DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a third electrode, a fourth electrode, the third layer interposed between the third electrode and the second light-emitting layer” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.”
If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency.
Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures.
Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
I. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0152] …the light-emitting device that exhibits emission colors with a long wavelength includes the first layer 121, the second layer 122a, and the light-emitting layer 113L between the pair of electrodes of the first electrode 101 and the second electrode 102. The first layer 121 and the second layer 122a are positioned between the light-emitting layer 113 and the first electrode 101. …and the light-emitting device that exhibits an emission color with a long wavelength includes at least the first layer 121, the second layer 122a, and the light-emitting layer 113L as the EL layer 103. In this specification, the light-emitting layer 113S and the light-emitting layer 113L are collectively referred to as the light-emitting layer 113 in some cases.
Appropriate correction is required.
II. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka et al. US 2018/0151630.
Yamaoka et al. US 2018/0151630
Regarding claim 1, Yamaoka et al. in Fig. 4A disclose a light-emitting apparatus 262a [0238] comprising a first light-emitting device 222B [0241] and a second light-emitting device 222G [0241],
wherein the first light-emitting device 222B comprises a first electrode 101 [0241], a second electrode 102 [0241], a first light-emitting layer 170, 190 [0239] interposed between the first electrode 101 and the second electrode 102, and a first layer 114 [0239] interposed between the first electrode 101 and the first light-emitting layer 170, 190,
wherein the second light-emitting device 222G comprises a third electrode 103 [0241], a fourth electrode 102 [0241], a second light-emitting layer 170, 190 [0241] interposed between the third electrode 103 and the fourth electrode 102, a second layer 114 [0239] interposed between the third electrode 103 and the second light-emitting layer 170, 190, and a third layer 111, 116 [0281] interposed between the third electrode 103 and the second light-emitting layer 170, 190,
wherein the first light-emitting layer 170,190 comprises a first light-emitting substance 140b [0078]-[0089],
wherein the second light-emitting layer 170, 190 comprises a second light-emitting substance 140a and 140c [0078]-[0089],
wherein an emission peak wavelength of the first light-emitting substance 140b [0089] is shorter than an emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance 140a and 140c [0089],
wherein the first layer 114 and the second layer 114 comprise the same material.
Yamaoka et al. do not expressly disclose wherein an ordinary refractive index of the third layer 111, 116 is lower than an ordinary refractive index of the first layer 114 by a value greater than or equal to 0.15, with respect to the emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance 140a and 140c.
However, it is well known that the ordinary refractive index is a direct measure of a material’s properties to slow and bend light. It is determined by the material’s electron density, atomic structure and wavelength and governs fundamental optical phenomena like refraction, reflection and dispersion.
Yamaoka et al. teach the third layer 111, 116 [0135]-[0142] such as hole-injection layer, has a function of reducing a barrier for hole injection at an interface between the hole-injection layer and one of the pair of electrodes to promote hole injection and is formed using a transition metal oxide, a phthalocyanine derivative, or an aromatic amine, for example. As the transition metal oxide, molybdenum oxide, vanadium oxide, ruthenium oxide, tungsten oxide, manganese oxide, and the like can be given. As the phthalocyanine derivative, phthalocyanine, metal phthalocyanine, and the like can be given. As the aromatic amine, a benzidine derivative, a phenylenediamine derivative, and the like can be given. It is also possible to use a high molecular compound such as polythiophene or polyaniline; a typical example thereof is poly(ethylenedioxythiophene)/poly(styrenesulfonic acid), which is self-doped polythiophene.
[0136] As the hole-injection layer 111, a layer containing a composite material of a hole-transport material and a material having a property of accepting electrons from the hole-transport material can also be used. Alternatively, a stack of a layer containing a material having an electron-accepting property and a layer containing a hole-transport material may also be used. In a steady state or in the presence of an electric field, electric charge can be transferred between these materials. As examples of the material having an electron-accepting property, organic acceptors such as a quinodimethane derivative, a chloranil derivative, and a hexaazatriphenylene derivative can be given. A specific example is a compound having an electron-withdrawing group (a halogen group or a cyano group), such as 7,7,8,8-tetracyano-2,3,5,6-tetrafluoroquinodimethane (abbreviation: F.sub.4-TCNQ), chloranil, or 2,3,6,7,10,11-hexacyano-1,4,5,8,9,12-hexaazatriphenylene (abbreviation: HAT-CN). Alternatively, a transition metal oxide such as an oxide of a metal from Group 4 to Group 8 can also be used. Specifically, vanadium oxide, niobium oxide, tantalum oxide, chromium oxide, molybdenum oxide, tungsten oxide, manganese oxide, rhenium oxide, or the like can be used. In particular, molybdenum oxide is preferable because it is stable in the air, has a low hygroscopic property, and is easily handled.
[0137] A material having a property of transporting more holes than electrons can be used as the hole-transport material, and a material having a hole mobility of 1×10.sup.−6 cm.sup.2/Vs or higher is preferable. Specifically, any of the aromatic amine, carbazole derivative, aromatic hydrocarbon, stilbene derivative, and the like described as examples of the hole-transport material that can be used in the light-emitting layer 140 can be used. Furthermore, the hole-transport material may be a high molecular compound.
