DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 05/13/2024. The preliminary amendment submitted on 05/13/2024 is acknowledged. Claims 1-15 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwahara (US PGPUB No. 2020/0211880) in view of Yamaguchi et al (US PGPUB No. 2016/0099156) and in further view of Kyoshima (US PGPUB No. 2022/023997), hereinafter referred to as Kuwahara, Yamaguchi, and Kyoshima, respectively.
Regarding claim 1 (Original), Kuwahara discloses a substrate treating apparatus [Kuwahara, fig 1, 1], comprising:
an indexer block [Kuwahara, fig 1, 2] which is provided with a carrier platform configured to place thereon a carrier that accommodates a substrate and in which the substrate is loaded and unloaded to and from the carrier placed on the carrier platform [Kuwahara, fig 1, TM1, TM2 and page 5, pp 0057];
a treating block in which predetermined treatment is performed on the substrate [Kuwahara, figs 1-2, including items 3, 4, 5, and 161 and 162, and page 5, pp 0051]; and
an interface block in which the substrate is loaded and unloaded to and from an external exposure device [Kuwahara, fig 2, TM8 and page 5, pp 0050],
the indexer block, the treating block, and the interface block being arranged horizontally and linearly in this order [Kuwahara, fig 2, items 2, 3, 4, 5, 161/162 and TM8 are arranged horizontally and linearly and are in that order],
the treating block [Kuwahara, fig 2, items 3, 4, 5, and 161/162] including a coating block [Kuwahara, fig 2, 3] and a polishing block [Kuwahara, fig 2, 161/162] that are arranged horizontally and linearly [Kuwahara, fig 2, 3 and 161/162 are arranged horizontally and linearly],
the coating block [Kuwahara, fig 2, 3] including a coating unit configured to coat a front face of the substrate with a resist [Kuwahara, page 6, pp 0069],
the polishing block [Kuwahara, fig 2, 161/162] including a polishing unit [Kuwahara, fig 2, at least one of 161 or 162] configured to polish a back face of the substrate [Kuwahara, page 7, pp 0087], and the polishing unit including:
a holding rotator configured to rotate the substrate while holding the substrate in a horizontal posture [Kuwahara, page 7, pp 00087, holding rotation portion]; and
a polisher configured to polish the back face of the substrate in a chemo-mechanical grinding manner by contacting against the back face of the substrate [Kuwahara, page 7, pp 0087].
Kuwahara does not explicitly disclose the polishing unit including: a heating member configured to heat the substrate; and the polisher having a resin body where abrasive grains are distributed and configured to polish the back face of the substrate in a chemo-mechanical grinding manner by contacting against the back face of the substrate that is rotated while being heated (emphasis added).
Regarding the heating member and chemo-mechanical grinding of rotating and heating, Yamaguchi teaches a substrate treating apparatus, comprising: a polishing block including a polishing unit configured to polish a back face of the substrate [Yamaguchi, fig 18, 2-300A], and the polishing unit including:
a holding rotator configured to rotate the substrate while holding the substrate in a horizontal posture [Yamaguchi, fig 18, 2-400 and page 20, pp 0272];
a heating member configured to heat the substrate [Yamaguchi, fig 18, and page 22, pp’s 0288-0289, 2-410 and 2-900]; and
a polisher [Yamaguchi, fig 18, 2-502 and page 9, pp 0152] configured to polish the back face of the substrate in a chemo-mechanical grinding manner by contacting against the back face of the substrate that is rotated while being heated [Yamaguchi, page 20, pp 0272 and teaching that 4-400 is rotated, and page 22, pp’s 0288-0289 teaching that the temperature during buffing is controlled, meaning that heating of the substrate happens at least a portion of the time].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the heating member and controller within the rotator and to chemo-mechanical grind the wafer while rotating and as taught by Yamaguchi to be within the holding rotator of Kuwahara because by controlling the temperature of the substrate (W) within the holding rotator, the buffing process can be performed more efficiently by maintaining the temperature of the substrate to the temperature appropriate for the slurry to be used, which allows for more efficient removal of the substrate surface layer [Yamaguchi, pages 22-23, pp’s 0295-0296, summarized].
Regarding the polisher having a resin body and where abrasive grains are distributed, Kyoshima teaches a polishing unit configured to polish a back face of the substrate [Kyoshima, fig 1], and the polishing unit including:
a holding rotator configured to rotate the substrate while holding the substrate in a horizontal posture [Kyoshima, fig 1, 20]; and
a polisher [Kyoshima, fig 1, 100] having a resin body [Kyoshima, fig 3, 103] where abrasive grains [Kyoshima, fig 3, 101] are distributed [Kyoshima, fig 4 and page 2, pp 0021, abrasive grains 101 and resin binder form base material M] configured to polish the back face of the substrate in a chemo-mechanical grinding manner by contacting against the back face of the substrate that is rotated [Kyoshima, fig 1, showing that W held on 20 by 23 is rotated while 100 is rotated by 40 and page 1, pp 0006].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polisher including the resin binder with abrasive particles of Kyoshima as the polisher of Kuwahara because having this configuration of polisher helps to prevent burning as scratching of the surface of the wafer due to frictional heat between the polisher and the surface of the wafer [Kyoshima, page 2, pp 0029, summarized].
