DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 07/07/2026.
Claims 1-2, 4 and 17-18 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
This Office Action is made Final. Applicant amended independent claim 1 to incorporate limitations previously recited in claims 4 and 6, including a predicted traffic-load condition involving a configurable threshold and configurable time period, and prediction of the traffic load by a data-driven AI algorithm. Applicant also amended corresponding independent claim 17 and amended claim 18 to recite that the first message is generated by a first RAN node configured to make the AI-based predicted-load determination.
The revised rejections are necessitated by these amendments. The limitations added to claim were previously presented in, and rejected through, claims 4 and 6. The prior-art references relied upon herein were previously of record and applied in the prior Office Action. Accordingly, finality is proper under MPEP 706.07(a).
The Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/07/2026 have been fully considered but are unpersuasive. Applicant asserts that Sun and Li do not teach or suggest predicting traffic load using a data-driven AI algorithm. However, Sun teaches predicting future AP load based on historical AP traffic/load information. Sun explains that load prediction analyzes “a usage rule of each AP based on historical load” and predicts load in a future time period. Sun further teaches that the prediction algorithm may include “a gradient boosting decision tree (GBDT) algorithm” and “a long short-term memory (LSTM) algorithm” See [0063, 0068, 0079 and 0083-0087]. Li teaches that when system load is not high or user service can be handled by fewer carriers, the system initiates a power-saving process and turns off at least one carrier.
Therefore, the Applicant’s arguments overall are deemed unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2021/0051677, “Sun”) in view of Li (US 2012/0039238).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Sun unless otherwise mentioned.
Sun comprises the following features:
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, a method at a first Radio Access Network (RAN) node for managing power consumption of a second RAN node, the method comprising:
determining whether one or more first conditions related to a traffic load of the second RAN node are fulfilled or not ([0107 and Fig. 4] “402: For the any AP in the plurality of APs, predict, based on the radio frequency information of the any AP, load of the any AP in target duration after a current moment.”, and [0111] “when the speed>the threshold, a value of I is a first value, when the speed≤the threshold, the value of I is a second value, and if the first value is greater than the second value, a larger count indicates larger load, or if the first value is less than the second value, a larger count indicates smaller load.”),
wherein the one or more first conditions comprise at least whether a predicted traffic load will be lower than a configurable threshold ([0063] “2. Predict load: predict load in a future time period (that is, in a target duration after a current moment) based on a historical usage status of each AP.”, [0068] “2. Predict load: Load prediction is used to analyze a usage rule of each AP based on historical load of each AP (for example, data in several weeks or several months), and predict load of each AP in a future time period (for example, in a target duration after a current moment).”, [0070] “The first historical load indicator of the any AP is used to indicate a quantity of traffic rates of the any AP that are in a data collection period and that exceed a reference threshold.”, [0075] “a value of threshold can be adjusted according to a method of obtaining the speed.”) for a configurable time period ([0070] “The target duration is not limited in this embodiment of this application, and may be set based on experience or an application scenario, or may be appropriately adjusted based on an allocation status.”), where the predicted traffic load is predicted by a data-driven AI algorithm ([0079] “the prediction algorithm may include algorithms such as a gradient boosting decision tree (GBDT) algorithm and a long short-term memory (LSTM) algorithm.”); and
transmitting, to the second RAN node, a first message for requesting the second RAN node to operate in a first state with less frequency resource than that previously configured for the second RAN node in response to determining that the one or more first conditions are fulfilled ([0063 and Fig. 2] “3. Sort APs based on the predicted load: rank atop an AP with high load. 4. Allocate a frequency bandwidth: allocate a frequency bandwidth to each AP, for example, the frequency bandwidth is calculated based on the load of each AP. 5. Allocate a channel: based on an AP sequence and the allocated frequency bandwidth, optimize possible combinations of all APs… Deliver a configuration to an AC, and the AC delivers the configuration to each AP.” Note that a state with less frequency resource will be discussed in view of Li.).