[0138] As other examples of the hole-transport material, aromatic hydrocarbons such as 2-tert-butyl-9,10-di(2-naphthyl)anthracene (abbreviation: t-BuDNA), 2-tert-butyl-9,10-di(1-naphthyl)anthracene, 9,10-bis(3,5-diphenylphenyl)anthracene (abbreviation: DPPA), 2-tert-butyl-9,10-bis(4-phenylphenyl)anthracene (abbreviation: t-BuDBA), 9,10-di(2-naphthyl)anthracene (abbreviation: DNA), 9,10-diphenylanthracene (abbreviation: DPAnth), 2-tert-butylanthracene (abbreviation: t-BuAnth), 9,10-bis(4-methyl-1-naphthyl)anthracene (abbreviation: DMNA), 2-tert-butyl-9,10-bis[2-(1-naphthyl)phenyl]anthracene, 9,10-bis[2-(1-naphthyl)phenyl]anthracene, 2,3,6,7-tetramethyl-9,10-di(1-naphthyl)anthracene, 2,3,6,7-tetramethyl-9,10-di(2-naphthyl)anthracene, 9,9′-bianthryl, 10,10′-diphenyl-9,9′-bianthryl, 10,10′-bis(2-phenylphenyl)-9,9′-bianthryl, 10,10′-bis[(2,3,4,5,6-pentaphenyl)phenyl]-9,9′-bianthryl, anthracene, tetracene, rubrene, perylene, and 2,5,8,11-tetra(tert-butyl)perylene can be given. Other examples are pentacene, coronene, and the like. The aromatic hydrocarbon having a hole mobility of 1×10.sup.−6 cm.sup.2/Vs or higher and having 14 to 42 carbon atoms is particularly preferable.
[0139] The aromatic hydrocarbon may have a vinyl skeleton. Examples of the aromatic hydrocarbon having a vinyl group are 4,4′-bis(2,2-diphenylvinyl)biphenyl (abbreviation: DPVBi), 9,10-bis[4-(2,2-diphenylvinyl)phenyl]anthracene (abbreviation: DPVPA), and the like.
[0140] Other examples are thiophene compounds, furan compounds, fluorene compounds, triphenylene compounds, phenanthrene compounds, and the like such as 4-{3-[3-(9-phenyl-9H-fluoren-9-yl)phenyl]phenyl}dibenzofuran (abbreviation: mmDBFFLBi-II), 4,4′,4″-(benzene-1,3,5-triyl)tri(dibenzofuran) (abbreviation: DBF3P-II), 1,3,5-tri(dibenzothiophen-4-yl)benzene (abbreviation: DBT3P-II), 2,8-diphenyl-4-[4-(9-phenyl-9H-fluoren-9-yl)phenyl]dibenzothiophene (abbreviation: DBTFLP-III), 4-[4-(9-phenyl-9H-fluoren-9-yl)phenyl]-6-phenyldibenzothiophene (abbreviation: DBTFLP-IV), and 4-[3-(triphenylen-2-yl)phenyl]dibenzothiophene (abbreviation: mDBTPTp-II). Among the above compounds, compounds including a pyrrole skeleton, a furan skeleton, a thiophene skeleton, or an aromatic amine skeleton are preferred because of their high stability and reliability. In addition, the compounds having such skeletons have a high hole-transport property to contribute to a reduction in driving voltage.
Yamaoka et al. further teach the first layer 114 as an electron-injection layer containing a material having a property of transporting more electrons than holes can be used as the electron-transport material, and a material having an electron mobility of 1×10.sup.−6 cm.sup.2/Vs or higher is preferable. As the compound which easily accepts electrons (the material having an electron-transport property), a π-electron deficient heteroaromatic compound such as a nitrogen-containing heteroaromatic compound, a metal complex, or the like can be used, for example. Specifically, the pyridine derivative, the bipyridine derivative, the pyrimidine derivative, the triazine derivative, the quinoxaline derivative, the dibenzoquinoxaline derivative, the phenanthroline derivative, the triazole derivative, the benzimidazole derivative, the oxadiazole derivative. A substance having an electron mobility of 1×10.sup.−6 cm.sup.2/Vs or higher is preferable. Note that other than these substances, any substance that has a property of transporting more electrons than holes may be used for the electron-transport layer In addition, metal complexes with a heterocycle, such as metal complexes having a quinoline ligand, a benzoquinoline ligand, an oxazole ligand, and a thiazole ligand, can be given. Specific examples thereof include metal complexes having a quinoline or benzoquinoline skeleton, such as tris(8-quinolinolato)aluminum(III) (abbreviation: Alq), tris(4-methyl-8-quinolinolato)aluminum(III) (abbreviation: Almq.sub.3), bis(10-hydroxybenzo[h]quinolinato)beryllium(II) (abbreviation: BeBq.sub.2), bis(2-methyl-8-quinolinolato)(4-phenylphenolato)aluminum(III) (abbreviation: BAlq), and bis(8-quinolinolato)zinc(II) (abbreviation: Znq). Alternatively, a metal complex having an oxazole-based or thiazole-based ligand, such as bis[2-(2-benzoxazolyl)phenolato]zinc(II) (abbreviation: ZnPBO) or bis[2-(2-benzothiazolyl)phenolato]zinc(II) (abbreviation: ZnBTZ) can be used. onating electrons to the electron-transport material can also be used. As the material having an electron-donating property, a Group 1 metal, a Group 2 metal, an oxide of any of the metals, and the like can be given. Specifically, an alkali metal, an alkaline earth metal, or a compound thereof, such as lithium fluoride (LiF), sodium fluoride (NaF), cesium fluoride (CsF), calcium fluoride (CaF.sub.2), or lithium oxide (LiO.sub.x), can be used. Alternatively, a rare earth metal compound like erbium fluoride (ErF.sub.3) can be used. Electride may also be used for the electron-injection layer. Examples of the electride include a substance in which electrons are added at high concentration to calcium oxide-aluminum oxide.
