DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation " the heat exchange portion share ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation " the first switch valve". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation " the second switch valve". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation " the third switch valve". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation " the liquid reservoir portion". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation " the heat exchange portion". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency from a claim that has been rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwabuchi US 2005/0284529 Al.
Re claim 1, Iwabuchi teach a fluid management apparatus, comprising: a flow passage plate assembly (50, 77); and valve mechanisms (AV, CV, 106, 107, 109, 100), wherein the flow passage plate assembly comprises flow passages (annotated fig),
and each of the flow passages is provided with a mounting port (annotated fig) on the flow passage plate assembly, wherein, in a thickness direction of the flow passage plate assembly, the valve mechanisms are located on a same side of the flow passage plate assembly, each valve mechanism comprises a valve unit and a valve body (annotated fig), the valve body is provided with an accommodating cavity (annotated fig) and passages (annotated fig “passages with openings”), and at least a part of the valve unit is located in the accommodating cavity and is fixedly connected with the valve body, wherein the passages are provided with openings (annotated fig “passages with openings”) on a same wall of the valve body, at least a part of each opening of the valve body is arranged corresponding to the mounting port, and the valve body is fixedly connected with the flow passage plate assembly (fig 7).
Re claim 2, Iwabuchi teach
wherein the flow passage plate assembly comprises a main body (annotated fig , see rejection of claim 1) portion and a cover plate (annotated fig , see rejection of claim 1), the main body portion comprises a recessed portion (noting flow passages are provided by recess portions, figs),
the recessed portion is provided with a recessed cavity, the recessed cavity is provided with an opening facing the cover plate on the main body portion, and a wall forming the flow passages comprises a wall of the recess portion and a wall of the cover plate, each flow passage is provided with a connecting port (noting multiple circular portions considered ports and connected to mounting ports and connecting adjacent valves) on the flow passage plate assembly, and an axial direction of the connecting port is parallel to the thickness direction of the flow passage plate assembly in the thickness direction of the flow passage plate assembly (figs).
Re claim 3, Iwabuchi teach wherein the flow passage plate assembly comprises a mounting table (72, 78), the mounting table is fixedly connected with the main body portion, the mounting table and the cover plate are located on two opposite sides of the main body portion in the thickness direction of the flow passage plate assembly, the mounting table comprises a first mounting table and a second mounting table, a mounting port (portion of 74 adjacent to 62) is located on the first mounting table, and a connecting port (74) is located on the second mounting table.
Re claim 4, Iwabuchi teach wherein the fluid management apparatus comprises a heat exchange portion and a liquid reservoir portion (annotated fig), in the thickness direction of the flow passage plate assembly, the heat exchange portion, the liquid reservoir portion and the valve mechanisms are located on a same side of the flow passage plate assembly and the connecting port and the mounting port are located on a same side of the main body portion, an axial direction of the liquid reservoir portion is perpendicular to the thickness direction of the flow passage plate assembly, the heat exchange portion comprises a plurality of stacked plates (70), and a stacking direction of the plates is parallel to the thickness direction of the flow passage plate assembly (fig 3).
Re claim 5, Iwabuchi teach wherein the valve mechanisms comprise a switch valve and a throttle valve, and the switch valve is arranged farther away from a body of the liquid reservoir portion than a sealing head of the liquid reservoir (noting circumferential outer portion is farther in the width direction than the top middle sealing portion) portion in the axial direction of the liquid reservoir portion or a direction parallel to the liquid reservoir portion, the throttle valve is located between the heat exchange portion and the liquid reservoir portion in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction of the liquid reservoir portion (figs, noting valves performing switching and throttling in the same, para 66).
Re claim 6, Iwabuchi teach wherein the switch valve comprises a first switch valve, a second switch valve and a third switch valve, the throttle valve comprises a first throttle valve and a second throttle valve (fig 7, noting valves performing switching and throttling in the same, para 66), and the first mounting table comprises a plurality of sub-portions that are independent with each other (noting many independent portions, which is an incredibly broad limitation, fig 7), wherein the plurality of sub-portions are fixedly connected with the first switch valve, the second switch valve, the third switch valve, the first throttle valve, the second throttle valve, the liquid reservoir portion and the heat exchange portion (fig 7), respectively, or one sub-portion is used in common for at least two of the first switch valve, the second switch valve, the third switch valve, the first throttle valve, the second throttle valve, the liquid reservoir portion and the heat exchange portion share.
For clarity, the recitation “…is used in common for at least two of the first switch valve, the second switch valve, the third switch valve, the first throttle valve, the second throttle valve, the liquid reservoir portion and the heat exchange portion share…” has been considered a recitation of intended use. It has been held that the recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP 2114. In the instant case, the prior art meets all of the structural limitations, and is therefore capable of performing the claimed recitations set forth above.
