DETAILED ACTION
The status of the claims stands as follows:
Pending claims: 1-11
Currently rejected claims: 1-11
Allowed claims: None
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yukhnytsya (U.S. 2011/0195150 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yukhnytsya discloses a beer-taste beverage having an apparent fermentation degree of 65.0-100.0% (specifically, 77.43%), a total nitrogen amount of 25-130 mg/100 mL (specifically, 649 mg/kg, or 64.9 mg/100 ml), and a total polyphenol amount of 60-210 mass ppm (specifically, 193 mg/kg or 193 ppm) ([0026]-[0033], table).
As for claim 3, Yukhnytsya discloses the beer-taste beverage is a fermented beer-taste beverage ([0024], [0032]).
As for claim 8, Yukhnytsya discloses a bitterness value of the beer-taste beverage as being from 10.0-30.0 BUs (specifically, 10-20) ([0033], table)
As for claim 9, Yukhnytsya discloses a chromaticity of the beer-taste beverage as being from 5.0-30.0 EBC (specifically, 4.4-8.4 EBK) ([0033], table).
As for claim 10, Yukhnytsya discloses a pH of the beer-taste beverage as being 3.0-5.0 (specifically, 4.01-4.64) ([0033], table).
As for claim 11, Yukhnytsya discloses a method for improving a flavor of a beer-taste beverage ([0022]-[0024], [0032], where a modified taste is interpreted as being desirable/an improvement on beer with no hint of milk thistle), the method including adjusting the following parameters to be within the recited ranges ([0009]): an apparent fermentation degree of 65.0-100.0% (specifically, 77.43%), a total nitrogen amount of 25-130 mg/100 mL (specifically, 649 mg/kg, or 64.9 mg/100 ml), and a total polyphenol amount of 60-210 mass ppm (specifically, 193 mg/kg or 193 ppm) ([0026]-[0033], table).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yukhnytsya (U.S. 2011/0195150 A1) in view of Hasegawa (JP 2021/003127, published 01/14/2021).
As for claim 2, Yukhnytsya discloses the beer-taste beverage of claim 1.
Yukhnytsya does not disclose the beverage as having an original extract concentration as being greater than or equal to 6.0 mass%.
However, Hasegawa discloses a beer-taste beverage ([0006]) having an original wort extract concentration of 6.0% by mass or more ([0024]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the beer-taste beverage of Yukhnytsya having an original extract concentration of greater than or equal to 6.0 mass%. First, Yukhnytsya discloses the beverage is produced by adding the noted ingredients to a beer composition that already contains some ingredients ([0009]-[0014]). Since Yukhnytsya does not clarify the composition of the original components in the beer composition, a skilled practitioner would be motivated to consult Hasegawa for clarification regarding such ingredients. Since Hasegawa discloses a similar beer-taste beverage that has an original wort extract concentration of 6.0% by mass or more ([0024]), a skilled practitioner would find the production of the beverage of Yukhnytsya having a comparable original extract concentration to be obvious, which renders the claimed limitation of an original extract concentration of the beer-taste beverage of greater than or equal to 6.0 mass% obvious.
As for claims 4-6, Yukhnytsya discloses the beer-taste beverage of claim 1.
Yukhnytsya does not disclose the beverage as having a malt proportion of greater than or equal to 40 mass% (claim 4), less than or equal to 80 mass% (claim 5), or within the range of 50-67 mass% (claim 6).
However, Hasegawa discloses a beer-taste beverage ([0006]) having a malt proportion of 50% by mass or more and 75% by mass or less ([0029]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the beer-taste beverage of Yukhnytsya having a malt proportion within the range of 50-67 mass%. First, Yukhnytsya discloses the beverage is produced by adding the noted ingredients to a beer composition that already contains some ingredients ([0009]-[0014]). Since Yukhnytsya does not clarify the composition of the original components in the beer composition, a skilled practitioner would be motivated to consult Hasegawa for clarification regarding such ingredients. Since Hasegawa discloses a similar beer-taste beverage that has a malt proportion in the range of 50-67 mass% ([0029]), a skilled practitioner would find the production of the beverage of Yukhnytsya having a comparable malt proportion to be obvious, which renders the claimed limitations of a malt proportion of greater than or equal to 40 mass% (claim 4), less than or equal to 80 mass% (claim 5), or within the range of 50-67 mass% (claim 6) obvious.
As for claim 7, Yukhnytsya discloses the beer-taste beverage of claim 1.
Yukhnytsya does not disclose the beverage as having a content of iso-α-acid content in the range of 5.0-40.0 mass ppm.
However, Hasegawa discloses a beer-taste beverage ([0006]) having an iso-α-acid content of 10-150 ppm ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the beer-taste beverage of Yukhnytsya having an iso-α-acid content in the range of 5.0-40.0 ppm. First, Yukhnytsya discloses the beverage is produced by adding the noted ingredients to a beer composition that already contains some ingredients ([0009]-[0014]). Since Yukhnytsya does not clarify the composition of the original components in the beer composition, a skilled practitioner would be motivated to consult Hasegawa for clarification regarding such ingredients. Since Hasegawa discloses a similar beer-taste beverage that has an iso-α-acid content of 10-150 ppm ([0020]), as well as that the type and amount of hops in particular alter the iso-α-acid content ([0022]), where hops were an ingredient in the original composition of Yukhnytsya lacking specific instruction ([0009]), a skilled practitioner would find the production of the beverage of Yukhnytsya having a comparable iso-α-acid content to be obvious, which renders the claimed limitation of an iso-α-acid content of 5.0-40.0 mass ppm obvious.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY P MORNHINWEG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793