It is noted that while disclosing re-allocating frequency resources, Sun does not specifically teach about a state with less frequency resource. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Li as follows;
a state with less frequency resource ([Li, 0024 and Fig. 1] “Step 1020: Turn off at least one frequency bandwidth unit of a wireless communication system according to a predetermined condition for a serving area”).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to use Sun’s adjustable target-duration and adjustable load-threshold framework to determine whether an AP’s predicted future load is sufficiently low to invoke Li’s carrier[reduction power-saving operation. The combination would allow the network to make a forward-looking, tunable decision to reduce active frequency resources before low demand occurs, while retaining the predictable benefit identified by Li – reduced power consumption when fewer carriers are needed.
Regarding claim 17, it is a first RAN claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except the limitations, “a processor; a memory storing instructions which, when executed by the processor” (See Fig. 7 and [0150] “The memory 1030 is configured to store a computer operation instruction, and may be specifically a high-speed random access memory (RAM), or may be a non-volatile memory. The processor 1010 may specifically execute the computer operation instruction stored in the memory 1030”), and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 7, the method of claim 1,wherein the first message indicates at least one of:
- a reduced carrier bandwidth (aforesaid [0063 and Fig. 2]);
- a duration for the reduced carrier bandwidth;
- a reduced PRB usage; and
- a duration for the reduced PRB usage (These alternatives are not examined.).
Claim(s) 2 and 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2021/0051677, “Sun”) in view of Li (US 2012/0039238) and further in view of Zhao (US 2011/0244867).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Sun unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 2, it is noted that while disclosing re-allocating frequency resources, Sun does not specifically teach about a second message. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Zhao as follows;
the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining whether one or more second conditions related to the second RAN node are fulfilled or not; and transmitting, to the second RAN node, a second message for requesting the second RAN node to operate in a second state with the previously configured frequency resource in response to determining that the one or more second conditions are fulfilled ([Zhao, 0109 and Fig. 2] “when the RNC determines that the condition of waking up the cell is meet, the RNC sends an indication of waking up a cell immediately by an extended CELL RECONFIGURATION REQUEST message to instruct the NodeB to wake up the cell immediately”, and [Zhao, 0076] “the NodeB reopens carriers, and recovers working state value of the pilot channel power of the carriers of the cell, namely, the carriers resume working”), or
further comprising: determining whether one or more third conditions related to the second RAN node are fulfilled or not; and transmitting, to the second RAN node, a third message for requesting the second RAN node to operate in a third state with a newly configured frequency resource in response to determining that the one or more third conditions are fulfilled (This alternative is not examined.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Sun by using the features of Zhao in order to conserve energy when less activities occur such that “a method and a system for implementing energy saving control at a NodeB” [Zhao, 0004].
Regarding claim 5, the method of claim 2,
wherein the one or more second conditions and/or the one or more third conditions comprise at least one of:
- whether a current PRB load is higher than a configurable threshold (This alternative is not examined.); and
- whether a predicted traffic load will not be lower than a configurable threshold for a configurable time period ([0111] “if the first value is greater than the second value, a larger count indicates larger load”).
Claim(s) 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2021/0051677, “Sun”) in view of Li (US 2012/0039238) and Zhao (US 2011/0244867), and further in view of Pu et al. (US 10,993,117, “Pu”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Sun unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 11, it is noted that while disclosing re-allocating frequency resources, Sun does not specifically teach about a carrier bandwidth. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Pu as follows;
the method of claim 2, wherein the third message indicates at least one of:
- a carrier bandwidth configured for the second RAN node ([Pu, claim 10] “the dedicated control resource set includes a channel re-selection DCI defining a change from the bandwidth to a further bandwidth, wherein the at least one parameter further comprises a load condition of the bandwidth and a load condition of the further bandwidth.”); and
- a number of PRBs configured for the second RAN node (This alternative is not examined.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Sun by using the features of Pu in order to effectively utilize resources such that “the eNB generates a control indicator defining the change in availability of the bandwidth” [Pu, Abstract].