This demonstrates that to achieve refraction, reflection and dispersion, from which the material of the hole-transport layer and the electron-injection layer depends, the ordinary reflective index and the material of the layers in the light emitting device would be considered result effective variables.
Accordingly, the claim is obvious without showing that the claimed range(s) achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (claimed ranges of a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize that it would be obvious to adjust the materials of the hole-transport layer and the electron-injection layer in order “provide a light emitting element with high emission efficiency” thereof and optimize “an ordinary refractive index of the third layer is lower than an ordinary refractive index of the first layer by a value greater than or equal to 0.15, with respect to the emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance” as “result effective variables”, and arrives at the recited limitation.
Regarding claim 2, Yamaoka et al. in Fig. 4A disclose a light-emitting apparatus 262a [0238] comprising a first light-emitting device 222B [0241] and a second light-emitting device 222G [0241],
wherein the first light-emitting device 222B comprises a first electrode 101 [0241], a second electrode 102 [0241], a first light-emitting layer 170, 190 [0239] interposed between the first electrode 101 and the second electrode 102, and a first layer 114 [0239] interposed between the first electrode 101 and the first light-emitting layer 170, 190,
wherein the second light-emitting device 222G comprises a third electrode 103 [0241], a fourth electrode 102 [0241], a second light-emitting layer 170, 190 [0241] interposed between the third electrode 103 and the fourth electrode 102, a second layer 114 [0239] interposed between the third electrode 103 and the second light-emitting layer 170, 190, and a third layer 111, 116 [0281] interposed between the third electrode 103 and the second light-emitting layer 170, 190,
wherein the first light-emitting layer 170,190 comprises a first light-emitting substance 140b [0078]-[0089],
wherein the second light-emitting layer 170, 190 comprises a second light-emitting substance 140a and 140c [0078]-[0089],
wherein an emission peak wavelength of the first light-emitting substance 140b [0089] is shorter than an emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance 140a and 140c [0089],
wherein the first layer 114 and the second layer 114 are formed using the same material.
Yamaoka et al. do not expressly disclose wherein an ordinary refractive index of the third layer 111, 116 is lower than an ordinary refractive index of the first layer 114 by a value greater than or equal to 0.15, with respect to the emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance 140a and 140c.
However, it is well known that the ordinary refractive index is a direct measure of a material’s properties to slow and bend light. It is determined by the material’s electron density, atomic structure and wavelength and governs fundamental optical phenomena like refraction, reflection and dispersion.
Yamaoka et al. teach the third layer 111, 116 [0135]-[0142] such as hole-injection layer, has a function of reducing a barrier for hole injection at an interface between the hole-injection layer and one of the pair of electrodes to promote hole injection and is formed using a transition metal oxide, a phthalocyanine derivative, or an aromatic amine, for example. As the transition metal oxide, molybdenum oxide, vanadium oxide, ruthenium oxide, tungsten oxide, manganese oxide, and the like can be given. As the phthalocyanine derivative, phthalocyanine, metal phthalocyanine, and the like can be given. As the aromatic amine, a benzidine derivative, a phenylenediamine derivative, and the like can be given. It is also possible to use a high molecular compound such as polythiophene or polyaniline; a typical example thereof is poly(ethylenedioxythiophene)/poly(styrenesulfonic acid), which is self-doped polythiophene.
[0136] As the hole-injection layer 111, a layer containing a composite material of a hole-transport material and a material having a property of accepting electrons from the hole-transport material can also be used. Alternatively, a stack of a layer containing a material having an electron-accepting property and a layer containing a hole-transport material may also be used. In a steady state or in the presence of an electric field, electric charge can be transferred between these materials. As examples of the material having an electron-accepting property, organic acceptors such as a quinodimethane derivative, a chloranil derivative, and a hexaazatriphenylene derivative can be given. A specific example is a compound having an electron-withdrawing group (a halogen group or a cyano group), such as 7,7,8,8-tetracyano-2,3,5,6-tetrafluoroquinodimethane (abbreviation: F.sub.4-TCNQ), chloranil, or 2,3,6,7,10,11-hexacyano-1,4,5,8,9,12-hexaazatriphenylene (abbreviation: HAT-CN). Alternatively, a transition metal oxide such as an oxide of a metal from Group 4 to Group 8 can also be used. Specifically, vanadium oxide, niobium oxide, tantalum oxide, chromium oxide, molybdenum oxide, tungsten oxide, manganese oxide, rhenium oxide, or the like can be used. In particular, molybdenum oxide is preferable because it is stable in the air, has a low hygroscopic property, and is easily handled.
[0137] A material having a property of transporting more holes than electrons can be used as the hole-transport material, and a material having a hole mobility of 1×10.sup.−6 cm.sup.2/Vs or higher is preferable. Specifically, any of the aromatic amine, carbazole derivative, aromatic hydrocarbon, stilbene derivative, and the like described as examples of the hole-transport material that can be used in the light-emitting layer 140 can be used. Furthermore, the hole-transport material may be a high molecular compound.
