DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
Claim 5 is a multiple dependent claim, referring to claims 1 and 4 in the alternative, and is examined on this basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 and 3 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiya (JP 2018-154803 A, referencing a machine translation thereof provided with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Sekiya discloses a film comprising an ethylene/α-olefin copolymer (A) (“film” comprising an “ethylene-based resin composition” composed of “linear low-density polyethylene” which is a copolymer of ethylene and α-olefin: e.g. ¶¶ [0012] – [0038]) having the following requirements (a1), (a2), and (a3):
(a1): a melt flow rate (MFR) measured at 190°C and a load of 2.16 kg is in a range of 4.2 to 20 g/10 minutes (e.g. ¶¶ [0014], [0020], [0021]),
(a2): a density is in a range of 880 to 922 kg/m3 (e.g. ¶¶ [0014], [0020], [0022]), and
(a3): a melt tension is in a range of 15 to 140 mN (e.g. ¶¶ [0014], [0020], [0024]).
Sekiya’s ranges for the MFR and melt tension overlap the respective ranges claimed. Meanwhile, Sekiya’s range for the density encompasses the claimed range.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05, I.
“[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP § 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 3, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Sekiya discloses the film has a film thickness in a range of 0.005 mm to 0.2 mm (“5 to 200 µm”: e.g. ¶¶ [0015], [0030], [0031], [0034]), which is within the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 4, Sekiya discloses a laminate comprising the film discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1 (e.g. ¶¶ [0028], [0029], [0032], [0033], [0035], [0037]).
Regarding claim 5, Sekiya discloses a packaging material comprising the film discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1 or the laminate discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 4 (e.g. ¶¶ [0034], [0037]).
Regarding claim 6, Sekiya discloses a method for producing a film by melt extruding an ethylene/α-olefin copolymer (A) (“film” comprising an “ethylene-based resin composition” composed of “linear low-density polyethylene” which is a copolymer of ethylene and α-olefin made using known “melt extrusion” methods: e.g. ¶¶ [0012] – [0038]) having the following requirements (a1), (a2), and (a3):
(a1): a melt flow rate (MFR) measured at 190°C and a load of 2.16 kg is in a range of 4.2 to 20 g/10 minutes (e.g. ¶¶ [0014], [0020], [0021]),
(a2): a density is in a range of 880 to 922 kg/m3 (e.g. ¶¶ [0014], [0020], [0022]), and
(a3): a melt tension is in a range of 15 to 140 mN (e.g. ¶¶ [0014], [0020], [0024]).
Sekiya’s ranges for the MFR and melt tension overlap the respective ranges claimed. Meanwhile, Sekiya’s range for the density encompasses the claimed range.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05, I.
“[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP § 2144.05, I.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiya as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ochi (US 2019/0382515 A1).
Regarding claim 2, although Sekiya is not explicit as to the film having an external haze of 4.4% or more and less than 15%, this feature would have been obvious in view of Ochi.
Ochi discloses a film comprising an ethylene/α-olefin copolymer (A) (“film” comprising a “component (B)”: e.g. ¶¶ [0001], [0006] – [0260]) having
a melt flow rate (MFR) measured at 190°C and a load of 2.16 kg is in a range of 0.5 to 5 g/10 minutes (refers to a load of “21.18 N” which converts to 2.16 kg: e.g. ¶¶ [0022], [0046], [0071], [0220]),
a density is in a range of 890 to 930 kg/m3 (e.g. ¶¶ [0022], [0071], [0219]), and
an external haze of 4% or more and 18% or less (e.g. ¶¶ [0087] – [0089], [0308] – [0310], Tables 5 – 19), this haze being evidence of slipperiness (e.g. ¶ [0087])
Ochi’s MFR overlaps Sekiya’s MFR from 4.2 to 5 g/10 minutes, which is within claim 1. Additionally, Ochi’s density overlaps Sekiya’s density from 890 to 922 kg/m3, which overlaps claim 1. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized features of Ochi’s films are also applicable to Sekiya.
Furthermore, Sekiya states the ethylene/α-olefin copolymer should have properties which would avoid blocking (e.g. ¶¶ [0022], [0025]) and discloses antiblocking agents or slip agents can be added but are not required (e.g. ¶ [0027]). Accordingly, there is sufficient evidence in Sekiya’s disclosure that modifications can be provided to enhance slipperiness.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Sekiya’s film to have an external haze of 4% or more and 18% or less as Ochi suggests, the motivation being to ensure the slipperiness Sekiya desires is provided.
Conclusion
/ETHAN A. UTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783