0055-0060]. The terminal determine the repeated PUCCH-Tx Col. 62 [0066], start PRB or frequency hopping information in the PUCCH resource Col. 63 [0020] and Table 18.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Cirik and Rastegardoost to include with that of Jang to come up with the claim invention,
Cirik motive to determine the UL-Tx that is PUCCH includes UL-resource to a spatial domain transmission filter based on a TCI state in Fig. 24, receive one/more configuration parameters, a plurality of PUCCH resource sets. the UE may select one of the plurality of PUCCH resource sets based on the UCI-payload. Selects the first/second PUCCH [0199]. Determine/select TCI for the UL-Tx PUCCH of the plurality of the UL-resources [0411-0412]. Discloses the motive to provide configuration parameters as frequency hopping [0155]. That is complemented by Jang to use frequency hopping for the PUCCH resource set pairs in Fig. 23B. This would increase reliability and throughput, Jang, Col. 56 [0040].
Regarding Claim 50,
‘The apparatus of claim 49’ (disclosed above),
Jang discloses, ‘wherein: the first pair is transmitted in a first slot or sub-slot;
the second pair is transmitted in a second slot or sub-slot different from the first slot or sub-slot’ (slot-frequency-hopping to the PUCCH, Col. 64 [0030-0034]);
Jang discloses, ‘the frequency gap value is applied both between the first frequency-domain resource allocation and the second frequency-domain resource allocation and between the third frequency-domain resource allocation and the fourth frequency-domain resource allocation; and the third and fourth frequency-domain resource allocations differ, as a result of the frequency hopping, from the first and second frequency-domain resource allocations, respectively.’ (In Table 20 includes the PUCCH-resource-identifier, Col. 29 [0053]. And Table 21 includes the offset, Col. 30 [0035]. Motive would be identical disclosed above in Claim 49.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive.
Arguments and Examiners response
With respect to applicant’s arguments/remarks, examiner responses are,
Regarding the applicant remarks page-, ‘Claims 1-20 and 22-40 have been canceled. Claims 21 and 41-50 are pending. New Claims 41-50 have been added. No new matter has been added”. Examiner respectfully request to provide specification to support the amended Claim 21, and new claim added 41-50.
Regarding the applicant remarks page-7, “Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. & 103”, “Rather, Claim 21 recites an integrated arrangement in which a UE:
“receives DCI comprising a PUCCH resource indicator and indicating a UCI payload;” And, “selects, based on the PUCCH resource indicator and the UCI payload, a PUCCH…”, examiner respectfully provides relevant disclosures,
Cirik disclosure, the wireless device receive DCI comprises PUSCH, PUCCH, TB [0318]. The BS transmit the DCIs includes DCI-format (e.g., DCI [0191]. The PUCCH-resource-indicator in the DCI [0200]. In Fig. 10B illustrates UCI relates to DL-component carriers and to the PUCCH [0131]. The UE determine the PUCCH based on a size-of-UCI (e.g., no-of-UL-symbols, UCI-bits) in the PUCCH -resource [0198-0199]. Remaining features of Claim 1 disclosed above to this OA page-11 to page-20.