Claim(s) 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2021/0051677, “Sun”) in view of Li (US 2012/0039238) and Zhao (US 2011/0244867), and further in view of Jeong et al. (US 2026/0046692, “Jeong”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Sun unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 12, it is noted that while disclosing re-allocating frequency resources, Sun does not specifically teach about an IQ message via eCPRI interface. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Jeong as follows;
the method of claim 2, wherein at least one of the first message, the second message, and the third message is one of:
- a Transmit Receive-Device Control Interface (TR-DCI) message that is transmitted via a Common Access Tier (CAT) interface;
- an In-phase Quadrature (IQ) control message that is transmitted via a Common IQ control path (IQC) interface (These alternatives are not examined.);
- an IQ control message that is transmitted via a Common Public Radio Interface (CPRI) or an evolved CPRI (eCPRI) interface ([Jeong, 0112] “The FHM 630 may combine IQ data corresponding the same radio resource element from a plurality of eCPRI messages for a UL U-plane of the Ethernet frames.”); and
- a message that is transmitted via open fronthaul interface - Management plane (M- Plane) or Control plane (C-Plane) (This alternative is not examined.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Sun by using the features of Pu in order to meet increased demand for wireless data traffic such that “a method of transmitting Uplink (UL) data in a wireless communication system by fragmenting the UL data into a plurality of packets, thereby reducing a time delay of UL combining.” [Jeong, 0007].
Claim(s) 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2021/0051677, “Sun”) in view of Li (US 2012/0039238) and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0407664, “Wang”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Sun unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 4, it is noted that while disclosing re-allocating frequency resources, Sun does not specifically teach about PRB load. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Wang as follows;
the method of any of claim 1,wherein
the one or more first conditions comprise at least one of:
- whether a current Physical Resource Block (PRB) load is lower than a configurable threshold ([Wang, 0031] “Through the observation of cell loads (Physical Resource Block, PRB, usage), AI can be used to dynamically power down cells when the load is low, to save energy”, and [Wang, 0074] “At step 201, a determination is made if the load on the cell A is lower than a predefined threshold (e.g. 10%).”).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to use that known current-PRB-load, configurable threshold criterion as an additional low-load trigger in the Sun-Li power saving process. Sun already performs load-based radio-frequency resource allocation, and Li teaches reducing active carrier resources under low-load conditions to conserve energy. Applying the know PRB-utilization threshold would provide a direct current-load test for determining when to reduce frequency resources, with the predictable results of conserving energy when currently used radio resources are below the selected threshold.
Claim(s) 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2021/0051677, “Sun”) in view of Li (US 2012/0039238) and Wang et al. (US 2022/0407664, “Wang”), and further in view of Das (US 2019/0364433).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Sun unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 6, it is noted that while disclosing re-allocating frequency resources, Sun does not specifically teach about a machine learning. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Das as follows;
the method of claim 4, wherein the predicted traffic load is predicted by a data-driven Artificial Intelligence (AI) algorithm ([Das, 0036] “the decision model 300 may be generated and carried out by the machine learning prediction algorithm 107, as shown in FIG. 1”, and [Das, 0045] “operational history of the AP 409, load history of the AP 409, resource usage of the AP 409”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Sun by using the features of Das in order to dynamically allocate frequency resources such that “a machine-learning-based algorithm (“ML algorithm”) may receive and analyze data associated with one or more access points (AP) or other network nodes to predict whether the AP or other node will be requesting spectrum” [Das, 0008].
Claim(s) 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2021/0051677, “Sun”) in view of Li (US 2012/0039238), Wang et al. (US 2022/0407664, “Wang”) and Das (US 2019/0364433), and further in view of Hong et al. (US 10,291,352).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Sun unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 8, it is noted that while disclosing re-allocating frequency resources, Sun does not specifically teach about a ratio of RBs. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Hong as follows;
the method of claim 6, wherein a reduced carrier bandwidth and/or a reduced PRB usage is indicated by a ratio of a previously configured carrier bandwidth and/or a ratio of a previously configured number of PRBs, respectively ([Hong, claim 2] “acquire previous resource block (RB) allocation information of the dominant interference cell through a backhaul, select an RE group for retransmission based on a reliability level for each group detected in the receiving apparatus and the previous RB allocation information, if a number of the RE groups for retransmission is less than or equal to a threshold value, regenerate an RE group for retransmission, perform an RE group-based interleaving operation on a retransmission signal to generate a final retransmission signal, and transmit the final retransmission signal and an RE group index to the receiving apparatus, wherein the RE grouping-based scheme is a reception scheme that considers RE grouping, the RE group index is an RE group index indicating an RE group through that the retransmission signal is to be transmitted, and the reliability level for each RE group is detected based on a log-likelihood ratio (LLR) per bit that corresponds to each RE group”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Sun by using the features of Hong in order to support higher data rates beyond 4G such that “A method for transmitting a signal in transmitting apparatus in a wireless communication system supporting a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) scheme is provided.” [Hong, Abstract].
