DETAILED ACTION
Background
The preliminary amendment dated May 15, 2024 (amendment) amending claims 1-11, 13- 15 and 17 and canceling claim 12 has been entered. Claims 1-11 as filed with the amendment have been examined. Claims 13-17 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 01, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 7 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, at line 12 after “to form a” insert -- dry--;
In claim 4, at line 2 after “b.” replace [[involves the addition of]] with --comprises adding--; In claim 7, at line 3 after “soluble fibre” delete [[(e.g. dextrin)]]; and,
In claim 9, at line 5 after “coconut oil,” delete [[and]].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation “an amylase” at line 5, and the claim also recites “preferably, an alpha amylase” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of copending Application No. 18/710,281 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 9 of the reference application recites in steps b., d., e., f., g. and h. (of claim 1, from which claim 9 depends) all of the claimed features of steps a., c., e., f., g. and h., including dispersing a fat source in the composition in claim 9 prior to drying as in step d. by homogenizing its plant protein mixture, with the exception that claim 9 of the reference application claims adding a plant protein to water, enzyme and plant flour to form the plant protein mixture of plant proteins, enzyme and water as claimed; and, further, the instant claims recite adding a sugar, polyol or one or more polysaccharides or mixtures thereof to a plant protein mixture; however, the reference application at page 10, lines 1-8 discloses that its plant flour claimed in step a. (of claim 1) comprises a cereal which contains polysaccharides; in addition, the specification of the reference application at page 5, lines 10-14 confirms that its plant protein mixture of plant flour and plant protein comprises carbohydrates. The Office considers the claimed polysaccharides and sugars as including cereal carbohydrates.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2018/0295849 A1 to Earl et al. (Earl), of record.
Regarding instant claims 1-3 and 7, Earl at [0002] discloses a plant-based milk alternative and method for making it as well as (at Example V at [0072]-[0074] a method of making a chocolate product from the milk alternative . Earl discloses the method comprising (at [0013] and in Example II at Table 7 and [0066]) making a plant milk by adding a plant-based protein as a chickpea plant protein (“plant protein” from a legume source in claim 2) to a liquid as water to form a plant protein mixture; adding a carbohydrate as maltodextrin (“polysaccharide” as in claim 7) to the plant protein mixture and adding fat source as coconut and palm oils, and forming a stable emulsion by agitating to form a plant milk (“dispersing a fat source in the plant protein mixture” and “homogenizing the plant protein mixture”). Further, at [0048], Earl discloses immersion blending at from 1000 to 15000 rpm or homogenizing the plant protein mixture. In addition, at Example V and Table 10 on page 7 and at [0072]-[0074], Earl discloses making a chocolate by combining with other ingredients a dehydrated composition from its plant-based milk (at [0076]) that is made by a method comprising adding alpha-amylase (claim 3) and enzyme treating the plant protein mixture and drying it to form a “dry plant-based composition”. At Table 10, Earl discloses the other ingredients as comprising sugar, cocoa mass and cocoa butter to form a milk chocolate (“chocolate product”). The Office considers the claimed drying the plant-based liquid to include the Example V method of Earl that discloses drying the plant-based liquid to form a dry plant-based composition.
Further, Earl does not provide an example wherein the method comprises applying a thermal treatment to the plant protein mixture to form a plant-based liquid. However, at [0063] Earl generally discloses homogenizing and pasteurizing (applying thermal treatment) to its compositions before or in packaging to prepare them for commercial sale or use. The ordinary skilled artisan in Earl would have found it obvious to apply a thermal treatment to its plant based mixture or milk before drying to prepare it as a dehydrated plant-based milk for later use or sale for use in making its chocolate product because Earl discloses that applying a thermal treatment is desirably used to make a plant milk powder or dry plant-based composition suitable for use in making its chocolate composition.
Regarding instant claim 4, Earl at [0047] discloses adding sugar as a sweetener to its plant based liquid in a mixture with stabilizers including pectin, gums or starches (“polysaccharides”).
Regarding instant claims 5 and 6, while the Office considers optional limitations including all of the sugars listed in claim 5 and the polyols listed in claim 6, the claims themselves do not require them.
Regarding instant claims 8 and 9, at Table 7 Earl discloses the plant-based liquid or milk comprising palm oil and coconut oil as fat sources.