[0138] As other examples of the hole-transport material, aromatic hydrocarbons such as 2-tert-butyl-9,10-di(2-naphthyl)anthracene (abbreviation: t-BuDNA), 2-tert-butyl-9,10-di(1-naphthyl)anthracene, 9,10-bis(3,5-diphenylphenyl)anthracene (abbreviation: DPPA), 2-tert-butyl-9,10-bis(4-phenylphenyl)anthracene (abbreviation: t-BuDBA), 9,10-di(2-naphthyl)anthracene (abbreviation: DNA), 9,10-diphenylanthracene (abbreviation: DPAnth), 2-tert-butylanthracene (abbreviation: t-BuAnth), 9,10-bis(4-methyl-1-naphthyl)anthracene (abbreviation: DMNA), 2-tert-butyl-9,10-bis[2-(1-naphthyl)phenyl]anthracene, 9,10-bis[2-(1-naphthyl)phenyl]anthracene, 2,3,6,7-tetramethyl-9,10-di(1-naphthyl)anthracene, 2,3,6,7-tetramethyl-9,10-di(2-naphthyl)anthracene, 9,9′-bianthryl, 10,10′-diphenyl-9,9′-bianthryl, 10,10′-bis(2-phenylphenyl)-9,9′-bianthryl, 10,10′-bis[(2,3,4,5,6-pentaphenyl)phenyl]-9,9′-bianthryl, anthracene, tetracene, rubrene, perylene, and 2,5,8,11-tetra(tert-butyl)perylene can be given. Other examples are pentacene, coronene, and the like. The aromatic hydrocarbon having a hole mobility of 1×10.sup.−6 cm.sup.2/Vs or higher and having 14 to 42 carbon atoms is particularly preferable.
[0139] The aromatic hydrocarbon may have a vinyl skeleton. Examples of the aromatic hydrocarbon having a vinyl group are 4,4′-bis(2,2-diphenylvinyl)biphenyl (abbreviation: DPVBi), 9,10-bis[4-(2,2-diphenylvinyl)phenyl]anthracene (abbreviation: DPVPA), and the like.
[0140] Other examples are thiophene compounds, furan compounds, fluorene compounds, triphenylene compounds, phenanthrene compounds, and the like such as 4-{3-[3-(9-phenyl-9H-fluoren-9-yl)phenyl]phenyl}dibenzofuran (abbreviation: mmDBFFLBi-II), 4,4′,4″-(benzene-1,3,5-triyl)tri(dibenzofuran) (abbreviation: DBF3P-II), 1,3,5-tri(dibenzothiophen-4-yl)benzene (abbreviation: DBT3P-II), 2,8-diphenyl-4-[4-(9-phenyl-9H-fluoren-9-yl)phenyl]dibenzothiophene (abbreviation: DBTFLP-III), 4-[4-(9-phenyl-9H-fluoren-9-yl)phenyl]-6-phenyldibenzothiophene (abbreviation: DBTFLP-IV), and 4-[3-(triphenylen-2-yl)phenyl]dibenzothiophene (abbreviation: mDBTPTp-II). Among the above compounds, compounds including a pyrrole skeleton, a furan skeleton, a thiophene skeleton, or an aromatic amine skeleton are preferred because of their high stability and reliability. In addition, the compounds having such skeletons have a high hole-transport property to contribute to a reduction in driving voltage.
Yamaoka et al. further teach the first layer 114 as an electron-injection layer containing a material having a property of transporting more electrons than holes can be used as the electron-transport material, and a material having an electron mobility of 1×10.sup.−6 cm.sup.2/Vs or higher is preferable. As the compound which easily accepts electrons (the material having an electron-transport property), a π-electron deficient heteroaromatic compound such as a nitrogen-containing heteroaromatic compound, a metal complex, or the like can be used, for example. Specifically, the pyridine derivative, the bipyridine derivative, the pyrimidine derivative, the triazine derivative, the quinoxaline derivative, the dibenzoquinoxaline derivative, the phenanthroline derivative, the triazole derivative, the benzimidazole derivative, the oxadiazole derivative. A substance having an electron mobility of 1×10.sup.−6 cm.sup.2/Vs or higher is preferable. Note that other than these substances, any substance that has a property of transporting more electrons than holes may be used for the electron-transport layer In addition, metal complexes with a heterocycle, such as metal complexes having a quinoline ligand, a benzoquinoline ligand, an oxazole ligand, and a thiazole ligand, can be given. Specific examples thereof include metal complexes having a quinoline or benzoquinoline skeleton, such as tris(8-quinolinolato)aluminum(III) (abbreviation: Alq), tris(4-methyl-8-quinolinolato)aluminum(III) (abbreviation: Almq.sub.3), bis(10-hydroxybenzo[h]quinolinato)beryllium(II) (abbreviation: BeBq.sub.2), bis(2-methyl-8-quinolinolato)(4-phenylphenolato)aluminum(III) (abbreviation: BAlq), and bis(8-quinolinolato)zinc(II) (abbreviation: Znq). Alternatively, a metal complex having an oxazole-based or thiazole-based ligand, such as bis[2-(2-benzoxazolyl)phenolato]zinc(II) (abbreviation: ZnPBO) or bis[2-(2-benzothiazolyl)phenolato]zinc(II) (abbreviation: ZnBTZ) can be used. onating electrons to the electron-transport material can also be used. As the material having an electron-donating property, a Group 1 metal, a Group 2 metal, an oxide of any of the metals, and the like can be given. Specifically, an alkali metal, an alkaline earth metal, or a compound thereof, such as lithium fluoride (LiF), sodium fluoride (NaF), cesium fluoride (CsF), calcium fluoride (CaF.sub.2), or lithium oxide (LiO.sub.x), can be used. Alternatively, a rare earth metal compound like erbium fluoride (ErF.sub.3) can be used. Electride may also be used for the electron-injection layer. Examples of the electride include a substance in which electrons are added at high concentration to calcium oxide-aluminum oxide.
This demonstrates that to achieve refraction, reflection and dispersion, from which the material of the hole-transport layer and the electron-injection layer depends, the ordinary reflective index and the material of the layers in the light emitting device would be considered result effective variables.