Re claim 7, Iwabuchi teach wherein the first mounting table comprises a first sub-portion, the first sub-portion is provided with accommodating cavities (15, 17) for accommodating the first switch valve, the second switch valve and the third switch valve, respectively, an axial direction of each accommodating cavity of the first sub-portion is parallel or substantially parallel to the axial direction of the liquid reservoir portion, and a valve unit of the first switch valve, a valve unit of the second valve unit and a valve unit of the third valve unit are arranged farther away from the liquid reservoir portion than the first sub-portion in the axial direction of the liquid reservoir portion (figs, noting valves performing switching and throttling in the same, para 66, also noting portions of the mounting table are naturally father away in a height direction that valves of the same height).
Re claim 8, Iwabuchi teach wherein the fluid management apparatus comprises a first connecting port, a second connecting port, a third connecting port, a fourth connecting port, a fifth connecting port, a sixth connecting port, a seventh connecting port and an eighth connecting port (see the rejection of claim 1, also noting from left to right fig 7 has 12 connecting ports, with a port/aperture on the left and right of each flow passage ), and the first connecting port, the second connecting port, the third connecting port, the fourth connecting port, the fifth connecting port, the sixth connecting port, the seventh connecting port and the eighth connecting port are distributed along a periphery of the flow passage plate assembly (fig 7), the first switch valve is configured to communicate or block a passage between the first connecting port and the second connecting port, the second switch valve is configured to communicate or block a passage between the first connecting port and the fourth connecting port, the third switch valve is configured to communicate or block a passage between the fourth connecting port and the eighth connecting port, the third connecting port and the fourth connecting port are configured to be in communication with an inlet passage of the liquid reservoir portion, an outlet passage of the liquid reservoir portion is configured to be in communication with the fifth connecting port through the first throttle valve, the outlet passage of the liquid reservoir portion is configured to be in communication with a refrigerant flow passage (noting internal passage in each valve) of the heat exchange portion through the second throttle valve, the refrigerant flow passage of the heat exchange portion is in communication with the eighth connecting port, the outlet passage of the liquid reservoir portion is in communication with the sixth connecting port, and the seventh connecting port is in communication with the eighth connecting port (figs, see the rejection of claim 4).
Re claim 9, Iwabuchi teach wherein the flow passage plate assembly comprises a first flow passage portion and a second flow passage portion, the outlet passage of the liquid reservoir portion is in communication with the sixth connecting port through a cavity of the first flow passage portion, the seventh connecting port is in communication with the eighth connecting port through a cavity of the second flow passage portion (noting the term portion is broad, and the “first flow passage portion” is considered to be the flow passages on the top of the plate, the ports connecting the valves etc, and the “second flow passage portion” is considered to be the portion of the flow passages on the bottom of the plate which are mostly horizontal), and a fluid in the first flow passage portion is heat-exchangeable with a fluid in the second flow passage portion (fig 7).
Re claim 10, Iwabuchi teach wherein the heat exchange portion comprises the refrigerant flow passage and a coolant flow passage (noting multiple passages internal to each valve, one of which is considered fig 18a), the coolant flow passage is provided with two connecting ports on the heat exchange portion (noting multiple aperture connecting multiple pats lengthwise of the valve, fig 18a), the fluid management apparatus further comprises a coolant controlling valve (101), wherein two connecting ports of the coolant controlling valve are respectively in communication with two connecting ports of the coolant flow passage, and the coolant controlling valve is fixedly connected with the main body portion through a mounting plate, the mounting plate is provided with holes (annotated fig) for a refrigerant and a coolant to flow through, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwabuchi in view of Sato WO 2020174705 A1.
Re claim 11, Sato teach A thermal management system, comprising: a compressor (7); a first heat exchanger; a second heat exchanger (50, 60); a third heat exchanger (110); a throttling component 10).
Sato fail to explicitly teach valve details.
Iwabuchi teach and the fluid management apparatus according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1), wherein the fluid management apparatus comprises a first connecting port, a second connecting port, a third connecting port, a fourth connecting port, a fifth connecting port, a sixth connecting port, a seventh connecting port and an eighth connecting port (noting 5 valves with an inlet and outlet which make at least ten ports in fig 7), an outlet of the compressor is in communication with the first connecting port, an inlet of the compressor is in communication with the eighth connecting port, the second connecting port and the third connecting port are in communication with a refrigerant flow passage of the first heat exchanger, respectively, wherein a refrigerant flow passage of the second heat exchanger is in communication with the fourth connecting port and the fifth connecting port, respectively, and the sixth connecting port is in communication with the seventh connecting port through the throttling component and the third heat exchanger (in the instant combination the fluid management apparatus according to claim 1 modifies 20 of the primary reference) to provide integrated plates with multiple valves.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include valve details as taught by Iwabuchi in the Sato invention in order to advantageously allow for advanced process refrigerant flow controls and gas flow rates.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20170029679 A1, US 20240384808 A1.
/GORDON A JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3763