Claim(s) 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2021/0051677, “Sun”) in view of Li (US 2012/0039238), Wang et al. (US 2022/0407664, “Wang”) and Das (US 2019/0364433), and further in view of Bidkar et al. (US 2021/0136790, “Bidkar”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Sun unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 9, it is noted that while disclosing re-allocating frequency resources, Sun does not specifically teach about scheduling transmission. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Bidkar as follows;
the method of claim 6,wherein the first message is a message scheduling transmission from/to the second RAN node with a reduced number of PRBs and/or with a reduced carrier bandwidth ([Bidkar, 0049] “Referring to FIG. 4, time flows from top to bottom with the TN scheduler 333 transmitting, via the CTI interface 329 to the radio scheduler 326 during the configuration phase, data rate limits for use in scheduling the initial uplink and downlink loads to be transmitted through the transport network 330, and the radio scheduler 326 transmitting”, and [Bidkar, 0047] “The radio scheduler 326 updates its parameters and implements a radio scheduler strategy that can consider load conditions and transport bandwidth availability for real-time scheduling decisions.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Sun by using the features of Bidkar in order to effectively utilize resources such that “radio medium access control (MAC) scheduling in central radio access networks (C-RAN).” [Bidkar, 0001].
Claim(s) 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2021/0051677, “Sun”) in view of Li (US 2012/0039238), Wang et al. (US 2022/0407664, “Wang”), Das (US 2019/0364433) and Bidkar et al. (US 2021/0136790, “Bidkar”), and further in view of Kim (US 2018/0241514).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Sun unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 10, it is noted that while disclosing re-allocating frequency resources, Sun does not specifically teach about con. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Kim as follows;
the method of any of claim 9, wherein the reduced number of PRBs and/or reduced carrier bandwidth are achieved by allocating a reduced number of continuous or discontinuous frequency resources ([Kim, 0107] “The RAN node is also operative to, depending on the traffic load of the cell 4, dynamically allocate, contiguously inwards, PRB pairs 30 to SRs 32 in the outer regions 22 in the plurality of subframes 40 in accordance with the PUCCH layout. The RAN node is also operative to contiguously extend the inner region 21 as allowed by the dynamic allocation of PRB pairs in the outer regions 22 in each of the plurality of subframes.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Sun by using the features of Kim in order to support effectively utilize resources such that “to provide a more efficient resource utilization for reducing the number of unused PRB pairs” [Kim, 0007].
Claim(s) 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2021/0051677, “Sun”) in view of Li (US 2012/0039238) and further in view of Jeon et al. (US 2021/0120531, “Jeon”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Sun unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 13, it is noted that while disclosing re-allocating frequency resources, Sun does not specifically teach about a DU and a RU. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Jeon as follows;
the method of any of claim 1,
wherein the first RAN node is a Digital Unit (DU), and the second RAN node is a Radio Unit (RU) (See [Jeon, Fig. 5]);or
wherein the first RAN node is a cloud RAN Central Unit (CU), and the second RAN node is an RU; or wherein the first RAN node is a Baseband Unit (BBU), and the second RAN node is an RU; or wherein the first RAN node is an ORAN Distributed Unit (0-DU), and the second RAN node is an ORAN Radio Unit (0-RU) (These alternatives are not examined.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Sun by using the features of Jeon in order to meet increased demand for wireless data traffic such that “The method includes identifying a designated path among a plurality of paths of a fronthaul interface that connects the DU and an RU, generating a control message for a plurality of layers” [Jeon, 0013].