Accordingly, the claim is obvious without showing that the claimed range(s) achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (claimed ranges of a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize that it would be obvious to adjust the materials of the hole-transport layer and the electron-injection layer in order “provide a light emitting element with high emission efficiency” thereof and optimize “an ordinary refractive index of the third layer is lower than an ordinary refractive index of the first layer by a value greater than or equal to 0.15, with respect to the emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance” as “result effective variables”, and arrives at the recited limitation.
Regarding claim 3, Yamaoka et al. in Fig. 4A disclose a light-emitting apparatus 262a [0238] comprising a first light-emitting device 222B [0241] and a second light-emitting device 222G [0241],
wherein the first light-emitting device 222B comprises a first electrode 101 [0241], a second electrode 102 [0241], a first light-emitting layer 170, 190 [0239] interposed between the first electrode 101 and the second electrode 102, and a first layer 114 [0239] interposed between the first electrode 101 and the first light-emitting layer 170, 190,
wherein the second light-emitting device 222G comprises a third electrode 103 [0241], a fourth electrode 102 [0241], a second light-emitting layer 170, 190 [0241] interposed between the third electrode 103 and the fourth electrode 102, a second layer 114 [0239] interposed between the third electrode 103 and the second light-emitting layer 170, 190, and a third layer 111, 116 [0281] interposed between the third electrode 103 and the second light-emitting layer 170, 190,
wherein the first light-emitting layer 170,190 comprises a first light-emitting substance 140b [0078]-[0089],
wherein the second light-emitting layer 170, 190 comprises a second light-emitting substance 140a and 140c [0078]-[0089],
wherein an emission peak wavelength of the first light-emitting substance 140b [0089] is shorter than an emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance 140a and 140c [0089],
wherein the first layer 114 and the second layer 114 have structures similar to each other.
Yamaoka et al. do not expressly disclose wherein an ordinary refractive index of the third layer 111, 116 is lower than an ordinary refractive index of the first layer 114 by a value greater than or equal to 0.15, with respect to the emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance 140a and 140c.
However, it is well known that the ordinary refractive index is a direct measure of a material’s properties to slow and bend light. It is determined by the material’s electron density, atomic structure and wavelength and governs fundamental optical phenomena like refraction, reflection and dispersion.
Yamaoka et al. teach the third layer 111, 116 [0135]-[0142] such as hole-injection layer, has a function of reducing a barrier for hole injection at an interface between the hole-injection layer and one of the pair of electrodes to promote hole injection and is formed using a transition metal oxide, a phthalocyanine derivative, or an aromatic amine, for example. As the transition metal oxide, molybdenum oxide, vanadium oxide, ruthenium oxide, tungsten oxide, manganese oxide, and the like can be given. As the phthalocyanine derivative, phthalocyanine, metal phthalocyanine, and the like can be given. As the aromatic amine, a benzidine derivative, a phenylenediamine derivative, and the like can be given. It is also possible to use a high molecular compound such as polythiophene or polyaniline; a typical example thereof is poly(ethylenedioxythiophene)/poly(styrenesulfonic acid), which is self-doped polythiophene.
[0136] As the hole-injection layer 111, a layer containing a composite material of a hole-transport material and a material having a property of accepting electrons from the hole-transport material can also be used. Alternatively, a stack of a layer containing a material having an electron-accepting property and a layer containing a hole-transport material may also be used. In a steady state or in the presence of an electric field, electric charge can be transferred between these materials. As examples of the material having an electron-accepting property, organic acceptors such as a quinodimethane derivative, a chloranil derivative, and a hexaazatriphenylene derivative can be given. A specific example is a compound having an electron-withdrawing group (a halogen group or a cyano group), such as 7,7,8,8-tetracyano-2,3,5,6-tetrafluoroquinodimethane (abbreviation: F.sub.4-TCNQ), chloranil, or 2,3,6,7,10,11-hexacyano-1,4,5,8,9,12-hexaazatriphenylene (abbreviation: HAT-CN). Alternatively, a transition metal oxide such as an oxide of a metal from Group 4 to Group 8 can also be used. Specifically, vanadium oxide, niobium oxide, tantalum oxide, chromium oxide, molybdenum oxide, tungsten oxide, manganese oxide, rhenium oxide, or the like can be used. In particular, molybdenum oxide is preferable because it is stable in the air, has a low hygroscopic property, and is easily handled.
[0137] A material having a property of transporting more holes than electrons can be used as the hole-transport material, and a material having a hole mobility of 1×10.sup.−6 cm.sup.2/Vs or higher is preferable. Specifically, any of the aromatic amine, carbazole derivative, aromatic hydrocarbon, stilbene derivative, and the like described as examples of the hole-transport material that can be used in the light-emitting layer 140 can be used. Furthermore, the hole-transport material may be a high molecular compound.
[0138] As other examples of the hole-transport material, aromatic hydrocarbons such as 2-tert-butyl-9,10-di(2-naphthyl)anthracene (abbreviation: t-BuDNA), 2-tert-butyl-9,10-di(1-naphthyl)anthracene, 9,10-bis(3,5-diphenylphenyl)anthracene (abbreviation: DPPA), 2-tert-butyl-9,10-bis(4-phenylphenyl)anthracene (abbreviation: t-BuDBA), 9,10-di(2-naphthyl)anthracene (abbreviation: DNA), 9,10-diphenylanthracene (abbreviation: DPAnth), 2-tert-butylanthracene (abbreviation: t-BuAnth), 9,10-bis(4-methyl-1-naphthyl)anthracene (abbreviation: DMNA), 2-tert-butyl-9,10-bis[2-(1-naphthyl)phenyl]anthracene, 9,10-bis[2-(1-naphthyl)phenyl]anthracene, 2,3,6,7-tetramethyl-9,10-di(1-naphthyl)anthracene, 2,3,6,7-tetramethyl-9,10-di(2-naphthyl)anthracene, 9,9′-bianthryl, 10,10′-diphenyl-9,9′-bianthryl, 10,10′-bis(2-phenylphenyl)-9,9′-bianthryl, 10,10′-bis[(2,3,4,5,6-pentaphenyl)phenyl]-9,9′-bianthryl, anthracene, tetracene, rubrene, perylene, and 2,5,8,11-tetra(tert-butyl)perylene can be given. Other examples are pentacene, coronene, and the like. The aromatic hydrocarbon having a hole mobility of 1×10.sup.−6 cm.sup.2/Vs or higher and having 14 to 42 carbon atoms is particularly preferable.