Regarding the applicant remarks page-7, “No combination of Cirik and Hwang describes or suggest each and every feature recited in independent Claim 21. ”
Examiner intent and effort to present a viable combination of prior art that discloses the claim subject matter and the amended claims. Presented Cirik et al, (US-20230180242-A1) uses similar tech field previously Cirik (US-11363627-B2), Rastegardoost et. al. (US-20240032103-A1) and Jang et. al. (US-12356212-B2). Therefore, the arguments not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant remarks page-8 first paragraph, “same UCI across two simultaneously transmitted PUCCH repetitions”, disclosure of Cirik “the UE may transmit using one of the plurality of PUCCH resources in the PUCCH resource set in the UCI.” Select the first/second PUCCH resource [0199]. Receives the one or more configuration parameters may indicate a number of repetitions (e.g., NPUCCH repeat, by a higher layer parameter nr-of-Slots). In FIG. 17 -FIG. 22 , the number of repetitions is equal to four (e.g., nr-of-Slots=4). And, in Fig. 23, the UL-resource in the transmission-occasion. The Cirik discloses the simultaneous transmission-PUCCH-repetition and the argument not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant remarks page-8, last paragraph, “a PUCCH resource that is RRC-associated with: first and second spatial relation information; frequency-domain multiplexing information defining a frequency-gap value; an indication that a multi-TRP FDM PUCCH repetition scheme is to be used”, disclosure Cirik include, to receive RRC-configuration for the plurality of resource-sets. And, PUCCH based on the UCI (number of symbols) received as OFDM symbols [0198]. Regarding the frequency-gap/offset disclosed by Rastegardoost in Fig. 17. And, the wireless device determine a first/second spatial domain transmission filter of the plurality of spatial domain transmission filters based on a first/second TCI state (e.g., TCI-state) of the at least two TCI states [0345-0347, 0377] and in Fig. 24. Therefore, applicant’s argument not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant remarks page-9 second paragraph, “common frequency-domain resource allocation from which two equal-sized PUCCH allocations”, disclosure Cirik includes in Fig. 5 illustrates a logical channel can be defined as common logical-channel and the common control channel [0075-0078]. And, in Fig. 10B illustrates UCI to the PUCCHs [0131]. The UE determine the PUCCH based on the size of the UCI [0198-0199].
Regarding the applicant remarks page-9, second paragraph “one PUCCH repetition as a reference repetition, the first repetition's allocation as the allocation of an indicated PUCCH resource; a second allocation having the same number of PRBs as the first allocation; an absolute PRB gap between the upper bound of the first allocation and the lower bound of the second allocation; or calculation of the starting PRB of the second allocation from the first allocation and the gap value.” Relevant disclosure to this OA to Claim 1 disclosed above page-11 to page-20. The frequency offset includes absolute number [0246] in Fig. 17. The calculation of start-PRB in Fig. 28 [0357, 0366].
Examiner thanks applicant and attorney for their time and effort.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
Bergström et al. (US-20230388971-A1), “Prach partitioning for feature signaling”. Disclosure, PRACH partitioning in the time/frequency domain [0101] includes RO, preamble partitioning [0011, 022] in Fig. 4 and common resource-pool in the RO [0047] that is disclosed by Rastegardoost in Fig. 28 in an initial-BWP. And, RACH-config-common-IE time-frequency resource [0009, 0022].
ETSI TS 138 331 V16.5.0 (2021-09); 5G; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification (3GPP TS 38.331 version 16.6.0 Release 16); NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification; BWP-Uplink-common, page 368-369; page-523 to 526; IE for PUCCH-configuration includes, PUCCH-resource-set, IE-Uplink-Config-Common, frequency-UL, initial-UL-bwp , absolute frequency UL-freq-config specific carrier page-661 t0 662;
R1-1902614; Performance Evaluation of Multi-TRP Schemes; 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting 96; Athens, Greece, Feb. 25-Mar. 1, 2019; Source: Interdigital Inc.; Title: Performance Evaluation of Multi-TRP Schemes; Agenda Item:7.2.8.2. (Year: 2019); In Fig. 7 illustrates a common resource set for a TRP1 and a TRP2. Disclosure, transmission scheme for data-transmission/payload: SDM, TDM and FDM. Multiple repetitions are sent within the same slot on different TRPs. For example, with two repetitions, OFDM symbols 1:N1 are occupied by TRP1 and OFDM symbols N1+1:N2 are occupied by TRP2 where N2 is no greater than the number of OFDM symbols in a slot.
Huang et al. (US20210360685A1) “Method and apparatus for transport block generation with ul spatial multiplexing in a wireless communication system”; the UE to perform UL transmission with a single TB (e.g., only one TB) [0160].
Yuki et al. (US20220279507A1) “Terminal and radio communication method”; Common PUCCH resource UCI allocated to common PUCCH resource in Fig. 5 and Fig. 6.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in
this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A
shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS
from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO
MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed
until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened
statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension
fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory
action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX
MONTHS from the date of this final action.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466