Claim(s) 18-19, 21 and 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2011/0244867) in view of Li (US 2012/0039238) and Sun et al. (US 2021/0051677, “Sun”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Sun unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 18, a method at a second RAN node for managing power consumption, the method (1400) comprising:
receiving (S1410), from a first RAN node, a first message for requesting the second RAN node to operate in a first state with less frequency resource that that previously configured for the second RAN node ([0107 and Fig. 2] “the RNC sends an indication of sleeping a cell friendly by an extended CELL RECONFIGURATION REQUEST message to instruct the NodeB to sleep a cell friendly”),
wherein the first message is generated by the first RAN node configured to determine whether one or more first conditions comprises at least whether a predicted traffic load will be lower than a configurable threshold for a configurable time period, the predicted traffic load being predicted by a data-driven AI algorithm (This will be discussed in view of Sun.); and
adjusting (S1420) at least one of device components of the second RAN node at least partially based on the first message, such that the second RAN node is operated in the first state ([0108 and Fig. 2] “Step 202, after receiving the extended CELL RECONFIGURATION REQUEST message, the NodeB gradually reduces the pilot channel power of carriers automatically. When the pilot channel power of carries is reduced to a certain value, the NodeB turns off carriers”).
It is noted that while disclosing adjusting device components, Zhao does not specifically teach about a state with less frequency resource and conditions. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Li and Sun, respectively as follows;
a first state with less frequency resource that that previously configured for the second RAN node ([Li, 0024 and Fig. 1] “Step 1020: Turn off at least one frequency bandwidth unit of a wireless communication system according to a predetermined condition for a serving area”);
the one or more first conditions comprise at least whether a predicted traffic load will be lower than a configurable threshold ([Sun, 0063] “2. Predict load: predict load in a future time period (that is, in a target duration after a current moment) based on a historical usage status of each AP.”, [0068] “2. Predict load: Load prediction is used to analyze a usage rule of each AP based on historical load of each AP (for example, data in several weeks or several months), and predict load of each AP in a future time period (for example, in a target duration after a current moment).”, [Sun, 0070] “The first historical load indicator of the any AP is used to indicate a quantity of traffic rates of the any AP that are in a data collection period and that exceed a reference threshold.”, [Sun, 0075] “a value of threshold can be adjusted according to a method of obtaining the speed.”) for a configurable time period ([Sun, 0070] “The target duration is not limited in this embodiment of this application, and may be set based on experience or an application scenario, or may be appropriately adjusted based on an allocation status.”), where the predicted traffic load is predicted by a data-driven AI algorithm ([Sun, 0079] “the prediction algorithm may include algorithms such as a gradient boosting decision tree (GBDT) algorithm and a long short-term memory (LSTM) algorithm.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to modify Zhao’s RNC determination of whether to transmit the energy-saving control indication by using Sun’s adjustable, historical-data-based future-load prediction rather than relaying only on time-period-based criteria. This medication would enable Zhao’s RNC to proactively cause the NodeB to enter the Li-style reduced-carrier state when future traffic demand is predicted to be low, yielding the predictable benefit of conserving energy while maintaining sufficient carrier capacity for expected traffic demand.
Regarding claim 19, the method of claim 18, further comprising:
receiving, from the first RAN node, a second message for requesting the second RAN node to operate in a second state with the previously configured frequency resource; and adjusting at least one of device components of the second RAN node at least partially based on the second message, such that the second RAN node is operated in the second state ([Zhao, 0109 and Fig. 2] “when the RNC determines that the condition of waking up the cell is meet, the RNC sends an indication of waking up a cell immediately by an extended CELL RECONFIGURATION REQUEST message to instruct the NodeB to wake up the cell immediately”, and [Zhao, 0076] “the NodeB reopens carriers, and recovers working state value of the pilot channel power of the carriers of the cell, namely, the carriers resume working”);
or further comprising: receiving, from the first RAN node, a third message for requesting the second RAN node to operate in a third state with a newly configured frequency resource; and adjusting at least one of device components of the second RAN node at least partially based on the third message, such that the second RAN node is operated in the third state (This alternative is not examined.).