[0139] The aromatic hydrocarbon may have a vinyl skeleton. Examples of the aromatic hydrocarbon having a vinyl group are 4,4′-bis(2,2-diphenylvinyl)biphenyl (abbreviation: DPVBi), 9,10-bis[4-(2,2-diphenylvinyl)phenyl]anthracene (abbreviation: DPVPA), and the like.
[0140] Other examples are thiophene compounds, furan compounds, fluorene compounds, triphenylene compounds, phenanthrene compounds, and the like such as 4-{3-[3-(9-phenyl-9H-fluoren-9-yl)phenyl]phenyl}dibenzofuran (abbreviation: mmDBFFLBi-II), 4,4′,4″-(benzene-1,3,5-triyl)tri(dibenzofuran) (abbreviation: DBF3P-II), 1,3,5-tri(dibenzothiophen-4-yl)benzene (abbreviation: DBT3P-II), 2,8-diphenyl-4-[4-(9-phenyl-9H-fluoren-9-yl)phenyl]dibenzothiophene (abbreviation: DBTFLP-III), 4-[4-(9-phenyl-9H-fluoren-9-yl)phenyl]-6-phenyldibenzothiophene (abbreviation: DBTFLP-IV), and 4-[3-(triphenylen-2-yl)phenyl]dibenzothiophene (abbreviation: mDBTPTp-II). Among the above compounds, compounds including a pyrrole skeleton, a furan skeleton, a thiophene skeleton, or an aromatic amine skeleton are preferred because of their high stability and reliability. In addition, the compounds having such skeletons have a high hole-transport property to contribute to a reduction in driving voltage.
Yamaoka et al. further teach the first layer 114 as an electron-injection layer containing a material having a property of transporting more electrons than holes can be used as the electron-transport material, and a material having an electron mobility of 1×10.sup.−6 cm.sup.2/Vs or higher is preferable. As the compound which easily accepts electrons (the material having an electron-transport property), a π-electron deficient heteroaromatic compound such as a nitrogen-containing heteroaromatic compound, a metal complex, or the like can be used, for example. Specifically, the pyridine derivative, the bipyridine derivative, the pyrimidine derivative, the triazine derivative, the quinoxaline derivative, the dibenzoquinoxaline derivative, the phenanthroline derivative, the triazole derivative, the benzimidazole derivative, the oxadiazole derivative. A substance having an electron mobility of 1×10.sup.−6 cm.sup.2/Vs or higher is preferable. Note that other than these substances, any substance that has a property of transporting more electrons than holes may be used for the electron-transport layer In addition, metal complexes with a heterocycle, such as metal complexes having a quinoline ligand, a benzoquinoline ligand, an oxazole ligand, and a thiazole ligand, can be given. Specific examples thereof include metal complexes having a quinoline or benzoquinoline skeleton, such as tris(8-quinolinolato)aluminum(III) (abbreviation: Alq), tris(4-methyl-8-quinolinolato)aluminum(III) (abbreviation: Almq.sub.3), bis(10-hydroxybenzo[h]quinolinato)beryllium(II) (abbreviation: BeBq.sub.2), bis(2-methyl-8-quinolinolato)(4-phenylphenolato)aluminum(III) (abbreviation: BAlq), and bis(8-quinolinolato)zinc(II) (abbreviation: Znq). Alternatively, a metal complex having an oxazole-based or thiazole-based ligand, such as bis[2-(2-benzoxazolyl)phenolato]zinc(II) (abbreviation: ZnPBO) or bis[2-(2-benzothiazolyl)phenolato]zinc(II) (abbreviation: ZnBTZ) can be used. onating electrons to the electron-transport material can also be used. As the material having an electron-donating property, a Group 1 metal, a Group 2 metal, an oxide of any of the metals, and the like can be given. Specifically, an alkali metal, an alkaline earth metal, or a compound thereof, such as lithium fluoride (LiF), sodium fluoride (NaF), cesium fluoride (CsF), calcium fluoride (CaF.sub.2), or lithium oxide (LiO.sub.x), can be used. Alternatively, a rare earth metal compound like erbium fluoride (ErF.sub.3) can be used. Electride may also be used for the electron-injection layer. Examples of the electride include a substance in which electrons are added at high concentration to calcium oxide-aluminum oxide.
This demonstrates that to achieve refraction, reflection and dispersion, from which the material of the hole-transport layer and the electron-injection layer depends, the ordinary reflective index and the material of the layers in the light emitting device would be considered result effective variables.
Accordingly, the claim is obvious without showing that the claimed range(s) achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (claimed ranges of a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize that it would be obvious to adjust the materials of the hole-transport layer and the electron-injection layer in order “provide a light emitting element with high emission efficiency” thereof and optimize “an ordinary refractive index of the third layer is lower than an ordinary refractive index of the first layer by a value greater than or equal to 0.15, with respect to the emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance” as “result effective variables”, and arrives at the recited limitation.
