DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claim 23 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Applicant shows the recombination center in a aperture region (surrounding the aperture applicant does not show the recombination center at or in the aperture as cclaimed. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 23 recitation of wherein the aperture is filled with material of the semiconductor region, and wherein at least some of the recombination centers are arranged at the aperture is unclear and confusing since it implies that the aperture contains both the semiconductor material and the recombination material thus not being an aperture (figure 4A depicts a aperture and the recombination centers at the edge of the aperture but the recombination centers are not at/in the aperture. It appears applicant means that the aperture is a region (item 31 figure 4B) where all of item 6 is label as the aperture. Thus the examiner will interpret claim 23 as wherein the active region has an aperture region comprising an aperture, wherein the aperture is filled with material of the semiconductor region, and wherein at least some of the recombination centers are arranged at the aperture region.
As to claim 24 it is unclear what the n-doped and p-doped region are related to applicant does not set forth the device comprise a n-doped and p-doped region thus it is unclear if they are to be pard of the device or external to the device.
As to claim 26, it is unclear if the recombination centers are at the aperture or “around the aperture.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23-24, and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Ishizawa (cited on ids “038”).
a. As to claim 23Ishizawa teaches A radiation-emitting semiconductor chip comprising: an active region of recombination centers designed for radiative recombination of charge carrier pairs (figure 1 items 34); and a semiconductor region surrounding the active region in a vertical direction (top part of item 40),wherein the active region has an aperture region comprising an aperture in the active region (region including a portion of item 34 and the 40 between two of the pillars 30a),wherein the aperture is filled with material of the semiconductor region (item 40), and wherein at least some of the recombination centers are arranged at the aperture region (the aperture region can be define to include 34a).
b. As to claim 24, Ishizawa teaches the device comprises an n-doped regions (item 32 paragraph 40) and a p-doped region (item 36 paragraph 44) wherein the semiconductor region is undoped ((aragraph 57) and adjoins the n-doped region and the p-doped region (figure 1 40 adjoins the regions)
c. As to claim 26, Ishizawa wherein the aperture is arranged at a center of the radiation-emitting semiconductor chip (there is a large aperture at the center figure 1), and wherein the recombination centers are arranged around the aperture in a lateral direction ( 34a and 34b are around the aperture around is broad).
d. As to claim 27 Ishizawa teaches wherein the recombination centers are or comprise quantum dots. Though Ishizawa does not explicitly state they are quantum dots the fact that the structure are pillars and figure 2-7 and figure 1 indicate the shape provides 3 dimensional confinement, two due to the pillar shape and one due to the quantum well nature, thus it is inherently a quantum dot.
f. As to claim 28, applicant provides no structure definition of a micro-LED and merely changing the name thus since it merely represent a label change Ishizawa teaches a micro LED; paragraph 4 indicates the columns are on the micron scale so it acts as a micro LED.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizawa.
a. As to claim 25, Ishizawa teaches wherein the active region comprises indium (paragraph 42), but does not teach wherein an indium concentration of the active region is greater than 50% at least in places.
However, In0.5Ga0.5N was known for Nitride device photodevices at the time of filing.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide the 34a with at least In0.5Ga0.5N ,or higher indium concentrations for the desired band gap directly corresponding to emission wavelength.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-22 are allowed.
AS to claim 15 prior art fails to teach and or suggest and structuring into the semiconductor chips such that at least some of the recombination centers are arranged at a distance from edges of the semiconductor chips, wherein mesa structures and/or steps are generated in a semiconductor layer and/or a growth substrate to define the positions, wherein the positions are located at edges and/or corners of the mesa structures and/or at edges and/or the corners of the steps, and wherein a material for forming the recombination centers has a larger lattice constant than a material in which the mesa structures and/or steps are formed in conjunction with the other elements of claim 15
As to claim 21, prior art for fails to teach or suggest in conjunction the other elements:
structuring of mesa structures in the undoped semiconductor layer thereby defining positions for recombination centers, which are designed for radiative recombination of charge carrier pairs; growing an active layer with the recombination centers at edges and/or corners of the mesa structures thereby producing the recombination centers at the positions in the active layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Noda teaches the light emitting region directly adjacent to apertures (item 34 figure 1).
/MATTHEW L. REAMES/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/MATTHEW L REAMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896