Regarding claims 2 (Original) and 3 (Original), Kuwahara as modified further discloses the substrate treating apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a controller [Yamaguchi, fig 21, 2-900 and page 7, pp 0123, 5], wherein the controller adjusts a polishing rate by controlling a heating temperature of the substrate with the heating member when polishing is performed [Yamaguchi, page 20, pp 0276] (clm 2); and
wherein the controller adjusts the polishing rate by also controlling at least one selected from a contact pressure of the polisher against the substrate, a moving speed of the polisher, a rotation speed of the polisher, and a rotation speed of the substrate [Yamaguchi, page 30, pp 0377-0378 teaching that 5 also controls polishing pressure in the buff process] (clm3).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), Kuwahara as modified further discloses the substrate treating apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the heating member is a second heater for heating the polisher [Yamaguchi, fig 18, 2-400 is second to 2-710 which also regulates temperature].
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), Kuwahara as modified further discloses the substrate treating apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the heating member is a heated water supply nozzle for supplying heated water to the back face of the substrate [Yamaguchi, fig 18, 2-400 and 2-710 are fluid supply to regulate temperature].
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), Kuwahara as modified further discloses the substrate treating apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the treating block further includes a developing block [Kuwahara, page 5, pp 0050, 5] in which developing treatment is performed on the substrate subjected to exposure treatment by the exposure device [Kuwahara, page 3, pp 0018], and the coating block, the polishing block, and the developing block are arranged horizontally and linearly [Kuwahara, fig 2, item 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 are arranged horizontally and linearly].
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Kuwahara discloses a substrate treating apparatus [Kuwahara, fig 1, 1], comprising:
an indexer block [Kuwahara, fig 1, 2] which is provided with a carrier platform configured to place thereon a carrier that accommodates a substrate and in which the substrate is loaded and unloaded to and from the carrier placed on the carrier platform [Kuwahara, fig 1, TM1, TM2 and page 5, pp 0057];
a treating block in which predetermined treatment is performed on the substrate [Kuwahara, figs 1-2, 3, and page 5, pp 0051]; and
an interface block in which the substrate is loaded and unloaded to and from an external exposure device [Kuwahara, fig 2, 6 and page 5, pp 0050],
the indexer block, the treating block, and the interface block being arranged horizontally and linearly in this order [Kuwahara, fig 2, items 2, 3, 6 are arranged horizontally and linearly and are in that order],
the treating block [Kuwahara, fig 2, 3] including a coating unit configured to coat a front face of the substrate with a resist [Kuwahara, page 6, pp 0069],
the interface block [Kuwahara, fig 2, 6] including a polishing unit [Kuwahara, fig 2, at least one of 161 or 162] configured to polish a back face of the substrate [Kuwahara, page 7, pp 0087] coated with the resist by the coating unit [Kuwahara, fig 2, 161 or 162 polish the substrate after being through 3], and the polishing unit including:
a holding rotator configured to rotate the substrate while holding the substrate in a horizontal posture [Kuwahara, page 7, pp 00087, holding rotation portion]; and
a polisher configured to polish the back face of the substrate in a chemo-mechanical grinding manner by contacting against the back face of the substrate [Kuwahara, page 7, pp 0087].
Kuwahara does not explicitly disclose the polishing unit including: a heating member configured to heat the substrate; and the polisher having a resin body where abrasive grains are distributed and configured to polish the back face of the substrate in a chemo-mechanical grinding manner by contacting against the back face of the substrate that is rotated while being heated (emphasis added).
Regarding the heating member and chemo-mechanical grinding of rotating and heating, Yamaguchi teaches a substrate treating apparatus, comprising: a polishing block including a polishing unit configured to polish a back face of the substrate [Yamaguchi, fig 18, 2-300A], and the polishing unit including:
a holding rotator configured to rotate the substrate while holding the substrate in a horizontal posture [Yamaguchi, fig 18, 2-400 and page 20, pp 0272];
a heating member configured to heat the substrate [Yamaguchi, fig 18, and page 22, pp’s 0288-0289, 2-410 and 2-900]; and
a polisher [Yamaguchi, fig 18, 2-502 and page 9, pp 0152] configured to polish the back face of the substrate in a chemo-mechanical grinding manner by contacting against the back face of the substrate that is rotated while being heated [Yamaguchi, page 20, pp 0272 and teaching that 4-400 is rotated, and page 22, pp’s 0288-0289 teaching that the temperature during buffing is controlled, meaning that heating of the substrate happens at least a portion of the time].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the heating member and controller within the rotator and to chemo-mechanical grind the wafer while rotating and as taught by Yamaguchi to be within the holding rotator of Kuwahara because by controlling the temperature of the substrate (W) within the holding rotator, the buffing process can be performed more efficiently by maintaining the temperature of the substrate to the temperature appropriate for the slurry to be used, which allows for more efficient removal of the substrate surface layer [Yamaguchi, pages 22-23, pp’s 0295-0296, summarized].