Regarding claim 4, Yamaoka et al. teach the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1 but do not teach wherein the ordinary refractive index of the first layer is higher than or equal to 1.90 with respect to the emission peak wavelength of the first light-emitting substance.
However, it is well known that the ordinary refractive index is a direct measure of a material’s properties to slow and bend light. It is determined by the material’s electron density, atomic structure and wavelength and governs fundamental optical phenomena like refraction, reflection and dispersion.
Yamaoka et al. teach the third layer 112 as a hole-transport layer containing a hole-transport material similar to the hole injection layer 111 [0136]-[0142] such as a layer containing a composite material of a hole-transport material and a material having a property of accepting electrons from the hole-transport material can also be used. Alternatively, a stack of a layer containing a material having an electron-accepting property and a layer containing a hole-transport material may also be used. In a steady state or in the presence of an electric field, electric charge can be transferred between these materials. As examples of the material having an electron-accepting property, organic acceptors such as a quinodimethane derivative, a chloranil derivative, and a hexaazatriphenylene derivative can be given. A specific example is a compound having an electron-withdrawing group (a halogen group or a cyano group), such as 7,7,8,8-tetracyano-2,3,5,6-tetrafluoroquinodimethane (abbreviation: F.sub.4-TCNQ), chloranil, or 2,3,6,7,10,11-hexacyano-1,4,5,8,9,12-hexaazatriphenylene (abbreviation: HAT-CN). Alternatively, a transition metal oxide such as an oxide of a metal from Group 4 to Group 8 can also be used. Specifically, vanadium oxide, niobium oxide, tantalum oxide, chromium oxide, molybdenum oxide, tungsten oxide, manganese oxide, rhenium oxide, or the like can be used. In particular, molybdenum oxide is preferable because it is stable in the air, has a low hygroscopic property, and is easily handled. Specifically, any of the aromatic amine, carbazole derivative, aromatic hydrocarbon, stilbene derivative, and the like.
Yamaoka et al. teach the first layer 114 as an electron-injection layer containing a material having a property of transporting more electrons than holes can be used as the electron-transport material, and a material having an electron mobility of 1×10.sup.−6 cm.sup.2/Vs or higher is preferable. As the compound which easily accepts electrons (the material having an electron-transport property), a π-electron deficient heteroaromatic compound such as a nitrogen-containing heteroaromatic compound, a metal complex, or the like can be used, for example. Specifically, the pyridine derivative, the bipyridine derivative, the pyrimidine derivative, the triazine derivative, the quinoxaline derivative, the dibenzoquinoxaline derivative, the phenanthroline derivative, the triazole derivative, the benzimidazole derivative, the oxadiazole derivative. A substance having an electron mobility of 1×10.sup.−6 cm.sup.2/Vs or higher is preferable. Note that other than these substances, any substance that has a property of transporting more electrons than holes may be used for the electron-transport layer In addition, metal complexes with a heterocycle, such as metal complexes having a quinoline ligand, a benzoquinoline ligand, an oxazole ligand, and a thiazole ligand, can be given. Specific examples thereof include metal complexes having a quinoline or benzoquinoline skeleton, such as tris(8-quinolinolato)aluminum(III) (abbreviation: Alq), tris(4-methyl-8-quinolinolato)aluminum(III) (abbreviation: Almq.sub.3), bis(10-hydroxybenzo[h]quinolinato)beryllium(II) (abbreviation: BeBq.sub.2), bis(2-methyl-8-quinolinolato)(4-phenylphenolato)aluminum(III) (abbreviation: BAlq), and bis(8-quinolinolato)zinc(II) (abbreviation: Znq). Alternatively, a metal complex having an oxazole-based or thiazole-based ligand, such as bis[2-(2-benzoxazolyl)phenolato]zinc(II) (abbreviation: ZnPBO) or bis[2-(2-benzothiazolyl)phenolato]zinc(II) (abbreviation: ZnBTZ) can be used. onating electrons to the electron-transport material can also be used. As the material having an electron-donating property, a Group 1 metal, a Group 2 metal, an oxide of any of the metals, and the like can be given. Specifically, an alkali metal, an alkaline earth metal, or a compound thereof, such as lithium fluoride (LiF), sodium fluoride (NaF), cesium fluoride (CsF), calcium fluoride (CaF.sub.2), or lithium oxide (LiO.sub.x), can be used. Alternatively, a rare earth metal compound like erbium fluoride (ErF.sub.3) can be used. Electride may also be used for the electron-injection layer. Examples of the electride include a substance in which electrons are added at high concentration to calcium oxide-aluminum oxide.
This demonstrates that to achieve refraction, reflection and dispersion, from which the material of the hole-transport layer and the electron-injection layer depends, the ordinary reflective index and the material of the layers in the light emitting device would be considered result effective variables.
Accordingly, the claim is obvious without showing that the claimed range(s) achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (claimed ranges of a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize that it would be obvious to adjust the materials of the hole-transport layer and the electron-injection layer in order “provide a light emitting element with high emission efficiency” thereof and optimize “the ordinary refractive index of the first layer is higher than or equal to 1.90 with respect to the emission peak wavelength of the first light-emitting substance” as “result effective variables”, and arrives at the recited limitation.
Regarding claim 5, Yamaoka et al. teach the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1 but do not teach wherein the ordinary refractive index of the third layer is lower than or equal to 1.75 with respect to the emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance.
However, it is well known that the ordinary refractive index is a direct measure of a material’s properties to slow and bend light. It is determined by the material’s electron density, atomic structure and wavelength and governs fundamental optical phenomena like refraction, reflection and dispersion.