Regarding instant claim 10, the weight ratio of plant protein to the total weight of sugar, polyol, one or more polysaccharides thereof or mixtures thereof disclosed in Table 7 of Earl is 7 (protein) to 18 (polysaccharide), or about 0.4:1.
Regarding instant claim 11, the weight ratio of plant protein to the total weight of fat disclosed in Table 7 of Earl is 7 (protein) to 5 (fat), or about 1.4:1.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2018/0295849 A1 to Earl et al. (Earl) as applied to claim 1, above in view of WO2022/162174 A1 to Brunt et al. (Brunt).
As applied to claim 1, Earl at [0013], [0036], [0048], Example II at Table 7 and [0066] and Example V at [0072]-[0074], Table 10 and [0076] on page 7 discloses a method of making a chocolate product comprising adding a plant protein to water to form a plant protein mixture; adding a sugar, polyol, one or more polysaccharides thereof or mixtures thereof to the plant protein mixture; adding an enzyme and enzyme treatment; dispersing a fat source in the plant protein mixture; homogenizing the plant protein mixture; applying a thermal treatment to form a plant-based liquid; drying the plant-based liquid to form a dry plant-based composition; and combining the dry plant-based composition with other ingredients to form a chocolate product.
Regarding instant claims 4-6, Earl does not disclose an Example of a method comprising adding a mixture of a sugar and at least one polysaccharide to its plant protein mixture as in claim 4; further, although the limitations of each of claims 5-6 is optional, Earl does not provide an example wherein sugar is selected from the group consisting of sucrose, fructose, glucose, dextrose, galactose, allulose, maltose, high dextrose equivalent hydrolysed starch syrup, xylose, and combinations thereof as in claim 5; and, further, does not disclose an example wherein the polyol is selected from the group consisting of sorbitol, mannitol, isomalt, maltitol, lactitol, xylitol, erythritol or glycerol as in claim 6. However, Earl at [0047] discloses adding sugar to its plant protein mixture as a sweetener in a mixture with stabilizers including pectin, gums or starches.
Brunt at page 1 (top of page), lines 3-6 discloses processes and ingredient formulations for the preparation of a plant-based chocolate crumb and of making a chocolate product therefrom, wherein the process for producing a crumb based on a plant-based milk (“plant protein mixture”) comprises heating a plant-based milk and drying it to form a crumb. Further, at Examples 1-6, Brunt discloses making a chocolate product from the crumb comprising mixing the crumb with other ingredients. At page 18, lines 10-27 Brunt discloses that its plant protein mixture comprises sugars as sweeteners, including sucrose, fructose, glucose and galactose; and, at page 1, lines 37-48, Brunt discloses adding a combination of carbohydrates to the plant protein mixture, including maltodextrin as well as (at page 19, lines 31-33) inulin or fiber in addition to a sweetener. Further, at page 19, lines 22-29, Brunt discloses adding sugar alcohols as sweeteners, including sorbitol, mannitol, isomalt, maltitol, lactitol, xylitol, and/or erythritol.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Brunt for Earl to add a sugar and a polysaccharide, including maltodextrin, inulin or other fructo-oligosaccharides as fiber to its plant protein mixture or to add a sugar alcohol including any of sorbitol, mannitol, isomalt, maltitol, lactitol, xylitol, and/or erythritol to its plant protein mixture. Both references disclose methods of making a chocolate product from a dried plant-based liquid or milk. The ordinary skilled artisan in Earl would have desired to use any of the claimed sweeteners, including sugar or sugar alcohols as in Brunt to sweeten its plant protein mixture; and, further, would have desired to include any of the claimed polysaccharides listed Brunt, including dietary fiber, alone or with a sugar in its plant-based liquid to stabilize the liquid in drying and to provide bulk or digestive fiber.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US2017/0099852 A1 to Nono et al. (Nono) at Abstract discloses methods of forming dry aggregates of plant proteins and (at [0147]) discloses making a chocolate product from the dry plant protein mixture. At [0172]-[0179], Nono discloses the method comprising preparing a solution of pea proteins in water; pasteurizing it; homogenizing it; and spray-drying it to form the dry material for use in making the chocolate product.
/ANDREW E MERRIAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1791