Regarding the polisher having a resin body and where abrasive grains are distributed, Kyoshima teaches a polishing unit configured to polish a back face of the substrate [Kyoshima, fig 1], and the polishing unit including:
a holding rotator configured to rotate the substrate while holding the substrate in a horizontal posture [Kyoshima, fig 1, 20]; and
a polisher [Kyoshima, fig 1, 100] having a resin body [Kyoshima, fig 3, 103] where abrasive grains [Kyoshima, fig 3, 101] are distributed [Kyoshima, fig 4 and page 2, pp 0021, abrasive grains 101 and resin binder form base material M] configured to polish the back face of the substrate in a chemo-mechanical grinding manner by contacting against the back face of the substrate that is rotated [Kyoshima, fig 1, showing that W held on 20 by 23 is rotated while 100 is rotated by 40 and page 1, pp 0006].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polisher including the resin binder with abrasive particles of Kyoshima as the polisher of Kuwahara because having this configuration of polisher helps to prevent burning as scratching of the surface of the wafer due to frictional heat between the polisher and the surface of the wafer [Kyoshima, page 2, pp 0029, summarized].
Regarding claim 10 (Original), Kuwahara as modified further discloses the substrate treating apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the treating block includes a coating block and a developing block, the coating block includes the coating unit, the developing block includes a developing unit configured to perform developing treatment on the substrate subjected to exposure treatment by the exposure device, and the developing block is arranged between the coating block and the interface block.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-15 are allowed.
Claims 4-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 4-5, Yamaguchi et al (US PGPUB No. 2016/0099156) teaches the holding rotator [Yamaguchi, fig 21, 2-400] includes a spin base that is rotatable around a rotary axis extending in an up-down direction [Yamaguchi, fig 21, the portion that supports 2-400], and three or more holding pins that are provided on a top face of the spin base [Yamaguchi, fig 21, 2-402 can be broadly interpreted to be holding pins].
However, the prior art considered as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious “three or more holding pins that are provided on a top face of the spin base so as to surround the rotary axis in a ring shape, and configured to hold the substrate by sandwiching a side face of the substrate so that the substrate is held apart from the top face of the spin base” together in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim and in the independent claim.
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Kuwahara (US PGPUB No. 2020/0211880) discloses a substrate treating apparatus [Kuwahara, fig 1, 1], comprising: an indexer block [Kuwahara, fig 1, 2] which is provided with a carrier platform configured to place thereon a carrier that accommodates a substrate and in which the substrate is loaded and unloaded to and from the carrier placed on the carrier platform [Kuwahara, fig 1, TM1, TM2 and page 5, pp 0057]; a treating block in which predetermined treatment is performed on the substrate [Kuwahara, figs 1-2, including items 3, 4, 5, and 161 and 162, and page 5, pp 0051]; and an interface block in which the substrate is loaded and unloaded to and from an external exposure device [Kuwahara, fig 2, TM8 and page 5, pp 0050], the indexer block, the treating block, and the interface block being arranged horizontally and linearly in this order [Kuwahara, fig 2, items 2, 3, 4, 5, 161/162 and TM8 are arranged horizontally and linearly and are in that order].
Kuwahara et al (US PGPUB No. 2020/0211882) teaches a substrate treating apparatus in an upward/downward direction [Kuwahara, abstract]. However Kuwahara fails to teach the treating block has the coating layer and polishing layer laminated as required by the claim.
The prior art considered as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious “the treating block includes a coating layer and a polishing layer laminated in an up-down direction” together in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim and in the independent claim.
Claims 12-13 are allowed as being dependent on claim 11.
Regarding claim 14 (Original), Murachi et al (US PGPUB No. 2020/0230778) discloses a substrate treating apparatus [Murachi, fig 19, 100], comprising: a first treating block provided [Murachi, fig 19, 12]; an indexer block [Murachi, fig 19, 11] which is provided with a carrier platform configured to place thereon a carrier that accommodates a substrate and in which the substrate is loaded and unloaded to and from the carrier placed on the carrier platform [Murachi, page , pp ]; a second treating block [Murachi, fig 19, 13]; and an interface block which is coupled to the first treating block or the second treating block horizontally and in which the substrate is loaded and unloaded to and from an external exposure device [Murachi, fig 19, 14].
The prior art considered as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious “a first treating block provided with a polishing unit configured to polish a back face of a substrate” … “a second treating block provided with a coating unit configured to coat a front face of the substrate with a resist” … “the first treating block, the indexer block, and the second treating block being arranged horizontally and linearly in this order” together in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim and in the independent claim.
Claim 15 is allowed as being dependent on claim 14.
Conclusion
/ROBERT F NEIBAUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723