Yamaoka et al. teach the third layer 112 as a hole-transport layer containing a hole-transport material similar to the hole injection layer 111 [0136]-[0142] such as a layer containing a composite material of a hole-transport material and a material having a property of accepting electrons from the hole-transport material can also be used. Alternatively, a stack of a layer containing a material having an electron-accepting property and a layer containing a hole-transport material may also be used. In a steady state or in the presence of an electric field, electric charge can be transferred between these materials. As examples of the material having an electron-accepting property, organic acceptors such as a quinodimethane derivative, a chloranil derivative, and a hexaazatriphenylene derivative can be given. A specific example is a compound having an electron-withdrawing group (a halogen group or a cyano group), such as 7,7,8,8-tetracyano-2,3,5,6-tetrafluoroquinodimethane (abbreviation: F.sub.4-TCNQ), chloranil, or 2,3,6,7,10,11-hexacyano-1,4,5,8,9,12-hexaazatriphenylene (abbreviation: HAT-CN). Alternatively, a transition metal oxide such as an oxide of a metal from Group 4 to Group 8 can also be used. Specifically, vanadium oxide, niobium oxide, tantalum oxide, chromium oxide, molybdenum oxide, tungsten oxide, manganese oxide, rhenium oxide, or the like can be used. In particular, molybdenum oxide is preferable because it is stable in the air, has a low hygroscopic property, and is easily handled. Specifically, any of the aromatic amine, carbazole derivative, aromatic hydrocarbon, stilbene derivative, and the like.
Yamaoka et al. teach the first layer 114 as an electron-injection layer containing a material having a property of transporting more electrons than holes can be used as the electron-transport material, and a material having an electron mobility of 1×10.sup.−6 cm.sup.2/Vs or higher is preferable. As the compound which easily accepts electrons (the material having an electron-transport property), a π-electron deficient heteroaromatic compound such as a nitrogen-containing heteroaromatic compound, a metal complex, or the like can be used, for example. Specifically, the pyridine derivative, the bipyridine derivative, the pyrimidine derivative, the triazine derivative, the quinoxaline derivative, the dibenzoquinoxaline derivative, the phenanthroline derivative, the triazole derivative, the benzimidazole derivative, the oxadiazole derivative. A substance having an electron mobility of 1×10.sup.−6 cm.sup.2/Vs or higher is preferable. Note that other than these substances, any substance that has a property of transporting more electrons than holes may be used for the electron-transport layer In addition, metal complexes with a heterocycle, such as metal complexes having a quinoline ligand, a benzoquinoline ligand, an oxazole ligand, and a thiazole ligand, can be given. Specific examples thereof include metal complexes having a quinoline or benzoquinoline skeleton, such as tris(8-quinolinolato)aluminum(III) (abbreviation: Alq), tris(4-methyl-8-quinolinolato)aluminum(III) (abbreviation: Almq.sub.3), bis(10-hydroxybenzo[h]quinolinato)beryllium(II) (abbreviation: BeBq.sub.2), bis(2-methyl-8-quinolinolato)(4-phenylphenolato)aluminum(III) (abbreviation: BAlq), and bis(8-quinolinolato)zinc(II) (abbreviation: Znq). Alternatively, a metal complex having an oxazole-based or thiazole-based ligand, such as bis[2-(2-benzoxazolyl)phenolato]zinc(II) (abbreviation: ZnPBO) or bis[2-(2-benzothiazolyl)phenolato]zinc(II) (abbreviation: ZnBTZ) can be used. onating electrons to the electron-transport material can also be used. As the material having an electron-donating property, a Group 1 metal, a Group 2 metal, an oxide of any of the metals, and the like can be given. Specifically, an alkali metal, an alkaline earth metal, or a compound thereof, such as lithium fluoride (LiF), sodium fluoride (NaF), cesium fluoride (CsF), calcium fluoride (CaF.sub.2), or lithium oxide (LiO.sub.x), can be used. Alternatively, a rare earth metal compound like erbium fluoride (ErF.sub.3) can be used. Electride may also be used for the electron-injection layer. Examples of the electride include a substance in which electrons are added at high concentration to calcium oxide-aluminum oxide.
This demonstrates that to achieve refraction, reflection and dispersion, from which the material of the hole-transport layer and the electron-injection layer depends, the ordinary reflective index and the material of the layers in the light emitting device would be considered result effective variables.
Accordingly, the claim is obvious without showing that the claimed range(s) achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (claimed ranges of a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize that it would be obvious to adjust the materials of the hole-transport layer and the electron-injection layer in order “provide a light emitting element with high emission efficiency” thereof and optimize “the ordinary refractive index of the first layer is lower than or equal to 1.75 with respect to the emission peak wavelength of the first light-emitting substance” as “result effective variables”, and arrives at the recited limitation.
Regarding claim 6, Yamaoka et al. teach the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the third layer 116 is positioned between the second layer 114 and the second light-emitting layer 170.
Regarding claim 7, Yamaoka et al. teach the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the third layer 111 is positioned between the third electrode 103 and the second layer 114.
Regarding claim 8, Yamaoka et al. teach the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein wherein the third layer 111, 116 [0136] comprises a substance having an acceptor property.
Regarding claim 9, Yamaoka et al. teach a display device 300 Fig. 11 [0312] comprising the light-emitting apparatus according claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Yamaoka et al. teach an electronic appliance comprising: the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1; and
at least one of a sensor, an operation button, a speaker, and a microphone. Figs. 14A-17 [0387]-[0430]
Conclusion
/Sonya McCall-Shepard/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898