Regarding claim 21, the method of claim 18, wherein the first message indicates at least one of:- a reduced carrier bandwidth ([Sun, 0063 and Fig. 2] “3. Sort APs based on the predicted load: rank atop an AP with high load. 4. Allocate a frequency bandwidth: allocate a frequency bandwidth to each AP, for example, the frequency bandwidth is calculated based on the load of each AP. 5. Allocate a channel: based on an AP sequence and the allocated frequency bandwidth, optimize possible combinations of all APs… Deliver a configuration to an AC, and the AC delivers the configuration to each AP.”;- a duration for the reduced carrier bandwidth;- a reduced PRB usage; and- a duration for the reduced PRB usage (These alternatives are not examined.).
Regarding claim 25, the method of claim 18,
wherein the step of adjusting at least one of device components of the second RAN node at least partially based on the first message comprises at least one of:
deactivating at least one of the device components (See aforesaid [0108 and Fig. 2]);
lowering a sampling rate of at least one filter; lowering operation drain voltage for at least one power amplifier; and lowering Crest Factor Reduction (CFR) threshold of radio unit accordingly (These alternatives are not examined.).
Claim(s) 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2011/0244867) in view of Li (US 2012/0039238) and Sun et al. (US 2021/0051677, “Sun”), and further in view of Pu et al. (US 10,993,117, “Pu”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Sun unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 23, it is noted that while disclosing re-allocating frequency resources, Sun does not specifically teach about a carrier bandwidth. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Pu as follows;
the method claim 19,wherein the third message indicates at least one of:- a carrier bandwidth configured for the second RAN node ([Pu, claim 10] “the dedicated control resource set includes a channel re-selection DCI defining a change from the bandwidth to a further bandwidth, wherein the at least one parameter further comprises a load condition of the bandwidth and a load condition of the further bandwidth.”); and- a number of PRBs configured for the second RAN node (This alternative is not examined.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Sun by using the features of Pu in order to effectively utilize resources such that “the eNB generates a control indicator defining the change in availability of the bandwidth” [Pu, Abstract].
Claim(s) 26 and 28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2011/0244867) in view of Li (US 2012/0039238) and Sun et al. (US 2021/0051677, “Sun”), and further in view of Kwun (US 2011/0170466).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Sun unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 26, it is noted that while disclosing re-allocating frequency resources, Sun does not specifically teach about a second message. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Zhao as follows;
the method of claim 19,
wherein the step of adjusting at least one of device components of the second RAN node at least partially based on the second message comprises at least one of:
scheduling transmission from/to the second RAN node with a previously configured number of PRBs; scheduling transmission from/to the second RAN node with a previously configured carrier bandwidth (These alternatives are not examined.);
activating at least one of the device components ([Kwun, 0093] “the macro eNodeB 400 transmits a temporary cell activation request for a temporary turn-on operation to HZ eNodeBs stored in a turn-off HZ list, that is, the first HZ eNodeB 410 and the second HZ eNodeB 420.”);
restoring at least one filter with a previously configured sampling rate;
restoring at least one power amplifier with a previously configured operation drain voltage; and restoring CFR threshold of radio unit accordingly (These alternatives are not examined.); and/or
wherein the step of adjusting at least one of device components of the second RAN node at least partially based on the third message comprises at least one of: scheduling transmission from/to the second RAN node with a newly configured number of PRBs; scheduling transmission from/to the second RAN node with a newly configured carrier bandwidth; activating at least one of the device components; operating at least one filter with a newly configured sampling rate; supplying at least one power amplifier with a newly configured operation drain voltage; and adjusting CFR threshold of radio unit accordingly (These alternatives are not examined.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Sun by using the features of Kwun in order to conserve energy when less activities occur such that “The method includes transmitting a cell activation request instructing to perform a turn-on operation to lower base stations in an energy saving mode” [Kwun, 0016].
Regarding claim 28, the method of claim 18,wherein the device components comprise at least one of:
- one or more Beamforming (BF) components; - one or more digital filters (These alternatives are not examined.);
- one or more TRX transceivers ([Kwun, 0049] “The turn-off operation represents an operation of stopping power supply to constituent units (e.g., transceiver for wireless communication)”); and
- one or more Pas (This alternative is not examined.).
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Kwun are the same as for claim 26.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARRY H KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411